Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Williams interview on Tubridy.

• 11-04-2009 10:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭

Any one see Paul Williams on Tubridy tonight?
    Interesting interview, but I fear hes gotta be a trophy hit for the criminal element at some point. I really do hope he's not digging an early grave for himself.
    Brave man in any case, I'd be terrified of expressing those views on television and writing about those kind of thugs on a regular basis. It made me think of a few AH threads, the Limerick/Covert Ops one in particular. Calling out the McCarthy/Dundons and Keanes on national television like that is definitely not something I'd be in a big hurry to do at the minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

Ya he's a brave man alrite. Good interview.
    It was interesting what he said about the privacy law coming in and putting an end to his reporting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I didn't see it. I was busy living my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

And now here you are telling us about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

Didnt see it but had a feeling he would trot out the Keane(cane for those in Limerick)etc routine

But ya he is brave, can ye remember the bomb outside his house a few years ago. Scary stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

li@mo wrote: »
    It was interesting what he said about the privacy law coming in and putting an end to his reporting

What's this now?

Birdie086 wrote: »
    Didnt see it but had a feeling he would trot out the Keane(cane for those in Limerick)etc routine

But ya he is brave, can ye remember the bomb outside his house a few years ago. Scary stuff

I remember the interview he gave RTE after that incident and he was in an awful state.

tribulus wrote: »
    What's this now?

He was saying Dermot Ahern is trying to bring in a law to protect peoples privacy in the media. He didnt go into the details but he said it will bring an end to him naming criminals in his reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 FJB

Interesting how when Paul Williams said that he thought the government were responsible for protecting criminals, the interview suddenly 'moved on'. Good man Tubbs, way to get the best out of your guests... and at the end Tubridy's quip 'take care of yourself', patronizing or what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Paul Williams said that the government want to bring in privacy laws which will prevent certain people being mentioned by name in the media in certain circumstances. While this will help some people how may have connections in high places, it also prevents criminals being named in the media also. I think he called the new laws a criminals charter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

FJB wrote: »
    Interesting how when Paul Williams said that he thought the government were responsible for protecting criminals, the interview suddenly 'moved on'. Good man Tubbs, way to get the best out of your guests... and at the end Tubridy's quip 'take care of yourself', patronizing or what!

Have to admit I don't really rate Williams as a journalist. But with the way things are going, atleast somebody is naming and shaming those ****heads in Limerick. What FJB said about how Tubridy handled the interview was probably more of an RTE not wanting to say anything sour about the government at the moment after the whole paintings-of-fatboy cowen-incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

That was the worst interview I have ever seen on a TV screen. Tubridy had absolutely no interest in the subject matter, typical of the toffee nosed privileged smarmy git that Tubridy is. He even suggested that if Williams actually wanted to do some good, why did he not join the Gardai??? Williams looked visibly bewildered by such a stupid and woodenheaded remark.

Bad and all as Pat Kenny is, at least on a serious subject like this, he would have gotten the approch right. Tubridy hasn't a f*cking clue how to do an interview, how on earth the guy has a show of his own, it something I'll never understand. His show all tonight was full of rediculous smutty sexual remarks with an intended double meaning that were absolutely cringeworthy, it's no wonder his wife left him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 FJB

CCCP^ wrote: »
    What FJB said about how Tubridy handled the interview was probably more of an RTE not wanting to say anything sour about the government at the moment after the whole paintings-of-fatboy cowen-incident.

Agreed, you can practically hear the producer screaming in his ear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

Darragh29 wrote: »
    That was the worst interview I have ever seen on a TV screen. Tubridy had absolutely no interest in the subject matter, typical of the toffee nosed privileged smarmy git that Tubridy is. He even suggested that if Williams actually wanted to do some good, why did he not join the Gardai??? Williams looked visibly bewildered by such a stupid and woodenheaded remark.

Bad and all as Pat Kenny is, at least on a serious subject like this, he would have gotten the approch right. Tubridy hasn't a f*cking clue how to do an interview, how on earth the guy has a show of his own, it something I'll never understand. His show all tonight was full of rediculous smutty sexual remarks with an intended double meaning that were absolutely cringeworthy, it's no wonder his wife left him.

