Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well known people linked with Sligo

• 19-04-2009 6:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭

hi all,

hoping you can help me, havin a debate at home
    about all the famous people born in sligo..

And also Famous people's parents born in sligo
    And Famous people now living in Sligo

Can ye name a few, and tell me either if they were born or their parents were born or now living here

thanks all ye will save a few cells in all our brains been frizzled out over this:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Mark Feehily And Shane Filan Out Of Westlife Were Born In Sligo :D
    And Also Kian Egan Out Of Westlife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭dardevle

spike milligan's father was born in holborn street....and if i remember correctly bram stoker(of dracula fame ) his mother was from sligo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

Michael Flatley's father.

WB Yeats wasn't born there but he did spend a lot of time there growing up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Countess Constance Markievicz of course
    Mischa Barton's mother (I think) is from Sligo
    The dude from Lord of the Dance has at least one parent from Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Sligo Aine, that is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭rio-rose

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Sligo Aine, that is all.
    tell me this ive heard so much bout aine chambers and seen her web pages..

but wats so special bout this lady ????

thanks so far to all whos getting me outta this one my mind is getting a little lighter now :D

Googled and found alot

so i share with ye :)

Born in sligo:

Neil Jordan (film director)
    Tommy Flemming (singer)
    Brother Walfred (Celtic FC founder)
    Shane Filan (Westlife)
    Kian Egan (Westlife)
    Mark Feeley (Westlife)
    Sir George Gabriel Stokes (Physicist)
    Ms Doyle (Fr Ted Fame)
    Dermot Mannion (CEO Aer Lingus)
    Ray Mac Sharry ( former Tanaiste)
    Tabby ( Xfactor finalist)
    Conway sisters (xfactor)
    Mark Scalon (cyclist)
    Sandie Kelly (singer)
    Tommie Gorman ( RTE news)
    Paddy Clancy (The Star Journalist)
    Constance Markievicz

Parents born in sligo:

Spike Milligan (father)
    Michael Flatley (Father)
    Mischa Barton (Mother)
    Bram Stoker (Mother)
    Ronan o Gara (father)
    Daniel Day Lewis ( Father)

looking back on other replys i noticed ye mentioned a few (sorry) but thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

your not allowed google. Thats cheating lol.
    Sandy kelly was born in balintogher wasnt she?

seanybiker wrote: »
    your not allowed google. Thats cheating lol.
    Sandy kelly was born in balintogher wasnt she?
    so sorry i shouldn have done that now i ruined it on ye,
    but saying that its more of a challenge now...

after googling again and it looks like sandy kelly moved from her native wales in 1974 and set up a band called sandy duskey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Eliza Gilbert aka "Lola Montez" Grange 1821

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭dardevle

eugene lambert...aka "judge","mr crow"etc of wanderly wagon fame is Sligo born also.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

And people's parents are not famous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭shellyriver

Hi Rio

Do you mean County or Borough -- re born in?

Just a few quick points.

Countess Markievicz - London born, Lissadell bred.
    Prof Stokes -- from Skreen.
    Brother Walfrid - somewhere near Ballymote.

Paddy Clancy LOL
    Tommy Fleming OMG
    Aine Chambers WTF

Most famous person now living in Sligo? Is probably - hate to say it -- Shane Filan?

Best association with Sligo as a result of Westlife -- some might argue viewing Jodie Albert's fine physique as she sauntered around local hostelries.

How many of the 'most famous' list have Boarders met?

Was going to work out a points based 'Britain's Gone Talent' scale -- but just realised that Tabby's family would probably jam the counter:D

2 Best Sligo Interviews (excluding Tommy Gorman) how always does Sligo proud, imo include Tabby with Pat Kenny (rock on) and Spike Milligan to Gay Byrne (Holborn Street pride).

Re identity, to paraphrase the words of a famous Navan man (not Hector) 'because I was born in a stable, am I a horse' -- "no but your the next thing to one" (the latter, that's a travellers insult apparently).

