Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Riding on the footpath

• 16-04-2009 9:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

What are your opinions on riding on the footpath around city centers.

Better than getting mashed my a lorry or some blade driving around in a big jeep wearing goon shades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭tenacious-me

booo hisss!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

I think it's kind of ignorant to be honest, if the footpaths are anything like as busy as the ones in Dublin. I find it doubly ignorant if the cyclist in question is madly ringing his bell to get pedestrians to move out of his way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Bovered

rottenhat wrote: »
    I think it's kind of ignorant to be honest, if the footpaths are anything like as busy as the ones in Dublin. I find it doubly ignorant if the cyclist in question is madly ringing his bell to get pedestrians to move out of his way.

Of course, you cannot demand that people clear the way.

However round some of these tight streets, I'll take my chances on the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I think it is a bad idea. Marginally more acceptable around the likes of Stephens Green if it is not packed, you are going slowly and yield to pedestrians.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

It's illegal for a start and also inconsiderate to pedestrians. If you aren't confident enough to cycle your bike on the road, don't take it into town until you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭golden

What about pedestrians don't they count on the "footpath"? I have seen people been knocked down and know of one person had to have a hip replacement due to a cyclist on the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Traffic in town goes so slow, it's really not difficult to cycle around. There's no need to go up onto the path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

Slow and annoying.

On which streets would you consider riding on the footpath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I think it's occasionally acceptable, providing that you are going at slow walking pace and not making pedestrians feel uncomfortable/threatened.

Doing it because you're afraid/unskilled is also acceptable...if you're five years old and the bike has stabilisers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

el tonto wrote: »
    It's illegal for a start and also inconsiderate to pedestrians. If you aren't confident enough to cycle your bike on the road, don't take it into town until you are.

+1 -- Its ignorant and rude to cycle on the footpath. You probably have more chance of an accident. Pedo's expect people coming at them at 4kkm/h not 15 km/h ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

+1 -- Its ignorant and rude to cycle on the footpath. You probably have more chance of an accident. Pedo's expect people coming at them at 4kkm/h not 15 km/h ....

Yep. I've been hit twice by cyclists on the footpath. One girl ended up with her bike on top of her in the middle of the road. Had she been unlucky enough that there was traffic.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

It's illegal, dangerous and above all - slower than the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

At least on the road, everyone is going in a predictable direction, for the most part. On the footpath people are going every which way.

Lumen wrote: »
    I think it's occasionally acceptable, providing that you are going at slow walking pace and not making pedestrians feel uncomfortable/threatened.

Doing it because you're afraid/unskilled is also acceptable...if you're five years old and the bike has stabilisers.

If you're going at a slow walking pace, why not just walk the bike, or use the road, which is faster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

If you're going at a slow walking pace, why not just walk the bike, or use the road, which is faster!

When I do it (and it's very rarely, e.g. to cross a large traffic island when doing a u-turn) I coast, stand on one pedal and hang the other leg ready to stop. It's quicker/easier than dismounting.

Obviously using the road is the first choice.

I figure that as long as you're in full control of the bike, going at walking pace, and not inconveniencing anyone else there is no harm - common sense applies. I probably only feel the need to do it once a month (i.e. a little less often than I jump red lights).

Most agreeable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I think there is cycling on the footpath and cycling on the footpath!

I'm not above nipping up on the path to get around a stopped vehicle hard up against the kerb on the quays- esp if the alternative is to try go around the outside and mix it with the buses and trucks.

I wouldn't cycle on the path routinely or incorporate it into a route; nor would I use the path as a means of cycling against the traffic on a one-way street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

no i wouldnt do it first of all as unpredictable as drivers are pedestrians are much more random,

I sometimes coast along beside someone at walking speed on the footpath if i am talking to someone walking, but i'd walkthe bike if i wasnt wearing cycling shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Yes, cycling on the footpath is dangerous...

...I am still undecided about riding on the footpath ;)

Ahh, lowering the tone of a serious debate, I apologise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

That might depend on the clothing, padded shorts, knee pads....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

It usually a far more hassle to get on/off the pavement than staying on the road. Unless the road/cycle path is impassable for whatever reason. (people walking on it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

unless your bike has feet then i think you should stick to the road!! If your not completely comfortable using the road to cycle then walk. Its called a footpath for a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Not a good idea at all. Only bikes that should be on paths are small kids bikes. Thats it.

It really p*sses me off when some one cycles toward me on a footpath. Usually couriers, but I guess they care very little about (1) obeying the rules of the road and (2) whether there actions are a danger / inconvenience to anybdy else.

