Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Single-Handed 3: The Drowning Man

• 11-04-2009 5:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

The acclaimed RTÉ rural police drama 'Single-Handed' returns to RTÉ One for a new two-part story over the Easter Weekend.

'Single-Handed 3: The Drowning Man' follows Garda Sergeant Jack Driscoll (Owen McDonnell) as he tries to piece together the events leading up to the death of a young man.

His investigations bring him into contact with undercover Gardaí who are targeting drug traffickers.

Among the officers is Driscoll's old flame, Maura Dooley (Marcella Plunkett).
    Also starring Michael McElhatton, Padraic Delaney and Owen Roe.
    It airs on RTÉ One on Sunday, 12 April and Monday, 13 April at 9.25pm.

One of the better RTE dramas returns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

JP Liz wrote: »
    One of the better RTE dramas returns

If we could all only agree that most of RTE dramas are fairly average and that when we all view Fair City with contempt (rightly so) that all other RTE drama looks significantly better.

This is an ok series, it is as good as any other dectective series currently running on the box (and no I amn't talking about Dexter and The Wire :rolleyes: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Elmo wrote: »
    If we could all only agree that most of RTE dramas are fairly average and that when we all view Fair City with contempt (rightly so) that all other RTE drama looks significantly better.

This is an ok series, it is as good as any other dectective series currently running on the box (and no I amn't talking about Dexter and The Wire :rolleyes: )

It's our Prime Suspect, so to speak.
    Formulatic, but it's 'our's'.

Syferus wrote: »
    It's our Prime Suspect, so to speak.
    Formulatic, but it's 'our's'.

No it is our CSI or Law and Order. I think Prime Suspect is in the same league as The Wire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Season 3 Episode 1 of 2
    The Drowning Man Part one of two. A young man's drowning off the coast of Connemara prompts Sergeant Jack Driscoll to investigate the circumstances of death. When he meets an old flame, Jack's investigation leads him to what he suspects to be an undercover drug trafficking operation, and he makes some decisions he could live to regret

What were the first two stories like? I don't remember them at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

Very good I'm looking forward to this one

No it is our CSI or Law and Order. I think Prime Suspect is in the same league as The Wire.

I always found Prime Suspect meandering, generic, and a bit over-wrought, but that's less of the point I was trying to make.

I meant mainly in it's production - film length 'episodes' that are individually done, rather than a season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

why don't RTE release their stuff on DVD or iTunes??

also, Driscoll's father was one of TV's most vile villains:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Saw about 10 minutes of it which included the same 6 actors that are in every RTE production. It gave the impression of being a Connemara Midsomer Murders so I did my best Duncan Banatyne impersonation (Ahm Oooot!) and caught up with Breaking Bad. A wiser choice I feel.

KerranJast wrote: »
    Saw about 10 minutes of it which included the same 6 actors that are in every RTE production. It gave the impression of being a Connemara Midsomer Murders so I did my best Duncan Banatyne impersonation (Ahm Oooot!) and caught up with Breaking Bad. A wiser choice I feel.

yes because drugs are funny and cool:rolleyes:

btw, name the 6 actors, because I pretty sure their not in Nationwide:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

why don't RTE release their stuff on DVD or iTunes??

I assume it's a copyright issue. You do make a good point though - it's a pity that some of RTÉ's better output isn't available on DVD. I think they released the first season of The Clinic but seeing as no more ever appeared, about 3 people must have bought it.

mike65 wrote: »
    What were the first two stories like? I don't remember them at all.

Fairly average, good subplot about his father and a tribunal only they subsequently killed the father off in series 2.

Single Handed 1 was about a young Eastern European Girl who is found dead in a caravan owned by one of the locals.

Single Handed 2: The Missing Child (About a missing child)

They should put the first two up on the web or repeat them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dimitri

I was quite surprised we weren't sublected to constant repeats of the first two in the run up to this seeing as its rte you expect them to really try and milk it! i thought the first two were quite good all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I bailed out after the first "moony-eyes across the kitchen" moment.

mike65 wrote: »
    I bailed out after the first "moony-eyes across the kitchen" moment.

It actually got better after that. But the main problem is the fact that the producers need to

1. Bring up Jack relationship with his Dad
    2. Have a love interest for Jack
    3. Have as many shots of the scenery as possible

But it looks excellent all the same.

Also whats with all this Batman Begins/The Dark Knight music it pops up for every add for every detective series currently running.

Dimitri wrote: »
    I was quite surprised we weren't sublected to constant repeats of the first two in the run up to this seeing as its rte you expect them to really try and milk it! i thought the first two were quite good all the same.

Nah RTE never repeat their own shows. A repeat would have been nice in the run up since most people have possible forgot what had happened.

