Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lamping.... its an option

• 23-04-2009 10:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭

for those short on daylight time...... LAMPING IS AN OPTION.... for those who don't do the soaps.....LAMPING IS AN OPTION....... for those who do door work and aren't just ready to go to bed.....@ 3 am........LAMPING IS AN OPTION.......

6 bullets and two hours later....... see pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Well done Andy nice shooting looks like those rabbits are going home to the pot.

I hear your going out again over the weekend :cool:, I wish you many more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭andyone

i was going to bring the second from the right to the dentist.... think he needs his jaw re wired.... ha ha ha .... loved your video by the way...you have me wanting to make one of my own..... check out my youngest "in am i old enough to shoot yet daddy" she reaaly enjoyed the experience... and had to be let carry it down a local hill untill she could carry it no more.... the day out your talking about wont be for a while yet..... we'll see how it goes.... and if its a success... maybe you'll think about riding shot gun fordwighet.... and come along..

andyone wrote: »
    i was going to bring the second from the right to the dentist.... think he needs his jaw re wired.... ha ha ha .... loved your video by the way...you have me wanting to make one of my own..... check out my youngest "in am i old enough to shoot yet daddy" she reaaly enjoyed the experience... and had to be let carry it down a local hill untill she could carry it no more.... the day out your talking about wont be for a while yet..... we'll see how it goes.... and if its a success... maybe you'll think about riding shot gun for dwighet.... and come along..[/quote]

I'm always ready to go shooting Andy. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭FibbersON

Where's the sport in lamping? Honestly I think it is a stupid activity. Rather than relying on your skill, you're relying on the element of surprise. Lamping is relied on by people who shouldn't be let near a weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

FibbersON wrote: »
    Where's the sport in lamping? Honestly I think it is a stupid activity. Rather than relying on your skill, you're relying on the element of surprise. Lamping is relied on by people who shouldn't be let near a weapon.

Troll? Benefit of the doubt for now. Lamping takes a fair amount of skill to do well. Still have to call animals in to suitable ranges, which are generally much shorter than daytime shots, use the lamp well so as not to spook the animal and then make a humane shot. Sounds skillful enough to me.

As for who relies on lamping, it's relied on those with pest-control problems to enable them to live better. It's relied on those who have full-time jobs and don't have the luxury of shooting during the day. It's relied on by those who want food for the table and find it the best way of harvesting it. Perhaps you'd be better off not talking about things you aren't particularly familiar with. In addition, it's those who consider a sporting firearm a weapon who should be denied access to anything with more firepower than a potato peeler.

like they say in mac donalds..... i'm loving it.....

oh do you need a liecence for a patato peeler.... its been on my wish list for some time now.... LMAO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

As for who relies on lamping, it's relied on those with pest-control problems to enable them to live better.

Spookily enough I was called on by a local sheep farmer late last week. He lost two lambs to a fox. So I went out on Monday night and saw two lurking near to the flock but only had the shotgun and was out of range.

Time to dust off the .308 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Trojan911 wrote: »
    Spookily enough I was called on by a local sheep farmer late last week. He lost two lambs to a fox. So I went out on Monday night and saw two lurking near to the flock but only had the shotgun and was out of range.

Spot on. Sure, one could take a week off work, spend the day hunting for foxes that aren't out anyway and call it sport, or one could do what he's supposed to and do the job as quickly and efficiently as possible, so the farmer's happy.

Also, .308 for foxes? I hope you bring something to scrape them off the landscape afterwards. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

.308 is a fine tool for Foxes:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

Bought a meat mincer 2 days ago.

I already have an industrial potato peeler with the licence :p

http://tinyurl.com/c9vylp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Too right you are.....
    If the farmer needs your help to protect his livestock go for it...

Also, .308 for foxes? I hope you bring something to scrape them off the landscape afterwards. :p

I know, but the .223 & .22 were sacrificed for the .308, It was well worth it though..... The ammo is the pricey bit....

Gentlemen, you may kiss your screens..... :D

3218048658_9894d76cf4.jpg

3218046560_971b0f71c9.jpg

3279492251_1206a9b33e.jpg

I know, but the .223 & .22 were sacrificed for the .308, It was well worth it though..... The ammo is the pricey bit....

