Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renting in Waterford

• 21-04-2009 2:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

Hi All,

Moving at the end of the month and wondering about renting. Which letting agencies are better in town? I heard Castle Estates is under new ownership since last year. Has anyone used them since? Also, are book a room under new management since they moved to Parnell Street? Or are any other agents any good? Renting through a private Landlord at the moment and its a nightmare!

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Hey Mods are we alowed rag on letting agents who we had a run in with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

I've been renting in Waterford for about three and a half years now. I've lived in three homes in total.

Firstly, an apartment in the city, through a local letting agency. They were useless, too say the least.

The second was through a private landlord. He was useless too. Problems after problems and he didn't want to sort them.

My current home, renting also from a private landlord, I've been in for about 18 months now. Found the house on daft.ie. There have been a number of problems here, like dishwasher breaking, tumble dryer breaking, fridge breaking twice, boiler breaking three times.. plus more. BUT - my landlord is fantastic. One phone call and it's always sorted. He lives in Dublin and I've only met him once. We speak on the phone whenever there's a problem. Any expenses and usually I pay first, take it out of the rent and send him the receipt. Works well for both of us.

I suppose what I'm really saying is, you might be lucky renting off a private landlord, or unlucky. Equally, there are letting agencies in Waterford whom I personally wouldn't touch with a bargepole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 jonnybegood2009

I rented through Castle Estates last August and I've had no problems with them at all! Had a few issues in the house with plumbing but everything was fixed as soon as possible and if there was any delay I got a phone call straight away. Rented through other agencies before that (won't mention names) but found this crowd way better. Castle have a new owner alright and they obviously know what they're doing anyway. Not much competition out there though if ya ask me with the rest of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭wellbutty

I know of a prominent estate agent in the city that doubly rents properties! To students on an annual lease and ALSO to non-students during the summer. This works fine if those students dont decide to come back to Waterford during the summer holidays (which does happen) and if you dont mind the fact that someone elses stuff is in your place!

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

I am happy with people offering advice about different letting agents and also personal experiences, be it good are bad, but if I see accusations been thrown about without anything to back them up, the thread will be closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭wellbutty

I am happy with people offering advice about different letting agents and also personal experiences, be it good are bad, but if I see accusations been thrown about without anything to back them up, the thread will be closed.

This is a FACT not an accusation, short of going to court against a PROMINENT family estate agent, how can I back it up on this forum????

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

wellbutty wrote: »
    This is a FACT not an accusation, short of going to court against a PROMINENT family estate agent, how can I back it up on this forum????

Just dont name the business in question unless it appears in a local paper, which you can then link to back it up.

Bare in mind that stupid comments from people about businesses can lead to Boards.ie being sued.

I dont think Aquos was specifically refering to you either.

If you have any further questions, please take it to PM.

I was not referring to anyone when I made my post, I was only making the point.

If people was to give advice that's fine, but if you are going to slag off a company pacifically, then there better be proof to back it up, ie some local media source or something similar. otherwise offending posts will be edited and the thread will be closed.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Whats wrong with reading the local news papers to see if any landlord is offering a house, or looking at general noticeboards? Then go in, have a gawk, decide and you avoid all sorts of fees (as does the landlord)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭merlante

Use daft and don't bother with anything else.

Have a good chat with the landlord of the prospective place. Make sure everything is in good working order and that the place is in good nick. Ask about bins and how the house is heated. Make sure you have good pressure and heat in the shower.

If you get any whiff of grief off a landlord at all, walk away. It'll get worse.

Don't use an agent, they are useless middlemen. Use the papers or use daft.

(Also, you can't book a room with book a room, only whole apartments.)

merlante wrote: »
    (Also, you can't book a room with book a room, only whole apartments.)
    The ironing is delicious!

But Merlante gave you good advice there and remember like I SAID BEFORE that its a Renters market and landlords know this he should be teabaging you to get you to move in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭gobo99

OP im with Calicon Propery for the last few years and found them fairly good heres their website.

http://www.caliconproperty.ie/asp/default.asp

You can rent student accomadation for 200-250 per person during the summer, ie June, July, August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

I'd say your best option is with a private landlord to be honest. But make sure you get a tennancy agreement of some sort because it gives you both a degree of safety. Make sure it's clearly stated who is responsible for repairs in the house / maintenance of the grounds etc. With all that in writing, the landlord has very little room to mess you about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Susan12345678

I have to say I find Book a room great. I've rented off them for the last 18 months and they have always been helpful. I had a few issues with the property but their maintenance department got them fixed for me no bother. They gave me free vouchers aswell recently which was a nice extra.

