Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jeff Hardy to leave WWE??

• 20-04-2009 11:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭

Just reading on a few sites Jeff is handing in his notice when his contract expires in a few months. Could explain why hes lost twice to Matt in succession although I expect him to get a win back at Backlash. Anyone think theres any truth in the matter or even the kid who died last week could have got to Jeff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Maybe he knows he's about to fail Wellness Policy again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Shaneomac

Could be. Reckon Vince wouldn't give him the opportunity or satisfaction to leave quietly. Have a funny feeling top stars like himself or higher dont get tested near as much as the lower guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

hmmm bit of a shame if its true, he was only just beginning to get over with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

have you any reputable sources for the story?

im not trying to be smart, honestly, but rumours can get out of hand quickly.

http://www.wrestlinginc.com/news/wi/2009/0420/403489/jeff_hardy/index.shtml

As I said just read it. Looking for ur guys opinions whether its true or not. The face paint came near the end of his last run in the company too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

I know nothing about it, but how would Matt beating him have anything to do with it at all? In a two or three match feud the heel practically always wins the first one or two matches, otherwise you've got no reason to want to see the face fighting them again

Ah, I don't see Jeff leaving any time soon. Whilst I'm not the biggest fan of his in the world, I don't see any reason for him to leave. He's (finally) become an established main eventer and has held the WWE Championship. Unless he wants to be proud and "go out on top" I see no reason for him to leave. 'Rasslins a tough business. Chances are he's making more money now than he ever was before. I think it'd be silly to up and leave now. He should at least try and squeeze another 12 months out of it. Financially, it'll do him no harm.

On the other hand, if he's just broken down and doesn't think it's worth the hassle any more, then i'd say leaving is probably the best option. But there's no point in walking out of McMahon Land if you're just gonna wind up on the independent scene in two months.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

If its true that he is burnt out they should put him on a retainer and give him a few months off. Jeff has given me some of my favourite moments this last year so hopefully its a rumour but if not and he needs the time off i say good luck to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I really hope he doesn't leave. I'm being selfish saying that as I want to see him live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

He can't leave!

Then the marks will only have Cena, Rey and Batista!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

DM-ICE wrote: »
    If its true that he is burnt out they should put him on a retainer and give him a few months off. Jeff has given me some of my favourite moments this last year so hopefully its a rumour but if not and he needs the time off i say good luck to him.

True, if they were willing to give Edge a few months of to recharge his batteries then Jeff should get the same. Their has been talk of Batista and HBK possibly retiring very soon they can afford to lose Jeff. He is hugely over, sells a ton of merchandise and is a creditable main eventer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

A couple of months eh? Just enough time for Vince to burry him before he goes back to TNA. Will be nice to have the charismatic enigma back in TNA all the same

You cant be certain that if even he leaves he will go back to Tna. I listened to Meltzer and he made the shrewd point that Jeff has always been careful with his money and is probably loaded. He also has had time of from wrestling before so its not like he is one of these guys who stays around because he cant imagine doing anything else, Jeff may want to do something else and he may not even need wrestling anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

And this is why you shouldn't take mickey mouse wrestling sites as gospel.
    IF (and that's a big if), it is the case, he's out of options. I dunno if anyone here remembers Jeff's last TNA run in 04/05, but it wasn't pretty at all.

ShawnRaven wrote: »
    And this is why you shouldn't take mickey mouse wrestling sites as gospel.
    IF (and that's a big if), it is the case, he's out of options. I dunno if anyone here remembers Jeff's last TNA run in 04/05, but it wasn't pretty at all.
    To be fair Meltzer and alvarez were talking about in their podcast so I think its past some silly wrestlezone rumor now.

Rjd2 wrote: »
    To be fair Meltzer and alvarez were talking about in their podcast so I think its past some silly wrestlezone rumor now.

The same guys who pass the buck when it comes to the Savage rumour? ;)
    Sorry, i love Meltzer's reporting, but he doesn't know everything, most things, yeah. Namely, what Vince wants him to know. :)

The same guys who pass the buck when it comes to the Savage rumour? ;)
    Sorry, i love Meltzer's reporting, but he doesn't know everything, most things, yeah. Namely, what Vince wants him to know. :)

Can you blame them for not wanting to touch the Steph story! I mean think about the ramifications if they came out and said it was true......:eek::eek:
    Dave has been wrong wrong before, but out of all the internet sources he has the most cred. If Jeff does go, SD is totally ****ed. Jeff as your shows number 1 face would be ok, but Punk and Rey would need to built up incredibly quick to fill that spot. That would mean one of HHH, Cena or Batista probably been sent over to fill his position. Cena and HHH are going nowhere so SD could get for the millionth time Dave v Edge, or Dave v Taker. Those who bash the E for rehashing old feuds will go into meltdown mode.;)

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Can you blame them for not wanting to touch the Steph story! I mean think about the ramifications if they came out and said it was true......:eek::eek:

Personally i believe that if it was true, we'd have found out a long longer than now.

