Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please report for duty!

• 08-04-2009 11:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭

I've just worked out that I'll soon be paying for the entire weekly dole for one person after the budget kicks in. While I'm out at work, I wonder could that person report at my house for a bit of gardening or painting - I'm just too tired and depressed to do it myself :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Don't be stupid. Only a small % of your tax goes towards the dole. If you don't like it go somewhere else. We're all in the same boat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Don't be stupid. Only a small % of your tax goes towards the dole. If you don't like it go somewhere else. We're all in the same boat
    Angry much? He was only messing about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Peiking Duck

I've just worked out that I'll soon be paying for the entire weekly dole for one person after the budget kicks in. While I'm out at work, I wonder could that person report at my house for a bit of gardening or painting - I'm just too tired and depressed to do it myself :(

Boo hoo. It must be horrible for you to be burdened with this. Everybody who is working is in the same boat so get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It probably pales into insignificance against the amount that's earmarked to bail out the mess that bankers and the government themselves have created, but the jobless are easier and less intellectually strenuous to bash, in fairness.

Do your own housework and stop whining.

Is this boat called the Titanic by any chance? 'cause I'm pretty sure we're taking on water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

I think his point is were NOT all in the same boat. People who have been sitting an there arse on the dole for last few years are actually going to get a higher standard of living as the cost of living drops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I think his point is were NOT all in the same boat. People who have been sitting an there arse on the dole for last few years are actually going to get a higher standard of living as the cost of living drops

Not if your under twenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Anyone abusing the system is doing it because the people appointed to stop such behavior are failing miserably. And guess what... our tax is paying their wages too.

It might not be a bad idea to let people who object to have a rebate of the portion of their tax that funds social welfare. On the basis that they themselves forfeit the right to ever claim any help from the state, be it pension, jobseekers benefit, sickness benefit, whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

The thing is the fella whose dole you're paying for is a fat lazy incompetant work-shy alcoholic who has trouble getting up before around 1pm. He'd only end up arriving at your house late, make a balls of the painting and leave your lawn messier than Russell Brands hairdo. Best for all concerned if you just leave him in peace to rot the rest of his worthless life away in private.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭babaloushka

This is After Hours - if you are unable to recognise tongue in cheek, then it's you who needs to go somewhere else.

stovelid wrote: »
    It might not be a bad idea to let people who object to have a rebate of the portion of their tax that funds social welfare. On the basis that they themselves forfeit the right to ever claim any help from the state, be it pension, jobseekers benefit, sickness benefit, whatever.
    Talk about an over-reaction! Where did I say I objected to paying my taxes? I made a TIC correlation with the extra I'm now paying as a result of the budget and you choose to make a socialist argument out of it. In After Hours :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Boo hoo. It must be horrible for you to be burdened with this. Everybody who is working is in the same boat so get over it.

I dont work on a boat :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

To be more efficient I want 4 under 20's to report to my house from next week on.
    Plenty of work to be done from washing my clothes, cleaning my bedroom, washing my car, running errands for me.
    You know the kinda stuff....the stuff I don't get time because I'm working my ass off to pay ye :D

If there was any seriousness in my original post, these were the people I was thinking of - and I know quite a few who live locally and have NEVER worked a day in their lives. Unfortunately, they're the kind Mr Lizard mentioned and he's right in his expectations of their ability/motivation :pac:

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    The thing is the fella whose dole you're paying for is a fat lazy incompetant work-shy alcoholic who has trouble getting up before around 1pm. He'd only end up arriving at your house late, make a balls of the painting and leave your lawn messier than Russell Brands hairdo. Best for all concerned if you just leave him in peace to rot the rest of his worthless life away in private.

You must live near me - you know some of my neighbours so well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Poor OP, think it was just bad timing with rows over dole payments on boards yesterday. I got the humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Did no one listen to Lenihan's new slogan? We're all in this together?*

*(Or some other similar bullshít)

Well he learnt to lie from the best (or should that be the worst?) ... his dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭uglyjohn

is this kinda like when you sponsor an african child?

except you sponsor a former plumber from blanchardstown....

What about if they are made send you photos and write you letters every month telling you how they are getting on and how they really appreciate everything you are doing for them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

going to get a higher standard of living as the cost of living drops

oh and just WHEN do you think thats going to happen. Get real, you saw it there were no VAT reductions in the budget, consumer spending is as good as shot.

Yes, what's mine is yours and ours - unless it's working at home after working away all day. That's totally mine and I'm not allowed to complain, even in jest :pac:

fyp.

uglyjohn wrote: »
    is this kinda like when you sponsor an african child?

except you sponsor a former plumber from blanchardstown....