I see very little reason as to why someone should cycle on a footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Lumen wrote: »
    providing that you are going at slow walking pace and not making pedestrians feel uncomfortable/threatened.
    Pedo's expect people coming at them at 4kkm/h not 15 km/h ....
    Exactly, you can go at walking pace, in which case there is no more danger than a person walking with some similar metal mechanical device in their hands, who would also be more wary
    I cycle on grafton street because I truely feel walking with the bike is more dangerous to passersby, their shins can knock off the pedals on the far side. I see gardai stopping couriers bombing along. I have cycled by loads of gardai who never stopped me, some even give me the nod as though in approval of my sensible slow speed.
    Jawgap wrote: »
    Exactly, common sense must prevail, I see far more pedestrians walking dangerously on the road and cycle tracks than people cycling dangerously on footpaths. Sandyford Ind estate with its one-way system is a place where cycling on footpaths is also tolerated by gardai. I have never seen anybody cycling unreasonably on footpaths there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Sean02

Do pedestrianised streets in Dublin and other Cities have designated cycleways?. If they don't they should have. One for the politicians, but not now while their trying to fiddle the bonus scheme.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Cycling on the footpath is not only dangerous, but it is also awkward as pedestrians ahead of you don't know you're behind them etc. Plus footpaths aren't built to be smooth (especially in towns and cities) so there are a number of bumps - sometimes footpaths don't slope the whole way down to road level when crossing another road so there is a gap between the footpath and the road, which could buckle the tires if going fast.

Cycle on the road, it's much easier. Although having said that, I have seen a cyclist being hit by an opening door of a parked car. Most people do not check their wing mirrors before opening their car doors and those that do usually look out for other cars, not for bikes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

Bovered wrote: »
    What are your opinions on riding on the footpath around city centers.

Better than getting mashed my a lorry or some blade driving around in a big jeep wearing goon shades.

I'm totally against riding on the path. It's indescribably rude. What are the chances of getting "mashed" by a truck or an "evil SUV" if you're cycling competently? Very small.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

rubadub wrote: »
    I cycle on grafton street
    Dawson St and Kildare St are your friends.
    Sean02 wrote: »
    Do pedestrianised streets in Dublin and other Cities have designated cycleways?. If they don't they should have. One for the politicians, but not now while their trying to fiddle the bonus scheme.

I agree. In some cases such cycle shortcuts could work. However, getting cycle lanes on roads is much more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

I only cycle on the foot pad after dark when I'm very drunk and have no lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭NewDubliner

Sean02 wrote: »
    Do pedestrianised streets in Dublin and other Cities have designated cycleways?. If they don't they should have.
    They don't & that sort of thing only works in German-speaking areas.

rubadub wrote: »

I cycle on grafton street because I truely feel walking with the bike is more dangerous to passersby, their shins can knock off the pedals on the far side. I see gardai stopping couriers bombing along. I have cycled by loads of gardai who never stopped me, some even give me the nod as though in approval of my sensible slow speed.

Not sure about the wisdom of cycling along Grafton or Henry Street during the hours when its pedestrianised. Although, you do see the Guards doing it.

I saw a Garda on a bike come out of Trinity and turn right along the path on College Green. The place was thronged with students and tourists! You also seem them mooching along O'Connell Street on the paths quite a bit - but I'm sure that's down to them being lazy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

How many Gardai are they're on bikes around dublin?

Not sure about the wisdom of cycling along Grafton or Henry Street during the hours when its pedestrianised. Although, you do see the Guards doing it.

I saw a Garda on a bike come out of Trinity and turn right along the path on College Green. The place was thronged with students and tourists! You also seem them mooching along O'Connell Street on the paths quite a bit - but I'm sure that's down to them being lazy!!!

They're cycling all over the place for the day, hardly lazy! Part of the Cop on a bike thing is to be able to interact with the community a bit more than being in a car. (So I read on bikeradar) It's easier to do this on the path than on the road.

Do they receive training for cycling through crowds I wonder .... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Fugly bikes they're on. Anyone know what they actually are?

Gavin wrote: »
    They're cycling all over the place for the day, hardly lazy! Part of the Cop on a bike thing is to be able to interact with the community a bit more than being in a car. (So I read on bikeradar) It's easier to do this on the path than on the road.

I know a chap who is a bike-cop. They get quite a bit of training... how to roll when falling off, defend yourself with the bike, handling skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭t0mm

I cycle along the footpath along I think Harcourt Street, the road there is terrible and while it is slower, the smooth footpath is far nicer on the bike. I do try and keep the speed down there, obviously if there are no people about I'll go a little faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Plus footpaths aren't built to be smooth (especially in towns and cities) so there are a number of bumps - sometimes footpaths don't slope the whole way down to road level when crossing another road so there is a gap between the footpath and the road, which could buckle the tires if going fast.
    I think you are confusing footpaths with cycletracks ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

guilty of riding down grafton street, i know not really responsible but i was visiting alot of places in the pedestrian area, anyway i wasn't going fast slower than pedestrians like an extended track stand, and this old man purposely shouldered into me, it was pretty funny due to the fact the looked like an old professor,

lukester wrote: »
    Fugly bikes they're on. Anyone know what they actually are?
    They are decent enough MTBs. This one is a BH with semi-slick tyres, mudguards, rack, integrated lock, etc. Mavic rims, LX gears. Quite practical and look sturdy, good for the job.

th_IMGP2187Custom.jpg th_IMGP2188Custom.jpg th_IMGP2189Custom.jpg th_IMGP2190Custom.jpg

