Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Lions squad announcement and discussion thread

• 21-04-2009 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭

Ok so, the squad is set to be announced in 10 minutes. I'll update this post with the squad as i get it.... hmm actually gonna be a 37 man squad.

The British and Irish Lions squad for 2009 is:

Backs:
    Lee Byrne
    Rob Kearney
    Shane Williams
    Lee Halfpenny
    Ugo Monye
    Luke Fitzgerald
    Tommy Bowe
    Tom Shanklin
    Jamie Roberts
    Brian O'Driscoll
    Keith Earls
    Rikey Flutey
    Ronan O'Gara
    Stephen Jones
    Mike Phillips
    Harry Ellis
    Tomás O'Leary

Forwards:
    Jamie Heaslip
    Andy Powell
    David Wallace
    Stephen Ferris
    Alan Quinlan
    Joe Worsley
    Martyn Williams
    Alan Wyn Jones
    Paul O'Connell (c)
    Donnacha O'Callaghan
    Simon Shaw
    Nathan Hines
    Gethin Jenkins
    Adam Jones
    Andrew Sheridan
    Phil Vickery
    Euan Murray
    Jerry Flannery
    Lee Mears
    Matthew Rees.

Wales: 13 players
    Ireland: 14 players
    England: 8
    Scotland: 2

Good selection. Lots of irish names in there. Good to see Fitzy AND Bowe. And of course Earls. No sign of Cipriani. :D and no Armitage.. which is a surprise tho he might have shot himself in the foot a bit there

Keith earls was picked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

O'Leary also! :)

Quinlan!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its the Irish (and a few others) Lions.

14 players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

post updated

no Mike Blair or Ryan Jones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Jaysis - Quinny and Earls ! Wasn't expectin them.

Great to see Quinlan, a fantastic representative for Ireland and Munster, get a shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Regrettable that John Hayes is not there. He is one I respect a lot.

Otherwise congrats to the bulk of the Irish team which has been picked.

Im sure the overall panel of Irish lads will swell between 14-18 with call ups etc during the tournament.

Yeah, feel sorry for Hayes!

Also, just noticed that Ryan Jones wasn't picked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Junior wrote: »
    Jaysis - Quinny and Earls ! Wasn't expectin them.

Bring it on quinny and earls surprised me too I cannot wait !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

So much for welsh bias. That's about as good as we could have hoped for Irish representation (even better than hoped with Earls and Quinlan).

Now that the plane tickets are booked it's up to the lads to play their way onto the test team. McGeechan picks form players so all you need is to be in the squad and you have as good a chance as any bigger names of making the team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 823 ✭✭✭MG

First impression is that I can't argue with the selection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Amabokke

walk in the park for the boks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Long tour ahead lads, its gonna be physical expect replacements to be called up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Delighted to see Earls making it, really exciting player to watch. Same sort of mould as Habana when running at opposition players imo. Surprised there is no Ryan Jones there though. Maybe did not do himself justice in the 6N but still would have expected him to scrape in. Thank God sense prevailed and Gavin Henson was left at home to spend the summer looking at himself in the mirror. Flutey is a far better player. Not too surprised Hayes and Horan did not make it either. Pity as its probably Hayes last chance to tour.

Really looking forward to seeing how the 14 Irish lads get on now with POC leading them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

Shocking selection

Earls over Armitage??? What the ****! Earls isn't even considered ready to play for Ireland and yet hes picked for Lions instead of Armitage?? What a shocking decision!

Quinlan is another absolutely baffling decision!!

