Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for feedback on short film Les Framboises

• 14-04-2009 3:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25

Hi Everyone,

We have put out are Irish short film 'Les Framboises' (The Raspberries) on youtube to see what people think of it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpFGeWhvA9U

You can watch it in HD at the above link.

Les Framboises has been at 3 film festivals so far

Waterford Film Festival Ireland 2007.
    Giggleshorts Comedy Film Festival Toronto 2007.
    New Film Maker Series Anthology Film Archives New York 2008.

General comments , good and bad are all welcome

Thank you and enjoy the movie.

The CoastersFilm Team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Liked it - once seen not forgotten. Wouldn't take Waterford festival seriously - they keep using the word 'premier' instead of 'premiere' in their programmes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭dacogawa

I liked that a lot, it's a good giggle and a bit weird :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Pretentious, derivative, a poor attempt at surrealism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭dacogawa

latenia wrote: »
    Pretentious, derivative, a poor attempt at surrealism.

latenia obviously a man in a dressing gown in the woods chasing a bowl of raspberries isn't surreal enough for you

did you not get that this is comedy ? that makes it even funnier, lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭pasta-solo

I liked it, it was funny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Coasters Film

The film implies questions which are a little abstract but
    generally are answered in the film itself. These questions
    might not challenge the viewer because the solution is simple.

It's very like asking the the question: Can a snake eat itself?

It might sound like a silly question, the answer is obvious, of course it can. It just keeps going until it gets to the back of it's own head and then it blinks out of existance with the last bite.You don't have to think
    very hard about what is self evident.

Thanks for all the comments so far :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

I don't like to put down anyone who has actually gotten off their arse and attempt something.So all I'll say is that the quality is good ,unfortunately the editing is kinda sloppy, the cuts are too jerky because of the poor lighting and lack of continious light, can appreciate what you're trying to get across in the short and can see your influences very clearly,Well done on getting it shown at the festivals, the important thing now is to move on to the next thing, usually a 15-20 min short to show off the techey skills you'll have picked up by now.WOuldn't be my cup of tea but congrats and best of luck in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Morning

I thought that was a great short film, good to see some new creative Irish stuff, gave you a 5 star on YouTube, the whole arthouse rip off is cool, i wonder what the Frence think of it ???

I dont know what meatwad is on about [typical gamer, check his posts] the editing/sound/quality is really top notch [there's not much you can do about lighting outdoors] keep it up guys, looking forward to the next instalment.

M:)rning

What kind of a looser are you that you check out other peoples previous posts, obviously you are the one that edited the movie if my comments annoyed you so much that you checked out previous posts just so you could try and insult me in some way .lol.If you don't want comments on your stuff don't post em. Believe me if it was really any good and the team behind it ye would have made at least a few more shorts since you did this years ago. Its crap like this thats the reason that there is hardly movie industry in Ireland because people keep making pretentious ****e like this that only appeals to a few people that probably jerk off over Polanski movie.Theory over substance.
    I am a massive movie fan and have some experience in the industry.Stuff like the above is typical student festival shorts and its about 15 years behind alot of the new shorts that are making waves.I had every intention of trying to be encouraging about the short, but obviously the intention of posting it here was to try and inflate the ego that you're friends and family and other morons have been unfairly, yet steadily inflating over the years.
    Go back to you're fetac grade 5 movie course or you're job in chart busters and while you're at it eat my poooooooo...but I would say that because me is only stupid gamer that not able to judge moving pictures cause me never see one before.

Heres a proper short by the guys that made Dead Meat.

Meatwad wrote: »
    Heres a proper short by the way that lead on to a little film called Dead Meat being made.

Dead Meat was made in 2004, the Blaxorcist in 2007.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I enjoyed it.
    However, Swedish in arthouse tormented films FTW.
    Jag avgudar den hallon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

BlitzKrieg wrote: »

Agreed. Good on you and well done for putting something together and getting it screened at festivals, but my reaction to the piece is "typical student film". Reminds me of the kind of fare my fellow classmates were pitching (and got shot down for) for their first student short about 12 years ago.

It's not quite the subversion of style that is required for it to be an ironic or comedic commentary on that style; it's too close to the pretentious wannabe arthouse style as to be virtually indistinguishable from it.
    Morning wrote: »
    the editing/sound/quality is really top notch [there's not much you can do about lighting outdoors]

There's actually a lot you can do about lighting outdoors. Have someone take control of continuity. Ensure all shots are adequately logged and detailed, and that you attempt as far as possible, given the unpredictable Irish weather, to ensure the light is as similar as possible across cuts.
    Shoot all the scenes that are to be laid back to back at the same time of day (even if it's on a different day), and if you establish a scene where the sun is out and shining, you sit and wait til the sun comes back out from behind the clouds to go ahead and shoot another setup that you plan to incorporate in that same scene. If it doesn't match up in the edit suite, discard and reshoot if possible.
    That's besides the point though.

