Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thought I was seeing things

• 18-04-2009 8:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭

Just coming in the Mallow Road there and as I was stopped by the lights outside the Noel Deasy's Garage I saw a sky blue Audi A4 with an 08 C and dealer plate surrounds. Was thinking it was a mank colour when I noticed the strobe lights on each corner of the front bumper (not on the back) just like the marked/unmarked Mondeo's so just be warned lads if ye travel it regularly.

Seems strange they weren't hidden though but the lights were def the usual garda jobbies:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I seen the exact same car pulling a guy over on the quays in dublin city. At first I thought it was a movie or something. I thought the guy getting out was going to be Colin Farell. But yeah it's a genuine Audi used by the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Haven't spotted that one yet, but will definitely keep my eyes open. Most common ones around the area are the Red Mondeo and the Aubergine Avensis. Think they have a navy Corolla 5dr too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

If it was a 08C it definitely was not a garda car :rolleyes:

God go onto boy racer websites they think the gardai drive corolla gt's :rolleyes:

Could possibly have been an on call car for the HSE. Many surgeons or specialised consultants have blue lights and sirens fitted to their own personal cars when they are required to go to serious scenes when the patient is too ill to be moved.

They are not a dedicated emergency service vehicle but all gardai in the area have been instructed from above to assist in any way the people driving them. (with regard to escorts and turning a blind eye to them passing through red lights)

I know of one dark blue volvo s40 that was operating in county cork. Complete with roof mounted blue lights and sirens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

There's a LandRover Defender in East Cork that has blues on the roof too. Not an official Emergency vehicle but used by a GP down there who attends all the serious road crashes or other emergency. Gardai down there are told not to impede him if he's on blues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

@ The Chief

Get with the times. False plates with local letters are commonplace on the unmarked lads these days. Even the older Mondeos are getting dealer surrounds and teddy bears in the back windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

A friend of mine is a garda in west Cork & he says they have non Dublin reg cars there for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

ninty9er wrote: »
    @ The Chief

Get with the times. False plates with local letters are commonplace on the unmarked lads these days. Even the older Mondeos are getting dealer surrounds and teddy bears in the back windows.

Think The Chief is in the GS so I reckon he would have an idea what he is talking about...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Chief--- wrote: »
    If it was a 08C it definitely was not a garda car :rolleyes:

God go onto boy racer websites they think the gardai drive corolla gt's :rolleyes:

Could possibly have been an on call car for the HSE. Many surgeons or specialised consultants have blue lights and sirens fitted to their own personal cars when they are required to go to serious scenes when the patient is too ill to be moved.

They are not a dedicated emergency service vehicle but all gardai in the area have been instructed from above to assist in any way the people driving them. (with regard to escorts and turning a blind eye to them passing through red lights)

I know of one dark blue volvo s40 that was operating in county cork. Complete with roof mounted blue lights and sirens.

Fair enough if it wasn't. Was just saying what I saw...dont hurt yourself rolling your eyes whatever ya do...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

ninty9er wrote: »
    @ The Chief

False plates are used by surveillance cars. Not regular unmarked cars. You will never know who the surveillance guys are, either will gardai. And they wont be driving mondeos. More like post vans or (fake) taxis.

All Garda cars are serviced by local ford or toyota (or whatever make)garages, they often stick their own sticker on the window or if plates have to be replaced thats how the dealer sticker gets on them.

Dealers love to have garda cars showing their stickers.

When we leave our mondeo in for a service and go to collect it, there it is in the most prominent position in the ford garage washed and waxed and on show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

False plates are used by surveillance cars. Not regular unmarked cars. You will never know who the surveillance guys are, either will gardai. And they wont be driving mondeos. More like post vans or (fake) taxis.

All Garda cars are serviced by local ford or toyota (or whatever make)garages, they often stick their own sticker on the window or if plates have to be replaced thats how the dealer sticker gets on them.

Dealers love to have garda cars showing their stickers.

When we leave our mondeo in for a service and go to collect it, there it is in the most prominent position in the ford garage washed and waxed and on show.

Wouldnt happen to be Rialto Motors by any chance? They always leave the Marked and Unmarked cars at the top of the carpark on the road. Thats where i got my first good look at ANPR!

On topic, i've never seen an unmarked Garda car without a D registration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

The one I seen definitely had a D registration. It was a jet black Audi A4.

Also I seen the officer get out and approach the driver side window of another car and put his badge up against it. What was that about?! I thought that only happened in the movies. He was not dressed in uniform so maybe it's what they do :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

This one def had a C reg and the lights at the corners. Been trying what I thought the reg was in Cartell but no luck. Just cant seem to get it correct:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

False plates are used by surveillance cars... More like post vans or (fake) taxis.

Haha, what happens if someone gets in to a 'fake' surveillance taxi and says "airport please, and step on it!".

Maybe they should rethink that one...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

firefly08 wrote: »
    Haha, what happens if someone gets in to a 'fake' surveillance taxi and says "airport please, and step on it!".

Maybe they should rethink that one...;)

Thats where you say "im off duty" or "I'm booked for someone". Not rocket science.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭macrubicon

Could it have been a Customs car ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

Spotted a drug squad surveillence car 2 years ago, the street outside my gaf in Cork. Was a black Toyota Corolla passenger hatchback, should have had at least a 02 reg on it, as it was the 02-07 body shape, but had a 00 C reg, with a number that was too many digits for Cork. Following evening, a guy was arrested picking up a car which had been parked with several hundred thousands worth of drugs.