Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

chating to the opposite sex on public transport.

• 21-04-2009 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭

does anyone else find it very easy to talk to people you dont kno on the luas or bus, especially with the opposite sex?? i find going into college on the luas in the mornings or coming home a conversation sparks out of nothing with the person beside you or whatever...though in my case i never start the conversations. its interesting. maybe we are all gettin friendlier or something lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Last time some guy started trying to chat me up on a bus a second one tried to out do him and they ended up trading blows while I moved to sit elsewhere, with the guy I had accompaning me. The easter weekend was certainly intresting.

The only members of the opposite sex that chat to me on public transport.
    Are the kind of people who want to distract me so they can eat clumps of my hair. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Are the kind of people who want to distract me so they can eat clumps of my hair. :(

And with that I'll put the brother thing on hold....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Urgh do you mean the drunk/drooling/slobbering/gropey one's who like to put their head on your shoulder and chew your hair? Whilst all the time the rest of the passengers snigger at your obvious discomfort?

/shudder

Ah jaysus, that's not fair, Moonybaby deserves to experience normality :D

nouggatti wrote: »

The assumption being that my brother is normal?

Okaaaay, I'll go with that....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭lynsalot

Urgh do you mean the drunk/drooling/slobbering/gropey one's who like to put their head on your shoulder and chew your hair? Whilst all the time the rest of the passengers snigger at your obvious discomfort?

/shudder

There were two men on the luas this evening who stank from high heaven. They were reeking of sweat and one was sitting opposite me and kept trying to catch my eye... wish ppl wouldn't try talk to you lol he kept kicking off his sandals and his feet were stinking oh good god the thoughts of it.... bleurgh

:( What Nouggatti said!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The assumption being that my brother is normal?

Now now don't be getting above yourself there, I was posting that in the spirit of her experiences of hair chewing males. Most males would be within the "normal" range compared to that :D

And where are the photos of said brothers?

:( What Nouggatti said!

Well, okay. But the drooly/sleeping on the shoulder/hair chewing stuff is normal to my brother...:)
    Now now don't be getting above yourself there, I was posting that in the spirit of her experiences of hair chewing males. Most males would be within the "normal" range compared to that :D

And where are the photos of said brothers?

Beat me at an arm wrestle and I'll post pictures of the lot of them, in swim shorts.:)

Well, okay. But the drooly/sleeping on the shoulder/hair chewing stuff is normal to my brother...:)

Beat me at an arm wrestle and I'll post pictures of the lot of them, in swim shorts.:)

ok you've four brothers, is it just one who does the hair chewing escapades?

NP with the arm wrestle :D, suggest Moony as the referee/adjudicator :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Last time some guy started trying to chat me up on a bus a second one tried to out do him and they ended up trading blows while I moved to sit elsewhere, with the guy I had accompaning me. The easter weekend was certainly intresting.
    Now that I would love to see ,two blioke scrapping over Thaedydal on a Luas :D

But perhaps exchanging verbals instead of trading blows

NP with the arm wrestle :D, suggest Moony as the referee/adjudicator :D

Motion seconded and passed. Prepare to upload do battle. ;)

Supervalu is where I get chatted up by relatively normal blokes.
    I am worried that it is because they fancy, the contents of my shopping basket more than me though.

This weeks one did it chessily infront of the checkout girl who was unamused. He died a death as we all waited for me to get a chance to escape.

Motion seconded and passed. Prepare to upload do battle. ;)

Am prepared, will go into training from tomorrow by hauling a few servers around.

Am mildly fascinated by this whole chatting up in supermarkets thing, do people really do this? And how do they start?

Am also mildly fascinated that people talk to each other on public transport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Be prepared to get the old biddy and harmless drunk sitting beside you wanting a chat . In between the tanned blonde twenty something babe of course .

I've noticed this trend recently. Never did before.
    Am mildly fascinated by this whole chatting up in supermarkets thing, do people really do this? And how do they start?

They wait behind you in the queue, and as soon as you turn your head a little, or catch their eye, they'll make some remark about something in your basket.

This is why its a good idea to hide anything of the feminine hygiene variety under something bigger. You don't want that brought up in small talk, really.

I've noticed this trend recently. Never did before.

They wait behind you in the queue, and as soon as you turn your head a little, or catch their eye, they'll make some remark about something in your basket.

