Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wimmins Underwear!

• 22-04-2009 11:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

Just a conversation with 2 female friends last week.

Do thongs and g strings actually be comfortable?

i cant possibly imagine how going around in a g string is comfortable.

i know if i was a woman i'd opt for the french knickers because they look nice and i imagine they are a lot more comfortable :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I can't answer as a woman, but I have worn a man-thong once or six time's, (was at a Party, knew I was gonna act the bollix and run around in a man-thong for a laugh), not really comfortable, but that was because Pants rubbing off my bare arsecheeks felt strange and I don't like the banana in a hammock.

TBH though, this thread is more suited to AH, with crossdressing and all.

Oh and here is the Grammar Nazi in me,

Are thongs and g-stings actually comfortable?
    Do thongs and g-strings actually feel comfortable?

But never what you wrote. Sorry.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I absolutely hate thongs. So uncomfortable! I think they look pretty silly too, eep. But lots of girls I know only wear thongs and think they are very comfortable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

For whomever thinks thongs are uncomfortable, two words:

Hanky Panky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

I can't answer as a woman, but I have worn a man-thong once or six time's, (was at a Party, knew I was gonna act the bollix and run around in a man-thong for a laugh), not really comfortable, but that was because Pants rubbing off my bare arsecheeks felt strange and I don't like the banana in a hammock.

TBH though, this thread is more suited to AH, with crossdressing and all.

Oh and here is the Grammar Nazi in me,

Are thongs and g-stings actually comfortable?
    Do thongs and g-strings actually feel comfortable?

But never what you wrote. Sorry.:D

excuse your cheek! im no cross dresser.

ive never put on a pair of female knickers in my life! im just speaking in general

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

Thongs are the best, literally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

excuse your cheek! im no cross dresser.

ive never put on a pair of female knickers in my life! im just speaking in general

Sorry, I shoulda had :p after it. It was meant in Jest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

ah! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

SeekUp wrote: »
    For whomever thinks thongs are uncomfortable, two words:

Hanky Panky.

lol I do feel a bit saucier when I'm wearing them alright. :D Don't do it often though, they constantly feel like they need rearranging compared to granny knicks :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Some thongs are ridiculously uncomfortable, some french knickers can be ridiculous uncomfortable, some regular knickers can be ridiculous uncomfortable, boy shorts can be uncomfortable, g-strings can be uncomfortable.

But others can be REALLY comfortable.

It all depends on the fabric, design, stretchiness, gusset(:o)....etc.

Generally speaking they aren't the most comfortable thing though, but then again it does depend on the type of thong/g-string in question;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I wear them when I fancy a bit of action with himself. One bum wiggle in a thong and he's gone, muwahaha boys, ye're so easy! :pac:
    Never found them that uncomfortable but I love French knickers, a lot cuter and more comfy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

Tried wearing them a few times but I end up pulling at it and rearranging every 30 seconds. Even when it's arranged properly it's uncomfortable.

So I never wore them again even though Himself likes them. If he starts going on about it, I tell him to go wear a thong himself and see how he likes it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Do thongs and g strings actually be comfortable?

Wearing underwear? pfft, n00b mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭AnnieB82

When I first wore thongs I was very aware of that wedgie feeling - but you get used to them pretty quickly and I find them quite comfy. These days I only wear them with skirts/trousers but not with jeans...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Unless a woman's got a great arse, g-strings look pitiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I don't find them uncomfortable at all... I like thongs :) Only under trousers though, never under skirts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭*Lees*

95% of my undies drawer is thongs/g-strings! The other 5% is french knickers! I find thongs & g-strings more comfortable than french knickers to be honest!!! French knickers are a pain too if your wearing pants, when you pull up your pants the knickers rolls up and it's very visible I end up spending half the day fixing myself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I can't stand thongs or g-strings. Girl boxers > all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

shellyboo wrote: »
    I don't find them uncomfortable at all... I like thongs :) Only under trousers though, never under skirts.

Ditto . . . all you need is one swift breeze . . . !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

Hanes boyfriend stlye pants or girl boxers FTW i always stock up when i go stateside.
    When i'm out its thong time but i don't find them all that comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

Thongs are basically smelly rope... little french knickers or boxers all the way and as Dudess said.... most arses look pitiful in thongs not to mention plentiful....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Trousers = seamless high legs, boyshorts.
    Skirts = brazillians or boxers
    Jeans = thongs or g-string
    Clingy dresses = thong, g-string

Depends on what outer clothes I'm wearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

I personally cannot stand thongs/g strings....much prefer little french knickers & imo they are much sexier:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

depends totally on what outer clothes im wearing.

have quite a variety of options in the ol' underwear drawer.

prefer french knickers, but theyre not always practical under tight trousers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭stiff kitten

definately not those elasticated thongs..depends on material..lace is fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

MJOR wrote: »
    Most arses look pitiful in thongs not to mention plentiful....