I think it would be better as a long running series rather than a mini-series, It just doesn't have the same gravity need for a mini-series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 lyingeyes

does anybody have any tips on trying to get the other programmes single handed series. i missed the one about the missing child, i tried looking up the rte archives but i just cant seem to find it. any links anyone???

lyingeyes wrote: »
    does anybody have any tips on trying to get the other programmes single handed series. i missed the one about the missing child, i tried looking up the rte archives but i just cant seem to find it. any links anyone???

maybe somebody here recorded them;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 JanusGeminius

'Single-Handed 3'

It sounds like the title of the worlds most generic action film. Does an American appear out of nowhere and save the day? Is the villain English? What is the body count? And is the last five minutes a post-911 post-modern take on life?

troll alert

troll alert

Nope.
    It just is a terribly generic name.

'Single-Handed 3' sounds like the loneliest porn sequel ever made.

'Single-Handed 3'

It sounds like the title of the worlds most generic action film. Does an American appear out of nowhere and save the day? Is the villain English? What is the body count? And is the last five minutes a post-911 post-modern take on life?

You will just have to watch to find out. :D

(I am fairly certain no to each, how ever the drug dealers could be from England and the FBI may need to get involved :rolleyes: )

Nope.
    It just is a terribly generic name.

'Single-Handed 3' sounds like the loneliest porn sequel ever made.

it's a name.
    it's a name that suits.
    why?
    watch it to find out.

what the hell is a lonely porn film

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭AutumnComission

After having seen the first installment of Ep. 3 last night, i can't wait for the conclusion tonight! Its a great storyline and RTE in fairness, when they do pick dramas they do it right! The first two Single-Handed mini-series were great, and kept me waiting for more. I absoutely loved Pure Mule (Irish drama based in Offally) which aired a few years back, and RAW (aired mid-last year) was absolutely smashing! They hit the nail on the head every time with those few.

Someone masturbating on screen ! while doing the camera work!

After having seen the first installment of Ep. 3 last night, i can't wait for the conclusion tonight! Its a great storyline and RTE in fairness, when they do pick dramas they do it right! The first two Single-Handed mini-series were great, and kept me waiting for more. I absoutely loved Pure Mule (Irish drama based in Offally) which aired a few years back, and RAW (aired mid-last year) was absolutely smashing! They hit the nail on the head every time with those few.

Pure Mule I will give you but your name suggests that you are head of RTE Drama.

Someone masturbating on screen ! while doing the camera work!

you watch that:confused:

and Proof. I need more Orla Brady:D

Nope, sorry. The Autumn Commission is the name of a Band! www.bebo.com/theautumncommission! 1up 4 me!

Remind me again what was proof?? Probably know it but can't come to mind?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭InisMor

Remind me again what was proof?? Probably know it but can't come to mind?!

a former reporter (Orla Brady) turned Garda Press Relations and her trouble seeking ex husband (dunno his name)
    first one was about human trafficking and prostitution
    second was about an immigrant caught up in an illegal drug trial

I actually must have missed that one. Pity. They are usually in good taste.

They are usually in good taste.

????

you watch that:confused:

Just guessing

troll alert

You Obviously failed to see the humour in my post.
    You will just have to watch to find out. :D

(I am fairly certain no to each, how ever the drug dealers could be from England and the FBI may need to get involved :rolleyes: )

I Would, but it conflicts with other programmes so unless there is a repeat it is not to be. I have seen one of the ads for it, looks like the cinematography isn't bad but it's the story that matters and unless I see it I won't be sure.

www.rte.ie/tv/singlehanded

I know, I know its in real player :mad:

You Obviously failed to see the humour in my post.

because there wasn't any!!

anywho, a very, very good part 2. I particularly like the last two scenes.

I wonder are they building Briain Gleeson's character into a more major role in future stories.

it's a shame they couldn't bring Stuart Graham back for 2 & 3.

it's a name.
    it's a name that suits.
    why?
    watch it to find out.

You're very defensive of this show.

And beyond that, I'm not going to get dragged into back-and-forth exchanges about it.

because there wasn't any!!

anywho, a very, very good part 2. I particularly like the last two scenes.

I wonder are they building Briain Gleeson's character into a more major role in future stories.

it's a shame they couldn't bring Stuart Graham back for 2 & 3.

Slightly over defensive aren't you? The Joke incidentally consisted of the typical stereotypes you get in Action films and my personal scorn for a dull, unimaginative title.

You're very defensive of this show.

And beyond that, I'm not going to get dragged into back-and-forth exchanges about it.

ah, don't run away. let''s exchange words. you might win.

I'm defensive of it. I just can't stand people who hate just to hate. don't criticize something until you have tried it. and don't criticize something just because it's Irish - you know that's true.

nobody likes a hater, especially other haters.

