Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkee Hell of the West June 27th 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

I am tempted. Do you know how much is the entry fee? I did not find any info on their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Spins

Signed up and rearing to go... It'll be my first olympic distance, did three sprints last year and will have two sprints done this year (Valentia & Athy) before HOTW.... What should I expect?
    Swim - Beach start?
    Cycle - Hills?
    Run - Hills?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭Genghis

Shhhh! I'm still hoping to get a place ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Spins wrote: »
    Signed up and rearing to go... It'll be my first olympic distance, did three sprints last year and will have two sprints done this year (Valentia & Athy) before HOTW.... What should I expect?
    Swim - Beach start?
    Cycle - Hills?
    Run - Hills?

Valentia will be good prep for HOTW. Athy not so much - too flat.

Swim: Deep water start. Can be very rough water. Sea swim so cold.
    Bike: Rough surface, not bad, but rough. No super sharp hills but plenty of long drags into the wind. A challenging bike course.
    Run: 5km up a cliff, 5km down the cliff.

Best fun olympic on the calendar, always excellently run and a great atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

911sc wrote: »
    I am tempted. Do you know how much is the entry fee? I did not find any info on their website.

TI members €55, non TI are that plus the one day licence fee. Not sure about relays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

I'm also registered. Planned on getting the Friday off work and driving down early that day but now i have foudn out two workmates are already off so i will be arriving down quite late! How long should it take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

Spins wrote: »
    Swim - Beach start?
    Cycle - Hills?
    Run - Hills?

If you haven't put the work in on the bike you'll suffer.

The run which looks the worst is actually the best bit of the lot.

The post-race party is a legend. It's like being at a great big country wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

Bambaata wrote: »
    How long should it take?

from where?

I'd be sitting on the pc at 9 in the morning. The previous releases of 200 places per release sold out in under ten minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭wellboss

I'm also signed up for it, did it last year as my first Olympic and I thought it was a great race, as mentioned before the post race party is mighty, culchie wedding all the way :D:D:D

I'd be sitting on the pc at 9 in the morning. The previous releases of 200 places per release sold out in under ten minutes.

Eh, you would want to be at the PC at 8.45 and have the active europe page open ready for the link to appear!!

BTW, not sure if this is allowed (feel free to edit this post Mods if not :o)

Marshalls needed for the Joey Hannon Triathlon on 03 May.

If you are around Limerick on Sunday week or have anyone coming along to support that would be interested to help out, can you send me a PM.

All volunteers will receive a free 'Goody Bag' with race t-shirt, a meal voucher for the UL Sports Club after the race and an invite to the BBQ in Nancy Blakes.

from where?

woops. that would help. Dublin

i'd strongly advise sitting at it from 8/8:30. They announced 8 the first time but it actually opened at 7:30 have been told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ladytri

Don't know about ye but it doesn't seem that long ago when I would've been up half the night to buy tickets for a festival where I was going to get blind drunk...I've been reduced to staying up half the night to buy my way into something called "Hell" and get blind from exhaustion instead! Ah, middle age:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

I'm signed up as well. Really looking forward to this one- I've only heard greatthings about it. Will be my first tri in the auld sod!
    Anybody know how choppy/exposed the bay is?
    The youtube link is a little sobering when it shows the run up that hill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Spins

What distance are your weekend long cycles at the mo? 70-90km? If you're able for this distance at a reasonable pace, should you be ok for HOTW cycle?

ladytri wrote: »
    Don't know about ye but it doesn't seem that long ago when I would've been up half the night to buy tickets for a festival where I was going to get blind drunk...I've been reduced to staying up half the night to buy my way into something called "Hell" and get blind from exhaustion instead! Ah, middle age:rolleyes:

You can still hang around and fulfill the blind drunk part ;)

Reminder: Last release of Kilkee places tomorrow

The final places for Kilkee will be released online at 9am tomorrow (Friday April 24th). I will post the link to the Active Europe website here at that time. Click on the link and you will be directed to the registration process. The previous release of places sold out VERY quickly, so I encourage you to have the mouse at the ready! Best of luck

Did ye get in?

Yip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ladytri

Nope:(
    I think its a sign that I'm just not ready yet...If I'm not quick enough to register imagine how slow my race times would be!

1 week to go!!

Who is in, who is up for it and how are ye all feeling?