[qupte]Dave has been wrong wrong before, but out of all the internet sources he has the most cred.[/quote]

I won't deny that, i just don't think he's the be all and end all every time the second a rumour comes up. As i said in my last post, i'm far from anti Meltzer, i'd just rather wait til he has more info that he has no before reserving judgment.
    If Jeff does go, SD is totally ****ed. Jeff as your shows number 1 face would be ok, but Punk and Rey would need to built up incredibly quick to fill that spot. That would mean one of HHH, Cena or Batista probably been sent over to fill his position. Cena and HHH are going nowhere so SD could get for the millionth time Dave v Edge, or Dave v Taker. Those who bash the E for rehashing old feuds will go into meltdown mode.;)

Or turn Jericho face to feud with Edge, which would work as a stop gap. Or vice versa. Either way, Jeff is not the king of Smackdown, now i love Jeff, been a mark of his for nearly a decade, but people get this idea that some of these guys are bigger than their profession.

Remember when people thought back in 2002 that WWE would be dead without Brock Lesnar and Rock?! Or how WWE would die on it's knees without Hogan and Savage in the early to mid 90s.? ;)

Hell, people though WCW would shoot past WWE once they got Bret Hart! They sure showed Vince, didn't they? ;)

Vince may be losing it in the head as the years go in, but he's not f*cking stupid either. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 EireGunner

It would be a disaster for the WWE if Jeff left the business, under rated wrestler has been invloved in so many great matches and is now a massive fan favourite. If he does go I hope it's just for a break to come back stronger!

Out of interest how credible was the source. the article looked like the were just after hits on facebook and the main site. I have also seen the story on lordsofpain but they were carrying undertakers retirement announced in dublin story last week, so they would upload anything.

Edit: Actually maybe my question is redundant, just saw SR mentioned mickey mouse sites.

Out of interest how credible was the source. the article looked like the were just after hits on facebook and the main site. I have also seen the story on lordsofpain but they were carrying undertakers retirement announced in dublin story last week, so they would upload anything.

Edit: Actually maybe my question is redundant, just saw SR mentioned mickey mouse sites.

PWInsider is a credible site. It was talked about on Wrestling Observer Radio too, just the possibility that he might be leaving, because I doubt that he's actually made his mind up, so there's got to be something to it

Fozzy wrote: »
    PWInsider is a credible site.

PWInsider is indeed a credible site, however that was only partially sourced in that article. And i sure as hell neverheard of wrestlinginc.com lol.

Hence why i laughed it off. :)

PWInsider is a credible site. It was talked about on Wrestling Observer Radio too, just the possibility that he might be leaving, because I doubt that he's actually made his mind up, so there's got to be something to it

I meant the wrestling inc one. Didn't know other places wer talking boout it too.

Maybe the talk is a way of him getting a better deal out of wwe. It could be the last big conntractr he wil get, he was certainly never in as good a position to negociate a contract in the past.

Just checking out Jeffs facebook page and its riddled with 'Jeff please dont leave because of your brother' mark crap. Could be an angle. Anyone read up on this weeks smackdown results?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Shaneomac wrote: »
    Just checking out Jeffs facebook page and its riddled with 'Jeff please dont leave because of your brother' mark crap. Could be an angle. Anyone read up on this weeks smackdown results?

It's not an angle and his contract is indeed coming up. TBH, it just looks like really poor long term planning by the WWE and Jeff taking up a strong position in terms of contract talks. If he waits another month he could easily get a guaranteed title run lashed into his contract with a higher percentage of the merchandise he sells. A move to TNA would be very bad for the WWE as Jeff would bring a decent audience with him

Do not post Smackdown spoilers on this thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

It is being widely reported that Jeff Hardy's contract expires in July and that as of now he has not signed a new contract.
    Speculation is that he wants time off from wrestlng to persue other things, but as with all things Jeff does only time will tell.

I really hope he does not leave - he is one of the most guys in WWE at present if not the most over guy.

I'd like to see him have another title run and with the draft SD getting Punk, Jericho, Rey and Morrison they is alot of potential for great feuds and matches for Jeff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

JP Liz wrote: »
    I really hope he does not leave - he is one of the most guys in WWE at present if not the most over guy.

I'd like to see him have another title run and with the draft SD getting Punk, Jericho, Rey and Morrison they is alot of potential for great feuds and matches for Jeff

Didn't notice that, but it looks like they're trying to put together a Smackdown Six again.

Bubs101 wrote: »
    . A move to TNA would be very bad for the WWE as Jeff would bring a decent audience with him

dunno about that.

I don't think any one wrestler, especially Jeff Hardy, has enough pulling power to take a decent audience to a totally different product.

dunno about that.

I don't think any one wrestler, especially Jeff Hardy, has enough pulling power to take a decent audience to a totally different product.

