Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1c: Keep the change?

• 07-04-2009 6:39am
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭

If you are in a shop and buying something valued at €x.99, and you're waiting for your 1c change reluctantly as a single 1c coin is of no interest to anyone (even me, and I'm a professional cheapo).

Is it rude to tell the shopkeeper to keep the change? If you do it sounds like you're being cheap by offering them 1c, doesn't it?

What's the story with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

We're in a recession you know. Take your bloody one cent! Or give it to Cowen, he can make do with every little cent now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Take your one cent (and all of your change) and at the end of the day throw it into a large jar. Once a year, I sort out all of the change and use it to go on a holiday. I have been averaging over €1000 each time that I have done this.

It all does start to add up after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

I was in a shop recently and bought a bar of chocolate for 99c. I gave him a Euro and it put it the till and then closed it - as if its perfectly fine. So I just stood there and asked "wheres my change?" You'd swear I asked him to rob his granny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

if their doing their job properly then they will give you the change and receipt with a scowl. Keep ur money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I was in a shop recently and bought a bar of chocolate for 99c. I gave him a Euro and it put it the till and then closed it - as if its perfectly fine. So I just stood there and asked "wheres my change?" You'd swear I asked him to rob his granny.

That short of sh!t annoys me. 1 cent is still money, as previous posters said it all add's up.

I know a guy who filled up a Stein glass (big german beer glass) over a period of a year and when he cashed it in it was €230 !! .

That 1 cent is your money, the shop charge enough for a little bar of chocolate, make sure you get your change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

I cant see the use of 1c coins. In Australia everything up to the relative value of 2c is rounded down and over 3c is rounded up. So for instance the cashier wouldn't say two dollars 97 cents but two dollars 95 cents or conversely two dollar 98 cents but simply three dollars. Makes cents ... sorry :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Yeah all my shrapnel goes into a whiskey case, last time i claimed 150 euro! Was very pleased......but not the day after when it was gone into the hands of publicans

KTRIC wrote: »
    That short of sh!t annoys me. 1 cent is still money, as previous posters said it all add's up.

I know a guy who filled up a Stein glass (big german beer glass) over a period of a year and when he cashed it in it was €230 !! .

That 1 cent is your money, the shop charge enough for a little bar of chocolate, make sure you get your change.

Yeah, I got it allright. I had to give him 5c so he could give me 6c back (3x 2c). It was the principle of getting the 1c back if you know what I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

KTRIC wrote: »

Why should it annoy you tho? It takes a finite amount of time to complete that particular transaction and for some people (relative income speaking) it literially is a waste of time to do so. If you're so worried about how much a shop charges for goods that you'd actually hanging around for the change then you should probably shop around for cheaper prices rather than get your hollow victory from a tiny bit of copper in your hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Why should it annoy you tho? It takes a finite amount of time to complete that particular transaction and for some people (relative income speaking) it literially is a waste of time to do so. If you're so worried about how much a shop charges for goods that you'd actually hanging around for the change then you should probably shop around for cheaper prices rather than get your hollow victory from a tiny bit of copper in your hand.

A certain amount of hollow victories could add up to a rather substantial one.

€1m is only 100,000,000 1c's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭gerk86

i used to work in a shop. Id say 3 out of 5 people would actually laugh at me if I tried to give them 1 cent change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

Most shops have these charity jars on the counter, I just drop my small change there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

If I buy something for 99c in a shop, and if I'm handing over a euro I'll just say "Thanks" and walk off.

If I accidentally fill my petrol tank to €25.01 and give in €30 for payment, I'd expect a €5 note back.

€0.01c is a fairly pissy amount to be getting pissy about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Duckjob wrote: »
    If I buy something for 99c in a shop, and if I'm handing over a euro I'll just say "Thanks" and walk off.

If I accidentally fill my petrol tank to €25.01 and give in €30 for payment, I'd expect a €5 note back.

That's more for convienience though.. if they had a note for €4.99, you'd probably accept it! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

herya wrote: »
    Most shops have these charity jars on the counter, I just drop my small change there.

