Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to Ayia Napa at the start of June for 2 weeks

• 23-04-2009 2:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭

Just wondering has anyone been, particulary since they offically became part of the Eurozone? Have a few questions if anyone knows the answers it would be great.

1. How much spending money would you reccommend? - Want to make sure I have enough to cover myself. Would 100 quid a day cover or maybe 2000k just in case (going for 2 weeks with 5 other blokes so it's going to basically be a party holiday)

2. What is the price of beer? - If you could include Local beer and international bottled beer and the differnence between your apartsments, bars and nightclubs.

3. I am thinking the weather should be fine in June? Would I be correct. Have been to canaries once or twice where it was cludy in high season. But as far as I know Cyprus doesn't get clouds that time?

4. Has anyone ever stayed in the Green Bungelows and if so what's the craic like? I hear they are pretty basic apartments but I also hear the craic is deadly and it's full of young people so stories of your total expereicne also appreciated ha!

Thanks a lot, will check back soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

i was there a few yrs back and found everything very very expensive. plus the airport is a complete joke there, be prepared for long waits on the way home with no air con. great spot other than that though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Andyfbt

mickman wrote: »
    i was there a few yrs back and found everything very very expensive. plus the airport is a complete joke there, be prepared for long waits on the way home with no air con. great spot other than that though

Cheers for that. Once there is a bar in the airport I'll be grand :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Andyfbt wrote: »
    Cheers for that. Once there is a bar in the airport I'll be grand :cool:

it will be just you, your mates and 50,000 russians trying to get a beer:D

Larnaca airport can be a real nightmare at times.

it will be just you, your mates and 50,000 russians trying to get a beer:D

Larnaca airport can be a real nightmare at times.

Hope not. I can have panic attacks in airports and when on planes, so I always make sure I am pretty well on when travelling. Espeically the 5 hour flight or so it is going to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭d6

i was there last year at the start of june....epic!

cocktails 2.00 at many places around centre of ayia napa

pints of carling/keo(local beer) round 3.00
    i think heinken bottles were a bit dearer someplaces but in my apartments they were 3.00

2 bottles of smirnoff vodka for 17.00 euros cant go wrong there

niteclub drink can be expensive but entry is usually round a fiver

watch out for dodgy taxi people they'd rip you off given the chance

weather round 30 degrees when i was there

the plagues that try get you into the pubs play hard ball and you might get a few free drinks

you wont disapointed hope your going green bungalows thats where its at
    we would come back from a night out and drink at the 24hr bar till sunrise with all the other people there

now im depressed that i cant go back

booze cruise a must sum craic!

20.00 for entry a free dance and 2 beers at those wonderful clubs dont order anything of the menu after that!

nissi beach party is on once a week or so well worth going

if you have the cash rent a quad

the waterpark is decent enough to.

d6 wrote: »
    i was there last year at the start of june....epic!

cocktails 2.00 at many places around centre of ayia napa

pints of carling/keo(local beer) round 3.00
    i think heinken bottles were a bit dearer someplaces but in my apartments they were 3.00

2 bottles of smirnoff vodka for 17.00 euros cant go wrong there

niteclub drink can be expensive but entry is usually round a fiver

watch out for dodgy taxi people they'd rip you off given the chance

weather round 30 degrees when i was there

the plagues that try get you into the pubs play hard ball and you might get a few free drinks

you wont disapointed hope your going green bungalows thats where its at
    we would come back from a night out and drink at the 24hr bar till sunrise with all the other people there

now im depressed that i cant go back

booze cruise a must sum craic!

20.00 for entry a free dance and 2 beers at those wonderful clubs dont order anything of the menu after that!

nissi beach party is on once a week or so well worth going

if you have the cash rent a quad

the waterpark is decent enough to.

Mate you have made my bloody day. We are staying in Green Bungelows. Thanks a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

the water park is top notch actually

re : the booze cruise, this was a joke when i was there. the boat never moved, all that happened was people went round with these plastic guns spraying very diluted shots into your mouth. no mad goings on at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Hmm where do I start, Been to Ayia Napa a fair few times super spot but getting too old for it now!

Money wise:-
    Napa is an expensive place. Not really because of drink or food or clubs, but simply because there is so much to do bungee's jet ski's paragliding etc that it all adds up and you will simply have to make sacrifices. U can do all the budgeting you want b4 you go but when u get over there that all goes out the window. My advice is to bring an extra 2 or 300 as 1k isnt an awful lot. Personally i dont see the point in going all that way and wishing you had more cash, you might aswell live it up over there and live like a pauper for a couple of weeks b4 you go. But hey if thats all you have then as i said you will have to just take it a bit easy.

Accomodation:-
    Green Bungalows is good its basic and its clean and its in a very good location. Although last year we went and there was a rough rough crowd of about 30 lads in it, fights every single night and even during the day so we kept our heads down and spent as little time as possible in it, especially late at night after the nightclub. It got so bad one night when i was walking up to the apt I seen the bouncers use a TASER on this lad from Finglas who was off his face on drugs and was looking for a row with them, and the bouncers are huge! I heard this is getting to be the norm now as its getting a bit of a bad reputation amongst scumbags, hopefully you will be alright but suss out the crowd in the 1st week and if its rough id advise you to keep yourselves to yourselves and if possible drink elsewhere late in the evening \ early morning.