Overall, I commend you on putting a short together, that's more than a lot of people have done. Keep working on ideas and you can build on the experience you have gained in shooting this one, which IMHO is lacking any originality.

As for Morning, that’s hilarious! Thanks for the comments. I bet you weren’t
    expecting THAT when you said a video on youtube wasn’t bad. Ha Ha!
    Apart from there being no association with “Morning”, the only thing
    I can comment on is that Meatwad has shown an extraordinary emotional
    response to the movie. I couldn’t have hoped for more. He really hates it!
    I don’t think he knows it is a parody. I can imagine him changing colour
    and cursing to himself as he types.

Gary Warburton

Thanks for the compliment Morning , we're working on a 30 min short film at the moment and we will have more sketchs
    out there soon ! I can assure you Meatwad that Morning is not an "insider" as you put it and it was a shame to see how
    nasty you turned when you incorrectly presumed it was. But all comments , no matter how enraged , are welcome !

Just curious though, where did you get the moniker "Meatwad" ? You're not viewing this in jail are you ?!

Sean Grant

Hi All,

Thanks for all the responses to the movie so far (we asked for good and bad and that's what we got)

To answer some questions (meatwad first), I am the person who edited this short and i am not 'morning' or 'meatwad' (i'd be answering myself then), & this clip was done 2 years ago and there was a copyright issue with the original music, so it could only go to festivals. I have since reproduced the music (Erik Satie, Gnossienne) in unison with the original and therefore we can only now put it on the internet.

There are many more clips to come (Cruncho Smacks will probably be next) we are just sorting out copyright, etc.

Sorry you think this film is '15 years behind a lot of new shorts' we were going for about 80 years.

I don't think we (or I) have over inflated egos, quite the opposite. (i know your original comment was directed at 'morning' but your true feelings came out) really good to see how much you hate it, that inflates my ego no end.

If you want to get personal 'Go back to you're fetac grade 5 movie course' I have been working as an editor for over 10 years with the like of Red Bull, O2, Xbox, ect (my ego is getting bigger) so what have you done in the industry ?

I would never have a go at someone for being a gamer as i spent most of last night playing call of duty (world at war) & i would definitely not like to eat your poo.

Morning, we have put it on a few French sites but have nothing back yet,

Echosound, good comments (apart from the typical student short IMHO). it is very, very close to the arthouse style & that is way some people have thought it was 'about love' or 'intimacy' some of the feedback we've been given you would think it was art we were going for but everyone can take what they like from it, we get a giggle from that.

Agree with you about lighting comments, Gary and Sean were alone on the shoot that day and have heard endlessly from me about the lighting & shadowing, but in their defense i think they did a good job for 2 people in a forest with 1 camera. and you only notice it in the first 4 to 5 cuts. or if you want we could go with: it's documenting his search over a period of time therefore lighting continuity doesn't come into it.

As for the originality, could you point us the way to a short black and white comedy film in french where a man chases raspberries around a forest ?

Thanks also to spurious, pasta-solo, dacogawa, latenia, blitzkrieg & nolanger

David Costello

Lol, nah I don't hate it at all, lets just say drink and getting my arse kicked on gears of war lead to a little...um..outburst. I can see its a parody and as I said before congrats on actually doing something, there's thousands of people around that keep saying they'll do this and that and never actually do it.At least you have actually done something, and the production isn't bad either. If ye keep it up who knows where it will lead, the best thing to do is ignore psychos like me and especially those that only say good things about it. I've been involved in design and art and some web based and tv stuff over the years and you'll always get people that no matter how good it is will tear it apart because they're just not into it.I tend to take it as a bit of fun and I'm glad to see that ye didn't take offence to me either, cause it wasn't anything personal. Good luck with future stuff, hope ye stick at it.

As for the originality, could you point us the way to a short black and white comedy film in french where a man chases raspberries around a forest ?

While the actual content is not something I can point to other examples of raspberries and forests in films (maybe in yoghurts). The theme of *lets take the p*ss out of avant garde films by doing a really over the top parody of them* is very very old and overdone.

I already gave two examples of popular television doing it, but the internet is full of similar short videos from the very simple (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HdIBSqJpk2c) to the really stupid and crap (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lssu41Vpv1I&feature=related) and so on (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JJixrsS3Fg&feature=related)

Some touches I liked though.

You emulated the style of subtitling associated with art films (with the black box around the dialogue) which I thought was a nice touch. And technically your piece would be at the higher end of quality compared to others, though I am guessing you had a difficult tripod? You tended to get stuck and give a jolt at the beginning and end of each pan.

And yes, when someone does go searching through my old posts digging up dirt, they will find youtube videos where I have done avant garde films and will complain that I am just being edgy. Let it be known I am not.

