Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Openly Racist Taxi Union

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Not as shocking as his facial hair but shocking nonetheless. Does "non-national" mean someone from the UK would be excluded....I think not. We all know what it means. Taxi men score yet anoter own goal. Fair play to the "non-nationals" who passed these silly pickets and made a heap of money today. Self employed people going on strike, ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Christ. It's not racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

"We can only take in local Cork men who are affiliated to the local Cork taxi meter area"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I agree. That's how a free market works. If taxi driving's not profitable, find a new job, that is. Everyone else has to do it. Why should taxi drivers be special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

I dont believe it! I really don't There's still twats like him in this country? (cork man not the "non-national") Seriously way overboard. I lol'd 2day thinking of how taxi drivers continue to moan all the time and strike at the drop of a hat yet they only hurt themselves as people will just take buses, drive instead.
    Fair play to all who continuedto work today and contribute to the irish economy.

Blisterman wrote: »
    I agree. That's how a free market works. If taxi driving's not profitable, find a new job, that is. Everyone else has to do it. Why should taxi drivers be special.

Not to derail the thread, but can the same not be said about any other job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,987 ✭✭✭✭kippy

amacachi wrote: »
    Christ. It's not racism.

What is it then?

Jaysus, That attitude is shocking in fairness but I hope is not indicitave of the majority of drivers......
    There does appear to be similiar racial tensions going on around Galway for the past few years also in the same profession.
    Id like to see their "constitution" as he puts it.......

I do agree with the taxi drivers, there are FAR too many cabs on the streets, in Galway anway. That said no one is forcing them to be taxi drivers.

kippy wrote: »
    What is it then?

Jaysus, That attitude is shocking in fairness but I hope is not indicitave of the majority of drivers......
    There does appear to be similiar racial tensions going on around Galway for the past few years also in the same profession.
    Id like to see their "constitution" as he puts it.......

I do agree with the taxi drivers, there are FAR too many cabs on the streets, in Galway anway. That said no one is forcing them to be taxi drivers.

Is saying "I hate americans" racist? No. Race and nationality are two different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Any other job where you're a sole trader; yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Heroditas wrote: »
    "We can only take in local Cork men who are affiliated to the local Cork taxi meter area"

Would be very interesting if it transpired that some of the members of the union are originally from Dublin, Limerick, Tipperary, Glasgow or Melbourne etc.
    And with a pink skinned complexion.

I don;t understand. That's what I said.

Is saying "I hate americans" racist? No. Race and nationality are two different things.

It's Xenophobic, which is still discrimination.

Have you seen this "constitution" that the guy is talking about?
    He didnt say anything about hating anyone, he mentioned that they didnt allow a certain category of taxi driver into their "union".
    Perhaps not racist, but at the VERY least it is discriminatory and open to a legal challenge.

Why would the guys NOT in the union (and not ALLOWED to get into the union) stop working for the day in "Support" of there striking "colleagues"?

I don;t understand. That's what I said.
    Ah no, that's grand, good to know that someone agrees that anyone striking over pay or hours should just go get a better job.
    It's Xenophobic, which is still discrimination.

Still not racism :)

kippy wrote: »
    Have you seen this "constitution" that the guy is talking about?
    He didnt say anything about hating anyone, he mentioned that they didnt allow a certain category of taxi driver into their "union".
    Perhaps not racist, but at the VERY least it is discriminatory and open to a legal challenge.

Why would the guys NOT in the union (and not ALLOWED to get into the union) stop working for the day in "Support" of there striking "colleagues"?

I just hate seeing incorrect words being thrown around when it comes to this kind of thing.

And they're absolutely right not to support the strike if they're not in the union :)

I just hate seeing incorrect words being thrown around when it comes to this kind of thing.

And they're absolutely right not to support the strike if they're not in the union :)
    Fair enough and I agree.
    It may not be racist but it is discriminatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Ah no, that's grand, good to know that someone agrees that anyone striking over pay or hours should just go get a better job.

They are striking because they feel the market should be artificially limited so they have less competition, thats bad which ever way you look at it.

They are self employed. Their pay and hours are entirely decided by themselves. They are not oppressed or forced to work long hours. Therefore, if they dotn like it, get a different job (just like a shope owner or anyone else who runs their own business)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Unless there are barriers to entry that benefit the consumer, nothing's going to change.

The only barrier to entry I could think of that might benefit us would be ludicrously strict tests to show geographical knowledge of your area, like in London. That's it.

Anyway, deregulate prices and let us haggle, that'll scare teh fúckers.

Stekelly wrote: »
    They are striking because they feel the market should be artificially limited so they have less competition, thats bad which ever way you look at it.

They are self employed. Their pay and hours are entirely decided by themselves. They are not oppressed or forced to work long hours.