Angle and Christian did it. TNA was making somewhat of a noise at the time they joined, once people knew they were appearing, they tuned in. Now if they stuck around or not was another story altogether.

But it did generate interest.

Angle and Christian did it. TNA was making somewhat of a noise at the time they joined, once people knew they were appearing, they tuned in. Now if they stuck around or not was another story altogether.

But it did generate interest.

And Sting had an even greater effect than those two initially. Jeff would definitely get some people watching Impact if he joined TNA. But I really doubt that he would

So would I.
    People also tend to forget that the Jeff Hardy of today is not the same sloppy, careless, unmotivated, ring rusted Jeff Hardy that joined TNA nearly five years ago. His stock has gone up a lot more since then and is much more of a name now than he was then.

But TNA would f*ck it up unfortunately, and Jeff has been there before to know how silly things can get there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 TheLastBaron

If Jeff was fed up with wrestling, why would he bother going to TNA? It's essentially a ****ter version of WWE with an autistic ring...

What's the story with "the kid who died", by the way?

If Jeff was fed up with wrestling, why would he bother going to TNA? It's essentially a ****ter version of WWE with an autistic ring...

???
    I'll say this once, seeing as you're new here and all, but that comment is bang out of order.

Fair enough...

Didn't think anyone would get offended...

Don't think anyone did...

But you're the boss.

Fair enough...

Didn't think anyone would get offended...

Don't think anyone did...

But you're the boss.

Didn't think of the amount of parents who read this forum, that may have a child living with autism.

Didn't think, period.

FAIR ENOUGH...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Daragh101

guys i honestly cant see how anyone can enjoy wrestling, you might as well go to a play!!!!!!!:eek:

Daragh101 wrote: »
    guys i honestly cant see how anyone can enjoy wrestling, you might as well go to a play!!!!!!!:eek:

And seeing as you clearly don't, you've got a month off to watch as many play's as you like!

Was wondering how long it would take before i got one of those posts on my watch. :D

Daragh101 wrote: »

yup.

thanks for your concern.

That's the beauty of wrestling... Ya watch it for the storylines, like. Although, we haven't had a decent one in a while (the HHH/Orton plot doesn't count because Wrestlemania was a joke).

What about my dog? What about Jack?!

HHH/Orton does count primarily because the story is still going on. The Mania match was terrible, but what's the point in putting a load of creative juice into a story for it to last a month.

On topic though...
    They're not doing too bad with Matt and Jeff at present, better than the horrid one they did to build up the Vengeance 2001 match. That was terrible.

That's the beauty of wrestling... Ya watch it for the storylines, like. Although, we haven't had a decent one in a while (the HHH/Orton plot doesn't count because Wrestlemania was a joke).

What about my dog? What about Jack?!

I diagree. The Hardy storyline was/is good. The decision for jeff to allow his homeburning down and what happened his dog be mentioned on tv shows alot of maturity on his part. The WWE didn't go over board on it but it played in nicely with the sequence of bad events that happened to jeff.

Such maturity shows why i'd like to see wwe looking after jeff now. If he needs time off let him have it, just make sure you get him to return and on a new contract.

I diagree. The Hardy storyline was/is good. The decision for jeff to allow his homeburning down and what happened his dog be mentioned on tv shows alot of maturity on his part. The WWE didn't go over board on it but it played in nicely with the sequence of bad events that happened to jeff.

Such maturity shows why i'd like to see wwe looking after jeff now. If he needs time off let him have it, just make sure you get him to return and on a new contract.

I assumed all those events were staged...:confused:

Nope, Jeff came back from either a trip (oh har har lads, very funny), or a WWE show to find his house had burned down to the ground with his dog inside. For real.

Yeah the storyline has been ok to be fair. Matt has to many peoples surprise been great in the role, quality promos and he has garnered impressive heat. They also put on the second best match on the Mania card and their match is likely to be the second best of the backlash card. :cool:

I assumed all those events were staged...:confused:

Jeff's mobile home that he kept all his artwork and possessions in really did burn down last year, with his dog inside. Matt raised the alarm. It was right after Jeff got suspended

That jack business would of made no sense if they just made it up.

The storyline is much better than the first time. Its more acceptable now as they are clearly singles wrestlers rather than a tag team. Matt coisting jeff the title also helped give it some extra cred.

Jeff's mobile home that he kept all his artwork and possessions in really did burn down last year, with his dog inside. Matt raised the alarm. It was right after Jeff got suspended

jesus...did NOT know that..

brings a new light on it. I retract my previous statement so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Haha, i think everyone falls into the most amount of trouble in their first 20ish posts.

And by the way dude, there was a hundred other words that could be used to describe TNA's ring. "Six-sided" would have been a LOT more feckin appropriate.

Now onto the more reply-able part of your post:
    Maybe Jeff isnt bored with wrestling, but more bored of WWE's interpretation of the product?