Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poll: Who would you vote for if election was today?

• 07-04-2009 12:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭

Might as well get this out of the way, given the recent political debate on AH.

Right, let's have it. Please bear in mind that this is not a substitute for voting in a real election.

You will notice that Atari Jaguar, Krang and Kodos are not options.

Who would you vote for if election was today? 215 votes

Fianna Fail
    0% 0 votes
    Fine Gael
    10% 22 votes
    Labour
    34% 75 votes
    Green
    36% 78 votes
    Other
    5% 11 votes
    I don't / won't / can't vote
    13% 29 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Dustin the Turkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

7 votes in and FG surging ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I just don't know anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Who cares what group of suits is in charge? They'll have the same problems to deal with and the same people will moan about how they do things. Get rid of them all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Can I vote for the Swedish? They're pretty good at running their country. I think. Except for the expensive drink thingy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Poll is missing a major party with representatives in Europe and the Dail.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I voted for the "Can't vote" option because it made me giggle to do so. In reality I just don't know. There is nothing there.
    FG?
    FF?
    Labour?
    THE GREENS?????!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭destroyer

If you dont vote against the current administration you are condoning how
    they have run the country.
    This is true even if you dont believe the opposition would do any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Anything apart from FF or the Greens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

destroyer wrote: »
    What if you have read the cowardly proposals of the opposition, mentally tried to combine the them when they are forced into government together, and have some to the conclusion that they could well be worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Poll is missing a major party with representatives in Europe and the Dail.
    No its not.!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Wow and I thought picking the Irish 11 for Italy was tough for a lack of options.

FF- no way. They need to be shown they can't **** the place up and still keep the jobs.

FG- maybe. Never been a big fan but might be due a run. Probably only realistic alternative.

Labour- I like them but their claim to want a coalition with FF is scary.

Greens- No. Never. Bunch of planks who would have us communicating via eco friendly carrier pidgeon. The only good thing is hopefully they'll go the way of the PDs now after becoming FF's latest doormats.

Sinn Fein (left out of poll?) - On some areas I admire them. The ground level work is second to none. However they do have one disadvantage, they pander to liberal lunatics like the shell to sea crowd.

What a selection :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Labour- I like them but their claim to want a coalition with FF is scary.

I havn't really been following developments due to exam pressure but can you link me to that story? This I gotta keep up on.

What if you have read the cowardly proposals of the opposition, mentally tried to combine the them when they are forced into government together, and have some to the conclusion that they could well be worse?

Vote for them anyway. Then at the following election, smash them.
    It may take a couple of decades ,but eventually you will get a dail full of
    politicans who really want to do their selfless best for the people, knowing
    nothing less will be tolerated.

Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Don't forget the Communism Party of Ireland... great bunch of lads.

I like how their site is hosted in Engerland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'd even vote for the local blueshirt if I thought it would take a seat from FF...thats how bad it is now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Pick a name out of a hat. They're all as hapless as each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭live2thewire

we want more, we want gilmore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Who the feck voted on the greens? Jesus not the greens they are the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

What a load of rubbish right there... real tripe...

Just because someone doesn't vote against them, doesn't mean they agree with them... FFS, think about it...

I havn't really been following developments due to exam pressure but can you link me to that story? This I gotta keep up on.

Will try. Was something to do with Labour calling for an election and a proposed FF/labour government.
    (I don't think it was a wicked dream...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Why can't we have strippers go for elections like proper countries do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

We should just vote in independents all over the country. Or just get wasted on Election Day and steal posters. Whatever.

What a load of rubbish right there... real tripe...

Just because someone doesn't vote against them, doesn't mean they agree with them... FFS, think about it...

It means you are unwilling to do your duty in holding them responsible
    for their actions or inactions, in essence condoning what they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Att-tichoo

Labour: no way, all they seem to do is give a few rousing speeches without any real idea's or substinance to back them up, they seem more focused on discrediting current govt than actually doing anything positive

Greens: better than labour imo, think any government could do with having a green contingent, only because dont want to see one part having majority tho..no harm having a bit of green agenda here and there

FG: there has only been one thing more spectaculary useless than FF's handling of the country and that is FG's absolutly dire attepmt at winning some support. If the second biggest part in Ireland cannot entice support away from a government that is about as popular as hitler right now then it doesnt inspire much confidence in their abilities to do any better.

