Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ricky Hatton v Manny Pacquiao

• 08-04-2009 10:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

I fear for Hatton.

May 2nd. Love to go. Missus would go mental.

Should Hatton now retire? 90 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 90 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I think its going to be a pacman win but could end up an even enough match up-the styles might make it an exciting match and with hattons natural weight advantage it evens it up a bit..

Cant wait..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Pac is a living legend but do not get carried away this is not a good weight for Manny. Beating a weight drained washed up :( Dela is no barometer.

I still fancy Manny to get the decision but it will not be easy - Ricky is a little animal and very very confident at light welter, unbeaten !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,377 ✭✭✭✭walshb

In terms of skill and p4p greatness, Manny is streets ahead. I still
    expect the natural 140lber to win, he should, if he really is any use.

I don't rate the fight as big or mega. It's definitely hype, but how the hell can
    a blown up feather fighting a natural 140-147 b fighter be mega?

It's all glitz and hype, but IMO, lacks real substance and the last fight
    I would call a true mega fight would have been Oscar-Shane in 2000.
    There have been others, but that stands out.

A real mega fight with substance pits two men against each other who both are in their natural and comfortable weight division.

Hatton wins this, it will simply be a win over a feather who moved up for
    money! Nothing more!

Pac wins this, it will simply have exposed Hatton as a very
    ordinary 140 lb man. No way Pac moves and beats
    Oscar or Shane or Pea or Tsyzu or Pryor or Chavez
    or PBF at 140 lbs. No way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

I think Pacman will win.
    He is like a machine.
    Hatton won't be able to stop him coming forward relentlessly.
    I reckon Hatton is going to get heavily beaten

Pal wrote: »
    I think Pacman will win.
    He is like a machine.
    Hatton won't be able to stop him coming forward relentlessly.
    I reckon Hatton is going to get heavily beaten

Well, that blows the whole 'weight plays a part' right out of the water.
    Hatton is the one who should be physically the rougher and stronger.

Hatton is the man who should be able to hold his ground.
    Hatton is the man who should be pressing and pressing
    and coming forward.

Hatton to win, needs to impose his physical strength and he needs
    to set a fast pace and a non stop pace. He needs to rough Pac up and
    be 'dirty' and fiercely aggressive. He needs to be the 2005 Hatton!

Pac to win needs to give Ricky angles, use his superior speed
    and generalship and ring movement. Pac will need his bike in this to win.

Should Pac be able to push Ricky back early, then this fight
    is a joke. This is a true ten stone man facing a true 9 stone man.

Two keys to victory for both men:

Hatton has to set a pace and physically impose his
    natural weight.

Pac needs to use angles and footwork with speed!

I think pac probably hits harder than ricky, ricky has strong body punches but not really a ko puncher, Pacman has ko power, will it carry proper to light welter? maybe!

ricky will be the stronger in the clinch but after that its all pac..

Yes Hatton will have the advantage weight wise but to many people go on as if Pac is some sort of midget

pac-odlh.weighin.01.330w.jpg

Deceptive foto I would say. Pac is about 3 inches shorter than Oscar and this
    foto doesn't show this. Maybe a bad angle or something else has to do with it.

Hey, height wise is one metric; what about natural size and weight fellas? Pac is not a natural ten stone fighter.

Him and Hatton will be the same height; but come fight night, I would say Ricky will be bigger and will look bigger all over. He is a bigger man naturally and by a fair bit! A stone is a lot!

He has to use this throughout. He gives Pac time and he loses bad.

Hatton is pretty average at distance and is only really
    effective if his opponent allows him inside. That is why
    I don't rate Ricky as great. He has a poor outside game!

Oh, even though this fight isn't mega IMO, I am damn looking
    forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

walshb wrote: »

forward to it!

That's because Hatton's reach is absolutely tiny, it's probably smaller than any other top 30 Light-Welterweight.

