Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bring back medieval walls!

• 09-04-2009 5:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭

Just around the city centers. You can control the people moving in and out, stop known scumbags from entering the center. If they do cause trouble, close the gates, elmininate their esacpe route and seal them in until their caught. While law abiding citizens can go home passing though the gate guards check point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Just build one around Dublin to keep all the culchies out and I'd be happy.

you basically want garda checkpoints everywhere..

effort!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

you basically want garda checkpoints everywhere..

effort!

no, cos people can get aroud them, walls on the otherhand, thats the way of the future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

I agree with nehaxak, but not to keep us out, but rather to keep all the Dublin filth in a contained area, Hitler had a similer idea with his camps.

V9 wrote: »
    I agree with nehaxak, but not to keep us out, but rather to keep all the Dublin filth in a contained area, Hitler had a similer idea with his camps.

well i wouldnt say "Dublin filth" but the commerical center of the city, so people can shop and go about their lives in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Thats what they do on Achill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Nehaxak wrote: »

Fine by us, if the Dubs aren't allowed out!!!

Not just Dublin but all other city centers

Hazys wrote: »
    Fine by us, if the Dubs aren't allowed out!!!

What the hell would we want to go outside the city for ? To look at cows and sheep and, I dunno, wtf do you do down there anyway ?

Make fun of silly Dublin people.

V9 wrote: »
    Make fun of silly Dublin people.

I KNEW IT !!!

:mad::mad::mad:

tbf Dublin is a pretty crap city by international standards, for transport, things to do, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

Looking at the part of Dublin you're from, I'd imagine many of yer fellow dubs wouldn't mind building a wall to keep you out from the rest of Dublin either. :P

Bring back stockades I say. Firing rotten tomatoes at petty crims would be far more fun and a helluva lot cheaper than keeping em in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I've seen this film....Escape From New York??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Whoa oh oh oh I wish I was back home in Derrry....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Just build one around Dublin to keep all the scumbags contained and Id be happy.

Best time in Dublin is around the Christmas holidays, when all the culchies go home and there's no traffic on the roads.
    Dublin should be a Republic anyway, split away from the rest of Ireland, we only use you culchies for cheap labour up here anyway, that and to laugh at your faces or red hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,226 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

bigeasyeah wrote: »
    Just build one around Dublin to keep all the scumbags contained and Id be happy.

Like a dog-fence - make em wear collars so that they get 50000 volts if they even think of leaving the perimeter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

It would drive up the building density inside the walls anyway, solving something DCC have been trying to do for years, you could be on to something here OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭karen3212

that and to laugh at your faces or red hair.

At least we have hair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

No need for electric fences, walls or such like, we have the M50. I see the rural folk struggle each day trying to use it. The Red Cow junction often reminds me of the time I saw a sparrow fly into a pane of glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Best time in Dublin is around the Christmas holidays, when all the culchies go home and there's no traffic on the roads.
    Dublin should be a Republic anyway, split away from the rest of Ireland, we only use you culchies for cheap labour up here anyway, that and to laugh at your faces or red hair.

Yes because Dublin has great free-flowing traffic all year round.
    People only visit Dublin to laugh at your moisturised faces,effeminate haircuts and the track marks on the arms of your wives and children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I fart in your general direction!!!

karen3212 wrote: »
    At least we have hair

You're a towel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭buynow

Just build one around Dublin

And fill it with water...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Owenw

We could call it the Bertie Bowl...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭chosen1

They suggested the same thing in the 80's but with all the culchies gone they couldn't find anyone to build it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I hate you all.

If I go to Dublin, I'm called a culchie. If I go down the country, I'm called a Dub.
    **** you people and your accent orientated bigotry and damn this border I'm sitting on.

Yore a dulchie so, see what I did thar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Terry wrote: »
    I hate you all.

If I go to Dublin, I'm called a culchie. If I go down the country, I'm called a Dub.
    **** you people and your accent orientated bigotry and damn this border I'm sitting on.
    Quiet ya middie.