Cheery Bye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭fmcc

Dont know if he was born here but Capt. James Doherty is buried in the old part of sligo cemetry. Its disputed but its on his headstone as being Lincolns brave avenger. When Wilkes Booth was caught there was a scuffle/shootout and Doherty is meant to have shoot Booth. This is disputed by an officer higher up who claimed he shot Booth. In either case it should be made into something bigger given the amount of US tourists visiting here.

they are to a certain degree, esp really famous people,,

simple fact: they wouldn be who they are today if it wasnt for their parents :)
    so reason i asked this because i taught it be interesting to find out who's families came from sligo..

Lieut Edward P Doherty was born in Quebec - his father Joseph Doherty of Market Street (not of Castle Street as is generally supposed) Sligo. His bones lie in the Arlington US Military Cemetery in Virgina -- details on his Sligo tomb are believed to have been incised at behest of his Aunt.

Re famed Sligonians -- my favourite who hasn't been mentioned suprisingly here is the great Jack B Yeats. A true Sligonian -- when in London assiduously indulged in 'Sligo Walk' a type of 1890s rock and roll sailor strut (possibly something looking akin to being half-scuttled at 2 am leaving the Ark!)along with entertaining his parent's with his Sligo accent -- which he also cultivated. By the by, Jack did a sketch of my g-grandfather on the Docks in Sligo.

Another famed Sligo artist is Patrick Collins -- though born in Dromore West, spent his life in Dublin/Paris his ashes were cast over the aqua of Lough Gill/Garavogue.

If you want far-out Sligo connection Ambrose O'Higgins, Viceroy of Peru and his son Higgins Jnr who established Chilean Navy -- very famous for obvious reasons in South America, loads of streets named after them equivalent to number of O'Connell Street here.

Indeed, what about Queen Maeve onas Andrew Maxwell calls it the 'Boobie Mountain. Although he was so misinformed about Sligo that when asking the crowd where you would bring a girl on a first date, someone heckled 'the Holy Well' (late night loving in days gone by) he innocently asked 'is that a pub'? Needless to say, Sligo guffaws at innocent Dubliner!:D

don't even try to troll in my forum, buster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭slapbangwhallop

Lieut Edward P Doherty was born in Quebec - his father Joseph Doherty of Market Street (not of Castle Street as is generally supposed) Sligo. His bones lie in the Arlington US Military Cemetery in Virgina -- details on his Sligo tomb are believed to have been incised at behest of his Aunt.

Re famed Sligonians -- my favourite who hasn't been mentioned suprisingly here is the great Jack B Yeats. A true Sligonian -- when in London assiduously indulged in 'Sligo Walk' a type of 1890s rock and roll sailor strut (possibly something looking akin to being half-scuttled at 2 am leaving the Ark!)along with entertaining his parent's with his Sligo accent -- which he also cultivated. By the by, Jack did a sketch of my g-grandfather on the Docks in Sligo.

Another famed Sligo artist is Patrick Collins -- though born in Dromore West, spent his life in Dublin/Paris his ashes were cast over the aqua of Lough Gill/Garavogue.

If you want far-out Sligo connection Ambrose O'Higgins, Viceroy of Peru and his son Higgins Jnr who established Chilean Navy -- very famous for obvious reasons in South America, loads of streets named after them equivalent to number of O'Connell Street here.

Indeed, what about Queen Maeve onas Andrew Maxwell calls it the 'Boobie Mountain. Although he was so misinformed about Sligo that when asking the crowd where you would bring a girl on a first date, someone heckled 'the Holy Well' (late night loving in days gone by) he innocently asked 'is that a pub'? Needless to say, Sligo guffaws at innocent Dubliner!:D

You beat me to O'Higgins!

I'll go with

Vol. Martin Savage
    Vol. Joe MacManus
    Vol. Kevin Coen.....and throw the Noble Six in for good measure.

notable sporting mentions for...