Now I'm going by boxrec here and they do manage to get things wrong but:
    Pacquiao 67''
    Hatton 65''
    Campbell 72''
    Bradley 69''
    Urango 71''
    Holt 74''
    Witter 67''
    Malignaggi 70''
    Ortiz 70''
    D.Hopkins 74''
    Alvarado 70''
    Bailey 70''
    Barnes 72''
    Peterson 74''
    Lazcano 72''
    Singwancha 72''

Now when a fighter has a disadvantage like that from the outside, then of course he's going to focus on his true strength in inside fighting.
    However against the good, but not true top fighters in the division he can still outbox them from range(Urango), and against Malignaggi he was able to beat him on both the inside and outside, even though Paulie was considered much slicker and obviously has a big reach advantage.

He's decent on the outside, but very good on the inside. Hence he'll always try and box on the inside.
    You might say it's a big flaw because all a fighter has to do is stop him getting inside......but no one's going to be able to do that. Even Mayweather couldn't, Mayweather had to beat him at his own game on the inside because there's no way of stopping Hatton coming in.
    Even a big puncher like Tszyu who was catching him with massive shots on the way in couldn't stop him getting inside.

Hatton has very good footwork and has lightening fast feet, it's a deceptive tool for someone considered a brawler to possess. He closes the distance extremely quickly and if you can't deal with him while he's right on top of you then you're not going to be able to deal with him.

Pacquiao will be tougher than most opponents for Hatton in that his footspeed might actually be quicker, but Hatton will get inside eventually and if he lands some good body shots while there Pacquiao probably won't be quite so sprightly afterwards. He's just going to be too big in the end.

So Big, you are taking Hatton to win?

I am indeed, as you said height and reach might not be that strongly in Hatton's favour(reach is actually against him), but natural size if a different thing altogether.

I don't think the De Lay Hoya fight meant anything at all, sure Manny went in there and did what he had to do, but it's no indication of what's he's like at these higher weights.

Don't forget Pacquiao has only fought once at Lightweight and although he was superb he was fighting a very weak fighter(one who was barely top 10 at Lightweight) and he had to land so much before Diaz actually was finished.
    Hatton is even bigger than Diaz and does pretty much everything else better than him. He's quicker, stronger, a much much better body puncher.
    Hatton isn't going to land on Pacquiao at will or anything but he will land and I just can't see Pacquiao naturally much smaller frame taking Hatton body shots. In the clinches(and even if they're broekn quickly, they're gonna happen and quite a bit) Pacquiao will ge manhandled easily.

Marquez stunned Pacquiao a few times in their last fight, not that Pacquiao was ever badly hurt but he was shaken up a few times. Hatton's a bigger puncher than Marquez.
    Of course I don't expect Hatton to be able to land like Marquez did, he'll probably lose the early rounds but using his size, strength, body punching and mauling he'll(in a very ugly way) wear Pacquiao down, slow Pacquiao down and start landing more. He'll eventually get Pacquiao with his back against the ropes and finish him with body shots.

That's how I see it anyone. A natural 140lb version of Pacquiao would of course beat Hatton but such a man does not exist.

Deceptive foto I would say. Pac is about 3 inches shorter than Oscar and this
    foto doesn't show this. Maybe a bad angle or something else has to do with it.

Hey, height wise is one metric; what about natural size and weight fellas? Pac is not a natural ten stone fighter.

Him and Hatton will be the same height; but come fight night, I would say Ricky will be bigger and will look bigger all over. He is a bigger man naturally and by a fair bit! A stone is a lot!

He has to use this throughout. He gives Pac time and he loses bad.

forward to it!

Do you really think Dela dwarfed Manny like everyone thought - I think not, Ricky is smaller than Oscar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

Something I came across. I'm not sure of the accuracy.

hatton-vs-pacquiao-tape.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭polishpaddy

I'd very much like to get your views on how this will pan out.
    It's not often you see anyone actually discussing how a fight goes in this forum.I'll post my views later haven't got time at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Keith in cork

Personally i see it going the full 12. hatton to win on points. Alot like to talk cabbage about hatton, but after his last fight against the best pound for pound fighter, he [EMAIL="WON@T"]WONT[/EMAIL] allow it to happen again. His drive, determination, power, speed,skills and all out attack style will wear out, tire and amaze pacman.

Whatever about his new defensive coach and them working on a new game plan, you'll see ricky revert to what he does best, and why he's held in such high regard with real boxing fans, and come out gung-ho, throw everything EVEN the kitchen sink at pacman, in his own "controlled" style, if he feels he's not getting through the fight with his new tactics.
    If anyone else came out with the full on in your face style he does, they'd be out of the ring inside 3 rounds, he's got it down to a fine art. sometimes it looks sloppy/messy/unprofessional, but he's no fool, he knows how and when to do it and only once ever got caught out.