FF:think they need a shake up,i still support many FF policys etc but my god..PR goes a long way and cowen is doing them no favours..still, imo they're the best of a bad lot!

do like happy gilmore tho..any chance he could join FF/FG im for turning but not as far as..."labour" <shudder>

Att-tichoo wrote: »
    Labour: no way, all they seem to do is give a few rousing speeches without any real idea's or substinance to back them up, they seem more focused on discrediting current govt than actually doing anything positive
    Well...y'know, you could always look at Labour's policies.
    Like their minibudget for example.

do like happy gilmore tho..any chance he could join FF/FG im for turning but not as far as..."labour" <shudder>

You do realise that Gilmore is more left wing than many in Labour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

I vote we rejoin the UK and give more power back to the royalty. :pac:

It means you are unwilling to do your duty in holding them responsible
    for their actions or inactions, in essence condoning what they do.

Bullcrap...

Not voting them out doesn't mean anything like that, it is simplistic thinking at it's finest.

Say someone doesn't know any better and doesn't know much about politics? Doesn't mean they condone the current government.

If someone votes FF again, or not vote at all, they might believe that the current government is the best out of the lot, doesn't mean they condone what they are doing... Wake up would ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Vote for the man, not the flag.

You do realise that Gilmore is more left wing than many in Labour?[/quote]

Ah yeah but he's a gas man!!..bringing the fun back into fundamentalist:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Sinn Fein (left out of poll?) - On some areas I admire them. The ground level work is second to none. However they do have one disadvantage, they pander to liberal lunatics like the shell to sea crowd.
    The shell to sea crowd are potty but I do think that gas should be used for the states advantage. The majority of the money made from the gas should be used to build Irish infrastructure, it's criminal to just hand it over to a multinational.
    humanji wrote: »
    Why can't we have strippers go for elections like proper countries do?
    Jesus H Cristy don't tempt Harney God knows what she'd do in desperation.
    FF:think they need a shake up,i still support many FF policys etc but my god..PR goes a long way and cowen is doing them no favours..still, imo they're the best of a bad lot!
    PR is ruining politics, that's one area where they should have little or no budget.

Bullcrap...

Not voting them out doesn't mean anything like that, it is simplistic thinking at it's finest.

Say someone doesn't know any better and doesn't know much about politics? Doesn't mean they condone the current government.

If someone votes FF again, or not vote at all, they might believe that the current government is the best out of the lot, doesn't mean they condone what they are doing... Wake up would ya?

Yes it does mean they condone it. If you dont take a stand against ineptitude (and probable corruption) , even if the alternative is worse or more painful for you, then you are passively supporting and condoning it,
    whether you like it or not. Please please YOU WAKE UP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

If you dont vote FF then there is only FG or Labour and honestly I couldnt see them doing a better job. They havent been in opposition for the past 15 years for no reason !

[/quote]Jesus H Cristy don't tempt Harney God knows what she'd do in desperation.[/quote]

oh man..here come's my lunch again...

Yes it does mean they condone it. If you dont take a stand against ineptitude (and probable corruption) , even if the alternative is worse or more painful for you, then you are passively supporting and condoning it,
    whether you like it or not. Please please YOU WAKE UP.

You didn't even read my post... did you?

If you don't protest against peodophiles, rapists and murderers then you condone them.

Can you see what's wrong with that???

You are making no sence what so ever... you ideology is completely flawed. You say that if you do not vote them out then you excuse them for their ways. Rubbish, if there is no better alternative then there is nothing you can do about it. Voting for a party that is worse? Will cause more harm? You have to be taking the piss. How you cannot see that you are wrong in unbelievable...

Those that do not vote agree that FF are doing a great job... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Wonder would our poll ever be representative? If so FF are looking at about 15 TD's after the next election.:D

If you don't protest against peodophiles, rapists and murderers then you condone them.

This is the analogy you draw and you accuse me of simplistic thinking?

If the gov. of the day had a policy of no punishment for rapists and murderers and you had a chance to vote them out and didnt, then you would be condoning it, even if you suspected the opposition wouldnt
    punish them either.

There is no point. Go vote FF or abstain or whatever, but dont ever complain about bad government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

*sigh*

It's all rather depressing really.

