Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA La na gClub - What's your club doing on May 10th?

• 11-04-2009 9:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭

Ok lads and lassies, big committee meeting in our club last night, trying to come up with ideas for what to do on May 10th to commemorate 125 year anniversary of GAA... Need a few ideas fairly pronto.
    So far we've come up with BBQ...
    U-8's mini blitz on the sports field followed by medal presentation..
    Championship winning side from 1989 playing 2009 Senior football team in some type of charity event...
    What's any of the other clubs doing???

Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated....
    Thanks guys!

Offaly man!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

We are doing poc fada, kick fada, penalty shoot-out, sheaf tossing (careful with the spelling there), BBQ with our scór singers in the club-house afterwards and a group of local musicians playing later, must book Monday off! I thought there was no games on that day but I see Mayo are down to play New York.
    Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

As little as possible if I have my way. The way I see it it is an excuse for putting more work on an already over-worked small core of club volunteers. Adult players / members won't have any interest in it, it's hard enough to get them to come training or pay their membership as it is. Young players within the club are already richly catered for between blitzes, organised challenges, Sat. morning training etc. If the day is wet, parents or patrons haven't a notion of coming out and getting drowned; if the day is fine they'll have plenty of better things to do than spending the day at the pitch watching balls being propelled various distances. Incidentally, I didn't notice any special days for the 110th, 120th. anniversary etc.

Apologies for being a curmudgeon but as a club administrator of long standing the greatest threat to the GAA that I see is lethargy and apathy. Foisting another special day of activities on hard-pressed club officers is nothing but a total nuisance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

I think it will be a bigger deal for clubs based outside Dublin as I think in general they have a much bigger community spirit which is based around the GAA.

Don't know what my club is planning but I know they've told us to keep the day free. Reckon it'll end in the club bar anyway, that's for sure! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭theram

This day is a celebration of the Club in the GAA, I'm disappointed to hear someone being so negative about it. My Club have set up a committee away from the main committee, so its not falling on the stalwarts to organise it. We're having mass for deceased members, underage blitzes, adult games, all to be done and dusted in a 2 hour period, a BBQ, trad music the aul craic and ceoil.

We might throw in some long puc and cic fada if the day suits and time allows, but we won't be handing out any trophies on the day, this day isnt about trophies, its about celebrating our national games and past time.

So clean up the grounds, and be proud of what you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

MfMan wrote: »
    As little as possible if I have my way. The way I see it it is an excuse for putting more work on an already over-worked small core of club volunteers. Adult players / members won't have any interest in it, it's hard enough to get them to come training or pay their membership as it is. Young players within the club are already richly catered for between blitzes, organised challenges, Sat. morning training etc. If the day is wet, parents or patrons haven't a notion of coming out and getting drowned; if the day is fine they'll have plenty of better things to do than spending the day at the pitch watching balls being propelled various distances. Incidentally, I didn't notice any special days for the 110th, 120th. anniversary etc.

Apologies for being a curmudgeon but as a club administrator of long standing the greatest threat to the GAA that I see is lethargy and apathy. Foisting another special day of activities on hard-pressed club officers is nothing but a total nuisance.

I am from a Dublin club and our aim is to have every member involved in some way on the day.
    Puc fada, Kick fada, penalty shoot out. mini games from 10.30 to 4 for all ages from Academy to Senior in Football, Hurling, Camogie and Ladie football. We have 1 tournament in memory of a player who was killed in accident 20 years ago. We kick it all off on Saturday night with a ceile for families. Every member will get a little certificate to commemorate the day.
    By the way we had a great day to celebrate 100th Anniversary and we all got a medal. I played a Football, Hurling and Handball match on the day for my club. The medal cost about 20p at the time but its History and its special momento of a special day.
    I was lucky enough to be given a Jubilee medal from 1934 on my rounds as a postman one day by a lady whos children have no interest in G.A.A. This and my club medal are my prized possesions. You in my opinion should try and sell the idea of the historical value of the day to your members and get them involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Possibly give it up for a year, it sounds like you've had enough, I know as an admin myself that you can get very dissillusioned with the workload, as previously stated it's a good idea to get a sub committee involved, although I seem to be on that as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Machman

Totally agree with this! We will probably do something on the day, just to say we did something. No-one in our area is much interested in it. Waste of time and resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 abregy

We are having a BBQ. There will also be a mini blitz for all underage players and a seven a-side tournament for the seniors. Should be a good day all round.

Machman wrote: »
    Totally agree with this! We will probably do something on the day, just to say we did something. No-one in our area is much interested in it. Waste of time and resources.

Sad to hear. HAve ye much of an underage section?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Be careful with the bbq, we were advised if someone got sick we could be held liable. Some ideas:
    Table quiz, poc fada, cic fada, go games , free kicks from different angles, over 40s match possibly vs the local gardaí or some such group.Local band to play at half time a la Artane Boys. Rounders (it being a GAA game) handball display,then a try your skills session .Sean nós/set dancing workshop .Parent and child challenge, could be tied into the cic/poc fada.
    Face painting (in club colours)

Be careful with the bbq, we were advised if someone got sick we could be held liable.

