Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does society bite the overpaid

• 31-03-2009 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭

Hi All

I have been replying to many posts on boards and have to say I notice a pattern which makes me sick. We as people seem to constantly give out about the overpaid. Now I am not talking about the company directors or bankers. I am talking about normal joe soap workers.

We constantly comment ah their paid to much, they should not be on that rate, who do they think they are. I can give loads of examples if you wish

What I fail to see is why????? Why do we do this. Why do we try to load management of these companies with amunition by scrapping at the employess.

Understandable if you receive bad service by why load the whole company workforce with this.

We should be thankful that these employees are on good money and setting the standard for others. Instead of tearing away at their benefits because they are paid more than us..

Congratulations to these people I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

So you are giving lip service to the overpaid.
    Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Jealousy. They get more that we have, ipso facto, they're not worth it. Bastards.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Because they want people who succeeded under market economics to pay to prop up our overinflated social welfare state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ayapatrick

ya its jealousy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

For the most part, it comes down to jealousy, a poor understanding of economics and also a somewhat reasonable sense of morality.

People can see ways that the money could be put to better use, however doing so would be to deny human, constitutional and legal rights (rich people have rights too, and they have the money to defend them ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Because people hate the man who has the big house on the hill. Simple as. Typical Irish :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Thank you so far you have confirmed what I believed it to be and it does stink

For the record I am a carer and on 220 euro so I will never see it but I wish i did so thats why I am stumped at the stupidity

For the additional record I am waiting for one of the daft sh1ts I see condeming these people to post. That will also confirm they are hypocrits as well. nice....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Hi All

I have been replying to many posts on boards and have to say I notice a pattern which makes me sick. We as people seem to constantly give out about the overpaid. Now I am not talking about the company directors or bankers. I am talking about normal joe soap workers.

We constantly comment ah their paid to much, they should not be on that rate, who do they think they are. I can give loads of examples if you wish

What I fail to see is why????? Why do we do this. Why do we try to load management of these companies with amunition by scrapping at the employess.

Understandable if you receive bad service by why load the whole company workforce with this.

We should be thankful that these employees are on good money and setting the standard for others. Instead of tearing away at their benefits because they are paid more than us..

We give out about EVERYTHING!!! Incase you haven't noticed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

stepbar wrote: »
    Typical Irish :rolleyes:

Exclusive to Irish people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Big difference between Well Paid and Over paid.;)

galwayrush wrote: »

See your missing my point while these people might be well paid, people make the assumption they are over paid

and which ever one they are who gives a dam. Go for it be happy for them cause if we, our brother/sister or our kids one day get into the company perhaps we will be on the same money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

See your missing my point while these people might be well paid, people make the assumption they are over paid

and which ever one they are who gives a dam. Go for it be happy for them cause if we, our brother/sister or our kids one day get into the company perhaps we will be on the same money

As said above, it's Irish begrudgery. Most people would like to drag people down rather than try and improve their own lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Because those begrudgers think that they are equal and entitled to everything other people have earned. When the reality is that they were the messers in school, the wasters, they skipped college and/or made bad career choices and can't accept responsibility for their past decisions.

This is as close as evolution/natural selection gets in the modern world, successful people earn more. Then their children inherit the advantages of that.

Hi All

galwayrush wrote: »
    Yes,there is.

Your OP was about the overpaid,no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

i'd guess because in many cases the media tell us they're overpaid.

In the good times the media brag about it, and in the bad times they witch hunt

just an observation ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Tyler MacDurden

My sleep-deprived brain read the thread title as "Why does society pay the over-bites". This is not nearly as interesting a discussion.

Nothing to get your teeth into here.
    Move along now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Our politicians
    Tribunal lawyers
    RTE "STARS"

3 obvious examples of what would be considered the overpaid. What they have in common is that they paid by us the tax payer or licence fee payer. So we have every right to complain.

I don't care about high earners in the private sector, its their own business - nothing to do with me. To a certain degree, I have a choice whether I wish to buy their products or services. Whereas I pay my taxes or face a large fine and/or prison.

deadhead13 wrote: »
    Our politicians
    Tribunal lawyers
    RTE "STARS"

3 obvious examples of what would be considered the overpaid. What they have in common is that they paid by us the tax payer or licence fee payer. So we have every right to complain.