Say what ye like but a performance akin to the fight that made him a champion, tszu, will put him where he belongs, in the hall of fame with all the other best pound for pound fighters.

I by no means think he'll steam roll pacman, but i don't see him being ready for ricky's intense fight. Watch all the dvd's you want, until your in the ring and having those shots pummel your body, you've no way of preparing for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

Keith i live in cobh, i can see your house from here, lol.....
    Anyway enough about your opinion on what others think of hatton and on to some actual fighting talk ...

Round 1,
    pacq will dominate the first round thats obvious no point in even discussing it...expect ricky to be hit at a ratio of about 40:5

Round 2,
    pac will keep up his lateral movement and expect hatton to start lunging forwards to close the distance... but guess what pac isn't there..... no he's not on the ground... he's after going to the right (which he'll do till the cows come home) while smacking hatton on the ass...

Round 3,
    more of the same...

round 4,
    expect hatton to start losing control

round 5,
    pacq is getting super confident and ricky is lunging forwards again like a wild animal.. he gets pacq with a few nice shots...ricky left hook will be key.. As pac will see his right comming a mile away...

round 6,
    hatton comes out firing and dominates pacq byt keeping him against the ropes clinching like a mad man...

round 7,
    more clinching, ricky looks a mess....

round 8,
    bye bye ricky you just got ko'd out :D

the end... well i think pacq wins by ud decision... but the ko sounded nicer !

Pacq is just to dam fast and ricky can only win this with a ko, thats it... a lucky shot...

should be a boring fight...

ps hope you like apples :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Keith in cork

Keith i live in cobh, i can see your house from here, lol.....

ps hope you like apples :)

IF those apples end up coming my way...... i can see your house too, and i know where i'll be aiming, IF i throw my post fight temper tantrum.....

Now THATS fighting talk:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Johnduddy

To answer your question Polish:

I think Manny will hit and move for 6 rounds Hatton will be behind on points and revert to type and go all out to try overwhelm Manny with bodyshots/pressure hattons sheer frustration starts to show as a result of pacmans lead.

Manny will move away and counterpunch until the 9/10th and catch Ricky with a combination to put the little Manc on his swiss roll.

Goodnight Irene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Going over to vegas the 29th ready for this fight, have no tickets yet but will try to get some from the box office, pre booked thru the uk last time for the malinagi fight and paid over the odds.

Another other boardsies going over???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 lilywhites1982

Ricky Hatton is at an ideal weight to beat Pacquio as he has never lost of this weight! Will he win? I don't think so.. I like his courage and determination but I think he's over-rated. If he had been born from Kazhsktan no one would know him, the British love to gloat over their boxers

what is it with all the hatton roasting on this site???

he's done well, and is also very popular with the yanks in the us?

How is that just the brits gloating over hatton?

I do think this will be his toughest fight at any weight. But still it will be a great fight to go & watch....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 lilywhites1982

I have nothing against Hatton or Amir Khan at that but I really do think the British media overplay their boxers. Everyone single Irish person (included myself ) discounted Bernard Dunne. We underestimate our sports stars they overestimate theirs. hence the conclusion that England will win the World Cup every time they enter despite not winning it since 1966

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Onearmedbandit

I want to watch the fight on UPC Digital does anyone know if you can buy the fight off them? Had a look on their site but couldnt see anything.

I have nothing against Hatton or Amir Khan at that but I really do think the British media overplay their boxers. Everyone single Irish person (included myself ) discounted Bernard Dunne. We underestimate our sports stars they overestimate theirs. hence the conclusion that England will win the World Cup every time they enter despite not winning it since 1966

You obviously have never heard McCauley and MaGee talking absolute bollo*
    about some of the Irish fighters and their 'world class opponents?'

We hype up as much as anyone and underestimate as much
    as anyone. All I want is honest and fair assessments.

I will say one thing, at least the British don't celebrate failure.
    That really bugs me with ourselves.