Exactly.
    If I'm in a hurry, I just say to the shopkeeper "just put the coppers in the charity box"

The fecker probably paid his holiday with all the coppers that get left behind over the year though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I've seen in a few shops where they have a jar at the side of the till where people can leave their 1c or 2c coins that they recieve in change and this in turn is used for the next person that might buy something totalling €12.02. The coins left there are kind of communal change and it seems a great idea. #

Anyone else seen this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

take a penny leave a penny, been around for years.
    Jeeze don't you know anything? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

take a penny leave a penny, been around for years.
    Jeeze don't you know anything? :rolleyes:
    I've honestly only seen it the last year or so.

Maybe I've just never noticed it before and the cynic in me always thought they were more thieving charities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

And do you get it? I'm just curious.

My experience in a shop or a garage is that they're far more likely to keep one of yours than give you one of theirs. Maybe I'm going to the wrong shops. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

When I use to work in the bar game I always just said €4 say instead of €4.02 etc and the regulars obviously thought it was a decent sensible thing to do as did I. Then one day the manager saw me do it and went off on one but at least the regulars sitting at the counter had my back and gave him a good bolloxing. Kept doing even after that incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

If i am due €0.01 cent change i either usually walk away or put the cent in the poor box. I dont agree with the shopkeeper just assuming they can keep it. I must start putting all my change in a jar......i'd like a surprise €200 a year!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

I put my small change in a jar at home and have gotten about 1000 euro out of it in the last year and a half:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Its fairly common that garages would let you off the 1c over. Back when I worked in one id let off up to 4p.

Id only really take the 1c if the guy has it ready before im ready to leave the till. For the last few months anything under €,1, i've put into an empty 3l vodka bottle, which is now full. Too lazy to count it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

Vain wrote: »
    I put my small change in a jar at home and have gotten about 1000 euro out of it in the last year and a half:eek:

I'm always broke so anytime i've tried to collect change i end up robbing the jar for 50cents, 20cents and even 10cents!! A friend of mine drops all his change into a jar every evening, 2euros and everything?!! God i wish i was able to do that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'll just tell them to put it in the poor box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Naos (Age 11): Will you let me off a penny?
    Shopkeeper: Yeah sure.
    Naos (Age 11): One penny jelly please :pac:
    Shopkeeper: Get the f**k out, cheeky b***x.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

That penny jelly now is over 10c :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I know :(

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

There's a machine in a few places that'll take all your coppers and give you a voucher you can bring to the till to get it back in notes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Ainm

Yeah but they charge about 10% commission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I have no time for 1,2 and 5 cent coins. They should be done away with since they cost more than their face value to produce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

Two experiences with something similar lately...

1. Always get the same taxi guy home if we've been on a night out or heading in to town etc. So gave him a ring and he said he was a bit away but he'd send one of the other lads up for us. So we said no bother. Taxi comes and drops us up to the house (it comes usually to €10-13 depending on lights & traffic, but our taxi driver always says €10 and knows we'll always just use him)...

So expecting this taxi driver not to know the €10 arrangement was grand.. we knew he'd look for the €12 or whatever. Get to the house.. and with the extras the fare came to €10.05 ... It was late and traffic and lights were with us... so I hand the chap a €20... he goes fishing for change and started making up the 9.95... cheeky sod... felt like telling him we wouldnt be asking for him again...
    -> Luckily I had a 5c in my back pocket that my gf has thrown at me jokingly at the end of the night out as my "tip". Needless to say i promptly pulled it out and handed it to him, and he looked at me with disgust like how dare i give him a 5c?... pr!ck.. he was willing to take the 5c out of my 20 though!... so got my tenner. We've since told our taxi driver we dont want that lad again and he said he'd have a word with him.