Happy with POC captain but surprised its not BOD after leading his team to their first 6 nations in over 60 years and putting in a RBS 6 nations Player of the Tournament performance (and to think only a few months ago I was arguing with regular posters here about BOD being past it HA!) as well as being the absolute difference in getting a grandslam in games such as England! What more could the man have done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

Seems like a good selection to me, few surprises in there obviously but not too much you can argue with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

I'd say Quinlan is there to be a constant for the mid-week team. Earls is this tour's Jason Robinson - the unknown quantity that will either make a huge impact or not get much game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Worried about style of play that looks like the Lions will be playing. I had hoped that they would have had more flair but looks like that it will be a bash up the middle fest, get turned over by SA and goodnight.
    No variation at 9 or 10 in the selections, I think the back line will more than likely go for size rather than pace and flair.
    Taking on SA in a forward orientated battle is gonna be tough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Amabokke wrote: »
    walk in the park for the boks....

Is your opinion based on the actual selection or that no NH team is good enough to beat SA at the moment?

Shocking selection

Earls over Armitage??? What the ****! Earls isn't even considered ready to play for Ireland and yet hes picked for Lions instead of Armitage?? What a shocking decision!

Quinlan is another absolutely baffling decision!!

Not really. Geechan has chosen the team based on his own particular gameplan and history has ALWAYS shown that some of the surprise call ups end up outshining the others!

Earls wasn't played in the 6N due to an injury, which only came right in the middle of the tournament. Nothing about not being "ready".
    Shocking that Armitage wasn't picked yes, but he could be picked ahead of other backs, rather than Earls. Earls is a good pick.

As for Quinlan, he has been in fantastic form lately and he suits the gameplan Geechan seems to be going for. That is, a very physical, agressive and forward based plan.

Quinlan suits this, as does Shaw, Sheridan, Ferris, Powell, Worsley, Hines and a few others.

dub_skav wrote: »
    I'd say Quinlan is there to be a constant for the mid-week team. Earls is this tour's Jason Robinson - the unknown quantity that will either make a huge impact or not get much game time.

How they picked a player that wasn't even good enough to start in a 6 nations game instead of a player who got nominated for player of the tournament is one of the strangest selection decisions I have ever seen. That one decision has in my opinion made the selection a joke.

Yet a LOT of pundits/experts were predicting Earls inclusion?

Noopti wrote: »
    Not really. Geechan has chosen the team based on his own particular gameplan and history has ALWAYS shown that some of the surprise call ups end up outshining the others!

Earls wasn't played in the 6N due to an injury, which only came right in the middle of the tournament. Nothing about not being "ready".
    Shocking that Armitage wasn't picked yes, but he could be picked ahead of other backs, rather than Earls. Earls is a good pick.

As for Quinlan, he has been in fantastic form lately and he suits the gameplan Geechan seems to be going for. That is, a very physical, agressive and forward based plan.

Quinlan suits this, as does Shaw, Sheridan, Ferris, Powell, Worsley, Hines and a few others.

Emmm Earls was injured before the 6 nations but deemed fully fit by the first game he was not injured mid way through the tournament!

Yet a LOT of pundits/experts were predicting Earls inclusion?

Neil Francis doesn't count.

Earls would be torn up on the Lions! I love how before the 6 nations people here were afraid of Fitzgerald going on tour yet somehow Earls is deemed a fine option :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭r0nanf

Nobody seems to be disputing Flutey. Quality aside he is no more than a jersey collecting glory hunter. Shouldn't have been picked over a home countries player. He'll probably auction his Lions jersey as soon as he gets it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Andystoran

The reason they didnt bring armitage is because the Full back slot is Lee byrnes as long as hes fit. Armitage may be able to cover the wing but so can kearney.

I cant understand how they went with only 2 no.10s. Id like to see cipriani on the hard ground with a pack going forward.. Hed be an exciting lion.

Andystoran wrote: »
    The reason they didnt bring armitage is because the Full back slot is Lee byrnes as long as hes fit. Armitage may be able to cover the wing but so can kearney.

I cant understand how they went with only 2 no.10s. Id like to see cipriani on the hard ground with a pack going forward.. Hed be an exciting lion.