This is why its a good idea to hide anything of the feminine hygiene variety under something bigger. You don't want that brought up in small talk, really.

I imagine not, the most exciting experience I've had in the supermarket is being id'd buying booze

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Nearly every time I get the Nitelink by myself some randomer tries to chat me up. I don't really take it as a compliment - how desperate do you have to be to try chatting someone up on the way home after a night out? It just reeks of "I am desperate and didn't manage to pull in a club, so any girl sitting by herself will do"

Interestingly, I found that reading a book on the Nitelink makes me a prime target for weird men. Now I just pretend to be asleep, but even that doesn't always work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Dublin_Andy

lynsalot wrote: »
    There were two men on the luas this evening who stank from high heaven. They were reeking of sweat and one was sitting opposite me and kept trying to catch my eye... wish ppl wouldn't try talk to you lol he kept kicking off his sandals and his feet were stinking oh good god the thoughts of it.... bleurgh

jesus... thats rough. very charming lol

you couldve started a conversation with them by saying " shower often?? " lol :D

yeah theres alot of smelly people on the luas, wel on the sandyford line anyway lol. coming home from college today the smell of sweat lol

I have a theory that shopping for their own grub drives the Irish male to despair their singledom.

Give me an Eastern European who is more interested in acquiring his vegetables anyday.

Fishie wrote: »
    Nearly every time I get the Nitelink by myself some randomer tries to chat me up. I don't really take it as a compliment - how desperate do you have to be to try chatting someone up on the way home after a night out? It just reeks of "I am desperate and didn't manage to pull in a club, so any girl sitting by herself will do"

Interestingly, I found that reading a book on the Nitelink makes me a prime target for weird men. Now I just pretend to be asleep, but even that doesn't always work.

maybe they are just bored and want to just chat... just because a guy starts chatting to a girl, doesnt mean he s trying to get stuck into her you know... but if they are fairly tipsy on the Nitelink when doing this they probably are desperate lol :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

maybe they are just bored and want to just chat... just because a guy starts chatting to a girl, doesnt mean he s trying to get stuck into her you know... but if they are fairly tipsy on the Nitelink when doing this they probably are desperate lol :D

Ah but when they unsubtly ask you if you have a boyfriend, compliment your hair and ask for your number chances are they are trying to get stuck in

Fishie wrote: »
    Ah but when they unsubtly ask you if you have a boyfriend, compliment your hair and ask for your number chances are they are trying to get stuck in

tut tut... thats very retarded indeed lol

asking them questions is something you do when your in your teens lol

they are letting the side down big time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

A tad OT, but I really, really hate randomers of any description commenting on the contents of my shopping basket.

Otherwise, I kinda like being chatted up in the supermarket, although it doesn't happen near enough. It was a common thing when I was in the States, being stalked in the frozen foods aisle and followed to the check out and then the ploy for your number...unnerving, but ballsy!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

God yes....If I was in another country I would still talk to anybody....Its shutting me up thats the problem:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I *hate* people talking to me on pubic transport. It's like, can you see these things in my ears? My headphones? There's music coming out of them, and I am trying to listen to it. Please go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

No hot men have tried to chat me up on public transport, I'm afraid. Unless they were drunk on the Nitelink, but then it's always something like, "You're one fine looking lady...hiccup..." .

Aside from that, the only strangers who talk to me are the token weirdos who everyone else has managed to avoid. *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I don't think I've ever spoken to a stranger of the opposite sex on public transport.

I do however always offer members of the fairer sex have a seat ahead of me or allow her walk on/off before me (chivalry is not dead!).

All I want is a thank you and a smile. It makes my day when I get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Give me an Eastern European who is more interested in acquiring his vegetables anyday.

Oh my God how dare you compare Eastern European men to Irish men!!!! :mad::mad::pac:

Only people who ever talk to me on public transport are the crazy ones.
    There was this one guy who was convinced he was 'the real Slim Shady'. He kept rapping at me. Out of abject terror all I could say to him was 'Very good' while smiling and nodding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

I love chatting to random people, be it on public transport or wherever, as long as they look friendly, makes the journey go faster.

Its always interesting coming up with ways to start talking to a stranger.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

People don't talk to me on public transport, but they do seem to zone in on my seat and basically sit on me even when there's empty seats nearer them, its bloody annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

People asking where the next stop is or whatever is ok.