2. Petrol stations I've been to will always take the .01 if you pay my laser/card (yes i know its just the system putting through the amount) and so paying in cash allows the teller to give you the 1c off if they so choose...
    -> But again I had case there the other week.. was coming down Castle Street in Bray and stopped in for petrol.. filled the tank and it took 48.50 eventually when i squeezed every last drop in (to the point of almost pouring out on me)... as i wanted to get it to an decent number as i was paying with the card i thought id get as much as i could...
    So i go in to pay for the petrol and the guy there (a bit of an ignorant bloke to be honest in his mannerisms and approach to customers.. grunting and what not)... then eventually takes the card off me and puts it through.. then says.. "Will i put it through as €50 even and you can donate some to <insert charity name here>?" ..

At which point I couldnt handle it.. I said no.. if you want donations to charity then why dont ye give x% of each petrol sale to charity instead of taking more from your customers and making them feel like they are in a position of guilt to have to donate... (I was feeling rather irate with him at this point, as it felt as though he was shaming people into donating... saying no would have been embarrassing so to speak)...
    He grunted a little more and gave me back my card and i left.. and wont be returning to his shop again i can tell you...

Rant over.. sorry.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭J2D2

I work in a petrol station and I'll leave people off the few cent, maybe up to 4 ish. After that I ask for the extra few cent because in fairness, it may only be a few cent but if every ass in the country just goes over that little bit then it does add up. It's not your god given right to fill the extra measily cent just because you know it's too much hassle for the guy working the shop to be dealing with. Learn to fill your car properly!

Also why is it people think it's ok to use €50 notes in a shop early on a sunday morning? We have very little change, certainly in notes and yet we have to give what little we have to YOU. Sundays are usually quiet for business and some ass' come in and rob me of my change. It's infuriating and makes me actually want to jump across the till and kill them. Also, I don't care if you're breaking your €50 note, buying a damn 65cent pack of chewing gum with such a large note is retarded. Please keep your stupidity out of the shop!

To finish my rant on annoying and stupid customers and back in topic somewhat, whenever someone pays by laser or visa or whatever and they've gone 1 or 2 cent over, I charge them for it as no cash is involved, so no large chunks of coins need to be given. Yet some people actually get annoyed with me because of this, it won't affect your account if the ammount isn't dead even you know. Some people are so miserly it's just unreal.

Honestly everyone needs to work in a shop at some point. It's the only way people will learn how not to be a douche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

J2D2 wrote: »
    Also why is it people think it's ok to use €50 notes in a shop early on a sunday morning? We have very little change, certainly in notes and yet we have to give what little we have to YOU. Sundays are usually quiet for business and some ass' come in and rob me of my change. It's infuriating and makes me actually want to jump across the till and kill them. Also, I don't care if you're breaking your €50 note, buying a damn 65cent pack of chewing gum with such a large note is retarded. Please keep your stupidity out of the shop!

I hate when people get pissed off over this, sometimes customers just don't have any change! What do you expect people to do if all they have is a fifty and nothing else? Don't tell me that someone who isn't a "douche" would just walk out of the shop out of kindness and not buy what they wanted, just accept the damn money for God's sake.

J2D2 wrote: »
    I work in a petrol station and I'll leave people off the few cent, maybe up to 4 ish. After that I ask for the extra few cent because in fairness, it may only be a few cent but if every ass in the country just goes over that little bit then it does add up. It's not your god given right to fill the extra measily cent just because you know it's too much hassle for the guy working the shop to be dealing with. Learn to fill your car properly!

To finish my rant on annoying and stupid customers and back in topic somewhat, whenever someone pays by laser or visa or whatever and they've gone 1 or 2 cent over, I charge them for it as no cash is involved, so no large chunks of coins need to be given. Yet some people actually get annoyed with me because of this, it won't affect your account if the ammount isn't dead even you know. Some people are so miserly it's just unreal.

Honestly everyone needs to work in a shop at some point. It's the only way people will learn how not to be a douche.

I agree about the .01 part, i think everyone SHOULD be charged if they go over.. its not that hard to get it to 20.00 or whatever.. ok i understand sometimes you slip a bit or whatever but you should be dribbling it in from 19.90 anyway and crawl up to 20, so its your own fault.. if i put in 20.01 then the shop is perfectly in their rights to ask for the 1c...