I don't care about high earners in the private sector, its their own business - nothing to do with me. To a certain degree, I have a choice whether I wish to buy their products or services. Whereas I pay my taxes or face a large fine and/or prison.

See dead head thats another society problem ie not inter the facts correctly I said the normal joe soap worker your quoting "exceptional" cases and as for RTE Stars you have a choice " Switch off the channels/station

and as for RTE Stars you have a choice " Switch off the channels/station

Err...Tv licence, not much of a choice there !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Is this thread about the well paid or the overpaid?

By sheer definition the overpaid are earning to much, because they are being paid too much for what they do. Hence the overpaid part.

Most people in well paid jobs have worked hard to get where they are and deserve to make their salaries. Lots of people spend years studying hard in college, or working from the very lower levels of a company to get to the pay structure they are currently on, and I don't think generally these people are being questioned.

I think its more likely that a plumber earning the same as a doctor or an architect that people have genuine problems with.

salonfire wrote: »
    Err...Tv licence, not much of a choice there !!!

Stations even RTE is financed and controled by rateings. The TV Licence pays it but if we did not watch it you can bet it would be scrapped.

By the way this is not my say so this is factual something RTE prides itself on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

Stations even RTE is financed and controled by rateings. The TV Licence pays it but if we did not watch it you can bet it would be scrapped.

By the way this is not my say so this is factual something RTE prides itself on

Not really the rating system is based on a relatively small number of people. The people used need to stop watching the programs.

As for overpaid people the main problem is people who are incapable of doing these jobs can't even comprehend how the job is done get paid a lot less. From what I see on boards many people have no idea what the overpaid people do or how they do it.

I was working with somebody who was on contract as I was but getting paid much less as they under priced them self. She complained to me saying that we should get paid an honest days paid for a honest days work. I tried to point out that the company avoided PRSI and could dump us pretty easily and the pay was a reflection of that risk.

1 year on and she is in major financial trouble. I may have been overpaid for the work but not the risk. People working in construction were paid in a similar way as far as I am concerned. Make hay while the sun shines!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭boardinwork

stepbar wrote: »
    Because people hate the man who has the big house on the hill. Simple as. Typical Irish :rolleyes:

We're a bitter nation -

Americans say "someday ill be that guy"

Irish say "someday ill get that guy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

People needed high wages to pay for insanely priced housing.

Now that we're pricing ourselves out of jobs, it's nice to have a good auld bitch about how it's everyone else's fault for seeking high wages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

For the record I am a carer and on 220 euro so I will never see it but I wish i did so thats why I am stumped at the stupidity

You and me both. I'd like to be earning a nice liveable wage, but it's not going to happen, I've been out of the workplace too long to get a "good" job, and am too old to be considered for anything other than menial work. I don't spit on people who do earn good wages -literally or metaphorically- I am sickened by people getting 6 figure bonuses tho'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Because we are a nation of begrudging bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I guess it's begrudgery, it's in our blood. Would it have something to do with the plantations, landlords and all that?

I know someday I am going to be "that guy" when I am I am going to really rub it in, why? Because I can :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

snyper wrote: »
    Because we are a nation of begrudging bastards

Fcuk yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I've had to work with consultants and government organisations. They'll sit there in their expensive suits dripping with bling, listen to what you say and then repeat it all back to you as if it's new information, then expect €1500 a day just to hear them repeat what you told them.

In the private sector it's annoying but you get what you pay for. In the public sector it's infuriating.

They are overpaid, when people are living at the edge of society for lack of money and they've got more money than they know what to do with it's not good for society as a whole. That's just my opinion on the matter, I believe in sharing what we've got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

ScumLord wrote: »
    I've had to work with consultants and government organisations. They'll sit there in their expensive suits dripping with bling, listen to what you say and then repeat it all back to you as if it's new information, then expect €1500 a day just to hear them repeat what you told them.

In the private sector it's annoying but you get what you pay for. In the public sector it's infuriating.

They are overpaid, when people are living at the edge of society for lack of money and they've got more money than they know what to do with it's not good for society as a whole. That's just my opinion on the matter, I believe in sharing what we've got.

Why not become a consultant and tell it like it is? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Ireland is a small country with a small economy but yet we pay a lot of people a lot more than what their counterparts in much bigger economies are gettin. Economies that were rich and developed before Ireland was on the map even. And at the same time we're wondering why our expenses are spiraling out of control.