Wind down starts today...
    Psyche up starts today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 kruger73

SLightly apprehensive about swim if its choppy. My first sea swim in a race. Have done 6 or 7 swims in seapoint in Dublin to prepare. Did Athy as my first race and swim was easy. Very easy. Albeit that I am slow, it was comfortable which is all I wanted. Kilkee slightly concerns me. I will be glad to be cycling or running up any hill, once Ive gotten the swim over somewhat within my comfort zone.

kruger73 wrote: »
    SLightly apprehensive about swim if its choppy. My first sea swim in a race. Have done 6 or 7 swims in seapoint in Dublin to prepare. Did Athy as my first race and swim was easy. Very easy. Albeit that I am slow, it was comfortable which is all I wanted. Kilkee slightly concerns me. I will be glad to be cycling or running up any hill, once Ive gotten the swim over somewhat within my comfort zone.

The thing to remember is not to get freaked out. There were FAR better swimmers than me yanked out of the water last year the difference was that I was completely relaxed and didn't panic at the big waves. Just remember that you're very safe and warm in your wet suit, there's a ton of people around, I mean you can legally hang onto a kajak and take a rest if needs be!

Just enjoy it. It's in a bay so even though it might seem a bit scarey it's very sheltered and just grand.

One thing I did do last year was go down a few weeks back and take a dip in the sea. Try and nip in for a dip on Friday afternoon/evening so you're not getting into "strange" sea. I found that really helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭redved

i'm signed up. Getting worried now though.
    Only did one sprint triathlon in Athy.
    Did 1500m in the pool for the first time on tues.
    Think I may have bitten off more than I can chew.
    Ah well, all will be revealed on Saturday week

redved wrote: »
    i'm signed up. Getting worried now though.
    Only did one sprint triathlon in Athy.
    Did 1500m in the pool for the first time on tues.
    Think I may have bitten off more than I can chew.
    Ah well, all will be revealed on Saturday week

You will be absolutely fine. Just enjoy the race and the atmosphere, you'll get great support.

It's all very doable. Just take the race in bite sized chunks and do it with a smile on your face. Remember that even by getting to the start line you've achieved more than a lot of people.

Agree with HardyEustace. Break it into chunks.

The swim is marked by 7 bright orange buoys, just swim to each one in turn and before yuo know it you are on the beach again!

Visualise your transition and walk through your routine before the race, your mind and body will switch to auto pilot as you catch your breath after the swim.

The bike has each 5km marked on the road, take each one in turn... by number 8 you just have one sharp steep hill to go and then its a fast downhill into T2 so know that you will catch your breath after that hill.

T2 same again just visualise it and walk through it in logical steps before the race.

The run, once on the first hill (Dunlicky road) its steep enough and the legs will be tired, keep going the crest is not far off and the road levels out a bit for you to once again catch your breath. Then the views of the Atlantic will draw your attention and the cool breeze rising up over the cliff will feel good, befor eyou know it 2.5km water station. If its a hot day throw half the water over your head by the time you focus on the road again you have run another 500m, 3k done already and just 2km more before its all downhill to the finish!

Chatting about it with some experienced heads who spend their summers in Kilkee and the weather forecast is good. In fact its supposed to rise to the mid twenties again during the week so the water will be nice. I swam in the bay a couple of times and the sea water and wetsuit combination is brilliant, you just float without using any energy. Trust this and relax and the swim might just be more enjoyable than the pool or the murky river in Athy....

Its going to be a great weekend, I can feel it in my bones :D

Getting pumped up for this myself too! I'm loving the long days since I got back. Going to get in one more longish cycle tomorrow or Sunday to see how the bike is. Training has gone a little off the rails the last couple of weeks...oh well.

Great rundown on the course MCOS by the way! I'm sure those hills are going to hurt, but it will be a good kind of hurt :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭tagoona

Looking forward to next weekend alright.
    Ennis Tri club was down in kilkee last weekend.
    All information is tempered by the fact that I'm not a great triathlete - much more middle of the road (2.32 for Athy olymplic
    Note : There was some glass in the transition area around the bandstand. I'm sure they'll sweep it before HOTW.

Swim: Calm and clear waters this morning at 8.30, but quite cold. It was still quite cold during the post-training swim at 12.30.

Cycle: Moderate-steep hill coming out of kilkee for about 2k. You get some good speed coming down the other side. Up and down all the way as far as the halfway point, a right turn and a long moderate hill as far as creagh, where there's another right turn(gravel on the outside - be warned). 2 k brings you back onto the road you came in on. Up and down all the way back to the 38k mark. A steep hill, that you think you've sorted, except at the crest you spot another long steep hill. That's the final hill, you get great speed coming back down that hill and into kilkee.
    The surface is mostly good, with one section of patched potholes.
    Wind was mostly with you on the way out, against on the way back. But it's a swirly wind, so only the day will tell.