Sean "Well Buck" Fallon
    Vinny "El Terriblé" Feeney
    Paul "Ski" McGee
    Mark "No EPO here" Scanlon

My personal favourites are Harry Hallowes, John Jinks

and *cough*The Conway Sister*cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭magnumlady

I was shocked to be served in the bank by one of The Conways.
    I've met the three Sligo Westlife lads (even seen Shanes pants:D), met Tabby too several times.
    Hubby saw Frank Waters in the Quayside a few weeks ago, but I don't think he's from Sligo.

Does he own Shoots?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

One of the Conway sisters works for the Sligo Weekender,or at least she used to anyways is always around town.

You don't see too many local celebrities around town too often. Don't blame them to be honest:P

1. Re don't see many local celebrities in town: only upsides eg Westlife -- if in your early 20s, in Toffs, quiet drunk, suffer a personality disorder and yet wish to chat up a ladyeeee -- begin the search for a signature on a beer soaked beer-mat. Alternatively to get Sandy Kelly's help with your shopping at Dunnes?

2. Re 'don't blame them' - is this as a result of 'You Tube clip re Yeats Grave - 'being open to the public all year round?' Didn't see that on the Yeats Trail - but I'm sure it's good for the Bram Stoker fans.

PS - Another Sligo connection - Sebastian Barry, the author -- Whereabouts of Enias McNulty (class Sligo based novel), Our Lady of Sligo and Secret Scriptures -- all based within the Shelly River City.

And Sligoman Mr Lonigan - the toughest cop in Oz --'black-balled' the famed outlaw Ned Kelly (and this didn't involve vetting membership to an exclusive cattle-rustling club) and it was his death upon which Outlaw Ned was sentenced to execution having shot Lonigan during the fatal Stringy Bark Creek battle!!!

What about Fingers Fingleton - Ireland's most loved banker -- my old china plate (hence Cockney rhyming is optional)!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭fmcc

maybe fameous for the wrong reasons but Brendan Drumm, Michael Fingleton, dermot Mannion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Janine87

I havent seen any famous people in Sligo... Of course you see the 3 members of Westlife every now and then but thats it. Met them loads too!:D

My reaction to meeting them is more like :( or:mad: instead of :D

Any dealing with them I've had, they have been incredibly rude and thinking the world should revolve them.

bobcar61 wrote: »
    My reaction to meeting them is more like :( or:mad: instead of :D

Any dealing with them I've had, they have been incredibly rude and thinking the world should revolve them.

well it depends on how you come across to them! I never had any problems with them and I didnt meet them only once! Over that without Westlife Sligo wouldnt be it what it is now!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭tuppence

John Colleary from Ballisodare-Comedian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭darealtulip

tuppence wrote: »

What? He is so famous you have tell what he is? :D:D:D

I've never heard of him either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Janine87 wrote: »
    Over that without Westlife Sligo wouldnt be it what it is now!

WHAT!?
    WHY?
    WHEN?
    WHERE?
    WHO??????

how?

ER UM What?

tuppence wrote: »

John's a funny guy but if you told him he was famous he would laugh at you tbh!

He's not even on the Z list (which is a good thing!!!)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭tuppence

elshambo wrote: »
    John's a funny guy but if you told him he was famous he would laugh at you tbh!

He's not even on the Z list (which is a good thing!!!)

You could say it was a bit of social experiment as was checking how famous he is. Also hoping if he wasnt might help! He is a funny guy and nice guy.
    Went to school with him. :o:D

For those who dont know him (or havent gone to school with him:rolleyes:), he has done Naked camera, radio and is currently doing a comedy skit with dave Mc Savage. (Was on RTE2 last nite)

elshambo wrote: »
    WHAT!?
    WHY?
    WHEN?
    WHERE?
    WHO??????

how?