Meatwad hope the head is ok today, a good fry or another few drinks usually helps (if you are getting drunk again remember there are many other threads you can post on!) apology accepted and hope you like our upcoming sketch better or you might even like the film when it arrives.

Blitzkrieg yeah art-house has been parodied before, we don't claim to be the first but we thought this would tickle people, i know Family Guy and Monty Python have done it very, very well but i dont think you can compare 'Les Framboises' to 'The Walk' or 'DIY' and as for the third film you posted 'Avant Garde Film' i think that guy was serious and did very well for a one day, one man college film and now because of the bag on his head i have a serious need for a burger king whopper, so i'm off to baggot street in the rain to get one (was he serious or was it a burger king viral ?).

We'll have plenty more sketches on all sorts of topics coming up soon enough and they wont be avant garde.

When i get a minute i'll have to go through your old posts since you said that, and no we wont think you're edgy

Thanks again for watching and commenting

Blitzkrieg yeah art-house has been parodied before, we don't claim to be the first but we thought this would tickle people, i know Family Guy and Monty Python have done it very, very well

not6 a bad bunch to be compared to
    but i dont think you can compare 'Les Framboises' to 'The Walk' or 'DIY'

I was just showing that the theme wasnt anything new and is in fact a very common theme that has been done over and over in different manners from the very simple such as *the walk* to the really badly made and horrible *DIY* I know you didnt claimn to be original but my original post was just a nod that it is something we had seen done before and I only commented again when you stated

Which I felt is unfair as originality doesnt necessarily mean having new locations or mcguffins, but the same theme, much like how alot of american action films feel very samey despite unique locations and/or dileama's (case in point I was at Outlander today and despite trying to shake up the sci fi monster scene by setting it in viking norway it still feels very samey compared to alot of 90's sci fi horror films.)
    and as for the third film you posted 'Avant Garde Film' i think that guy was serious and did very well for a one day, one man college film and now because of the bag on his head i have a serious need for a burger king whopper, so i'm off to baggot street in the rain to get one (was he serious or was it a burger king viral ?).

that was my mistake it was one of the top videos i got back when I searched avant garde parody and I only glanced at the first 5 minutes and thought it was a parody much like your own. I didnt watch it all til I finished my post and I should have removed it but didnt.

When i get a minute i'll have to go through your old posts since you said that, and no we wont think you're edgy

I was saying that tongue in cheek as someone randomly looked up metwads posts after he gave a negative critcism.

If you want to know what I have done it can be found on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/connla

AAAaaahahahaha, meatwad you tool. hahahahaha

I looked at your posts, so what ? i was trying to find more linx 2 pictures of your mother on her back you drunkin hand tugger.

AAAAAhahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Morning wrote: »
    AAAaaahahahaha, meatwad you tool. hahahahaha

I looked at your posts, so what ? i was trying to find more linx 2 pictures of your mother on her back you drunkin hand tugger.

AAAAAhahahahahahahahahahahahaha

God you are an immature troll.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

God you are an immature troll.
    An immature banned troll at that.

Hi Guys,

Blitzkrieg we're only messing with you, thanks for all the insight though.

Morning & Meatwad, just kiss and make up :)

Just to prove we are actually doing some stuff here's another sketch from the 'Coasters' film (dont worry, there's no raspberries or art-house stuff).

The trailer for the whole show will be up as well very, very soon...

Hi Guys,

Blitzkrieg we're only messing with you, thanks for all the insight though.

Morning & Meatwad, just kiss and make up :)

Just to prove we are actually doing some stuff here's another sketch from the 'Coasters' film (dont worry, there's no raspberries or art-house stuff).

The trailer for the whole show will be up as well very, very soon...

I'm sorry but that play s like a dreadful Python sketch. It's tired, cliched and about as inventive and comedic as the average episode fo Everybody Lovesw Raymond.

sorry for my language in last post ladies, thanks for the ban lift mod.

I liked the other video better, good 2 see u're doing more different shoots though, keep it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Aspro

Well done on the film, lads. Stick with it. Kudos for getting the nominations and invites to the various festivals. While many folks are having their minds numbed by Eastenders and X Factor, you're getting out there and doing something innovative and artistic.
    And of course you know what to say to the detractors....

All you mother****ers are gonna pay. You are the ones who are the ball-lickers. We're gonna **** your mothers while you watch and cry like little bitches. Once we get to Hollywood and find those Miramax ****s who are making that movie, we're gonna make 'em eat our ****, then **** out our ****, then eat their **** which is made up of our **** that we made 'em eat. Then you're all you mother****s are next. Love, Jay and Silent Bob.

Thanks for all the comments guys, and last but not least here's the trailer for the whole show......

when we going to see the show ? whats the name of the song playing over the trailer ?

OK Guys, were back! :)

Just wanted to know what you think of our latest offering ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P2286DO81F4

Also if you like you can join the group on facebook

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Coasters/85995973332

Looking forward to your comments (good & bad)