HOLY GOD WHEN WILL S**T THIS STOP. Dont let the thought of someone getting food poision put you off BBQ. That worry and train of thought is one reason why so few people are getting involved helping any clubs or youth groups, What if I am sued? Let them cook their own food. A lot of people eat some s**t when they have a few pints on board on Saturday night. Have just added BBQ toour list:)

Be careful with the bbq, we were advised if someone got sick we could be held liable. Some ideas:
    Table quiz, poc fada, cic fada, go games , free kicks from different angles, over 40s match possibly vs the local gardaí or some such group.Local band to play at half time a la Artane Boys. Rounders (it being a GAA game) handball display,then a try your skills session .Sean nós/set dancing workshop .Parent and child challenge, could be tied into the cic/poc fada.
    Face painting (in club colours)

Some good ideas there. Its great to see people getting enthusiastic about the day.

A bit of me would love to see the GAA produce some sort of medal in memory of the day that every member of the organistation gets. (Like what a previous poster said about the 100th anniversary)
    I know its not very practical, just a thought!

I really hope the day goes well in all clubs, god knows we could do with some cheer in these days of doom and gloom!

joey54 wrote: »
    Some good ideas there. Its great to see people getting enthusiastic about the day.

A bit of me would love to see the GAA produce some sort of medal in memory of the day that every member of the organistation gets. (Like what a previous poster said about the 100th anniversary)
    I know its not very practical, just a thought!

I really hope the day goes well in all clubs, god knows we could do with some cheer in these days of doom and gloom!

There were medals in 1984 for centenary year.

My club are giving certificates to all EVERYONE who take part on the day. Its not expensive even it was its an historical day in G.A.A.

LeoB wrote: »
    There were medals in 1984 for centenary year.

My club are giving certificates to all EVERYONE who take part on the day. Its not expensive even it was its an historical day in G.A.A.

Must suggest something similar in my own club. It would be great for the younger ones especially, something nice for them to remember the day.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Leo, I agree the whole sue thing has gone mad, but it is not worth taking the risk, in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

To celebrate the 125th anniversary of the founding of the GAA, and the 40th anniversary of the founding of our own Club, the club has organised a series of events (including a parade) for Sunday 10 May, the day set aside by the GAA authorities for this purpose. There will be no GAA games on that day.

All Club members, young and old (including academy), and parents of players, are requested to participate in the parade to show the strength and unity of the GAA and the Club.

The following events are planned:–

10.00 to 1.00 – the academy will take place (instead of the usual Saturday)

1.45 Assembly for parade at Sancta Maria – on the grass pitch

2.15 Parade departs Sancta Maria

2.50 Parade arrives at the Club

3.00 Raising of the GAA’s 125th and the Club’s 40th anniversary flags

3.30 The finals of the various blitzes (U10 to U13) commences, starting with the U10s.
    Also skills challenges for children, especially those not involved in blitzes.

6.00 Match involving two teams of mentors - opportunity for children to support mentors!!!

7.00 Adult Poc Fada and Kick Fada – Hurling/Camogie at 7.00; Football/ladies football at 7.45

During the afternoon, there will be face painting events and some musical entertainment.

There will be a tuck shop, and barbeque goodies will be on sale.

Sounds like a long day thegen, you'll do well to hold everyones interest for that length of time.

theram wrote: »
    Sounds like a long day thegen, you'll do well to hold everyones interest for that length of time.

We will but what is expected is a steady stream coming and going. Sure tis all a bit of fun and hopefully we will all enjoy it.

With la na gClub fast approaching I hope the weather is lovely and Sunny for the weekend.

It really is important for the GAA to celebrate this milestone when you consider the increasing pressure the association is coming under in relation to other sports.

Here's to a successful day for all GAA clubs in the country, and of course those not on the island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Just assumed that my club wouldn't be doing anything, but found out today that we're having an internal 7's from u16 to junior E and a BBQ, was really glad to hear that we're celebrating the event:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Copied directly from the club website and kicks off in Mobhi Rd. at 1pm.

1.00pm: Games Activities
    § Obstacle Course Races

§ Fun drills in football, hurling & camogie

§ Cic and Poc Fada Competitions

§ Football, hurling and camogie target practice.

§ Handball Matches

3.00pm: Parade

3.30pm: Novelty Mentors Matches

5.00pm: Trophy Presentation

§ Face Painting and Musical entertainment throughout the day!

§ Burgers, Hot dogs, tuck shop, tea/coffee available.

§ Bar & Carvery open all day.

§ Runners/Football Boots & Sports Gear recommended.

ALL WELCOME – ADMISSION FREE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Not sure what my club did because of work, but there was a mass for deceased members last night and a parade today
    Gingy wrote: »
    Just assumed that my club wouldn't be doing anything, but found out today that we're having an internal 7's from u16 to junior E and a BBQ, was really glad to hear that we're celebrating the event:D:D:D

Junior E? Surely ye dont have 5 junior teams? Maybe I read that wrong :p

I hope the day was as successful in all your own clubs as it was in mine. A truly enjoyable day was had by all and the great weather was an added bonus.

Well done to all the volunteers in the clubs throughout Ireland who made the day a success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Junior E? Surely ye dont have 5 junior teams? Maybe I read that wrong :p

Well they play in the Junior E Championship, but they're our 4th team.

Good Day had by all round our way:):):)

Great day had by all.
    Approx 1000 people took part in the parade.