Drink:-
    Drink in the shops is dirt cheap, when you go out of the green bungalows take a right and walk 2mins down the hill. At the end of the hill on the left hand side of the road there is the cheapest off license in Cyprus. 2 litre of Vodka for 6euro. Its not smirnoff but who cares. Load up on gargle (and ice) there and get sozzled before you go out and ull save urself a fortune as the strip can be quite expensive. When your on the strip there will be reps pulling out of you to go here there and everywhere, you have to be firm, be polite but dont let them boss you. Make up some excuse that your meeting a mate down the strip and just keep walking, briskly! Also if you actually do fancy going somewhre, the castle, starskys etc walk up the strip until u find a rep that works for there. wait for them to approach u and ask do you want to go in. Hmmmm and Haw and say "What will you give me if I do go in?" Sometimes you will get 2reps working for the same place trying to outbid each other so dont be afraid to play them off other. More than likely if you play it right you will get 30 free shots and 2 for 1 drinks, and if your really good like me you will get free entrance to the Castle ;). Drink in the clubs tends to be watered down or else absolute muck so as i said, get sozzled b4 you go out and it's not a bad idea to stick to bottles of beer once in the clubs. Otherwise you will run out of money in now time. There are some good irish bars to drink in when its early enough, Luke Kelly being the best of them, but again as your on a budget I wouldnt spend too long in these places as your money will dissapear in no time. Your better off getting loaded up b4 you go out and then staying on bottles for the rest of the night.

Clubs:-
    My favourite club is Carwash, great music (60's 70's 80's 90's) and a great crowd, plus its free in. Apart from that you have Starskys, which is also v good. You will more than likely spend most of your time between these two spots as its free in, esp as money might be an issue. The castle is 15 or 20euro in, its well worth a trip but each time i was in it I kept getting lost from my mates and found it a bit overbearing. Everytime we were in it after 2 or 3 hours we left and went back to Carwash. Up past the Castle there are some RNB clubs but we went to one or two of them and it was a total different atmosphere, every1 was either english or foreign and seemed more interested in standing there and striking poses rather than having a good time. There are a few spots that are open 24 hours or that open up after the nightclubs end. River Reggae is probably the best out of these although there is one pub\disco bar called Simo's just down from Senor Frogs that has a good crowd afterwards. There is also a place right across the road from Green Bungalows but its not great tbh. Green bungalows is deadly craic after the nightclubs aswell, but as i said above only if the right people are in it. Also try to go to the ICE foam party, its absolutely amazing, but wear crap clothes. Try and stay away from the strip clubs until the last night or two, and definately dont go when your drunk, as a mate of mine found out to his detriment when he came home (Huge credit card bill).

General:-
    I know its an obvious 1 but drink loads of bottled water and try not to get too hammered. Ive seen and heard so many stories of lads who got lamped on their first night and fell and broke their arm and spent the rest of the holidays in hospital. It happend to one of the guys who stayed in the apt next door to us and do you think his mates visited him once? Not a chance, they met him at the airport on the way home, he was in a wheelchair!

Try and eat decent grub, dont just eat Mcdonalds or crap like that, after 3 or 4 days your stomach will be in bits.There are some lovely restaurants in Napa and places for brekkie. There is a lovely restaurant across from the off license above. 3 course meal for 12euro and that includes a free beer. There is also a lovely place for a proper fry on the main road on the way to beach, just down from Toga Toga. Proper irish\english sausages eggs and rashers with mountains of toast and gallons of tea for around 7euro. Sets you up proper for the day. The food in the green bungalows isnt the worst either.

I know a previous poster here said do the booze cruise but I was on them twice over there and both times they were only alright. Maybe there was a boring crowd or whatever but when I went on 1 it started at like 2pm and everyone was just too hungover to be in a party mood and the fella organising it was so annoying. My advice, go if you really want to but keep expectations low. They also say its free drink but they give you these tiny cups and the queue for the bar does be huge and again the drink is well watered down.

IF you can, rent mopeds, even for the 2nd week. They are brilliant craic (esp if there is a gang of mates with you) cheap as chips and great for seeing the place. You can also save urself a few quid on taxis and stuff by driving out for brekkie, to the water park, go kart track, bungie jump, beach, fun fair etc etc. You need your irish license though, and again dont be afraid to haggle with him. If he says a tenner or 15 a day, say you was told it was cheaper and you are going to shop around but before you do whats his best price. Flash the cash and you can be sure they will knock a few quid off.

And last but not least go to the haunted house or something when your absolutely locked and there is a big group of you's. Its the funniest thing ever.

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭mick_ser

was in napa a few years ago can be xpensive but as said b4 buy local drink its well cheap..haggle wit da reps deals 2 b had...enjoy it will b crazy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭miss.lost

Ayia Napa is the most expensive holiday destination Iv been to, went with a friend for a week back in 06, had a lovely time, didnt do that much and still managed to spend €800-in a week....small shopping spree included:D

Please OP do not rent quads or scooters out there, hundreds of guys whizzing around on them but we witnessed the most horrific crash out there, my friend fainted(Out cold!)at the sight of it and havnt been able to look at a quad ever since!! Lets just say the guy got a much longer stay in cyprus than he planned!