What I am proud of here is that we are very good
    sports. We are classy whilst winning and classy
    whilst losing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

I want to watch the fight on UPC Digital does anyone know if you can buy the fight off them? Had a look on their site but couldnt see anything.

yea they will have it, there's a pay per view channel on UPC(ntl/chorus) ring them an they add it your monthly bill.

episode 2 off 24/7 is on tonight will post the links when there up.

whilst losing!

Not just our opponents, I was surprised to find out Jairo Alvarez http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=278375&cat=boxer was World Class when he fought Grzegorz Proska.
    By thanks to Dave Boy I find out this seemingly decent journeyman really was World Class, despite what I was seeing before my eyes and knowledge of his very average record.

I wouldn't say they don't celebrate failure though, look at Henry Cooper and Frank Bruno(before he beat McCall). Okay both had success because they became European champions but they were celebrated like World Champions and Britain was more proud of them then any of their actual World champions for their dramatic failures.

Big Ears wrote: »
    Not just our opponents, I was surprised to find out Jairo Alvarez http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=278375&cat=boxer was World Class when he fought Grzegorz Proska.
    By thanks to Dave Boy I find out this seemingly decent journeyman really was World Class, despite what I was seeing before my eyes and knowledge of his very average record.

I wouldn't say they don't celebrate failure though, look at Henry Cooper and Frank Bruno(before he beat McCall). Okay both had success because they became European champions but they were celebrated like World Champions and Britain was more proud of them then any of their actual World champions for their dramatic failures.

Hey, Bruno and Cooper were more national treasres really; but the Brits generally don't celebrate failure, then again, they can go OTT on those who fail. We don't do that.

whilst losing!

Haha Absolutely the two boys talk bollix...Complete unadulaterated one sided bias... But I love it :D

Good point on us winning (and losing) with a bit of class. If the brits lose in sport (particularly in football) they rip the players and managers to shreds - regardless of how they did prior to losing.

The 24/7 show is on sky sports 3 now, i never look at 3 so just caught it..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yCVMr_Of5k
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KSeTVqEdj0
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QjHO9uHOKbo
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YSC8lLtbE9k

thats the links for episode 2.

once again HBO really have it down to a tee, with this show.
    Quality viewing. Can't wait to head over for this.
    Have been looking at tickets, €250 for the nose bleeds but defo worth it.
    Any one any good sites for boxing tickets?

woodyg wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yCVMr_Of5k
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KSeTVqEdj0
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QjHO9uHOKbo
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YSC8lLtbE9k

thats the links for episode 2.

once again HBO really have it down to a tee, with this show.
    Quality viewing. Can't wait to head over for this.
    Have been looking at tickets, €250 for the nose bleeds but defo worth it.
    Any one any good sites for boxing tickets?

where did you see the tickets???
    have you been on directly to punch?
    were flyin thru philly on the 29th what about yourself?

blaze1 wrote: »
    where did you see the tickets???
    have you been on directly to punch?
    were flyin thru philly on the 29th what about yourself?

Where heading thru New York on the 29th.
    There's tickets on getmein.com.
    Nope haven't been on to punch u?

Back on topic, looking at episode 2 there and was interesting to see how much the split in the Mayweather family has hurt Snr.I know the winner is pretty much nailed on to fight Pretty Boy next, would Snr train a fighter against Jnr?
    Can't see it happening my self as remember reading some where before he said he never would.

I still cannot pick a winner in this fight. Pac is totally unproven at the weight and the Dela fight told us nothing really. It Pac can take Rickys power I think Hatton could be in for one helleva beating.

But then again Hatton may hit Pac and he could be like - hey what am I doing in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

woodyg wrote: »
    Where heading thru New York on the 29th.
    There's tickets on getmein.com.
    Nope haven't been on to punch u?

Back on topic, looking at episode 2 there and was interesting to see how much the split in the Mayweather family has hurt Snr.I know the winner is pretty much nailed on to fight Pretty Boy next, would Snr train a fighter against Jnr?
    Can't see it happening my self as remember reading some where before he said he never would.

I'm heading on the 29th as well via NY. We're prob on the same flight. Have been looking at getting tickets since they went on release but had no luck. What's the craic with the Getmein.com tickets? Do you have to meet someone over there to collect them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭demon83

Does anyone know what time Hatton and Pacman are expected in the ring at? (Irish time)
    Is there any pubs in town open late enough to show it?