Slightly over defensive aren't you?

as above. the other guy types faster.
    The Joke incidentally consisted of the typical stereotypes you get in Action films and my personal scorn for a dull, unimaginative title.

the programme is not an action series and the title suits it.
    which you would know IF you watched it.

by the way, if you guys have never seen it or know what it's about, why are you wasting your time posting here.
    that's definitely trolling according to wikipedia.

if you guys are really haters, register at ain't it cool news. you can say anything there, we are allowed swear and everything. I only post there to argue with Yanks. everyone's a hater there
    if you do join them PM me with your usernames. we can gang up on them.

cheers.

ah, don't run away. let''s exchange words. you might win.

I'm defensive of it. I just can't stand people who hate just to hate. don't criticize something until you have tried it. and don't criticize something just because it's Irish - you know that's true.

nobody likes a hater, especially other haters.

No one here has really 'hated' on it - the joke you called trolling was just playing on the name, as was mine. The bit about seeing the same revolving door of actors in most Irish dramas is a problem we have to live with with the budgets available.

The general perception of the show is a very competent crime drama, especially for an Irish production.

No one here has really hated on it - the joke you called trolling was just playing on the name, as was mine. The bit about seeing the same revolving door of actors in most Irish dramas is a problem we have to live with witht he budgets available.

The general perception of the show is a very competent crime drama, especially for an Irish production.

not the impression you gave first time.

howsever - who are these actors stuck in a revolving door who only get work because of "'the budgets available".

but you couldn't resist the another little dig at the country, there at the end , for shame.

on second thoughts, don't join ain't it cool news, they despise members with no sense of patriotism - no matter where they are from

not the impression you gave first time.

howsever - who are these actors stuck in a revolving door who only get work because of "'the budgets available".

but you couldn't resist the another little dig at the country, there at the end , for shame.

on second thoughts, don't join ain't it cool news, they despise members with no sense of patriotism - no matter where they are from

Yawn. Questioning patriotism. Seriously?

Ireland is a small country, and RTE is station with an ultimately small budget. Adding to all that, we can all agree scripted drama has always been one of RTE's least strong areas, partly because the lower budgets means in alot of cases the shows are either green lit from day one or canned - Irish pilots are a rare thing.

I've always bee opposed to the instant self-absuse some people assualt Irish productions with, especially in the cases where the shows is of good quaility and the blinkers blind them from that.

The 'first thing' I said was to compare this show to Prime Suspect, which was a pretty well recieved show to say the least.

On the actors - I really can't believe you are seriously trying to deny that the pool of actors repeats itself regularly, be it in adverts, voice-overs or shows like The Clinic and School Run, films like Kings (which was nothing short of brilliant) and Fair City, where almost all established Irish actors operating from Ireland have served tours of duty on.
    Again, we are a small country. It's jarring at times, but you have to learn to deal with it.

This time, it's you that has the blinkers on; you're either too defensive or willingly trying to troll.

And you've really railroaded this thread, so it'd be best to get back to the actual topic.

as above. the other guy types faster.

the programme is not an action series and the title suits it.
    which you would know IF you watched it.

by the way, if you guys have never seen it or know what it's about, why are you wasting your time posting here.
    that's definitely trolling according to wikipedia.

if you guys are really haters, register at ain't it cool news. you can say anything there, we are allowed swear and everything. I only post there to argue with Yanks. everyone's a hater there
    if you do join them PM me with your usernames. we can gang up on them.

cheers.

I never said it was, but the title is indeed the kind of title you'd see on an action film. That was the joke I was playing to, I haven't seen it so won't judge it's content. But I can read the title and can't help but think they stuck up a working title and forgot to change it.

Rather like that "Plotless 2" joke from no signal, it was in that vain.

Slightly over defensive aren't you? The Joke incidentally consisted of the typical stereotypes you get in Action films and my personal scorn for a dull, unimaginative title.

In fairness it is only a title! Prime Suspect isn't too imaginative when you think about it too much. :rolleyes:

Single Handed is a two part reoccuring TV mini-serial from RTÉ. It is set in quite village in Connomara, it's main protaginast is Jack O'Driscoll. As refered to before the name sounds like a once of 24 episode like "Redemption".

This easter weekend saw the 3rd installment of the series, the first was show on New Year's Eve/Day 2007/2008 and the second over one of the long weekends in May 2008.

As a drama "Single Handed" is a fairly simple one and possible would suit 10 parts of the year rather then 1 or 2. The actors range from serveral Irish drama's including "Paths to Freedom", "Upwardly Mobile", "Batchelor's Walk" and "Cromwell". I didn't recognise anyone from "Fair City" or "Ros Na Run".