People trying to chat to me for the sake of conversation or chatting me up is not ok.

Yes I'm a horrible person but there you go. As shellyboo says, the headphones are on (giant dj headphones that are really obvious) and they are on for a reason! The book I am reading is also another indicator for all to leave me alone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

shellyboo wrote: »
    I *hate* people talking to me on pubic transport.
    Hee hee......... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I've had some really, really interesting conversations with guys on the train.

I really like those random conversations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

1huge1 wrote: »
    I love chatting to random people, be it on public transport or wherever.
    I've only had the one time this happened, last bus to town from tallaght, some dude around 19 or so starts explaining how he got jumped on by 5 lads etc and because i wore my college hoodie with "sports therapy" on it, he proceeds to believe i'm doing a purely medical degree and asks me what he should do about his broken nose:P

I explain that although i'm a qualified CFR (cardiac first responder) i'm only good for massage right now, but he should get it seen to by a doc lol.

Strangely enough ive never had any other convo on a bus or the luas with a girl/woman...i must be either too normal lookin or too ugly for them or something:P

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I usually have my headphones in. Someone did tap me on the shoulder a while ago and told me it was an awful shame that he can't chat up good looking girls on the bus anymore because of ipods, I agreed and put my headphones back in. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Sea08

I usually have my headphones in. Someone did tap me on the shoulder a while ago and told me it was an awful shame that he can't chat up good looking girls on the bus anymore because of ipods, I agreed and put my headphones back in. :pac:

Ohhh... Burn! is that what we still say now?? Or is it zoom zoom zoom? I can't keep up with these things.

I've only really tried it once, when on the bus back to college and we ran into traffic which turned the hour and half journey into three hours. Had a great chat with the girl next to me who was doing pharmacy and then of course I got of the bus without ever trying to get her number. Oh well all worked out for the best in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TriceMarie

Thaedydal wrote: »

lol same thing happened to me outside a club one time...with alot of insults thrown at each other,which they nearly started a fight...=S not cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Has anyone gone any further than chatting to someone on public transport?
    i.e. exchanged numbers or whatever?

Cant help but think it would be creepy even if they were a nice person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Caliden wrote: »

Yes. More times than I can remember.

If you're brought up to only speak to the opposite sex after you've consumed alcohol, I can see why you'd think that it would be creepy. Not everyone was brought up that way though. It really is no big deal.

Caliden wrote: »

As I recall once...

Psychotic mother's boy Bruno Anthony meets famous tennis professional Guy Haines on a train. Guy wants to move into a career in politics and has been dating a senator's daughter (Ann Morton) while awaiting a divorce from his wife. Bruno wants to kill his father but knows he will be caught because he has a motive. Bruno dreams up a crazy scheme in which he and Guy exchange murders. Guy takes this as a joke, but Bruno is serious and takes things into his own hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

If someone starts talking to me on public transport, aside from asking me something like "what's the best stop to get off at for X" or "have you the time?" I'm usually civil enough but not very forthcoming. I tend to be a bit suspicious of strangers, which is a bit of a pity really, if you take the "a stranger's just a friend you havent met" point of view. If someone asked me my number on a bus after just a few minutes of talking I probably wouldn't give it to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Piste wrote: »
    If someone starts talking to me on public transport, aside from asking me something like "what's the best stop to get off at for X" or "have you the time?" I'm usually civil enough but not very forthcoming. I tend to be a bit suspicious of strangers, which is a bit of a pity really, if you take the "a stranger's just a friend you havent met" point of view. If someone asked me my number on a bus after just a few minutes of talking I probably wouldn't give it to them.

I have this mentality for certain situations but then not for some.

Public transport, No I don't like to talk to people on the Bus full stop, never mind talking to strangers.

Hitch-hiking, I will talk about everything with whoever picks me up. I would also give my number because they have already proved to be sound.

I saw a movie called ''The Hitcher''. It wasn't pretty.:eek:

If you are picked up by a psycho and don't get axe murdered Mini, don't push your luck by giving them a second chance with your phone number!:)

I saw a movie called ''The Hitcher''. It wasn't pretty.:eek:

If you are picked up by a psycho and don't get axe murdered Mini, don't push your luck by giving them a second chance with your phone number!:)

It was the hitcher in the movie who was the psycho.

Galvasean wrote: »

Pedant.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Galvasean wrote: »

Shhhh. Your letting them know about me.