Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seat Exeo availability delayed in Ireland?

• 14-04-2009 3:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭

I rang Seat Ireland today to get the prices on the new Exeo.

Seems like the car will not now be available until at least September of this year. Probably no point in bringing a new car to these shores in the current climate :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

podge3 wrote: »
    I rang Seat Ireland today to get the prices on the new Exeo.

Seems like the car will not now be available until at least September of this year. Probably no point in bringing a new car to these shores in the current climate :(

It's hardly new....it has a facelift and different badges....but to call it new is stretching it a bit. I'd say it's due to heavy demand in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭podge3

Whatever about being new, it'll be about €10k-€12k cheaper than a really new A4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

you're not saying the A4 is overpriced now are ya :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

colm_mcm wrote: »
    you're not saying the A4 is overpriced now are ya :eek:

It's kinda funny. The cute hoor brigade think they're getting a bargain because the Exeo is over 10 grand cheaper than an A4. Thing is the main reason it sold for a premium over Mondeo etc. is the prestige badge (now replaced by the Primark-level SEAT 'S'). That's before you even consider the fact that it's the old model, going on a decade old.

By the time you take all that on board it's really not much of a bargain :rolleyes:

September is time enough for the Hispanic bastard mongrel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Funny this should come up, was actually in a SEAT garage today and just mentioned the Exeo to the salesman. He reckons they mightn't get it until early next year cos of the "current economic climate".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭groupb

The fact that the current A4 gets nowhere near a mondeo makes the seat (ancient audi) look like even more of a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

I dont get why all the negativety towards this car. It looks good, packed with features and doesnt cost the earth.
    To get all the things that this car as standard would cost a mint in extra's in an A4. I think its a cracker and would sell quiet well over here. not everyone wants a mondeo or can afford an audi or VW.

It was mentioned here before but you lot are serious badge snobs ffs.

I dont get why all the negativety towards this car. It looks good, packed with features and doesnt cost the earth.
    To get all the things that this car as standard would cost a mint in extra's in an A4...

It was mentioned here before but you lot are serious badge snobs ffs.

Nothing to to with badge snobbery (well not much anyway:D).

It's just

a.)I find this quite cynical and self-defeating from VAGs point of view. Think of the gi-zillions Audi pump into brand promotion - the Le Mans campaign, the R8, advertising, promotion and product placement - and then they turn around and hawk a recently superceded model as a shortcut to getting their wallflower brand into the saloon segment?
    Ye Gods if they'd even re-clothed the body with fresh styling it wouldn't seem so bad. If I had a late, old-model A4 I'd be a little peeved...

b.) I'm bemused by the fact that some people think an old model A4 (no examplar of dynamic excellence even in it's heyday) from a wallflower marque is more worthy than a modern Vectra, a Mazda 6 or whatever...
    I think its a cracker and would sell quiet well over here. not everyone wants a mondeo or can afford an audi or VW.

Yep, it's for those who think there something fundementally superior about a VW or Audi:eek::rolleyes: but can't afford one:(...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

pburns wrote: »
    That's before you even consider the fact that it's the old model, going on a decade old

Bit like the current model Subaru Legacy;)

opppps, has a can of worms been opened?:eek::P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

fs_dsci0133.jpgaudi_100_gl50_rear_borwn_1979.jpgVW Santana / Audi 100

Y221XGA.jpg 1998-cordoba-1209558515.jpg VW Polo / Seat Cordoba

passat_lingyu.jpgSkoda%2520Superb.jpg VW Passat plus / Skoda Superb

VW%2BPolo%2BMk1.jpg Audi-50-gelb.jpg VW Polo MK1 / Audi 50

Nothing new about this idea from VW pburns, there's more than this but the thread would go on forever....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Pburns just hates SEAT, not just in the normal "I dont like" kind of way, but has a very deep rooted hatred for anything SEAT.

I find his posts very amusing TBH..

Grabs popcorn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

I think you will find that the curent Legacy came out in 2004 and is engineered way beyond anything else for the price. The Boxer Diesel newer again unlike VAG still peddling old agricultural 1.9Tdi's.

Ohhhh YOU!!!!

OK, I'm gonna come clean -ya' got me!

I secretly yearn for a luvverly Paasat in farmyard brown. All the lads in Macra have them:(! Paddy-Joe Brennan even has an A4 (!!). I shoulda sold a few sites when I had a chance:mad:.

Some of the racier lads even have an I badge. That makes 'em lethal fast! O how they laugh at my little tin-can Leggie:

"All-wheel-drive? Sure ye'd be only wantin that on a Pajero"
    "Boxer engine? What's that? Sure isn't there fierce power in the 1.9TDi"
    "Sure that yoke wouldn't be high enough off the ground at-all-at-all..."

<sigh>

Maybe some day please God if the Single Farm Payment cheque ever arrives :o....
    Pburns just hates SEAT, not just in the normal "I dont like" kind of way, but has a very deep rooted hatred for anything SEAT.

I find his posts very amusing TBH..

Grabs popcorn.

I was actually very close to buying a MkI Leon years ago. I remember being in Spain in the early noughties and the Ibiza and Leon were cool little cars. I hate what SEAT have done in recent years though - a range of mini- and midi- MPV-alikes. They've totally lost their way.

Needless to say I don't see the Exeo as a return to form but if that's your cup of tea - hey - knock yourself out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Ohhhh YOU!!!!

OK, I'm gonna come clean -ya' got me!

LOL - Class! I was just kiddin withya!:D
    I'm delighted to see that some here on Boards have a sense of humour and don't winge and cry and bawl when challenged!

On topic, well the exeo does'nt stack up for me neither.
    Old shape,technology and all of that. Decent interior tho', I'll give it that from the net shots I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭podge3

The new Superb is probably a better choice but its kinda ugly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭groupb

Nothing to to with badge snobbery (well not much anyway:D).

It's just

a.)I find this quite cynical and self-defeating from VAGs point of view. Think of the gi-zillions Audi pump into brand promotion - the Le Mans campaign, the R8, advertising, promotion and product placement - and then they turn around and hawk a recently superceded model as a shortcut to getting their wallflower brand into the saloon segment?
    Ye Gods if they'd even re-clothed the body with fresh styling it wouldn't seem so bad. If I had a late, old-model A4 I'd be a little peeved...

b.) I'm bemused by the fact that some people think an old model A4 (no examplar of dynamic excellence even in it's heyday) from a wallflower marque is more worthy than a modern Vectra, a Mazda 6 or whatever...

Yep, it's for those who think there something fundementally superior about a VW or Audi:eek::rolleyes: but can't afford one:(...

Ah come on now , you know damn well if it has a red i on the back it will handle like its on rails , go like a bat out of hell , do at least 70mpg and never ever let you down. If its a quattro it can corner quicker than any other car on the planet. Wallflower marque? Just because you have an interest in cars does'nt mean you have to demean the misguided sheep that buy Whirlpools , sorry I meant Audis.:P