Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you welcome QEII to our fair shores?

• 17-04-2009 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭

Ronseal.

Just yes or no or don't care answers.
    There's already another thread on the 800 years.

Not the ship. 93 votes

Yes.
    0% 0 votes
    No.
    51% 48 votes
    Don't care. I'll be pretending I own an Atari Jaguar.
    48% 45 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

I'd welcome Gordon Browne. As for the Queen, she can go and **** herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

If she brings the deeds to the 6 counties....sure.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Like any other head of state visit it wouldn't really bother me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭ahara

After what the vikings did I don't think any Scandanavian head of state should be welcome either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Are you talking about the ship or the British monarch?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Hang on, didn't the QEII sink in April 1912?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It is a magnificent Ship.:cool:

Confab wrote: »
    Hang on, didn't the QEII sink in April 1912?

That might have been the QEI

galwayrush wrote: »
    That might have beEn the QEI

Titanic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

the ronseal confused me for a good 2 minutes.

but why the hell not, the past is the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Atari Jaguar in every poll is not fcuking funny or clever, tbh

=p

imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

it's a mother ****ing boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Titanic?

No no, the Titanic broke up during reentry over Texas in 2003. RIP Titanic.

prinz wrote: »
    Titanic?

Was the Queen on the Titanic?:eek:

Confab wrote: »
    No no, the Titanic broke up during reentry over Texas in 2003. RIP Titanic.

Yeah, if only they had used Ronseal.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Son Of Anarchy

It was alread here?

What kind of dip sh1t coulnd't google that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Yes, wholeheartedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

galwayrush wrote: »
    Queen on the Titanic?:eek:

maybe?........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Mairt wrote: »
    Are you talking about the ship or the British monarch?.

QEII, not The QEII.
    Atari Jaguar in every poll is not fcuking funny or clever, tbh

=p

imo
    Then if it's not there someone else will complain about that.
    It's a lose lose situation.
    So what I did was say that I pretend I have an atari jaguar.
    That way I catered to the people who want that in the poll and, for those who don't, you can look at it as me taking the piss out of all those who do want it in a poll. You obviously missed my subtle sarcasm though.

Nforce wrote: »

nice :D, was waiting for something about freddie mercury, but that ties in nicely with your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

It was alread here?

What kind of dip sh1t coulnd't google that!
    What kind of dip**** can't differentiate between The QEII and QEII?

Oh, wait. You're banned, so you can't answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Lmao

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I have never welcomed any heads of state to this country so I wouldn't start with her. What would be the purpose of such a visit anyway.
    Terry wrote: »
    Oh, wait. You're banned, so you can't answer.

heh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Only if she traded in the 6 counties.

stepbar wrote: »

Better if she sold some of her treasures and bailed us out.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

No.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Darkbloom

I can't wait til BobbySands1991 and 800yearsofpain see this. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

Wouldn't give two ****s if she came or not tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Wouldn't care. And she's an old woman and not exactly Hitler.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

If she couldnt be arsed to come in her last 999 yrs she can stay and rot somewhere else

Mont wrote: »
    If she couldnt be arsed to come in her last 999 yrs she can stay and rot somewhere else

It was precisely because of people with attitudes like the above, that she didn't come :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

You tell her Mont!:mad:

But would you have wanted her to come here when she couldn't be arsed?

It was precisely because of people with attitudes like the above, that she didn't come :pac:

Serious she is a half an hour away and never visited?? Has she not checked out Ryanair or does she know that most people here really couldnt give a toss if she came or not. I mean what sap would actually turn out to greet her - surely the day of the Jackeen is gone (or is it?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Hey Terry , even though you clearly stated that this poll was ' not the ship' , I think some people think they are voting on a cruise liner coming to Ireland

Serious she is a half an hour away and never visited?? does she know that most people here really couldnt give a toss if she came or not.
    That doesn't make sense. So you take umbrage at her "not bothering" to visit despite being so close (it's a bit more complicated than "not bothering" to be fair)... yet you're also saying people don't give a sh1t about her... :confused:

Serious she is a half an hour away and never visited?? Has she not checked out Ryanair or does she know that most people here really couldnt give a toss if she came or not. I mean what sap would actually turn out to greet her - surely the day of the Jackeen is gone (or is it?)