Used to work in station back home before college and if the person looked like someone i thought was trying to be sneaky and taking extra - i charged them... and had no problem doing it either.. but the majority of people who looked innocent enough i left off with 1-2c

But in saying that, when using cash this looks miserly but with a card i have no problem with this.. as the system just takes the amount and puts it on your card.. there is no coins invloved and the teller is just pressing the buttons to charge the amount used to the card... so there should never be a complaint from a person for this.. I agree those people annoy me though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭DS

basquille wrote: »
    That's more for convienience though.. if they had a note for €4.99, you'd probably accept it! ;)

ccosgrave wrote: »
    I hate when people get pissed off over this, sometimes customers just don't have any change! What do you expect people to do if all they have is a fifty and nothing else? Don't tell me that someone who isn't a "douche" would just walk out of the shop out of kindness and not buy what they wanted, just accept the damn money for God's sake.

Have to agree with you there.. if the shop doesnt have a big enough float in the garage then its not the customers fault.. its the managers for not knowing "firdays will see everyone bringing in notes after payday" or whatever and adjust the float accordingly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭J2D2

ccosgrave wrote: »

Well that I can understand, it happens to me when I only have a fifty and have to use it, but when it's early morning and you've very little money in the till. It's very annoying to have your small notes (5's and 10's) wiped out by one person who probably isn't buying a whole lot. I just think it's common courtesy to try and get as close to the amount your buying if you can. later in the day it's not a problem as there's plenty in the till but it's very inconvenient when you can't give someone reasonable change. How does it look when you hand someone a large pile of €2 coins because it's all you have? This leads to running low on small money very quickly. It makes work needlessly stressful.

As for calling people douche's, it's just how I deal with people who bug me, I rant about it. But I'm perfectly civil and helpful while working, I wouldn't have a job if I wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Scootay

I hate when shop keepers say they've no 1c coins and they'll owe it to me. I always respond by telling to give me a 2c and let me owe them. Not one of them, when offered this option, has failed to find a 1c coin. It may only be a cent but it's my bloody cent and I worked for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

The shop below me doesn't even offer it back to me, they don't put it in the poor box either. Based on principle, I was pretty pissed off on both accounts, didn't want to cause a scene but I left it be. Cheeky fkers. IF they do this with everyone that money will accumulate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

What I dont get is shops can charge what they like. Why charge 49c or 99c for something if you dont have cent coins to hand back. I worked in a nightclub and we had nothing smaller than 10c coins in our float but everything's price was in the format €x.x0 simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Just tell the person working behind the till to put it in the poor box. I work in a shop and i cant remember a time when someone who i have given back 1 cent to didn't say keep it or put it in the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Me wrote:
    And do you get it? I'm just curious.

My experience in a shop or a garage is that they're far more likely to keep one of yours than give you one of theirs. Maybe I'm going to the wrong shops. :D

Yep. I don't think I've ever been handed back 4.99 change in that situation.

1cent is nothing to be scoffed at...

every time i fill my car, i put in 5.01 worth of petrol and go in and give a fiver. i do this another 10 times so by the end, i get 10 cent worth of free petrol.

take that topaz.

Not when they slam the till believing its theirs, its not. It depends on the person I suppose. Me, I make a point of getting it when that happens, regardless of the amount.

1cent is nothing to be scoffed at...

every time i fill my car, i put in 5.01 worth of petrol and go in and give a fiver. i do this another 10 times so by the end, i get 10 cent worth of free petrol.

take that topaz.

You must have the smallest car in the world? :eek: :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

I worked in a shop and usually the odd couple of cent that you get from people leaving behind change was bigger than the amount you left people off petrol when you added up the till.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

I have no time for 1,2 and 5 cent coins. They should be done away with since they cost more than their face value to produce.

I deal with nothing less than €20 notes, everything less than that is pointless. If i go to the shop and they give me back change that is less than a €20 note i put it in the poor box or just chuck it in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

connundrum wrote: »
    €1m is only 100,000,000 1c's.
    That's actually ten million.