Gentlemen, you may kiss your screens..... :D

3218048658_9894d76cf4.jpg

3218046560_971b0f71c9.jpg

AAAAHHHHH....Rifle porn....Cant get enough of it..
    Nice rifle trojan...Does it shoot as good as it looks?

dwighet wrote: »
    AAAAHHHHH....Rifle porn....Cant get enough of it..
    Nice rifle trojan...Does it shoot as good as it looks?

Shoots like a dream. Zeroed for 150yds....

My screen is already covered in slobber..was just on red tube!!!!:D:D:D

Are you going to use it on the deer this year?

Yes, shot two deer with it last season.

LICK THE SCREEN....... I'M STUCK TO IT, THAT IS ONE SWEET GUN...... SOME DAY I HOPE TO BE A PROUD OWNER OF A .308.... BUT FOR THE MOMENT MY SIGHTS ARE ON THE .223... DO THERE BE MANY RANGE DAYS FOR SOMETHING THAT SIZE.... AND IF SO WHAT DISTANCES WOULD THE .308 ROUND GO OUT TO..... OH I THINK I'LL HAVE TO STEAL MYSELF A MOMENT IN THE BATHROOM WITH THAT PICK:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Well all I can say is:

HOMER.jpg

and as for the potato peeler, well I bring mine everywhere as you never know when you'll need it:

firearms1.jpg

:P

Trogan that Rem 700 VTR looks the business alright.
    Well may she wear for you and good hunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭.50 (MOA)

andyone wrote: »
    LICK THE SCREEN....... I'M STUCK TO IT, THAT IS ONE SWEET GUN...... SOME DAY I HOPE TO BE A PROUD OWNER OF A .308.... BUT FOR THE MOMENT MY SIGHTS ARE ON THE .223... DO THERE BE MANY RANGE DAYS FOR SOMETHING THAT SIZE.... AND IF SO WHAT DISTANCES WOULD THE .308 ROUND GO OUT TO..... OH I THINK I'LL HAVE TO STEAL MYSELF A MOMENT IN THE BATHROOM WITH THAT PICK:D:D

.308 is used out to 1000 yds and in some cases even further. i' m a bit like yourself, still working up to a .223 or similar, the only centrefire i have yet is the 12 guage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

Troll? Benefit of the doubt for now. Lamping takes a fair amount of skill to do well. Still have to call animals in to suitable ranges, which are generally much shorter than daytime shots, use the lamp well so as not to spook the animal and then make a humane shot. Sounds skillful enough to me.

As for who relies on lamping, it's relied on those with pest-control problems to enable them to live better. It's relied on those who have full-time jobs and don't have the luxury of shooting during the day. It's relied on by those who want food for the table and find it the best way of harvesting it. Perhaps you'd be better off not talking about things you aren't particularly familiar with. In addition, it's those who consider a sporting firearm a weapon who should be denied access to anything with more firepower than a potato peeler.

FibbersON may have a bit of a point. I did a fair bit of lamping and agree that it can be good fun, it also takes reasonable skill but it can hardly be called sport. Just move quietly and dazzle the animal before you shoot it. It is useful for controlling foxes or getting a rabbit for the pot. BTW kissing a screen shot of someone else's rifle is hardly the coolest is it? Though I guess that was tongue in cheek.

JUST PAYING THE MAN SOME RESPECT.... OH AND NEVER SAID I LET MY DAUGHTER HANDLE THE RIFLE..... I MIGHT BE MAD BUT I'M NOT STUPID
    AND THE FARMER I LAMP FOR WANTS THE RABBITS OF THE LAND.... WHO SAID ANYTHING ABOUT SPORT.... DON'T THINK IT'LL MAKE THE OLYMPICS.... OR IS IT JUST THE DAY TIME SHOOTING OF VERMIN THAT YOU'D LIKE TO SEE THE OLYMPIC TORCH HELD ALIGHT FOR....

Andy please turn the 'Caps Lock' off. it's known as SHOUTING

clivej wrote: »

thanks clivej, my ears were ringing.:)

sorry about that guys i was sending cd-wow a stinker of an e-mail and forgot to turn it off....

BTW kissing a screen shot of someone else's rifle is hardly the coolest is it? Though I guess that was tongue in cheek.