ER UM What?

lets be honest. they earned a lot of money and gave loads of it to Sligo. Thats a fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭pete2009

What about Captain Peter O'Connor who sailed the schooner Arethusa between New York and Ireland in the late 1700s, and named the American Coney Island after Sligo's Coney island. He was born and lived in Sligo.

And I guess if you are mentioning the X Factor contigency, surely the boys from both Those Nervous Animals and Hennigans Blooze Band would be way higher up the ratings. Genuine chart success and musicianship. And didnt one of the latter band play in Stocktons's wing?

And there's a few others I know who are legends, in their own lunchtime.

Aw well, Ship Ahoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭slapbangwhallop

lets be honest. they earned a lot of money and gave loads of it to Sligo. Thats a fact.

ssshhhh now! please stop embarrassing yourself!

but seriously, westlife are a fantasic band.. and they really do have talent esp shane and mark, as for kian well i say no more:eek:

any time i met them, i found them to be really nice lads and very down to earth,

all ye who's bitching are jelous :P :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I think Dermot Mannion was born here.

rio-rose wrote: »
    but seriously, westlife are a fantasic band.. and they really do have talent esp shane and mark, as for kian well i say no more:eek:

any time i met them, i found them to be really nice lads and very down to earth,

all ye who's bitching are jelous :P :D

I'm far from jealous:) I think the fame has gone to their heads big time, I'm sure they are nice to their fans when meeting them but as customers....Well I will say no more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

bobcar61 wrote: »
    I'm far from jealous:) I think the fame has gone to their heads big time, I'm sure they are nice to their fans when meeting them but as customers....Well I will say no more.

I've met 2 of them - one on a business level - he was very shy & wore a peaky cap. The other one, on a night out. Both of them were sound. One was awful fat at the time though. But that was 2 years ago, I reckon. He might have slimmed up since.

Dunno -they haven't made a record for years, thank fCUK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Michael Corcoran from Ballymote, who led the 69th Regiment of the Union Army into the battle of Bull Run in the American Civil War.

Kevin Gildea, comedian and starred in Fr. Ted as one of the priests on the plane. His sister Anne is in the Nualas. From Moylough near Tubbercurry.

Writer Patrick McCabe lives in Sligo, but is from Cavan. Steve Wickham, violinist, formerly of the Waterboys also lives in Sligo, but is from Dublin.

Mary O'Hara, traditonal and folk singer, famous in the 50s and 60s, is from Sligo. Her sister is Eunice in Fair city and she's also Sebastian Barry's aunt.

Bafta nominated actress, Noelle Middleton is from Sligo and is retired here. Worked from the 50s to the 70s, including starring in movies and television series with David Niven, Sid James, Bob Hope, Katherine Hepburn, John Mills and Harry H. Corbett. Didn't expect that, did you?:D.

Perry Blake is a Sligonian, is a singer/songwriter and very big in France as a soundtrack artist. Has played here a few times over the years. Perry Blake is a stagename. Can't remember his real name, but it's a common Sligo name as far as I remember.

Scott Fredericks (real name Frederick Wehrly) was in alot of 70s British televsions shows like Dr. Who, Z-Cars etc.

Lord Palmerston, British Prime Minister, although born in London, owned a large estate in North Sligo, commisioned the building of Classiebawn Castle, and built the harbour at Mullaghmore. There's a plaque on the end of the long pier which mentions him.

Some other links include Albert Reynolds, Longford (former Taoiseach) attending Sumerhill College, as did restaunteur and Great British Menu judge, Oliver Peyton, from Mayo. Another past pupil is Count John McCormack, famous tenor in the early part of the 20th century, from Athlone. Edward J.Flanagan, founder of Boy's Town, an organisation homing ophaned and neglected boys in the states, also attended Summerhill, although from Roscommon. Hence Father Flanagan Hall being the gym in Summerhill.

Mike Nielsen, jazz musician, is a past pupil of Sligo Grammar School and from Strandhill.