So why was Earls brought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

only the captain of ireland was included in the squad...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,140 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

He was injured prior to the 6N, doesn't mean he wasn't selected due to injury. He was never going to start head of Fitz, so its a question of whether he would have taken Murphy's spot on the bench (which he may have, though its not as if he displaced him from there after injury). He's in better form now again now though, but I would certainly feel uneasy if he had to play in one of the tests.
    and history has ALWAYS shown that some of the surprise call ups end up outshining the others!

It really hasn't. People merely remember the ones who did well better.

Andystoran wrote: »

Agree either Cipriani or Hook should have gone - they seem to have gone with a squad that will have plan A and if that goes wrong then we'll just try plan A again

Neil Francis doesn't count.

Earls would be torn up on the Lions! I love how before the 6 nations people here were afraid of Fitzgerald going on tour yet somehow Earls is deemed a fine option :confused:
    • Earls can play in 3 backline positions
    • He is in fantastic form
    • He is a broken field runner who will be perfect for the SA grounds.
    Your shock/hate/revulsion that he is picked sounds more like personal resentment towards the player rather than any sort of grounded opinion based on facts. Especially seeing as you are singling out him rather then the other, and some would say more surprising, choices.

I said for a long time here that Fitzgerald will be great on tour, and I am glad Earls is also getting a shot. And I look forward to you eating your words. :)

PS: I didn't even know Neil Francis tipped Earls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

r0nanf wrote: »
    Nobody seems to be disputing Flutey. Quality aside he is no more than a jersey collecting glory hunter. Shouldn't have been picked over a home countries player. He'll probably auction his Lions jersey as soon as he gets it.
    And yet many Irish fans would be happy to see Warwick or Mafi in the green.
    Your shock/hate/revulsion that he is picked sounds more like personal resentment towards the player rather than any sort of grounded opinion based on facts. Especially seeing as you are singling out him rather then the other, and some would say more surprising, choices.

I said for a long time here that Fitzgerald will be great on tour, and I am glad Earls is also getting a shot. And I look forward to you eating your words. :)

In fairness to RF, if I was Delon Armitage I'd be furious. You say Earls is a good broken field runner, and I agree, and you say that suits South Africa, and I kinda agree too, but that leads me on to... Armitage - why wouldn't a proven international full back go?

Again glad to see an Irish kid going, but like, if this goes badly wrong, and it could, Armitage's omission will look like madness.

In fairness to RF, if I was Delon Armitage I'd be furious. You say Earls is a good broken field runner, and I agree, and you say that suits South Africa, and I kinda agree too, but that leads me on to... Armitage - why wouldn't a proven international full back go?

Again glad to see an Irish kid going, but like, if this goes badly wrong, and it could, Armitage's omission will look like madness.

Ah here, no need for dramatics! People are going on like Earls was picked over Armitage. Who is to say that is wasn't Monye that was picked over Armitage? Or someone else.
    They picked Byrne and Kearney, two proven full backs. If they picked Armitage, they would have 3. Whereas they picked Earls who can play FB, Wing and Centre.

I would have picked Armitage, but it would be at the expense of Monye and not Earls.

Also, you say "if it goes badly wrong". If what goes badly wrong? If we are whitewashed then I hardly think you can say, "oh, if Armitage was here we would have won".......Armitage is good, but he would probably be a mid-week player, as will Earls.....so I don't get why people are getting so bloody mad over the decision. It's not like he picked Earls over BOD or Byrne ffs.

I guess he is the wildcard for the centre and may get game time if games breakup as the centre picks are fairly similar in style of play.
    He wont get in any other positions as they are well covered.
    i see him playing first game for the dirt-trackers to see how he gets on with the physicality then hopefully will get on the bench for a test or 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

I'm guessing Earls is in there because he can cover from 11 - 15. Armitage can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Earls gives more options than Armitage though

Armitage, Kearney and Byrne are all very similar in style, Earls something different, it reminds me of the last SA Tour when McGeehan selected an english guy (Bentley? was it?) who wasn't an english regular but had that broken running/side-stepping skills that worked very well.

