Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Age consent versus pornography

• 16-04-2009 2:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭

Had a stupid drunken discussion with mates that for some reason has stuck in my head and I thought I'd toss it out here.

The age of consent here is 17. However, to view 'explicit material' (ie porn, a stripper, etc.) you have to be 18.

So if say a 19 yo that sleeps with a 17 yo is fine. However, if a 19 yo strips/****/has sex in front of the 17 year old (with them having any contact themselves) they could be arrested on obscenity charges. Or even if the 19 yo sent pictures of himself/herself naked to the 17 yo.

Practically I don't think the guards would ever arrest someone in this case, but it does seem a bit silly, no?

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tom Young

Consent thread re. Sex: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055372244&highlight=consent it goes into conditions. Gardai have arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

This is different from the matter of the age of consent really. However, I'm not aware of any law that says you need to be 18 to view explicit material (correct me if I'm wrong). The Censorship acts only really prevent material entering cinemas and the like, I think you can masturbate in front of a mirror all you like at any age.