In order to make a liveable wage they'll have to work long hours. Illegally long hours in any other job. Shorten the hours would mean less competition. And their pay is somewhat decided by the meter.

They are not working for anyone. They decide their own hours. Therefore they have no comback.

The fare on the meter is a Maximum fare (which they are also giving out about iirc) they are free to offer lower fares to get business, but so far I have only heard of 1 company doing this.

I know a guy that opened a franchise of McDonalds. He worked 7 days a week , long hours each day without moaning. It was his business that he opened and did the hours he felt appropriat. Such is the world of owning your own business. If he diecided it was too hard would you support him going out into the shopping centre the restaurant was in and picketing for the other restaurants to be closed so he didnt have to work as hard or as long to earn his money?

They are not working for anyone. They decide their own hours. Therefore they have no comback.

The fare on the meter is a Maximum fare (which they are also giving out about iirc) they are free to offer lower fares to get business, but so far I have only heard of 1 company doing this.

I know a guy that opened a franchise of McDonalds. He woprked 7 days a week , long hours each day without moaning. It was his business that he opened and did the hours he felt appropriat. Such is the world of ownign your own business.

So having lower fares would increase their income? With the amount of Taxis around they would all have to lower the fares for sales to go up by any discernable amount, lowering wages again.

And fair play to him, but how many other branches of McDonalds were parked alongside him?:pac:

TBH without the pay excuse I actually agree with much of what they're calling for. Not a direct cap on the numbers, but at least some kind of test so the drivers know where they're going. A proper vetting system would be great too!

And fair play to him, but how many other branches of McDonalds were parked alongside him?:pac:

I'd have expected a BK and a Subway in close proximity to most McD's sites these days...

Most shopping centres now have a few restaurants. Take Liffey Valley for example. The food court has Burger King, McDonalds, KFC, Abrakebabra and a few small coffee shops etc. Theres also an Eddie Rockets , a Pizza Hut , a Burger place and a steakhouse aswell as more coffee shops downstairs.

Wheres all the pickets to protect the poor restaurants there from going out of business?

So having lower fares would increase their income? With the amount of Taxis around they would all have to lower the fares for sales to go up by any discernable amount, lowering wages again.
    !

I heard an ad on the radio this morning for a pub in Stillorgan offering €3 drinks (they said all drinks but I'm sure theres some T&c's). Are they doing this out of the goodness of their hearts?

We certainly have no shortage of pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

They are self employed. Their pay and hours are entirely decided by themselves. They are not oppressed or forced to work long hours. Therefore, if they dotn like it, get a different job (just like a shope owner or anyone else who runs their own business)
    No THEY ARE NOT STRIKING BECAUSE OF THAT .Perhaps you should get the FULL facts before you made incorrect comments.
    Secondly THEY ARE forced to work longer hours ,THEY HAVE TO to try and earn a living most do 12- 14 hours a day /night .Thats not sustainable and breaks all health and safety mesaures .Most drivers i know cannot break even .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

i fully support the taxi drivers of cork. blacks coming in using cheap ****ty cars in the taxi buisness . and the cheek of the blacks to cross the picket line what the feck do they think there doing . immigrants taking our benifits and going back to there own country what do they contribute to our country .. people its about time ye wake up and start being a bit more republican .....

PS. THEY USE OF THE WORD BLACK IS NOT RACIST THE CALL ME WHITE .

MYOB wrote: »
    I'd have expected a BK and a Subway in close proximity to most McD's sites these days...
    Most shopping centres now have a few restaurants. Take Liffey Valley for example. The food court has Burger King, McDonalds, KFC, Abrakebabra and a few small coffee shops etc. Theres also an Eddie Rockets , a Pizza Hut , a Burger place and a steakhouse aswell as more coffee shops downstairs.

Wheres all the pickets to protect the poor restaurants there from going out of business?

It was a joke :)
    I heard an ad on the radio this morning for a pub in Stillorgan offering €3 drinks (they said all drinks but I'm sure theres some T&c's). Are they doing this out of the goodness of their hearts?

Pubs and taxis are hardly comparable, big difference in margins.
    3fullback wrote: »
    i fully support the taxi drivers of cork. blacks coming in using cheap ****ty cars in the taxi buisness . and the cheek of the blacks to cross the picket line what the feck do they think there doing . immigrants taking our benifits and going back to there own country what do they contribute to our country .. people its about time ye wake up and start being a bit more republican .....

Do all the blacks drive ****ty cars? And all the whites drive immaculate cars? I strongly doubt it. Any black taxi drivers in town that I've used have Octavias, Passats etc. and every car has been completely clean on the inside. I've never been in a taxi driven by a black man that broke down. Unfortunately I can't say the same for the white drivers. Never mind my mate getting out of a minibus and tripping on the wires hanging in the passenger-side floor.