Having said that I wouldn.t see earls as a Test starter unless he really impacts in the mid-week games. Same for Quinny really, you couldn't look past our powerhouse of a backrow.

With regard to taking only two fly-halves...I think they decided to use the spot for a third outhalf as an extra utility player. I would expect a quick call up if either were injured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Not excactly looking forward to the lions tour now. With his selections at SH and OH he's already set his stall out to make sure the ball gets kicked down the field a huge majority of the time. I'm delighted Earls made the squad, it's great experience for the young irish lad. He'll be second choice at least in every position from 11-15 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Not excactly looking forward to the lions tour now. With his selections at SH and OH he's already set his stall out to make sure the ball gets kicked down the field a huge majority of the time.

Pessimism already?

That's the spirit...roll on defeat...hurrah

as i said in the other thread i would have picked monye over armitage too. 2 full backs is enough. monye is seriously strong and quick. if earls was picked over anyone he was picked over darcy

Riskymove wrote: »
    Pessimism already?

That's the spirit...roll on defeat...hurrah

When did I say we'd lose?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Tomás O'Leary is rubbish, so slow you could take a nap before he passes the ball, don't know how he gets his game for Munster nor Ireland and no idea why he's going to SA, the man is rubbish

Not excactly looking forward to the lions tour now. With his selections at SH and OH he's already set his stall out to make sure the ball gets kicked down the field a huge majority of the time.

O'Gara has been varying his game massively for Munster over the last 18 months, keeping the ball in hand far more often and Jones has been the OH for the most exciting back-row in the 6 Nations over the last couple of years.

Besides, I am not sure why you would want to kick for field position too much against the most effective line-out unit in world rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

delighted for quinlan - what a beast!

MooseJam wrote: »
    Tomás O'Leary is rubbish, so slow you could take a nap before he passes the ball, don't know how he gets his game for Munster nor Ireland and no idea why he's going to SA, the man is rubbish

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-VUgWHDSjYI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭steelbar

Am glad see that they got it right in not picking Henson, Cipriani, Ryan Jones, as they all did nothing this season.

Can see Quinny getting a test spot

Hayes scrummaging le him down id say, Horan is too small.

Its going to be a tough tour of the out half's there wont be much time to rest. And they both aren't the youngest any more.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

MooseJam wrote: »

"MooseJam in doesn't know much about rugby shocker"

O'Gara has been varying his game massively for Munster over the last 18 months, keeping the ball in hand far more often and Jones has been the OH for the most exciting back-row in the 6 Nations over the last couple of years.

Besides, I am not sure why you would want to kick for field position too much against the most effective line-out unit in world rugby.

They havent selected one scrum half who can get quick ball, this says it all to me. It will be stuff it up the jumper then kick to the corners for territory. I dont understand why he brought TOL and Ellis, maybe someone can tell what the two bring to the table that's different? I take mike phillips will be the starting SH on form but if your down with 20 minutes to go bringing a player who's slow to pass the ball isnt a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Armitage was pushed out by the amount of players in the squad that can cover fullback. I'd say they said 2 from 3 (Kearney, Armitage and Byrne) and Armitage missed out. Wouldn't say its madness but it is unfortunate.

Looking at the fixture list it's a huge ask for the two OHs. Have no idea why he didnt bring a thrid.

30 May: Highveld XV; Royal Bafokeng, Rustenburg
    3 June: Golden Lions; Ellis Park, Johannesburg
    6 June: Cheetahs; Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
    10 June: Sharks; ABSA Park, Durban
    13 June: Western Province; Newlands, Cape Town
    16/17 June: Coastal XV; Port Elizabeth (Venue to be confirmed)
    20 June: South Africa(first Test) ; ABSA Park, Durban
    23 June: Emerging Springboks; Newlands, Cape Town
    27 June: South Africa (second Test) ; Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
    4 July: South Africa (third Test) ; Ellis Park, Johannesburg