The big fights in Vegas usually kick off just after 4am Irish time.

I watched Ep 3 of 24/7.

Roger Mayweather was on and he was basically saying that
    if Hatton can't beat Pac, being the naturally bigger man and all that, then
    jack it in! That's what I took from his deplorable diction. Anyone
    hear something different? I agree with his assessment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Roger Mayweather was on and he was basically saying that
    if Hatton can't beat Pac, being the naturally bigger man and all that, then
    jack it in! That's what I took from his deplorable diction. Anyone
    hear something different? I agree with his assessment!

Ye thats what he was saying alright, basically saying that if he's not good enough to beat pacquaio then hes not good enough. Its a fair statement, I really hope pac wins it though rather than have to listen to hatton talk himself up as p4p champion after it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

demon83 wrote: »
    Does anyone know what time Hatton and Pacman are expected in the ring at? (Irish time)
    Is there any pubs in town open late enough to show it?

hmm you could try Copper Face Jacks. i was in Dublin on the night of Calzaghe v Hopkins fight and eager to see the fight live. i managed to catch it in Copper Face Jacks of all places:P I was told there was no pubs or clubs open late enough to show it, but a friend sent me a text saying it was on there.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/boxing/7981967.stm

Some interesting predictions. Are they being 'kind' to Hatton because he's English/British, as are most of them? I'd liked to have heard more diverse views to be honest.

I agree with most who say that Hatton should be too strong and big naturally

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/boxing/7981967.stm

Some interesting predictions. Are they being 'kind' to Hatton because he's English/British, as are most of them? I'd liked to have heard more diverse views to be honest.

I agree with most who say that Hatton should be too strong and big naturally

Deffo a bit of anglicised "Kindness" here - only Ken Buchanan picks Manny ? I'd tend to agree with him.

(No Surprise that Warren picks Manny aswell)

Not suprising at all walshb.Thats like looking at a philipinio newspaper and wondering why they all think manny will destroy him...

I meant to add, that I don't disagree or think they are simply being kind and really deep down they believe he won't win. I am just questioning to gauge your
    views. To me, I am picking Hatton and for reasons they say, weight and natural
    size. I would have liked to hear views from some U.S. pundits also.

It's almost like they don't want to admit maybe? They feel they would be unfair
    to Hatton and if he is reading their views, that it will affect him!

I can see what your saying. Maybe it is "un-english" of them to say ricky will lose.Obviously if he was irish we would say he would win too. I honestly think though, pacq is going to murder him. He's to fast and to smart for ricky.I know the natural weight difference is massive and ricky may get lucky but thats all it's goingt to be "luck".As i said earlier in this thread pacq will wins the first 3 rounds and ricky plays catchup for the rest... frustration is a powerful emotion. :)

Agree with you on how it will go, I posted same prediction a few weeks ago - It'll be all speed and skill from Manny and all frustration from Hatton - By the later rounds he'll be gone from chasing shadows and leave himself open to a KO late on (A Mayweather-esque "Check Hook" would be nice :D)

http://www.pacquiaovideo.com/2009/01/tale-of-tape-manny-pacquiao-vs-ricky.html

People love to waffle on about how small Manny is. Check out the link.

Sure Hatton campaigns at the heavier weight but he is fighting Manny Pacquiao.

Waffle on about how small he is?

I don't think saying that Pac is smaller than Ricky is waffling on about
    how small Pac is. There is a distinct difference between the two matters!

Yes it is a factor but not half as big as people let on.

Did Dela dwarf Manny ? No. I would consider Dela to be bigger that Ricky.

I will admit that it isn't a real noticeable difference and especially to those
    who do not follow the sport. However, Ricky is a bigger man generally and will
    be a heavier man come fight night.

Oscar did look a lot bigger than Pac in the bout despite their weight on fight night.
    He was at least 3 inches taller!

Yes the guy campaigning at light middle weight was taller and looked taller but my point is that posters are going on about Manny the Flyweight when in fact he has been a good boy listened to his mommy, ate all those vegetables and is now a much bigger fighter.

I think it's quite obvious he is not a flyweight anymore, but that doesn't make him suddenly a natural LWW fighter either!