When Tubridy tonight first aired about years ago(?) I thougth whooh(oo, someone a bit freshfaced not much older than myelf -maybe we might see something new, oh how badly I was let down. Quickly copped on to the fact that he is not much more than a puppet for the RTE. i am from Limerick so I am a cynic anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boycey

Yeah, I'd agree Tubridy simply cannot get the best out of his guests. That and the fact that, as mentioned, he is a smarmy git.
    Paul Williams on the other hand makes for a very interesting guest, like him or not. Talk about looking a gift horse in the mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭wildsaffy

If only we had a Parkinson to get us through these rough times. If Tubridy gets the Late Late I really will have to go and get anti-depressants...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭djsupreme

This is the thing.... Tubridy is perfectly fine with the light hearted stuff, but can't handle anything serious. That's why there's no way he can get the Late Late.

I admire Paul Williams, but always thought he was a bit of a glory hunter. After Veronica Guerin, anyone doing this kind of work has to think about their methods. Why not use an alias? The NEws of the World's investigative reporter does it quite successfully. If you have young children, I question putting them in danger for your work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭quietobserver

When Tubridy tonight first aired about years ago(?) I thougth whooh(oo, someone a bit freshfaced not much older than myelf -maybe we might see something new, oh how badly I was let down. Quickly copped on to the fact that he is not much more than a puppet for the RTE. i am from Limerick so I am a cynic anyway.

i think your right. it would be intersting if we had a chat show host who didnt have guests just to air their new book. more like parkinson who would do a personal interview about who they are or what they did (no book sale involved). similar to those ryan confidential ones without the dinners and chewing or g ryan himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭quietobserver

wildsaffy wrote: »
    If only we had a Parkinson to get us through these rough times. If Tubridy gets the Late Late I really will have to go and get anti-depressants...:(

hadnt seen this response before my last reply. i agree though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭newname

I think Tubridy is a terrible interviewer. Williams was about to get going on the very topical limerick murder and tubridy just cut him off and moved onto another topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Dark_lord_ire

hate when people knock williams he is the only good jorno the sunday world have and they are lucky to have him. He is a brave man and if not for him we would not know the half of what the gardai are dealing with. Its not as if RTE will cover the criminals the way he does and of course he gets most of his information from gardai but i think the general view of the gardai is that if not for him the people would not have a clue whats going on.

As for tubridy he is a light hearted host he is not one to take on a challenge like that nor is pat kenny. Gay byrne was great he would tackle any subject, i always remember when gerry adams came on the late late and gay refused to shake his hand rightly so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

Nobody mentioned that williams explained He calls his latest money seller for the sunday world the don,so as his readers would know which particulor scumbag of the many he is talking about at anytime.

We have had the General,the viper dutchy etc by that shower in the sunday world.

If my photo was published under the name the don I recken i would walk out the front door of my house with an arrogant swagger,if however my photo appeared beside the headline:drug smuggling murdering scumbag from ? adress,i would most likely shamefully&dressed in black hop over back walls under cover of darkness.

Williams&the sunday world did not create these sh1tes,but by putting alluring names on them they boosted them in the eyes of many young people&made them figures of awe instead of contempt.

Williams in my opinion is no hero,self publicest.reckless to his family safety&more

Sunday world would do almost anything to sell copy I reckon,in the same way I believe the editor of the sunday indo should have given Veronica another brief after she had her baby,or at least after she had been shot in the leg:mad:

Selfless journalism or self serving(selfish to their family)journalism.?
    I am not sugesting that the press should cower in fear of scum,i am suggesting they be cleveror than the maggots,newspaper editors please note:(

I thought the same myself until someone I know who works in RTE told me what a condasending smarmy pr*ck he is. Then the more I looked at him, the more I could see what this RTE employee was pointing at. Then I had to listen to Tubridy's brother, http://garretttubridy.ie/ for 2 minutes once, who is inflicting himself on the constituency of Pembroke/Rathmines in the June Local elections and he was an even more pompus sap than his brother.

Jesus if this guy gets elected I'll f*cking shoot myself, I'm serious. Check out his website here, you'd feel sick reading it, the guy is completely and utterly removed from reality. The country is in a depression now and he wants the local authority to organise tea parties for the residents of Rathmines...

http://garretttubridy.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Ya he's a brave man alrite. Good interview.

He's not brave at all. The biggest mistake organised criminals ever made in this country was the assassination of Veronica Guerin, which led to the setting up of the Criminal Assets Bureau. Williams knows this damn well, and he's the safest man in the country.