Correct, tongue in cheek, also known as banter. You surely don't think that grown men were sitting at their terminals yesterday kissing their monitors? mister Gullible...... :D

Yep, I was being facetious, also known as being a dork.:)

Whats wrong with Licking screens:confused: I do it all the time while watching red tube...Got caught once by the mrs too...she joined in so all is good:D:D:D

is that not a topic for another thread....... but whilst were on the sublect have you seen the vid called "3rd world bomb squad"... its on www.ahithinki'llpmittoya.com ha ha

Pervert ;););)

This is getting sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much off topic.

Pervert ;););)

This is getting sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much off topic.
    As it always does......

I have a light force set up atop my .17 its the smaller of the two.. think its called a 'striker'(bought 2nd hand) i think its a lovely set up.... even if the batteries get a bit heavy after two hours climbing ditch's and gates.... a friend has a culite on his .22 although its a good setup for that caliber.... imo its not up to much on the .17 with the extra yards it capable of..... although as a rule one should not shoot very far at night no matter what caliber your using...... the land i lamp on..... i know very well and could probably walk it with my eyes closed..

any opinions lads.... on set ups... on the distance you should be shooting...

and although some people might think that there is not mush skill involved using a .17 with a big f**k of light... IMO its so much better than watching eastenders and the like..... and you should try and shoot rabbits that know whats coming next... when they see the light.... don't think i've ever seen em dazed by it..... like the saying "like a rabbit in your headlights".... who ever said that hasn't shot on the land i shoot....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭touchyie

distance at night is very hard to call. unless you are 100% (in fact 110%) sure of the shot dont take it. was out last week and see a "fox" at 140 yards, settled nicley for the shot turned on the lamp again but something wasnt right, backed off from the shot but moved closer and looked through scope, it was charlie bullock lying flat looking straight at me, was the only beast in the field, if it was a rushed shot it would surely have been trouble! the other think you have to take into account is your surroundings, ie houses, and live stock that are likely to be spoked..

as embaressed as i am telling the story I think/hope it will help some of the inexperinced (and experinced) shooters here learn from my encounters afterall isnt this what the site is about?? as well as the banter of course!!

as for the earlier comment of lamping isnt sport.... i would agree to some degree (although i suspect the initial motivation was some waht different) in most cases its not sport its good practice, it keeps the number of vermin down who are mostly active at night and in my opion one of the more humane way of despatching them as apposed to posion which can effect unintended wildlife.

touchyie wrote: »
    distance at night is very hard to call. unless you are 100% (in fact 110%) sure of the shot dont take it. was out last week and see a "fox" at 140 yards, settled nicley for the shot turned on the lamp again but something wasnt right, backed off from the shot but moved closer and looked through scope, it was charlie bullock lying flat looking straight at me, was the only beast in the field, if it was a rushed shot it would surely have been trouble! the other think you have to take into account is your surroundings, ie houses, and live stock that are likely to be spoked..

as embaressed as i am telling the story I think/hope it will help some of the inexperinced (and experinced) shooters here learn from my encounters afterall isnt this what the site is about?? as well as the banter of course!!

as for the earlier comment of lamping isnt sport.... i would agree to some degree (although i suspect the initial motivation was some waht different) in most cases its not sport its good practice, it keeps the number of vermin down who are mostly active at night and in my opion one of the more humane way of despatching them as apposed to posion which can effect unintended wildlife.

sport imo is on the range shooting targets.... trying to better your last shot, always trying to improve ..... and hopefully beating that guy who keeps kicking your ass........

hunting is totally different....

and as you say, vermin control is different again..

Andy the Lightforce is the only lamp to use and my Son and I use the 170, scope version but hand held as there are two of us lamping. The main problem I have is when I'm doing the lamping I can't see the fox when he turns his head away but my Son can see him through the scope. So what is needed is a second lamp on the scope for the shooter.

At the moment I'm puting together another lamp from a car spot/driving lamp with the 50w H7 bulb . It will do out to about 150-200m which in most cases is plenty of distance.

As to is lamping a sport. Well the answer is "It's hard to hunt/shoot a nocturnal animal like the fox during the daylight hours". You have the go out when the prey is out.