What about if they are made send you photos and write you letters every month telling you how they are getting on and how they really appreciate everything you are doing for them?

Now there's an idea! Maybe I'd feel a lot more 'connected' if I could bond with my adopted dolee :D I could put his photo on my desk and smile benignly when the stress gets too much.

... and major heart-attacks for later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

If you are looking for someone to work for you, I would be more than happy to do some jobs, at a reasonable price of course.

I would love to take you up on this offer ... only the government are taking away my ability to pay ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭bicardi19

there are some job requirements however. and you need to qualify for these first, ie... Are you on the dole???;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Quite frankly and honestly, I've NEVER in my whole lifetime EVER been disheartened, depressed, frustraited and angered - all the same time - with the state of things in this country.

I have lived through the previous depression and fcuk me - that was hell.
    The thing then was that the mob in the Dail then, weren't as much taking the piss as the whole lot are now.

I have stated in another thread - what I will state here. As soon as possible, I'm out of here - out of the country.
    I'm taking my wife, my kids and my business. We all have had enough.

I would love to take you up on this offer ... only the government are taking away my ability to pay ;)

Then stop advertising ;) They didn't take that much from you, in fact they took SFA :P

Now, this mess is really getting me down. Applied for a job the other day, took about 2-3 hours making the application perfect. I met all the requirements and could hands down do this kind of work. After all I had about 6 years experience (or more) in this type of job. Well guess what, I didn't get the job. It was a minimum wage furniture shop. It's unbelieveable how difficult it is to get a job right now. McDonalds is a right challange... :(

Biggins wrote: »
    Quite frankly and honestly, I've NEVER in my whole lifetime EVER been disheartened, depressed, frustraited and angered - all the same time - with the state of things in this country.

I have lived through the previous depression and fcuk me - that was hell.
    The thing then was that the mob in the Dail then, weren't as much taking the piss as the whole lot are now.

I have stated in another thread - what I will state here. As soon as possible, I'm out of here - out of the country.

I really do sympathise, Biggins - all joking aside. I can't blame you or anybody for feeling depressed - that's why I was trying to make a joke (which went down like a lead balloon) However, I also believe that if we can just lick our wounds for a while, make as many cuts as we can in our personal budgets and KNOW that the recession will end we can get over this and come out the other side.
    Apart from on this thread :eek:, humour is a great source of stress relief. I've read a lot of your posts on Boards and I hope you don't leave. Sheesh, this stuff should be in PI :pac:

I really do sympathise, Biggins - all joking aside. I can't blame you or anybody for feeling depressed - that's why I was trying to make a joke (which went down like a lead balloon) However, I also believe that if we can just lick our wounds for a while, make as many cuts as we can in our personal budgets and KNOW that the recession will end we can get over this and come out the other side.
    Apart from on this thread :eek:, humour is a great source of stress relief. I've read a lot of your posts on Boards and I hope you don't leave. Sheesh, this stuff should be in PI :pac:

Unfortunately, very difficult to detect anything in a post. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭steof1984

I can just see the commercials on RTE now

"This is Anto from Finglas. Anto has to walk miles to get food and water from a spar (hes not barred from). But for just 200 euro a week you can help anto and others like him have the essentials like 20 Johnny Blue a day and all the dutch gold his little body can handle"

For your donation you will receive poorly written letters (in crayon) from your sponsor telling you how they survive in one of the worlds worst places.

So please give now there are thousands if people like anto who need your help.

End with a hero shot of a worried anto standing in a field in front of a burning car. Dressed in gleaming white Air Max, navy/white Fred Perry Tracksuit, Yellow Jumper, gold chains, White Nike Hat that’s so high up it can receive rte 1 and 2.

If that doesn’t warm your little heart then you my friend are a ba$tard.

Then stop advertising ;) They didn't take that much from you, in fact they took SFA :P

Now, this mess is really getting me down. Applied for a job the other day, took about 2-3 hours making the application perfect. I met all the requirements and could hands down do this kind of work. After all I had about 6 years experience (or more) in this type of job. Well guess what, I didn't get the job. It was a minimum wage furniture shop. It's unbelieveable how difficult it is to get a job right now. McDonalds is a right challange... :(

Sorry to hear you're having difficulty getting work. I see your sig re volunteerism and subscribe to your views - giving something back never goes astray and I think you'll find that what goes around comes around in the end. If you are on the dole, please know that I wasn't directing any animosity at people like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭steof1984

We're all fcuked. every last one of us who had the slightest bit of ambition is being punished for the fact we wish to make ourselves useful to society.