The Daniel Day Lewis connection I'm not sure about. I think his father, Cecil Day Lewis, famous in his own right as Poet Laureat, was from Ballintubbert, Co. Laois, often confused with Ballintogher.

With the others mentioned, it's not a bad list. Probably more too, but that's all I can think of for now.

il gatto wrote: »
    Kevin Gildea, comedian and starred in Fr. Ted as one of the priests on the plane. From Moylough near Tubbercurry.

That is depressing!
    A quite horrid individual!

I've met 2 of them - one on a business level - he was very shy & wore a peaky cap. The other one, on a night out. Both of them were sound. One was awful fat at the time though. But that was 2 years ago, I reckon. He might have slimmed up since.

Dunno -they haven't made a record for years, thank fCUK

Thats because they are on a break since 10 months!!!

'Alright Westlife' - Frank G to Jamie Mc G having bumped into him by accident

'what the F*ck do you mean?' - Jamie Mc G

'I mean bland, inoffensive, unchallenging' :pac: Frank G

origin of quote ?? - Frank Gallagher of Shameless to pretty boy Jamie McGuire

Not wishing to backseat mod -- but please people -- don't get dragged into a Westlife defence/attack. I mean, they are famous and wealthy, best of luck to them all -- but that doesn't necessarily equate to talent, originality or uniqueness -- or for that matter someone you particularly like.

It's a well known truism 'don't meet your heroes', the reason, you're very likely to be disappointed.

I know the Sligo Westies quite well and I, like others, could give you my chapter and verse. Can say negative things, but on this I won't -- keeping it positive and will say that, of the three, I have always found Shane quite a likeable, down-to-earth and determined young man.

Janine and Rio -- you are obviously fans - taste is subjective for all concerned.

Unfortunately there is a distinct difference between merit, ability and genius and that of the realm 'celebrity world' -- compared for example with the world of famous people, for eg WB Yeat (Noble Prize winner), Eva Gore-Booth (who hasn't been mentioned thus far) fighting for women's rights amongst the poorest of the poor and those will acumen far surpasses the ordinary.

Celebrity life is vacuous and trashy, imo. Despite my previous comment re Jodie Albert -- because of its transitory nature it a similar phenomena like god forbid Sligo or any other place become famous?? by association for the likes of say an Irish version of Chantelle of Big Brother.:eek: That's a laugh and certainly nothing I personally would associate myself with, unless of course she allowed me to manicure her toe-nails, fetch fluffy bath-robes and hold the reflection board during her photo-shoots.:D

This is a famous Sligonian-thread -- hey I have more time for my grandfather than 99% of the 'fame-ies' mentioned, so I'm really not bothered -- so let's try and keep it relatively on-point.

Another quote

'The BEST of Sligo men when sober CAN cite Yeats,
    But when drunk will quote their grandfather'!!

Anyways terra;)

cheers shellyriver. We really shouldn't be fighting over the artistic merits (or lack thereof) of Westlife - there are far more interesting things to talk about.

shellyriver I know okay! And yes I am a fan. Who cares ... I would not say I know them very well but I do know them a bit. That happes when you live in Sligo.

Anyways... about W.B. Yeats. I thought he was born in Sligo?

Michael Corcoran from Ballymote, who led the 69th Regiment of the Union Army into the battle of Bull Run in the American Civil War.

True Patriot -- when Prince of Wales wanted to inspect Irish Brigade he refused to let Irish soliders line up -- and was promptly chucked in slammer, only released with outbreak of US Civil War, became an Irish-American hero.

Kevin Gildea, comedian and starred in Fr. Ted as one of the priests on the plane. His sister Anne is in the Nualas. From Moylough near Tubbercurry.

The Mr Gildea, has a very strange accent and patter that is barely defined as wit -- his hideous specs are the most notable item about his personage.

Writer Patrick McCabe lives in Sligo, but is from Cavan. Steve Wickham, violinist, formerly of the Waterboys also lives in Sligo, but is from Dublin.

