Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Holidays this year: anyone afford them?

• 22-04-2009 4:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

So, the mobile companies are dropping the roamin prices this year, will anybody notice or can anybody afford a hol this year?
    I cant :(:(:(
    BBBAAAAAHHHHAAAAAHAAAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Weekend in Amsterdam in June =p

Dave probably wont be there, man

Paris and nice for a week, wkend away for bf's birthday... another hol or two later in the year, fingers crossed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

Off to vegas at end of May for a week. 800 euro for flights and accom in Bellagio hotel. So i am going on holiday but only because its that cheap. Otherwise, cudnt afford it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Not a sniff of one unfortunately but on the upside I have an interview coming up that I have a right good chance of getting so I'm like the proverbial pig in sh!t :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Down to the bog for a week and you'll have a great tan, you can lie to your friends and tell them you were in tenerife.

Mosney for a forthnight

Down to the bog for a week and you'll have a great tan, you can lie to your friends and tell them you were in tenerife.

and that you were molested by a big farmer

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

rarnes1 wrote: »
    and that you were molested by a big farmer

in tenerife :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Yup. A week in Marbella in May and a week in Malta in June :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Spain for 2 weeks in August, the last two weeks when it's hottest!:D

I'm actually off to Spain at the end of June for a week, and Japan at the end of August. I'm not letting no recession get in the way from escaping from this Island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Yep im going on hols.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Eindhoven for a few days in July-ish.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Had a weekend in Dusseldorf in march, 2 weekend specials away in ireland, but no no other holidays planned, have to see how the finances go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

of course ill have a holiday... Lord knows i need one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Camping holiday in France in mid-July. Working out MUCH cheaper than a package holiday.

Kiera wrote: »
    Yup. A week in Marbella in May and a week in Malta in June :)

Malta!
    now that's a good idea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭d6

its the spending money that puts a spanner in the works for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

yeah im having a holiday this year, probably cant afford it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I could holiday just about anywhere in Europe for less than €300. It might only be one night but it's a holiday none the less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Peru, Bolivia & Argentina for 3 months. Whoo-hoo :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Florida in May, haven't planned anything else after that. Probably will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Yep Spain for two weeks in june-july. Cost me €300 (the price of a good hooker over there for an hour)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

could never afford them anyway

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Had a holiday there at the start of the month. Will be paying for it for the next three months however. Then another holiday. Im addicted to travel.

I will be visiting rosslare many many times I would imagine this year, I have a mobile home down there which I own but haven't paid the fees yet and that's going to kill me. I wanted to bring my hubbie to Vegas for his 30th but can't see that happening now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Off to Slovakia for a week in June to meet the girlfriends mother and to break up her 3 week stay. Then 2 of us going to Crete for 10 days in August :D not letting recession ruin my summer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I've already been to London and Florida. Trips to France, Finland and the Netherlands are in the pipeline too. I need to get out of this country as often as possible to keep myself sane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Oh yeah, need the hols to refresh the soul!! Was in Oz last month for a few weeks, back in Ireland for a week in June, either Japan or S. Korea in the Autumn and some weekend breaks here and there!

lucky duck :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Steyr wrote: »
    Spain for 2 weeks in August, the last two weeks when it's hottest!:D

First two are hottest, it rains on the last two ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

RATM wrote: »
    Peru, Bolivia & Argentina for 3 months. Whoo-hoo :p

Are you going to paint a bullseye on your forehead - or make it a little harder?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭narwog81

skydiving in russia for a week in June and 3 weeks drinking in Thailand for august.

i'll book now and worry about finances later

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

narwog81 wrote: »
    skydiving in russia for a week in June and 3 weeks drinking in Thailand for august.

i'll book now and worry about finances later

Nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Yes, I can. Not sure where I'd like to go though.

A friend suggested a drink fest anywhere hot. Might do that. I dont want to be here for Christmas / New year either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Ibiza for me this year. Its my first hol in over 2 1/2 yrs so there aint nobody called Stephen stoppin me gettin on that plane in June :D

anniehoo wrote: »
    Ibiza for me this year. Its my first hol in over 2 1/2 yrs so there aint nobody called Stephen stoppin me gettin on that plane in June :D

what about John?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

bettystown for 4 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Florida for 3 weeks in the middle of June. Only cost 860 each. Was gonna be considerate and change to New York for a week when the OH found out she was expecting but she can just watch as I go on all the Rollercoasters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭rio-rose

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Mosney for a forthnight
    i taught mosney was closed and the site given to refugees

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

rio-rose wrote: »
    i taught mosney was closed and the site given to refugees

You taught rite.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    bettystown for 4 months

I fcukin lol'd

Abigayle wrote: »
    You taught rite.
    ah ****, taught it was reopened its was a great spot to bring the wee kids to

stop taking the mickey outta me :P i got all excited thinking i cud get away for a wk this year:(

rio-rose wrote: »
    ah ****, taught it was reopened its was a great spot to bring the wee kids to

stop taking the mickey outta me :P i got all excited thinking i cud get away for a wk this year:(

http://wpcontent.answers.com/wikipedia/en/c/c0/Bface1.jpg

are you suggesting i bring the kids to watch that, FOR A WHOLE WEEK :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Been over to Edinburgh and Glasgow for a weekend.
    Going to Amsterdam for a weekend next month, followed two weeks later by a 2 week holiday in Spain and France.
    I'd feel guilty if i was sayin this to someone on the dole, but then i'd remember i was off to amsterdam for the weekend.....
    Ah feck it. i'll most likely be out of a job at the end of summer, so might as well enjoy it while i can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Week in Disneyland in March and off to Europe on the motorbikes with the lads for 2 weeks in July. It's all good :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Haven't been on a holiday since 2004! Heading to the British Grand Prix for the weekend in June though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I've two stags coming up over the next month (liverpool and munich), I have to head to wales at some stage over the summer to visit one of my friends and promised another friend I'd head to over to America for a week to see him. So should have a busy summer if I can find some cheap flights to America (no way I'm going if they are expensive).