Andy the Lightforce is the only lamp to use and my Son and I use the 170, scope version but hand held as there are two of us lamping. The main problem I have is when I'm doing the lamping I can't see the fox when he turns his head away but my Son can see him through the scope. So what is needed is a second lamp on the scope for the shooter.

At the moment I'm puting together another lamp from a car spot/driving lamp with the 50w H7 bulb . It will do out to about 150-200m which in most cases is plenty of distance.

As to is lamping a sport. Well the answer is "It's hard to hunt/shoot a nocturnal animal like the fox during the daylight hours". You have the go out when the prey is out.
    both myself and and my shooting bud(kevin) use the light force set up atop our .17's......it is the dogs and can easily see further than your able to shoot, on the odd ocassion one battery pack isn't charged so we work of the one..... and as you say....its akward for the second shooter... but still a whole lotta fun..... I'm thinking about an electronic caller....would you have any recomendations...... rumour is there also the business.....

This is what I have and works well but i don't use it much. I have the wiggen, WAM and the one from foxcalluk.co.uk which I find the best caller to use and it will bring in the foxes.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055320088

Mini_amp_side_on.jpgMini_amp_front.jpg

Whatever about foxes we certianly called in some funny looking creatures when we tried it down the range clive.

A lot of people say to use aeroboard or polystyrene on glass (wet glass???). I never tried it out but will do soon enough.

This is what I have and works well but i don't use it much. I have the wiggen, WAM and the one from foxcalluk.co.uk which I find the best caller to use and it will bring in the foxes.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055320088

Mini_amp_side_on.jpgMini_amp_front.jpg

that looks like something the N.Y.P.D. use for crowd control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

A lot of people say to use aeroboard or polystyrene on glass (wet glass???). I never tried it out but will do soon enough.
    I was out with a friend of mine lamping last week and he used the polystyrene, myself and my son had a go too and called in a fox but it was lamp shy and didn't hang around. It does work really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

i enjoy a hunt with the lamp, but prefer it with a pair of lurchers. always a bit of sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭pajero2005

Went lamping for the first time last night and loved it!! Anyone who thinks its not a sport or just the lazy way of doin it, trust me its not. Mighty bit of kit Trojan911. Someday...........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭brieny1000

a friend of mine got me into lamping and it was always areoboard and a rear view mirror that he used with great success, i now have a u caller and a few different whistlecallers(wam etc)and always go back to mirror and areoboard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

How do ye find the rabbits react to the lights lads?

Have an old spotlight for the shotgun but made up a new light for the rifle myself with some high power LED's, great little gizmo. Only problem is it's pure white light and I think it really bothers them cause they seem to dart fairly quick when it lands on them. Haven't had a huge amount of experience with foxes under it to know how they react though.

dsc00874t.jpg

spideog7 wrote: »
    How do ye find the rabbits react to the lights lads?

Have an old spotlight for the shotgun but made up a new light for the rifle myself with some high power LED's, great little gizmo. Only problem is it's pure white light and I think it really bothers them cause they seem to dart fairly quick when it lands on them. Haven't had a huge amount of experience with foxes under it to know how they react though.

dsc00874t.jpg

How has hanging that light off your barrel affected your accuracy? cant imagine it would help it to much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

That's a good point actually, I haven't noticed, but I should try with some paper targets during the day with it on. It's a fairly light lamp but I haven't used it a whole lot and it's a pain because it's in the way of the bipod. Since I made it up myself I was afraid to put anything on the scope cause it cost me almost the same amount as the rifle! Especially not without a special mount of some type.

I was thinking about trying to mount it to the rail cause I'm using a one piece mount for my scope I could go out to the side of it, but never got around to it.

spideog7 wrote: »
    That's a good point actually, I haven't noticed, but I should try with some paper targets during the day with it on. It's a fairly light lamp but I haven't used it a whole lot and it's a pain because it's in the way of the bipod. Since I made it up myself I was afraid to put anything on the scope cause it cost me almost the same amount as the rifle! Especially not without a special mount of some type.

I was thinking about trying to mount it to the rail cause I'm using a one piece mount for my scope I could go out to the side of it, but never got around to it.

i have to say it looks interesting... neccessity is the mother of all invention.... havein said that BUY THE LIGHTFORCE setup... its the dogs... the feckers can still run... but as soon as they get beside the ditch they stop for a split second..bangand its all over

the picis show you my lamping set up