Medical and legal profession springs to mind. Political class also. Sure there is loads of other examples.

One example. HSE budget cuts you would read a lot about. All sorts of proposals. Cuts to the actual quality of service. Streamlining. Junior doctor pay cuts. Everything. Not once did I hear about the (overpaid) consultant doctors. Perfectly alright for them to make 250k+ a year and we're not talking about the likes of Christian Banaard here. Your ordinary bloody senior doctor who removes supervises junior doctors removing appendixes and fixing broken legs.

it's said people get more racist during a recession.. i'm gonna add more communist to that aswell.

i hate begrudgery and 2/3 of boards suffer from it horribly.

it's said people get more racist during a recession... i'm gonna add more communist to that aswell.

Lol, I didn't realize racist and communist were an equally negative attribute. Is 'communist' on a par with 'racist' or 'paedophile' these days? Because I was going to say that
    i'm gonna add more communist to that aswell.

would be least one good thing coming out of this recession. Guess I'm ****ed now.

realcam wrote: »
    Lol, I didn't realize racist and communist were an equally negative attribute. Is 'communist' on a par with 'racist' or 'paedophile' these days? Because I was going to say that
    no. why would i pick communist out of the sky as a negative attribute?

when i said communist, i meant communist. good/bad/indifferent, if i said it, i fuking meant it.

edit: 2 hours later, i'm thinking that was an over-reaction ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Medical and legal profession springs to mind.

Really? I'm a qualified professional (engineer) and i know that half the people in the country do not have the aptitude for engineering.

Take that on to medicine, and the pool of people capable of doing it gets far smaller. Hence the demand for their services drives up the price.

What i think is laughable is the ridiculous amount paid to unskilled, unqualified workers.

I operated as a consultant and I can tell you that is not what happens. A consultant will do many preliminary reports which will be changed per the clients' request. This effectively means it is changed to suit what is already in place. The final report will be as requested. You don't get to keep working as a consultant if you actively criticise things because the top people will fire you. Many proposals made will be stripped from a report prior to it being finalised.

The consultant rarely gets the entire amount of payment as there are agencies and consultant companies that mostly hold the contracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Kipperhell wrote: »
    I operated as a consultant and I can tell you that is not what happens. A consultant will do many preliminary reports which will be changed per the clients' request. This effectively means it is changed to suit what is already in place. The final report will be as requested. You don't get to keep working as a consultant if you actively criticise things because the top people will fire you. Many proposals made will be stripped from a report prior to it being finalised.

The consultant rarely gets the entire amount of payment as there are agencies and consultant companies that mostly hold the contracts.
    It's unfair to tar all with the same brush granted but you have to admit their are some awful gob****es out there riding the system. They're not young lads either, they're well established.

They are charging way to much as well, their charging what they can get away with. Maybe the blame can't be laid at the feet of individuals because it's the system that's to blame but that still doesn't make it right.

It's unfair to tar all with the same brush granted but you have to admit their are some awful gob****es out there riding the system. They're not young lads either, they're well established.

They are charging way to much as well, their charging what they can get away with. Maybe the blame can't be laid at the feet of individuals because it's the system that's to blame but that still doesn't make it right.

I completely disagree with you. The problem is with management they simply don't want change as it often makes them appear to be wasting money for years. I have been in situations explaining how expensive a process was and how pointless it was. Management would have reasons not to do it some valid some not. I had to redesign an interface because it made a process require one less person. Management wanted to avoid union issues so insisted we change the system to make it more difficult to use and requiring more people. So they were charged twice for the same piece of software ultimately ending up with what they had to start with.

The only place I experienced this was in state and semi-state organisations. No private company would have the same issues. It is both risky and difficult being a consultant but the agencies and consultant companies make the money. Many senior consultants are hired out at huge rates but may only see 10% of that. I know early on I was paid about €40 a day and charged out at €600 a day.

no. why would i pick communist out of the sky as a negative attribute?

when i said communist, i meant communist. good/bad/indifferent, if i said it, i fuking meant it.

Ye, fair enough. I guess I read something into it that you didn't mean to say at all.

my god i was in a bad mood before lunch ta post the above.. :o fekin work..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Exclusive to Irish people?

It seems so. We are a nation of begruging cnuts TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

Hi All

to save me reading all the replys just who is overpaid