Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The worst (new) car you can buy

• 07-04-2009 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭

Ok, most threads on motors are based on the best cars on the road are?
    What I saw today, What car should I buy, etc.

What do people think is the WORST new car on sale today??
    Not nessesarily the worst to drive or reliability but also boring, bland, so-forgetable-you'd-forget-it-if-it-just-hit-you!!

This is my contribution, the Grand-dad special Nissan Tiida saloon!!

no-image-large.gif

Ok. so which is the worst. 45 votes

Nissan Tiida
    0% 0 votes
    Ssangyong Rexton
    51% 23 votes
    Ssangyong Kyron
    20% 9 votes
    Daewoo Lacetti
    8% 4 votes
    Suzuki Sx4
    6% 3 votes
    Hyundai Matrix
    2% 1 vote
    Chevrolet Tacuma
    8% 4 votes
    Daihatsu Charade/Sirion
    2% 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Staright away, it was my thinking too :D

Nissan Tiida saloon

This would be up there too ........ FUGLY

06.jpg
    ssangyong kyron

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I saw the thread title and straight away thought Tilda. How much must you actively hate driving that you'd consider buying one? It makes some of the low rent Korean ****e look like it was designed by Bertone himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Robbo wrote: »
    I saw the thread title and straight away thought Tilda. How much must you actively hate driving that you'd consider buying one? It makes some of the low rent Korean ****e look like it was designed by Bertone himself.

Funny you should say that. I had a Tiida company car for a little while (worked in Nissan garage) and without a word of a lie, i prefered driving my parents 2006 Kia Rio!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭garyegt

ever since the renault takeover nissan have gone downhill on their budget cars. i have a 96 primera egt and it is such a fun car to drive and sooo reliable. like hte newest of the primeras they have inherited the frenchness and gained electrical problems.

the only new nissan i would buy would be the gtr, but then again who wouldnt:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

sanyoongoong rexonnns?

are them hiedous things still sold ?

unfortunately, the Rexton is the BEST looking car in the Ssangyong range!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,143 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Isn't there someone importing Tata's here now?

If not, Tiida. It looks like a Dacia Logan thats been melted a bit; which might be where Nissan got the design idea from, sure Dacia is all part of the same group, ish....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Ok, most threads on motors are based on the best cars on the road are?
    What I saw today, What car should I buy, etc.

What do people think is the WORST new car on sale today??
    Not nessesarily the worst to drive or reliability but also boring, bland, so-forgetable-you'd-forget-it-if-it-just-hit-you!!

no-image-large.gif

The minute I saw the title.. There is NO contest.
    TIDA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

Personnaly i think the new Octavia is muck, they seemed to step back a decade with its new design.

As for the Tiida didnt come into mind really but having had my memory refresh by the pic its a piece of dirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭jimboddb

Great thread lads, the poor old tida is getting an awful hammering! At least its small & inoffensive. I cant understand how anybody would drive a ....

Ssangyong_Rodius.jpg

thats the one i was thinking of

wtf.........

is that!

if that was the last vehicle in the universe i wouldnt be seen in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

jimboddb wrote: »
    Great thread lads, the poor old tida is getting an awful hammering! At least its small & inoffensive. I cant understand how anybody would drive a ....

Ssangyong_Rodius.jpg

I hope he got planning permission for the extension on the back.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Porsche Cayenne...

Not just because it's an SUV and doesn't fit in with the heritage <blah blah> but because it's willfully ugly and based on a VW.

Page 2 and it hasnt been mentioned :eek: :P...................................

mgrathgar13681373e777ecc-5b8e-4aab-a6f9-9289e8e7cb28_large.jpg

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,650 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I hate the VW Fox. A step back from the old Lupo which was a little car I loved.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It looks like a Director's Cut DVD - with two alternative endings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭eljono

Those Rodius' (rodyii?) are fairly stink alright but these have always been a pet hate of mine
    hyundai%20accent.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Worst thing about a Tiida is that it's.....
    Just dull.

It's actually hard to find a truly ****e car though. All cars these days are more reliable than 90% of cars not ten or fifteen years ago. Probably a bit plastiky.

There aren't really any cars left that'll fall apart at the side of the road, or rust into a heap of brown dust with tyres at their first encounter with winter road salt.

If the worst thing people can say about a Ssangyong Rodius is that it's **** ugly, and was designed by people who see a car as white goods (like a cooker) and not as a luxury item, and that's one of the worst cars out there..

How much better have cars gotten?