Run: About 1.5-2k up a moderate hill. Up and down (averaging up) to about 3.5k (There was a painted note for a water stop, here, not sure what the plan is for this year).
    Flat to downhill to the 5k mark.
    Turnaround and back the way you came. Surface is rough tarmac. Camber is quite steep at the sides in places. Wind was against on the way to the 5k mark, and with on the way back.

Hopefully that helps anyone who's wondering about the course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 savaloy

tagoona wrote: »
    Looking forward to next weekend alright.
    Ennis Tri club was down in kilkee last weekend.
    All information is tempered by the fact that I'm not a great triathlete - much more middle of the road (2.32 for Athy olymplic
    Note : There was some glass in the transition area around the bandstand. I'm sure they'll sweep it before HOTW.

Swim: Calm and clear waters this morning at 8.30, but quite cold. It was still quite cold during the post-training swim at 12.30.

Cycle: Moderate-steep hill coming out of kilkee for about 2k. You get some good speed coming down the other side. Up and down all the way as far as the halfway point, a right turn and a long moderate hill as far as creagh, where there's another right turn(gravel on the outside - be warned). 2 k brings you back onto the road you came in on. Up and down all the way back to the 38k mark. A steep hill, that you think you've sorted, except at the crest you spot another long steep hill. That's the final hill, you get great speed coming back down that hill and into kilkee.
    The surface is mostly good, with one section of patched potholes.
    Wind was mostly with you on the way out, against on the way back. But it's a swirly wind, so only the day will tell.

Run: About 1.5-2k up a moderate hill. Up and down (averaging up) to about 3.5k (There was a painted note for a water stop, here, not sure what the plan is for this year).
    Flat to downhill to the 5k mark.
    Turnaround and back the way you came. Surface is rough tarmac. Camber is quite steep at the sides in places. Wind was against on the way to the 5k mark, and with on the way back.

Hopefully that helps anyone who's wondering about the course

Cheers Tagoona - not done this before, and everyone keeps telling me that its a beast, so pleased to read a positive reccy review :D

Bit of a silly question this- anybody know how long it normally takes from Limerick to Kilkee? I'll be heading early on Saturday, hope to arrive before 8, so hopefully no traffic.
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Limerick City-Kilkee is about 1 hour 15mins. Give yourself 90 mins to be relaxed. Should be little traffic early in the morning but Clare farmers are busy these days with the cutting, as you know.

topper75 wrote: »
    Limerick City-Kilkee is about 1 hour 15mins. Give yourself 90 mins to be relaxed. Should be little traffic early in the morning but Clare farmers are busy these days with the cutting, as you know.

+1 the roads may be quiet early in the morning but the tractors are out in force so give yourself a half hour more than aaroadwatch advises just in case!

these hills are looking a little more daunting! I'm not in good shape for this at all and wont get any training ride on it done before it kicks off so i was wondering one thing - is there much loose gravel about and what's the road surface like?

Surface is rough tarmac (not dual carriageway, but not potholes everywhere), except for the swim :-) and a small rough section about 8k into the cycle.
    There's a bit of gravel at the 2 turns of the cycle, assuming the course stays as was described in the release, but nothing to worry about(I had to have it pointed out to me).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭secman

Having done Kilkee about 6/7 times, be it many moons ago, always found it the toughest race on the calender. Sea swim should be fine this coming weekend, if you are somewhat nervous, let the mass go, get clear water and relax and enjoy. Might even see some Dolphins, lost goggles one year and got a spare set from guy in canoe and saw a Dolphin rise about 5 meters away. jeeze they are big when that close. Roads are heavy on the cycle, feels like something is rubbing ! Then that run ! Scenery is spectacular , it seems like all uphill on way out and you expect all downhill on way back, but there are some climbs on way back, down hills on way out that you didn't notice ! Its a tough race, but great high on finishing it. Aptly names "Hell of The West". I often used to think after that race that I would not be able for All Ireland Triathlon (1/2 Iron man) in Sligo which used to be in August, but always managed it and not as tough as Kilkee. Best of Luck to all competitors.
    Watch out for speed checks on road from Ennis to Kilkee, they know ye are coming, fishing in a barrel !!

Secman

Bambaata wrote: »
    these hills are looking a little more daunting! I'm not in good shape for this at all and wont get any training ride on it done before it kicks off so i was wondering one thing - is there much loose gravel about and what's the road surface like?