I sympathise with people who have just lost their job recently. You are being lumped in with the others. But remember when people are talking about people on welfare they usually mean the stereotypical person who has been on it for years. those people on the welfare years who are giving out about loosing their "Bonus" are you kidding me. I tell you what ill give you a bonus if you can go a year without popping out another burden to the state. These people treat kids like promotions. Bang out another ba$stard child Whoo-hoo increase in welfare. And sure there are government funded crèches who will even raise this child for me.

It angered me in the good times but you couldn’t say anything because we had the PC brigade coming on saying "how dare you, these people have had a tough life, they come from a dis-advantaged background, what kind of fcuker are you that you want to take the little they have”. Fact of the matter is they have more than most of us do.

They know the ins and outs of the welfare system better than the legislators who thought it up. I wonder if you capped the amount of children you can claim for to 3 would we see a lot of 3 children families.

And this disadvantaged background is pure sh1te. I grew up in the city centre alongside these people. And its not a lack of opportunities (f.i.s, f.a.s, C.E, Y,M,C,A)iTS A LACK OF MOTIVATION. Why should I do any of that when the government will pay for my house, child, etc etc. I knew 12 girls growing up. 11 of them have children; all claim single parent allowance (none are). They had a cheek to tell me that as a public servant (please don’t bash, start a new tread to bash me for that) I should take a further cut because how will they be able to afford Christmas now they have lost their double week. Well how about not drinking all trough Christmas. Or live within your means. Does your 6 yr old really need a Playstation 3. Buy him a book maybe he can amount to more than you have. Some even had a cheek to complain about the smokes,” I cant afford smokes now". Well firstly "STOP SMOKING" i cant afford a Bentley so guess what i drive a fcuking yaris. secondly you buy them at the door and dont pay ANY tax on them. The increase has not affected you 1 little bit.

Simply fact of life in this country is . If your honest and genuine then were going to screw you. Hard! Very Hard! Were taking the gimp mask off Willie O’Dea, That’s how hard its going to be. But If you scam the system well then we will reward your initiative. Fair play to you for realising that its an unjust society and not letting silly things like laws and morals and stuff get in the way of you having a good time. And this is true from the top of society (bankers, builders) to the bottom (welfare frauds). It’s sickening.

Rant Over >:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Can I have 2 <20yoa hot females instead of 1 one older? - it's the same price now:D

steof1984 wrote: »

And this disadvantaged background is pure sh1te. I grew up in the city centre alongside these people. And its not a lack of opportunities (f.i.s, f.a.s, C.E, Y,M,C,A)iTS A LACK OF MOTIVATION. Why should I do any of that when the government will pay for my house, child, etc etc. I knew 12 girls growing up. 11 of them have children; all claim single parent allowance (none are). They had a cheek to tell me that as a public servant (please don’t bash, start a new tread to bash me for that) I should take a further cut because how will they be able to afford Christmas now they have lost their double week. Well how about not drinking all trough Christmas. Or live within your means. Does your 6 yr old really need a Playstation 3. Buy him a book maybe he can amount to more than you have. Some even had a cheek to complain about the smokes,” I cant afford smokes now". Well firstly "STOP SMOKING" i cant afford a Bentley so guess what i drive a fcuking yaris. secondly you buy them at the door and dont pay ANY tax on them. The increase has not affected you 1 little bit.

(

There's a theory of Learned Helplessness that fits the bill far more than any notion of disadvantage and this is being facilitated and perpetuated by the current system of welfare. In my opinion (and experience on the ground) this
    is the biggest obstacle to getting people out of poverty and off dependence. As a theory, it's way too complicated and multi-faceted for any current system of reform to take on board (never mind too long term for any politician to address). But I believe it's the difference between those of us who get up off our a$$es and 'do' and those who have learned not to - and found it to be more comfortable and safe not to even try.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Biggins wrote: »

I'm thinking the same thing. I know that most of the world are inrecession at the moment but I'd rather give my money to the America/Autralian/Spanish or whatever government than these pricks in the Dail. It's a f*cking disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭hurdehur

Lol, babaloushka, I agree! Need a bit of both done so come on and make yerselves useful for the money I'm paying yis, ya lazy fecks! I'm paying enough for an army of yis every week! The women can come and do a bit of housework. ;):D

...seriously, though, I am very happy to have a job in the current climate and feel sorry for all my fellow countrymen and women who have lost jobs and don't begrudge at all paying extra taxes. The under 20's will hopefully use their recent reduction in pay as an incentive to go off and see the world like the rest of us did back in the 80's and come back full of vim and vigour and...a bit of a more realistic attitude at how the world works. :p