And why in the name of Jesus would or should a driver not allowed to join a union then support that union's strike action? If any of them had their cars damage I hope they went to the Gardaí.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭jack90210

If any of them had their cars damage I hope they went to the Gardaí.:)

One of the "protesters" looked like he was about to give the working taximans car a kick but then realised the cameras were on him.

It was a joke :)

Pubs and taxis are hardly comparable, big difference in margins.

Do all the blacks drive ****ty cars? And all the whites drive immaculate cars? I strongly doubt it. Any black taxi drivers in town that I've used have Octavias, Passats etc. and every car has been completely clean on the inside. I've never been in a taxi driven by a black man that broke down. Unfortunately I can't say the same for the white drivers. Never mind my mate getting out of a minibus and tripping on the wires hanging in the passenger-side floor.

And why in the name of Jesus would or should a driver not allowed to join a union then support that union's strike action? If any of them had their cars damage I hope they went to the Gardaí.:)

some one would want to bring you to the gardai

come on them taxi drivers have been working in cork many of them for 20 years and when times get good the buisness gets swarmed with blacks trying to get a bit of soft cash .. these people have'nt contributed to the irish economie at all .. and the thing is they wont go home..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Sweet ****ing Jesus... I let that keep going, and heard Mary Harney just say: "We spend about 1.2 billion in the HSE on work practices that are quite honestly archaic and out of date... such as junior doctors getting paid for lunch breaks."

This as she opens a private clinic to a round of applause? I recall reading something about the insane and inhuman hours and obligations placed upon entry level doctors due to chronic understaffing, and she considers payment for lunch breaks to be an archaic and out of date work practice that needs reform? We need to oust these ****tards, and soon. Jesus f*cking Christ...

Also, yer man should be charged, arrested and hung for those muttonchops, whatever about the drivel that came out of his mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

come on them taxi drivers have been working in cork many of them for 20 years and when times get good the buisness gets swarmed with blacks trying to get a bit of soft cash .. these people have'nt contributed to the irish economie at all .. and the thing is they wont go home..

Boohoo, poor taxi drivers who sat in their comfort zone for 20 years minting it. Now there's a bit of competition they are feeling the heat. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

You're hilarious.

What exactly has the union done for "the blacks"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I really dont understand the taxi mens argument. Its unskilled labor. They were making FAR too much money from the profession for a long long time. Far more than similarly skilled jobs. If they aren't happy with the amount of money they are making, get a new job. They seem to feel they are entitled to something which they arent.

oisindoyle wrote: »
    No THEY ARE NOT STRIKING BECAUSE OF THAT .Perhaps you should get the FULL facts before you made incorrect comments.

Maybe you should let them know so they can stop going on the Radio and TV and to the papers saying they want a cap on licenses.
    oisindoyle wrote: »
    Secondly THEY ARE forced to work longer hours ,THEY HAVE TO to try and earn a living most do 12- 14 hours a day /night .Thats not sustainable and breaks all health and safety mesaures .Most drivers i know cannot break even ..

See heres how you dont understand how running your own business works. To say they HAVE to , means someone is forcign them. The answer, just like with anyone else workign long hours in their own business that doesnt want to, is to get out of te business.

Any chance you could explain, without loads of caps and "lol lol lol", why taxi drivers are soecial among the self employed and warrant protection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Oh dear...

NEWS JUST IN : BLACK PEOPLE DRIVE ****TY CARS

xzibit.jpg

****ing cracka ass honkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

1. How exactly is it that you know these "blacks" are not already home? Have you checked all their passports? Last I checked being "Irish" was not an exclusivly white club.

2. Not contributed the the Irish "economie" (sic) at all? Right so your man has never paid for food, rent, insurance, vehicle tax, VRT, VAT. Damn, I'll pop down their and ask them how they survive not eating and all.

Your argument is little more than a joke. Welcome to the real world.

For what?

And which is your problem with them? The fact that they're working for a living? Would you rather they signed on and claimed the dole? Or is it just their general presence that annoys you?
    passive wrote: »
    Sweet ****ing Jesus... I let that keep going, and heard Mary Harney just say: "We spend about 1.2 billion in the HSE on work practices that are quite honestly archaic and out of date... such as junior doctors getting paid for lunch breaks."

This as she opens a private clinic to a round of applause? I recall reading something about the insane and inhuman hours and obligations placed upon entry level doctors due to chronic understaffing, and she considers payment for lunch breaks to be an archaic and out of date work practice that needs reform? We need to oust these ****tards, and soon. Jesus f*cking Christ...

Also, yer man should be charged, arrested and hung for those muttonchops, whatever about the drivel that came out of his mouth.