Chill Bambaata, IIRC you have a top 10 and 2 top 20 performances in your 2 sprint Tris this year... you are in great shape and flying! Valentia bike was a good indication of what the HOTW course might be, albeit without the hailstones. Its just longer and the roads are better than Valentia. There is a drag uphill for about 2k after the start and at the top of it is a large pile of loose stones to your left, bound to be loose gravel around here. Apart from that to be honest the road is grand. Its the wind that will on the forefront of your mind more thatn likely. Although, if this weather holds the bike may not be that hard. The run will though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭ZZJ

Am I missing something about the cycle, from looking at mapmyrun the worst is a 2% gradient over about 3.5 km's to a height of 90m.

Have not done the race before and it seems to be hyped up a lot as being really tough, but the looking on the map the course does not seem that bad. (I know looking at the map can be deceiving)

I will however struggle in the run, but that will be nothing new to me as I struggle on any run, as I am a crap runner.... no even worse than that.

Looking forward to it though, was looking like I was not going to make it as I did something to my shoulder, but have got the all clear, must just now find somewhere to stay friday night, any ideas?

Was planning to stay in Killarney with relatives and get the tarbert ferry sat morning but think it will be too much of a rush since it looks like the first ferry is 7:30am.

ZZJ wrote: »

Looking forward to it though, was looking like I was not going to make it as I did something to my shoulder, but have got the all clear, must just now find somewhere to stay friday night, any ideas?

Was planning to stay in Killarney with relatives and get the tarbert ferry sat morning but think it will be too much of a rush since it looks like the first ferry is 7:30am.

I was going to get the ferry Sat morning myself, but seemed to be asking for trouble. Then thoughts of a 4am start through Limerick made me book in a place in Kilrush for Friday. I tried a couple of places in Kilkee that were full, but gave in fairly quickly. You could try Kilkee tourist office or the big hotel.

Guys,

I have a B&B booked right on the strand for the fri and sat night if you want it. I'm not taking it now but have to let them know, PM me you conatct details and I'll change it to your name if you want. Means you can sleep in until 8am on Sat if you like :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

Doubt it will affect yer travel plans but clare 10k in ennis on sat mornin at 10a.m. i know ye will be started by then prob but just in case you may need to give urself a few more minutes perhaps........

Best of luck to all

Cheers MarieC but transition closes by 9 or 9.30 so we'll all be down already.

How did everybody go today?? Great weather, fantastic course, couldn't ask for more! Couldn't stay for the postrace myself.

Well done to all who took part!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Got around it, happy enough with my swim and cycle but the run was a disaster of sorts. Just couldn't get going. Glorious weather!

It was my first olympic and have to say I was very impressed with how well it was organised. Would loved to have stayed for the party tonight but off to AC/DC tomorrow so felt it was better to escape while I still could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 savaloy

MrCreosote wrote: »
    How did everybody go today?? Great weather, fantastic course, couldn't ask for more! Couldn't stay for the postrace myself.

Well done to all who took part!

Jeez, the run lived up to the billing, but the conditions were great. Pleased with the result - managed to win the 40-44AG and came 8th overall, but my run wasn't pretty. Chatting to someone afterwards about the Beast of the East and they said that HOTW was tame in comparison :eek: What about you?

Great event
    Great day
    For me, a crap run....even by my standard really crap...no I mean it crap. no no no no no you do not understand a really really really crap run for me who is a crap runner, I think a 5 minute km is good

That said a good swim no problem, a good cycle, no problem

Meat Loaf said it (showing my age here) 2 out of 3 aint bad

But that said I really enjoyed it, which says a huge amount about the event, could not stay around for the afters but if it was anything like the day we had I think there may be a few sore heads

Cheeers

Great day, perfect weather.
    I was hoping to do better with my overall time, but happy with it.
    Very well organised day I must say.
    I saw someone in an ambulance at about the half one mark. Does anyone know if the man was okay?

also thanks MCOS for the Guest house cancellation, twas fine

great event, great setup, great day...... huge failure for me! I'm still upset at how bad i did. The swim was ok. I know i need work there. Bike went ok too but i wasnt as strong as i'd generally be on it but the run was atrocious. I could just about manage a jog at best and never got running. I was passed by god knows how many people (i'd say about 30 or 40) and only passed one or two people myself. Still dejected from it and it was one hell of a kick in the arse. What made me realise how badly i did was looking at times of competitors i've been finishing close to or ahead of all year. I was 10 mins down on them yesterday!!

Huge amount learned though so at least i can take a lot from that. It was my 2nd Olympic distance and i know now my stamina obviously isn't the greatest. Over the sprint distance it hasnt been an issue but i died a death on that run yesterday.