Raam wrote: »
    I know a chap who is a bike-cop. They get quite a bit of training... how to roll when falling off, defend yourself with the bike, handling skills.
    I could do with a bit of training in that regard myself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

blorg wrote: »
    Quite practical and look sturdy fugly

Fixed that :D

Speakin of which, we must sort out a Niall Davis training day at some point and get some 7337 sk1llz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

blorg wrote: »
    ..snip.. integrated lock, ..snip..
    Bit pointless really, sure they could just use a pair of handcuffs. Would save weight
    Actually, would handcuffs from ebay e.g. these actually work as a decent enough lock? They'd have the advantage that you could fill the void easilly, and not be jacked open. How tough would they be to cut through? Hmmmm

Gavin wrote: »

They're lazy in the sense they won't cross the road and cycle with the traffic or get off the bike and walk it!!

They definitely put in the miles. The brother is a Guard and anytime he wants to shift some beef he volunteers for the "bike corps"!! A few weeks of that and he's around to Mam to get the uniforms taken in!!!

They do about 2 weeks training. I laughed when he told me, but then he explained what they do and it sounds pretty good. He reckons the bikes are great for sneaking up on scroats - you get up to them quickly with very little noise!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Glitterangel76

I'm not above nipping up on the path to get around a stopped vehicle hard up against the kerb on the quays- esp if the alternative is to try go around the outside and mix it with the buses and trucks.

I wouldn't cycle on the path routinely or incorporate it into a route; nor would I use the path as a means of cycling against the traffic on a one-way street.
    I sometimes cycle on the footpath when I can't get past cars etc as they seem surgically attached to the kerbs. (why can’t they leave a gap??).and the alternative is going on the outside of them and taking my chances against oncoming traffic and potential motorbikes doing the same. Which to be honest scares the c**p out of me.

Saying that I always cycle slowly, always yield to a pedestrian and even if I am pushing my bike along the path I will stop to let the pedestrian pass or if the road is clear walk on the road so they have the space...its common courtesy... I have the bruises to prove that pedals when they hit you..HURT!

However this doesn't seem to be repayed when a minority of pedestrians walk in the cycle path especially on the road heading towards fairview/WW gym clontarf.
    I had someone walk straight into my path last night, I managed to avoid them but ended up in a heap on the very wet pavement...they looked at me like I was the devil incarnated...(I don't have a bell cos it seems to be a rare commodity in the stores over here and I will not yell its rude!) they made some comment about cyclists and kept on walking. This isn’t the first time, I’ve had them cross the street straight into my path, leaving me two choices; hit them or steer clear and pray I don’t move into the path of a car.

Where did chivilary and good manners go?!?

I sometimes cycle on the footpath when I can't get past cars etc as they seem surgically attached to the kerbs. (why can’t they leave a gap??).and the alternative is going on the outside of them and taking my chances against oncoming traffic and potential motorbikes doing the same. Which to be honest scares the c**p out of me.

Saying that I always cycle slowly, always yield to a pedestrian and even if I am pushing my bike along the path I will stop to let the pedestrian pass or if the road is clear walk on the road so they have the space...its common courtesy... I have the bruises to prove that pedals when they hit you..HURT!

However this doesn't seem to be repayed when a minority of pedestrians walk in the cycle path especially on the road heading towards fairview/WW gym clontarf.
    I had someone walk straight into my path last night, I managed to avoid them but ended up in a heap on the very wet pavement...they looked at me like I was the devil incarnated...(I don't have a bell cos it seems to be a rare commodity in the stores over here and I will not yell its rude!) they made some comment about cyclists and kept on walking. This isn’t the first time, I’ve had them cross the street straight into my path, leaving me two choices; hit them or steer clear and pray I don’t move into the path of a car.

Where did chivilary and good manners go?!?

I know that bit well - the cycle track in from Sutton is a real gem (even if you do get people occasionally wandering along it) but once you get to Fairview I tend to stay on the road so I can keep the speed up - it annoys some motorists (taxi drivers mostly), but better their inconvenience than me and a pedestrian getting scraped off the path.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I tend to stop behind vehicles I can't get around. It's called traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭eddie.fandango

Why do cyclist choose to abide by either motorists or pedestrian rules when it pleases them? A bicycle is a vehicle: GTFO my footpath.

Cos sometimes, by law, we are expected to ride alongside the pedestrians and other times with the cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Glitterangel76

I know that bit well - the cycle track in from Sutton is a real gem (even if you do get people occasionally wandering along it) but once you get to Fairview I tend to stay on the road so I can keep the speed up - it annoys some motorists (taxi drivers mostly), but better their inconvenience than me and a pedestrian getting scraped off the path.
    The bike path to Sutton is lovely, (except maybe when I'm cycling into the wind) so is the one along the Coast Road in Clontarf. I don't mind when they walk in front of me then cos I've space to go...
    Speed is not an issue cos I'm not that bike fit yet...but maybe one day ;)
    I think now the 'summer' is here I will try and cycle more on the roads and avoid the cycle paths as much as possible :)