He glorifies these gang lords by giving them names like 'The Penguin', 'Mr Big' and brings them to the public's awareness and thus makes them even more fearful characters, hence there recent venture in debt collections from ordinary joe soaps.

Williams have profited more than anyone from organised crime.

djsupreme wrote: »
    This is the thing.... Tubridy is perfectly fine with the light hearted stuff, but can't handle anything serious. That's why there's no way he can get the Late Late.

I admire Paul Williams, but always thought he was a bit of a glory hunter. After Veronica Guerin, anyone doing this kind of work has to think about their methods. Why not use an alias? The NEws of the World's investigative reporter does it quite successfully. If you have young children, I question putting them in danger for your work.

I swear if Tubridy gets the Late Late, I'm going to take a baseball bat to my flatscreen and put pics up here to prove it. The guy shouldn't be let fu*king next nor near a TV camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭geurrp the yard

How does this journalist have access to certain "confidental" information from within the gards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Didn't Williams get sued by the cops at some point or was it the other way round, or did it never happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

mike65 wrote: »
    Didn't Williams get sued by the cops at some point or was it the other way round, or did it never happen?

Paul Reynolds did a couple of years ago afaik., he sued some Garda publication.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I swear if Tubridy gets the Late Late, I'm going to take a baseball bat to my flatscreen and put pics up here to prove it. The guy shouldn't be let fu*king next nor near a TV camera.

Can the mods sticky this? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭limericklady87

jesus christ... i went onto garretttubridy.ie f**K me, if i could vote in that constituency i wouldn't give it to him. Appears pretty smarmy too and a fianna failer...all those rte heads probably are though! :cool: A few relavent policies wouldnt kill him. Love how he has a link to donate to his campaign on a weekly/annual basis! ..you wouldnt see that on many council campaigns...he's not running for the white house like. Those tubridys seem to have a nice few connections around the place..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Hairy McGinty

Tubridy is so bad that yes he will get the Late Late
    that is what they seem to do there (Kenny is a plank)
    As for Williams & the Sunday World giving nicknames to scumbags
    Scumbags seem to delight in it , if you don`t have a Sunday World nickname you are a nobody

zudo wrote: »
    He's not brave at all. The biggest mistake organised criminals ever made in this country was the assassination of Veronica Guerin, which led to the setting up of the Criminal Assets Bureau. Williams knows this damn well, and he's the safest man in the country.

He glorifies these gang lords by giving them names like 'The Penguin', 'Mr Big' and brings them to the public's awareness and thus makes them even more fearful characters, hence there recent venture in debt collections from ordinary joe soaps.

Williams have profited more than anyone from organised crime.

Agreed to an extent, but then Williams is a journalist and author, and of course he profits from his trade. Just like me and every other employee out there.
    However, it's his intent on bringing these scumbags and their deeds into the public eye which wins my respect, and for that I do believe he's a brave man. To call anyone 'the safest man in the country' when it comes to dealing with these thugs just does'nt wash with me, I dont believe anyone is safe, its like swimming with sharks.
    Poor Veronica Guerin and her family paid the ultimate price for her deeds, deeds which were very much known to both the public and the Gardaí. Didnt stop her getting killed though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He was saying Dermot Ahern is trying to bring in a law to protect peoples privacy in the media. He didnt go into the details but he said it will bring an end to him naming criminals in his reports.

Yeah imagine that, if a law was passed that stopped him publishing whatever unsubstantiated horse s***te his informants in the gardai feed him with zero proof.

I reckon this country would collapse into criminal anarchy within the week without brave paul reynolds exposés...

boycey wrote: »
    Agreed to an extent, but then Williams is a journalist and author, and of course he profits from his trade. Just like me and every other employee out there.
    However, it's his intent on bringing these scumbags and their deeds into the public eye which wins my respect, and for that I do believe he's a brave man. To call anyone 'the safest man in the country' when it comes to dealing with these thugs just does'nt wash with me, I dont believe anyone is safe, its like swimming with sharks.
    Poor Veronica Guerin and her family paid the ultimate price for her deeds, deeds which were very much known to both the public and the Gardaí. Didnt stop her getting killed though.

Yes but Veronica Guerin was a real crime reporter, an extremely brave woman who exposed crime lords and their evil deeds, which at the time was not known to the general public.