Surely that depends on the arse in question??:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Depends if they fit you properly, if they're too small, they will hurt. Personally, I love them, and find them comfortable (probably because i've been wearing them for years.) i actually find them more comfortable than granny knickers cuz i'm so used to them, I hate big knickers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Thing is though, while I don't like g-strings (I haven't a bad ass but I think they look tacky and sleazy and I don't like having string up my arse) I also dislike granny knickers. French knickers are a bit awkward too. Something in between string and full bum coverage is what I'd like but all you can get are thongs - slightly wider than g-strings but still give you a permanent wedgie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

I've tried thongs and it's like having a perma-wedgie especially when you sit down (I tried a few diff ones incase I'd the wrong size etc).
    I really don't need a piece of floss wedged up there making me uncomfortable and walk funny for the day.

French knicker similar styles ftw, comfy and sexy at the same time. They're not huge but at least they're more than floss :P Some french knickers do tend to constantly ride up, so a similar style like these & these I find are good.

Fair dues to those that can wear the thongs well though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Dudess wrote: »
    T]Something in between string and full bum coverage is what I'd like but all you can get are thongs - slightly wider than g-strings but still give you a permanent wedgie.

May I suggest...

http://www2.victoriassecret.com/commerce/onlineProductDisplay.vs?namespace=productDisplay&origin=onlineProductDisplay.jsp&event=display&prnbr=CM-195766&page=1&cgname=OSPTYCHKZZZ&rfnbr=4707&atb=B

Cheekies/brazillians.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

thongs/g-string anything else feels like a nappy on me, comfortwise I find thogs or g-strings very comfy once they're the right material.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Ginny wrote: »
    thongs/g-string anything else feels like a nappy on me, comfortwise I find thogs or g-strings very comfy once they're the right material.

+1 same here, some shorts are ok, everything else is just horrid.
    star-pants wrote: »
    Ah ha, they're like the ones I wear - v comfortable and sexy

where do you get them ? apart from Victoria's secrets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I disagree that they look bad unless the woman has an amazing arse, most women can pull them off in my experience.

I have a liking for them, there's something kinda sexy about finding a thong in there under jeans or whatever.

Agreed. I love having a nice sexy surprise for the guy underneath clothes that aren't necessarily sexy themselves.

SeekUp wrote: »
    Ditto . . . all you need is one swift breeze . . . !

Yeah, and also, if you're wearing a thong and you sit down in a dress, there can be dress wedgie once you get up. Which is just wrong on so many levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 monsoonish78

Acacia wrote: »
    Oooh, they're cute! I love underwear shopping! :D
    Me too, it's a recent development!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Don't mind thongs or g strings, kinda forget to wear them though!

I get a wedgie from boyshorts :confused: You know those ones with the elasticated waistbands that make you look fat? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

nouggatti wrote: »

House of Fraser in Dundrum, not the same brand but the same style.:)

And I'm trying to remember the name of another website...but can't dredge it from the memory at the moment...:(

Edit: Figleaves.com!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I love thongs. You just have to be careful not to buy them in too small a size as they will just annoy you by riding up then.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I prefer French knickers but I have thongs for wearing with leggings and super tight jeans.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Special occasions only.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Thank feck my missus dont wear them. They are the most stupid looking things ever. Its horrible seen a lack going around with an arse that looks like its getting flossed by the stupid things.
    I did wear a string thing with a bull on the front of it at a session once. Only for about 2 minutes though. Even though I was completely plastered I still had the common sense that a string up me arse is uncomfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

waistbands that make you look fat? :P
    my fat makes me look fat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

I can't cope with thongs or g-strings at all at all. I also can't cope with any underwear that has a seam going from the front right in the middle all the way to the back. Like these ones! They result in a front and back wedgie. Most uncomfortable.

I love la senza briefs though. The little ones that just sit on your hips that they always have a 5 for €15 or whatever. They're my favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Ciks

Hehe, I remember my friend's granny was doing the ironing at her place once and found her g-string. After she was told what it was she was appalled, "Sure there's no heat in those!" Such a perfect stereotypical granny response. :P

nouggatti wrote: »

La Senza tend to have them sometimes, I've bought them there before
    usually have a good 5 for 15€ deal or soemthing

seanybiker wrote: »
    Its horrible seen a lack going around with an arse that looks like its getting flossed by the stupid things.

Am curious... this is the second time I've seen you use the word 'lack' in a context which makes no sense to me. What does it mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

shellyboo wrote: »
    Am curious... this is the second time I've seen you use the word 'lack' in a context which makes no sense to me. What does it mean?

Apparently it's Waterford slang for girlfriend.

http://www.slang.ie/index.php?county=all&entry=Lack&letter=L