IMO FF have had their chance and were caught asleep at the wheel; braking only once they realised the country had gone over the cliff edge. What did Bertie say about commiting suicide again? €47bn income (artifically propped up by property bubble) down to projected €31bn in 2 years or thereabouts.

Will the alternative do any better? Maybe not but I'm pretty sure they can't do any worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I say we become the 51st state of America, atleast they somewhat know how to run a country.

Too bad it could never happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Boards poll representative? Its not. There were a few boards polls around the last election which indicated that FF would get annihilated but look what happened.

/glares at FF gombeens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm shocked FG are getting so much support. I don't see how their any different than FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Neither do I, theres no real alternative in ireland here besides them two major parties or the other smaller parties or the communist party( Ever gotten a single seat?)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

WindSock wrote: »
    Can I vote for the Swedish? They're pretty good at running their country. I think. Except for the expensive drink thingy.
    I think they've dropped the eugenics thing too.
    Sounds like it could be a runner, and if they charge too much for drink we could just buy it up north, then they would have to drop the price :)

And since most of them can already speak English we don't even need to learn the language of our new overlords. And we'd get country wide broadband and real freedom of information and piratebay and our neutrality would be guaranteed and a kicking armed forces, massive investment in R&D.

The Battle of Clontarf was Good Friday in 1014 so we could have a really Good Friday this year if we just say sorry.

ScumLord wrote: »
    The shell to sea crowd are potty but I do think that gas should be used for the states advantage. The majority of the money made from the gas should be used to build Irish infrastructure, it's criminal to just hand it over to a multinational.

I dunno. I read the debate and the concept was the odds were better selling the rights to look for it rather than look for it ourselves. It was like having 20 in blackjack and not risking saying "hit me". Who knew the next card was an ace? Still doesn't make your tactics wrong.

I did say like shell to sea. It's the liberal extremists I can't stand and Sinn Fein tend to be their supporters. Other than that I probably would align more with SF. Though I will say it's between them FG and labour for my next votes.

Stephen wrote: »
    Boards poll representative? Its not. There were a few boards polls around the last election which indicated that FF would get annihilated but look what happened.

/glares at FF gombeens
    If Boards polls were representativer Pighead would be Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

NOT THE F*CKIN GREENS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Can you see what's wrong with that???

hang on... going from politics to paedos and rapists is not even near the same wavelenght as im 1MILLION per cent sure that at least ALL parties will agree that you dont need to vote or protest against or for that!!!

and his point is that by doing nothing at all IS worse than voting for the opposition as your voicing your discontent at least even vote for the Indies who have no major policies and are all local policies everyone can agree with.

There's three options:
    1- if you don't vote, you have no right to complain about politics or society.
    2- If you do vote and complain about the results of the game you chose to play, you're just being a sore loser—or winner.
    3 - If you dont vote then do something else to better you local community or society instead of getting on a soap box and sayin all the parties are terrible!!

redout wrote: »
    If you dont vote FF then there is only FG or Labour and honestly I couldnt see them doing a better job. They havent been in opposition for the past 15 years for no reason !

*cries* What about incentive schemes like say you do a good job we vote you back in if not we give the other guys a go.

I'll put in terms ya'll get :p Ronaldo has a couple of **** games but the replacement is Nani. Do you not think dropping him for a game is a good way to kick him up d arse or do just let him play regardless of form?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

I hate how this "party voting" goes in Ireland. I was listing to a woman in the shop around the time of the last election, she said labour called to her door and she told them she loves to listen to all of the partys but she cant vote for anyone else other the FF as her husband was a great FF supporter and he would turn in his grave if she voted for anyone else.

Moral of the story. You shouldn't be voting for the party, you should be voting for the person who you think can do the most for your area and help you.

Vote the man/woman. Not the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Bullcrap...

What message do you send to a party that has failure after failure after failure if you continue to vote them in despite these failures? Reminds me of a quote from the movie man on the moon:

You'reFianna fail are like a kid
    who comes home from school:

"Look, Dad, I got an F!"

Would you not even give another party a chance to prove themselves? Fianna Fail have had their chance and blew it and you can't know for sure that anyone else would be worse unless you give them a shot. You're voting for the party of failure because of your hunch that Fine Gael might be the party of slightly worse failure.