She never visited because some nutbag who fancied himself as an Irish patriot would take a pop at sending her to the great throne in the sky. Don't think she's all that eager to be meeting Diana again tbh

Dudess wrote: »
    That doesn't make sense. So you're making the point she didn't bother to visit because she's so close... yet you're also saying people don't give a sh1t about her... :confused:

She has only 2 reasons not to have visited in her 100 years or whatever it is:
    1. She doesnt like Ireland
    2. She gets informed by her PR machine that it might be a bit sensitive to visit in case the media sees anyone heckling her or whatever which would cause a media frenzy that omg the Queen isnt loved by everyone.

TBH i dont really care if she came or not - to me she means nothing but blind nepotism and is a symbolism of some of the worst things of our "modern" society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭Fluffybums

TBH i dont really care if she came or not - to me she means nothing but blind nepotism and is a symbolism of some of the worst things of our "modern" society.

Isn't that FF.:D

She never visited because some nutbag who fancied himself as an Irish patriot would take a pop at sending her to the great throne in the sky. Don't think she's all that eager to be meeting Diana again tbh

Tell me what has the Queen ever done but be born into Monarchy - i fully respect any elected or self-made person but the Queen to come expecting to be treated like royalty - go bow servant

Fluffybums wrote: »
    Isn't that FF.:D

Totally agree there mate - lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

I wonder how she feels about cathol.......oh wait

Tell me what has the Queen ever done but be born into Monarchy - i fully respect any elected or self-made person but the Queen to come expecting to be treated like royalty - go bow servant

I presume you vented your anti-monarchist fury when many many many other royals from across the globe have visited us?

She has only 2 reasons not to have visited in her 100 years or whatever it is:
    1. She doesnt like Ireland
    2. She gets informed by her PR machine that it might be a bit sensitive to visit in case the media sees anyone heckling her or whatever which would cause a media frenzy that omg the Queen isnt loved by everyone.
    I'd say, worst case scenario, her safety being under threat, and best case scenario, a hostile reception, are pretty big reasons for her not visiting also.
    The reasons you give are spurious to say the least.
    But as you say, people don't give a sh1t about her... so what's the problem with her not visiting here?
    Tell me what has the Queen ever done but be born into Monarchy
    Agreed, but she's still a head of state - doesn't matter how she got there.
    i fully respect any elected or self-made person but the Queen to come expecting to be treated like royalty - go bow servant
    I don't see how it's a given she'd expect to be treated as royalty - especially in Ireland.

I don't think she should visit actually - not because I'd have any objection to a visit by her, but because the hatred and bitterness of certain people here would not be nice to see.

I presume you vented your anti-monarchist fury when many many many other royals from across the globe have visited us?

No, as i stated they mean nothing to me although i would give Princess Leia one

magick wrote: »
    I wonder how she feels about cathol.......oh wait
    I'd imagine she wouldn't give a **** about people being catholic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

if she apologises for 800+ years of crimes against irish citizens and the utter disrespect and contempt she showed towards our heads of state for the last 6 decades then maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

stepbar wrote: »

Yeah we could trade Wexford for them......

But seriously, no I don't think she should come, might just end up being another "love Ulster parade" style catastrophe, besides she has already graced our shores, she was in Belfast a few times over the last few years.

Here's a funny video.

Dudess wrote: »
    I don't think she should visit actually - not because I'd have any objection to a visit by her, but because the hatred and bitterness of certain people here would not be nice to see.

Agree 100%, I'd be horrified and embarrassed at the likely reception she'd get of a minority of vocal diehards. Same goes for any visiting head of state.