Private Landlords are grand but if you do have an issue with a property I find it easier to deal with an agency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

would not recommend book a room at all, definately go for a private landlord.Much cheaper rents , check out any of the waterford news papers and you'll be sorted.Know certain letting agents asking for 800 on property that landlord was asking 600 for so be careful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

why was my post taken down?i was giving the op advice not to deal with that certain crowd of agents,it was obvious from my post:D

My post seems to have been taken down too,

The topic was cleaned up by an Smod. Im awaiting clarification for what to allow in future posts as I am a little confused.

Sorry for the confusion. I forgot to post!

Ah it's no problem Sully I thought as much and I can understand how companies might throw a hissy over us giving out about them.

Although I might say that there is very little point in anyone asking advice in such Areas in the future if we can't say who we don't like.

Personally, I don't see any difference in what has been said in this thread and some of the restaurant reviews or consumer issues forum. I didn't say anything overly negitive about the Letting agency I mentioned (In fact, I decided to choose my words carefully) just that I didn't like dealing with them.

Anyway, I know it's not your fault and if its decided that we can't name names I'll happily follow it.(or at least talk in code :D)

I'm am not happy with the way this has panned out either to be honest. I cant see the point in having "reviews threads" anymore if we are not able to say someone or something is crap at what they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

My post is gone as well. I can understand the mods being hesitant about allowing businesses to be named, but there's not much point to a thread asking what's best regards renting in waterford if we can't advise them properly on what's best to do and where to avoid based on previous experiences.

Surely posters are allowed to mention the fact that they didn't like dealing with certain businesses? It's merely a "review" of sorts of a service offered (good or bad) and given that the same businesses were mentioned a few times in a negative light regarding their services, it's not like it's just one disgruntled loon with a nutty vendetta, or a competitor trying to pull business away from said agents.

If I said that I didn't like the atmosphere in a certain pub/restaurant, but preferred instead to frequent a different pub/restaurant, would that be allowed? Or that I found the staff in x supermarket friendlier and more helpful that the staff in y supermarket?

Should be the same regarding letting agents.

Lads, as much as I see where you are all coming from can we take the issue to either PM with a mod or Help Desk for Smods to look at it. We have brought our concerns to their attention, it just takes time for things to be cleared up. :)

Cheers Sully, I appreciate it takes a bit of time to work things like this out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 amyloneill

gobo99 wrote: »
    OP im with Calicon Propery for the last few years and found them fairly good heres their website.

http://www.caliconproperty.ie/asp/default.asp

You can rent student accomadation for 200-250 per person during the summer, ie June, July, August.

i must say Calicon are very good , def worth a call and see what they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

If you see a guy with the name of <snip - in the name of god, no names!> don't bother, he owns about 14 houses and is a conman. He owes me 300 quid and the same with 4 of my pals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭alrightcuz

i no this is an old discussion but i cant help saying my piece my self ,my wife an our kids moved to waterford and lived for over 3 years very happily renting for an auctioneers in the city center (beginning with h near a certain hotel) our landlord changed auctioneers for a woman in a sea side resort near by ive lived in about 7 or 8 different places around the country an she was an absolute disgrace very unprofessional needless to say in less then 6 months we left that house and sent our landlord an email telling him why , i still see his house up on the net looking for tenants

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

I've used hutchinsons on the mall for the last 5 years and they are by far the best in town having experienced the likes of castle, bookaroom etc...for which i shall plead the fifth amendment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

wait till you have to get your deposit back,thats all I'll say on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 kilkennygirl

Try EP properties in Barrick Street or Hurchinsons on the Mall, Very professional outfits, Wouldnt touch Castle Estates with a barge pole. This is from a landlord who got loads of grief from the latter. We are not with either now and have very happy tenants whom we look after well ourselves. However if you want to go through an agent either of the first two are sound.

As Meatwad said regarding Renraws post, wait til you (as a tenant) give your notice and see how they are regarding giving deposits back. I wouldn't use them unless you are happy to write off your deposit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

I had a break in between of a year and joanie gave me back the deposit without any problems. I left the apartment they way I found it (if not better) and it was plush carpet and beige walls and all the bills were paid etc... She never questioned it once and thought the apt was after been lived in :o. Thats why I went back the following year :)