This 2 parter revolved around the death of a young man and a drug smuggling operation. The local Garda (Jack O'Driscoll) is called to the resue of a drowing man (after an anonomis call). You have to ask why he didn't call the coast gaurd or local medics to help? His partner in the village uses his position to get free drink to play poker and to run a taxi service, he isn't the most honest Garda. He refues to take O'Driscoll's call for help when resuing the Drowing Man.

Garda O'Driscoll begins his investigation into the death of Daniel O Malley the son of a local trawler man. Who was the woman who called for him to help Daniel that night, why was a local solitior driving away from the scene as he approached? Things get worse for the Garda when a old flame (Maura) arrives in town, she tells his mother that she has left the Gardi after she divorced her husband.

Garda O'Driscoll calls up to the house looking out over the bay, in his attempted to find his mystorious caller, a man opens the door and introduces himself as Detective Casey. Maura comes to the door. O'Driscoll realises that this is an Undercover operation.

The O'Malley's are told of the death of their son from the window of the Garda Car, the viewer just sees O'Driscoll explain what happened and both parents breaking down. While it is an interesting shot, it was a bit cliched. He tries to find out if he was suicidal or on drugs, why should he be out that night? Mrs. O'Malley tells him that there are no reason for him to be there and he hates the water didn't want to get into the fishing business.

O'Driscoll is told from on high to back of the case, write his report and provide it to the family as soon as possible and let the Drug Smuggling continue, the undercover Detectives tell him how Daniel was their informant. He damns an investigation as to why a young man had to die for an investigation (I am sure the ombudsman would be asking why he didn't call the coast gaurd!).

McCann the local solitor had hired both Daniel and his father to bring the drugs a shore, Daniel told his father not to help with the operation as he new the Gards where on to the smugglers, this is why his father didn't go out with him. Daniel had asked him to go to the gards long ago, but he and refused.

The €5000 provided to O'Malley by McCann really wasn't enough to get him involved and the stock market pool of investors was a bit out of place in post-cletic tiger Ireland.

Over all this was a good episode, while not good enough for mini-serie status the second episode developed well, while the first episode suffered from character introductions.

The scenery was beautiful but you do end up thinking is this a drama or a tourist board promotion, espically when the DOP seemed to insist on siloettes during some of the more interesting converstations between Maura and Jack.

A worthwhile watch but it doesn't live up to the high stardards that for some reason Irish people put on Irish drama, even when it at times out did CSI, Law&Order and other typical police procedurals.

Ireland is a small country, and RTE is station with an ultimately small budget. Adding to all that, we can all agree scripted drama has always been one of RTE's least strong areas, partly because the lower budgets means in alot of cases the shows are either green lit from day one or canned - Irish pilots are a rare thing.

I don't agree. RTE dramas are very strong. Probably because they have to be to get made. RTE don't do pilots. They do limited run dramas. As do most countries, bar the US.
    I've always bee opposed to the instant self-absuse some people assualt Irish productions with, especially in the cases where the shows is of good quaility and the blinkers blind them from that.

I work with people who despise everything made in Ireland. Even radio.
    The 'first thing' I said was to compare this show to Prime Suspect, which was a pretty well recieved show to say the least.

I'm willing to bet SponFarmer will want to know why your comparing it to a foreign series. TBH, the two are nothing alike.
    On the actors - I really can't believe you are seriously trying to deny that the pool of actors repeats itself regularly, be it in adverts, voice-overs or shows like The Clinic and School Run, films like Kings (which was nothing short of brilliant) and Fair City, where almost all established Irish actors operating from Ireland have served tours of duty on.
    Again, we are a small country. It's jarring at times, but you have to learn to deal with it.

Well were else will they get the actors from. The more these people work the better. But can someone give Laurence Kinlan a role where he is not a junkie.
    This time, it's you that has the blinkers on; you're either too defensive or willingly trying to troll.
    And you've really railroaded this thread, so it'd be best to get back to the actual topic.

To be fair to SponFarmer, you and the others did show up with the snide remarks without even watching the thing. I'd criticize him only for taking the bait.

Now, to my reason for posting here. I think the series is lacking for the absence of Driscoll senior. He really was a dirty @!£$^%&.

I never said it was, but the title is indeed the kind of title you'd see on an action film. That was the joke I was playing to, I haven't seen it so won't judge it's content. But I can read the title and can't help but think they stuck up a working title and forgot to change it.

Rather like that "Plotless 2" joke from no signal, it was in that vain.

that is trolling.

Elmo,

I have to say the cinematography was great.
    The scenery is very a character in the series.

Jack seems to be a good influence on Colvin.
    Spoiler:
    He voiced his suspicions of Nolan early on, secretly got Casey's recent calls list and ran to Jack's aid after O'Malley started shooting.