This is very much unlike Williams who is now a crime expert in the 'Limereck Underworld', even the dogs in the streets know the names of these thugs.

I just find the whole 'profiting' of crime, from writing several books, a bit sickening. It's one thing writing for the rag 'The Sunday World', but having best books on these scumbags is very distateful IMO.

zudo wrote: »
    Yes but Veronica Guerin was a real crime reporter, an extremely brave woman who exposed crime lords and their evil deeds, which at the time was not known to the general public.

This is very much unlike Williams who is now a crime expert in the 'Limereck Underworld', even the dogs in the streets know the names of these thugs.

I just find the whole 'profiting' of crime, from writing several books, a bit sickening. It's one thing writing for the rag 'The Sunday World', but having best books on these scumbags is very distateful IMO.

I genuinely dont see where you can draw a line between the two, and somehow label Veronica Guerin a 'real' and brave crime reporter but Paul Williams distasteful? Their chosen field is/was the Irish criminal underworld, and both get/got well paid for it I'm sure. One has picked up where the other (unfortunately) left off as far as I can see.

@Bambi - we're talking about Paul Williams here, not Paul Reynolds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

You have to respect the work Paul Williams does, who cares if he gets well paid for it the risks involved are off the scale. Kudos to the man tbh.

'Safest man in the country' me arse, pathetic comment. Some people are in denial about Gangland Ireland :rolleyes:

boycey wrote: »
    I genuinely dont see where you can draw a line between the two, and somehow label Veronica Guerin a 'real' and brave crime reporter but Paul Williams distasteful? Their chosen field is/was the Irish criminal underworld, and both get/got well paid for it I'm sure. One has picked up where the other (unfortunately) left off as far as I can see.

@Bambi - we're talking about Paul Williams here, not Paul Reynolds.

Well I don't think money was the motivating factor in Vieronica Guerin's case, unlike Williams who seems to love the 'hard man' image, writing best-selling books on characters he so readily labels 'Mr this that and the other'.

Veronica Guerin single-handedly exposed some of the Country's biggest drug barons, as opposed to Williams telling us about the Keane and Ryan families in Limerick and how crazy these guys are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

Mr McCarthy Dundon?

He said what bar he was gonna be in tonight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Ah I couldnt agree more.
    I love reading paul williams in the paper and even in his books,this wasnt the first time I worry about him,I know I wouldnt be writing half of the things he did.
    I cant understand why he would go on Tubridy,with such a twat making a light hearted view on everything.I dont see humour in gang feuds which recently took away a father from his fiancee and two kids cos he stood up to them.
    'Why did he not join the Gardai?'
    Shut up Ryan.

greetings wrote: »
    Ah I couldnt agree more.
    I love reading paul williams in the paper and even in his books,this wasnt the first time I worry about him,I know I wouldnt be writing half of the things he did.
    I cant understand why he would go on Tubridy,with such a twat making a light hearted view on everything.I dont see humour in gang feuds which recently took away a father from his fiancee and two kids cos he stood up to them.
    'Why did he not join the Gardai?'
    Shut up Ryan.
    He is too busy living his privilaged,socalite life, hanging out in Krystal and drinking champers with his well to do pals. He is too busy absorbed in his own little world to have any sympathy or understanding, and he proves this by posing such a question in such a sarcastic "i know better than you" tone. Just because it doesn't affect him or his friends he pretends its not a problem.
    His assistant prob gets his high lclass coke for him,lollypop armed git!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

people keep praising williams becuase he's been threatened by criminals, that nothing to be impressed by, thats what criminals do, it doesn't mean he's good at his job, as said on p.ie, good journalism didn't kill veronica geurin one of gilligans hired thugs did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

It was hardly as dramatic as a big bomb sitting outside his house. The media milked that one good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

Savman wrote: »
    You have to respect the work Paul Williams does, who cares if he gets well paid for it the risks involved are off the scale. Kudos to the man tbh.

'Safest man in the country' me arse, pathetic comment. Some people are in denial about Gangland Ireland :rolleyes:

savman no offense meant to you,Williams does not deserve the publicity he gets.