So says the man who owns a Renaul Laguna... 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

homer90 wrote: »
    Page 2 and it hasnt been mentioned :eek: :P...................................

mgrathgar13681373e777ecc-5b8e-4aab-a6f9-9289e8e7cb28_large.jpg

:D:D:D

Yep. To be fair I dont mind the side profile but the front and rear are horrible.
    It looks a little like the Civic saloon from the side.

eljono wrote: »
    Those Rodius' (rodyii?) are fairly stink alright but these have always been a pet hate of mine
    hyundai%20accent.jpg

NEW cars only if possible please people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭eljono

NEW cars only if possible please people

Ya, sorry I only realised after I posted. It got me thinking though and there aren't many cars currently being made that I would call bad. Lots of cars I don't like but that's purely because of taste etc. Thinking back 10 years though and there were loads of cars I could have named. Look at how much FIAt have come on for example when you think of the Punto and Marea available then. The Koreans and some of the usual suspects have really improved in this decade I think. But, if pushed, I'd say a 9-5 represents one of the worst new cars you could buy right now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭pcardin

I think Tida is not half as bad as this one.... Lada Kalina

05110811.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

pcardin wrote: »

05110811.jpg
    Is that actually a new model?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭fig mclough

personally i hate the new fiat puntos (any fiat for that matter)!!! they looked cheap and like da old ones are more than likly b crap and hav no resale value

Is that actually a new model?:eek:

Its on sale still anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

This is stretching it, but it was new once...surly the most hopeless effort ever...

2005.pontiac.aztek.30681-396x249.jpg

personally i hate the new fiat puntos (any fiat for that matter)!!! they looked cheap and like da old ones are more than likly b crap and hav no resale value

They're far less crap than your spelling, punctuation and grammar.

The new Grande Puntos are significantly more reliable than the old Puntos. They're also designed by Giorgetto Giugiaro which is far from a cheap designer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

MYOB wrote: »

The new Grande Puntos are significantly more reliable than the old Puntos. They're also designed by Giorgetto Giugiaro which is far from a cheap designer.

But a thread like this wouldnt be complete without a Fiat bashing person who knows no better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

MYOB wrote: »

sssssssssnap!!!

I like the grand punto a lot. Definitely does not deserve to be on this list. **** nomination. Go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Gets my vote too.

That said I must admit I was a passenger in a rental one & was surprisingly quick. Driver was a bit mental though :o

McSpud wrote: »
    Gets my vote too.

That said I must admit I was a passenger in a rental one & was surprisingly quick.

Would want to be, that way, it would be hard to be spotted in one !!

Imagine the shame !!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

homer90 wrote: »
    Would want to be, that way, it would be hard to be spotted in one !!

Imagine the shame !!:D

Thankfully it was abroad so I am sure I was not spotted. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Some people may class it as competent, but after being a passenger in one, I think the Toyota Auris takes some beating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭mick.fr

pcardin wrote: »

05110811.jpg

Yep maybe but this car will probably see more beautiful russian ladies than our average european cars :-)
    I am telling you, this car is a chicks magnet.

Well, almost :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

That Tiida yoke, I hate it oh so very much. I always hear people saying the name wrong or writing it wrong. Most common is the TILDA. Horrible, horrible, horrible car.

I hate these too, very small and annoying on the roads.
    hyundai%20i10.jpg

Also, I was behind one of these the other day, with its lights on. The car look depressed. The back lights make it look like it's frowning :P

seat_altea_xl_rear_28_05_07.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

not to be left out...

200610170492946877801.jpg
    the eh..( let me check )...ah Suzuki Sx4 non 4wd saloon....thats it :eek:

I win

2009-matrix.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

It's the Dacia Sandero!!

Concours_Dacia_Sandero.jpg

Slightly off topic here but I want that job, the one where 5 guys sit around a table and decide to go with " eh,ah that one , no that one.....ooohhh ok then that one" ...and that one is this....

ssangyongactyonefront.jpg...........like any c**t can do that job.

How do I get one of these jobs ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

jimboddb wrote: »

Ssangyong_Rodius.jpg

Is that really bent in the middle:confused: Looks like it would make right turning circles less than left ones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

SsangYong%20Actyon%20(2).JPG

Cant believe this hasn't been mentioned yet...It's the original this

thumb-1-bmw-x6%20copy.jpg

Oh wait, just saw the pick-up version...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

EPM wrote: »
    SsangYong%20Actyon%20(2).JPG

Cant believe this hasn't been mentioned yet...It's the original this

Jaysus, that would drive rats from a barn!

Look at it - it knows its bet with the ugly stick - its literally trying to bury its head in the sand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I'm glad I haven't had my breakfast yet. Looking at some of the shi*e on this thread has made me feel queasy :o

Everytime I see one of those Ssangyong Hideous's, a little bit of sick comes up in to my mouth :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

at least it's not bland, boring or forgettable...

scion-hako-coupe-concept5.jpg

why. just... why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

racso1975 wrote: »

I think they're actually a nice wee little car. Funky for the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Seen one in the flesh - its a good looking car and nicely detailed...