Pat McCabe -- did live on Pearse Rd, but I now think the Border Fox is resident in London.

Mary O'Hara, traditonal and folk singer, famous in the 50s and 60s, is from Sligo. Her sister is Eunice in Fair city and she's also Sebastian Barry's aunt.

Got there before ya, with Seb.

Bafta nominated actress, Noelle Middleton is from Sligo and is retired here. Worked from the 50s to the 70s, including starring in movies and television series with David Niven, Sid James, Bob Hope, Katherine Hepburn, John Mills and Harry H. Corbett. Didn't expect that, did you?:D.

This was on a previous famous Sligo thread -- not original.
    Perry Blake is a Sligonian, is a singer/songwriter and very big in France as a soundtrack artist. Has played here a few times over the years. Perry Blake is a stagename. Can't remember his real name, but it's a common Sligo name as far as I remember.

He is Gorman -- comes from Finisklin (no not the Dump). He went to Summerhill College.

Scott Fredericks (real name Frederick Wehrly) was in alot of 70s British televsions shows like Dr. Who, Z-Cars etc.

Tony Werhly's daughter is continuing the family tradition being a news hottie on RTE spoof-TV news comedy (ripped off Brass Eye imo), with pap John Ryan -- but good show.

Lord Palmerston, British Prime Minister, although born in London, owned a large estate in North Sligo, commisioned the building of Classiebawn Castle, and built the harbour at Mullaghmore. There's a plaque on the end of the long pier which mentions him.

Lord Pam -- built Classie Bawn as a TB clinic for his ailing son, true fact.

Some other links include Albert Reynolds, Longford (former Taoiseach) attending Sumerhill College, as did restaunteur and Great British Menu judge, Oliver Peyton, from Mayo. Another past pupil is Count John McCormack, famous tenor in the early part of the 20th century, from Athlone. Edward J.Flanagan, founder of Boy's Town, an organisation homing ophaned and neglected boys in the states, also attended Summerhill, although from Roscommon. Hence Father Flanagan Hall being the gym in Summerhill.

Does anyone know who the dumbest pupil ever in Summerhill -- now there is a list to infinity and beyond.

Mike Nielsen, jazz musician, is a past pupil of Sligo Grammar School and from Strandhill.

Well known in jazz circles, but not my jazz.

The Daniel Day Lewis connection I'm not sure about. I think his father, Cecil Day Lewis, famous in his own right as Poet Laureat, was from Ballintubbert, Co. Laois, often confused with Ballintogher.

Yes and his mother was a Polish Jewess -- but he was a damn fine Boxer in ehhm 'The Boxer'.

With the others mentioned, it's not a bad list. Probably more too, but that's all I can think of for now.

What's that I heard in Bill's Corner Shop from Rosie about Self-Praise. That's right its sh***e.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

I always knew he was better than Pitt the Elder :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

That's Olga Wehrly, shellyriver. She was also in one of the "who's taking the horse to France?", butter ads a couple of years ago.

I think I may have mentioned Noelle Middleton on a famous Sligo people thread before, but it's no harm reiterating that we have a connection to the golden age of movies amongst us.

Nobody has mentioned Indian. They were very nearly famous, bu were at least of note. Christy, Martin, Joe and the lads would be very disappointed if they were reading this:(:D

Ah yes. Bill's Shop. A font us wisdom and no better place to hear people being taken down a peg or two:D

shellyriver I know okay! And yes I am a fan. Who cares ... I would not say I know them very well but I do know them a bit. That happes when you live in Sligo.

Anyways... about W.B. Yeats. I thought he was born in Sligo?
    no & everyone thinks he was, he was born in dublin, he spent his childhood in sligo.. he loved this place so much, he always related it to his home

Yep he was born in Sandymount Co.Dublin and was educated in Dublin and London.As rio-rose said he admired the place so much, he referred to it in a lot of his work and was also buried here.