Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just stopped texting...why do they do this?

• 04-04-2009 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Ok, I met this girl at a house party about a month ago and we spent the night togethor at her's, didn't have sex because we didn't have a condom, but we did other things, it was fun, etc etc.. next morning she gave me her number (she had got mine at this stage) she had told me she doesn't run after fella's.. so I text her that night, and we text for a few day's after, the last time she said she was tired and going to bed and that she'd talk to me later.. grand.. I text her 2 day's later saying hello, how are you... got nothing back, 3 day's later I text the same again and have got nothing back.

Why do girl's do this for no apparent reason or am I missing something? We didn't argue or anything, she was maybe a little anoyed we didn't have sex as she was really up for it, she kept telling me I was really hot that night bla bla bla.. ladies can you explain this to me?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Not all girls do this, otherwise the human race would have died out.

She just wasn't that into you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

give her a call. if you get no reply wait another day or 2 and call or send a message for a different number if she answers that you know for sure shes ignoring you

texting sucks as a way to communicate but the ladies prefer it because its easier to ignore them, show to other girls and think about what to put in the reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Leave it be to be honest, she has your number. No point in ringing her or sending her more texts like has been suggested, if she wants to get in contact with you she will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I'm female and I'm in the same boat as the OP. Met a guy in college swapped numbers.

The following week I initiated contact, he sent me 'bout 13 txts, all interested in me, asked me out, we arranged a date, said he was looking forward to it etc. Day of date arrives no word.. I sent him a txt, asking is everything alrite... Still no word, I rang and left a msg.. Never got back to me... Found out someone was speaking to him recently so he's not dead or anything!

OP, she's not interested, and she's not worth your time if she can't be bothered to let you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

In general, it means the person isn't that into you, but somehow considers it a more 'polite' to text for a while and then stopping (or texting but consistently avoiding meeting up) than out and out saying 'not interested' or just not replying initially. Which is, of course, often the nicer way as it doesn't drag it out and lead them on.

Lads do it too TBH. I'd say the younger one is, the more likely they are to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

if you are into her call her -she may have lost her phone or be out of credit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭sardineta

There is a groundswell of opinion that texting as a tool of communication is indicative of a lack of emotional intelligence.

Always, always pick up the 'phone and use the mouth that got you as far as it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

I agree with above - if only everyone went back to the good old days of phoning. Texting leads to so many misunderstandings.

The ignoring thing is common - she could have met someone else or just decided she can't be bothered - harsh and all as it is.

She's just not that in to you. Don't ring her again it's stalkery. Move on I'd say.

This has happened to me its slightly humiliating. It sounds like she was just interested in a casual encounter, and that didn't happen so she decided to leave it after a while....

It's best to leave it as you've contacted her plenty... anymore unreplied texts will just dent your pride further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭lolli

You were probably just an ego boost for her for a while, now shes bored and probably found someone else to text!

Just leave it and don't bother contacting her again because you've had no reply to the last two messages so just leave it be, you don't want to seem desperate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 myusernameis

not replying is your answer....she's moved on and is just not that into you.

There is no excuse really these days not to reply, there is always webtext. Aswell, i wouldn't ring her either if it was me, she probably won't even answer your call.

There are more nice girls out there.

not replying is your answer....she's moved on and is just not that into you.

There is no excuse really these days not to reply, there is always webtext. Aswell, i wouldn't ring her either if it was me, she probably won't even answer your call.

There are more nice girls out there.

thanks for the replies guys, I guess she just is not interested..

indeed there is myusernameis, all I need to do now is find them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭shreksaurus

Hi Op,

Often those short how are you messages can be so annoying. I'm on an online dating site, and was chatting to a guy from the same county as me for a few weeks. I sent him a message to his inbox a few weeks ago and he didn't reply back to it. Sent him a message on monday (after almost 3 wks) and told him that it was nice chatting to him and left it at that. He replied back the day after and all he could write is hi, how are you. And nothing else. Well feck that.

If you are very interested in her and if you do contact her again could you not write more in your message to show more interest in her like ask her how work is, or how was her weekend or something. And if she ignores you, then dont make any more contact with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

A lot of people resort to ignoring when they're confronted with issues they'd rather not deal with. For example, her ex boyfriend has come back on the scene, or a new guy has appeared, and rather than explain this to you, it's easier to be immature and selfish and just ignore you.

You should be happy though, as you've found out rather quickly (less than one month) that she's a spa.