His family and neighbours do not deserve the danger He puts them in,also by his own admission he was a wild teenager,his family had the money&he was clevour enough to educate himself ,unlike many now dead from drugs or organised crime who were not "lucky" enough from non supportive backgrounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

ynotdu wrote: »
    Nobody mentioned that williams explained He calls his latest money seller for the sunday world the don,so as his readers would know which particulor scumbag of the many he is talking about at anytime.

We have had the General,the viper dutchy etc by that shower in the sunday world.

If my photo was published under the name the don I recken i would walk out the front door of my house with an arrogant swagger,if however my photo appeared beside the headline:drug smuggling murdering scumbag from ? adress,i would most likely shamefully&dressed in black hop over back walls under cover of darkness.

Williams&the sunday world did not create these sh1tes,but by putting alluring names on them they boosted them in the eyes of many young people&made them figures of awe instead of contempt.

Williams in my opinion is no hero,self publicest.reckless to his family safety&more

Sunday world would do almost anything to sell copy I reckon,in the same way I believe the editor of the sunday indo should have given Veronica another brief after she had her baby,or at least after she had been shot in the leg:mad:

Selfless journalism or self serving(selfish to their family)journalism.?
    I am not sugesting that the press should cower in fear of scum,i am suggesting they be cleveror than the maggots,newspaper editors please note:(

A great, great post...

God forbid, if Paul Williams was in fact murdered by one of the thugs he writes about, he would be called a "hero", he's have a plaque beside Ms Guerin's in Talbot St, no doubt... but all the hero headlines in the world won't give his wife her husband back, his kids their father back or put food on the table for his family.

I think there is certainly a massive selfish aspect to his work - our first duty in life is to our children and our family, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Tubridy and Williams......both gobsheens in my eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

If Tubridy is smarmy then Williams is at the next level. The state of him in that interview, he failed to make a single point without laughing to himself mid sentence in a knobhead know it all way. He writes for a rag and as someone else pointed out he has profited more than most from organised crime. For this reason his faux sentiments of resignation at how bad things have become don't wash with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    A great, great post...

God forbid, if Paul Williams was in fact murdered by one of the thugs he writes about, he would be called a "hero", he's have a plaque beside Ms Guerin's in Talbot St, no doubt... but all the hero headlines in the world won't give his wife her husband back, his kids their father back or put food on the table for his family.

I think there is certainly a massive selfish aspect to his work - our first duty in life is to our children and our family, I believe.

So only single people should be allowed to join an army then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

I thought the same myself until someone I know who works in RTE told me what a condasending smarmy pr*ck he is. Then the more I looked at him, the more I could see what this RTE employee was pointing at. Then I had to listen to Tubridy's brother, http://garretttubridy.ie/ for 2 minutes once, who is inflicting himself on the constituency of Pembroke/Rathmines in the June Local elections and he was an even more pompus sap than his brother.

Jesus if this guy gets elected I'll f*cking shoot myself, I'm serious. Check out his website here, you'd feel sick reading it, the guy is completely and utterly removed from reality. The country is in a depression now and he wants the local authority to organise tea parties for the residents of Rathmines...

http://garretttubridy.ie/

Tubs is a FF lick arse, see how quickly he changed the subject when Williams was criticising the government.
    I complained to RTE about this on Friday night.

If the little FF patsy gets the Late Late, that will be the end of political debate on the show, Kenny for all his faults, still chairs a good debate.

voice your displeasure here:

complaints@rte.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

I find Tubridy entertaining and more at the light side of entertainment. I never feel apprehensive when he's interviewing guests in the way I would when Pat Kenny interviews guests with whom he is clearly not comfortable.
    Having said all that, Tubridy getting involved in anything political is a bit of a no no. His uncles (The Andrews, who were not at the dodgy side of FF, it should be said) were both heavily involved in Fianna Fail, as are his first cousins. It has shown, on a few occasions. The most important ability for any interviewer, no matter what political affiliations they may have, is to try to remain neutral. I agree with an earlier poster- Kenny is better at that and that's why he is a better interviewer at serious subjects , while Tubridy is better sticking to the very light entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Mr Tubridy came to the attention of the Fianna Fail machine as a cub reporter on childrens tv,one night as he was skipping home to Dalkey he was approached by a Councillor Slugworth who whispered something quietly in his ear,a dark smile appeared on young Tubridys face and since then its been an unstoppable race to the top for Ryan and by the end of the summer he will have secured the top spot in Irish television....

The Fianna Fail machine always wins