Yep, it's ridiculous. Meanwhile unskilled workers in the civil service are striking over having an under-40-hour flexitime working week. God I love this country sometimes.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

Derry Coughlan - Taxi Driver: "Well from the Cork Taxi Drivers point of view, our constitutions doesn't allow us to take in any non nationals at the moment, we can only take in local Cork men, who are affiliated to the Cork Taxi meter area"
    TV Reporter: "Surley that's illegal?"

Derry Coughlan - Taxi Driver:"Er well, it's open to interpretation, it's open to Challenge"

IrishGrover - angry Poster - "An one wonders why Taxi drivers had a bad name and a reputation for being arseholes. Derry Coughlan and like minded people, trade unionists have lived and died to protect workers from a$$holes like you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

you guys bitch about this, then bitch when you get a taxi from some black guy and he hasn't got a clue which way to drive you home

Never once had a black taxi driver ask me the way to my house. Had plenty of white drivers ask though.

Generally I find the drivers who don't know where they're going are the Dubs! Always found that Dubliners know their way around their city less than most tourists do; its the outsiders who do know.

I had a Dublin driver ask me how to get to Maynooth before. And a driver in Lucan wanting to take the old road to the south of Maynooth (2km longer, traffic lights everywhere vs. clear run on the motorway)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 uiscebeatha

To be honest I've had that problem with local white Cork drivers.... well he probably did have a good idea but figured he'd pocket more by going the long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

please don't talk ****e on my behalf......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

and the cheek of the blacks to cross the picket line what the feck do they think there doing

I really dont know where to start as your post is absolute rubbish but no taxi driver working crossed a picket line as it was a protest and not a strike. You need an employer to have a strike.
    immigrants taking our benifits and going back to there own country what do they contribute to our country .. people its about time ye wake up and start being a bit more republican .....

Well I suppose any self employed person contributes through taxation, unless you know some urban myth where immigrants 'taking all the jobs' get a special rate and also a free bmw every year. Im sure you do
    PS. THEY USE OF THE WORD BLACK IS NOT RACIST THE CALL ME WHITE A NUTJOB
    Fixed your post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

jack90210 wrote: »
    Pretty shocking to be honest!

http://www.tv3.ie/news.php?video=7244&locID=1.2.141

Starts a little bit into the video.

Thats a ****ing disgrace! I feel ashamed to call these people (Derry Coughlan Cork Taxi Assoc) my colleagues, fine if your a racist have a bit of cop and dont go broadcasting it on national television.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 366 ✭✭Mad Finn

TBH without the pay excuse I actually agree with much of what they're calling for. Not a direct cap on the numbers, but at least some kind of test so the drivers know where they're going. A proper vetting system would be great too!

Totally agree with you about a proper vetting system. But I would point out sweetly that before deregulation a few years ago both the country's most notorious bank robber (the Monk) and the country's most notorious sex offender (well one of them anyway) namely the guy at the heart of the X case, both got taxi licenses. So where there's a will, there's always been a way for low life to get taxi licenses.

As to the test: 10 years ago maybe. But know that we have invented that useful little device called a GPS receiver and have all that useful software that combines your exact location with a map and lets you plot your route automatically, then such a test is redundant.

So a taxi driver's job is being deskilled. Like that of blacksmiths, newspaper compositors and copy takers, coopers, elevator operators etc etc etc

The world is changing. Adapt or perish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Heard this on the radio this morning ( Newstalk )

I was really very shocked.

Is this guy correct that the constitution of their assc only allows ' local Cork men, who are affiliated to the Cork Taxi meter area ' ?

The black guy I assume is a local Cork taxi driver , why else would he want to join this assc ? So why can't he join , I assume because he is black ?

I hope the Cork Taxi Drivers assc gets ' taken to the cleaners ' if this guy is correct and this is in their constitution.

I hope it's just one very ingorant person who cannot understand that ' all people are equal ' and needs some education

As for some of the postings here , I hope they are 'tongue in cheek ' because they are bordering on inflamatory.

Tusky wrote: »
    I really dont understand the taxi mens argument. Its unskilled labor. They were making FAR too much money from the profession for a long long time. Far more than similarly skilled jobs. If they aren't happy with the amount of money they are making, get a new job. They seem to feel they are entitled to something which they arent.

So your saying that you need to be skilled ie. have an education to make a bit of money i find that to be very discriminatory.

I pose a question to you all if you were working in dell in limerick and were let go due to "the economic climate" ie. cheaper labour in poland. Ok you cant really do anything because the've made there decision to move and you've recieved your p45. (these jobs are also unskilled)
    Now how would you like it in this situation your working in dell and you are made redundant, due to dell flying over cheap labour from poland . Your not going to sit around a let it happen foreigners coming in taking your job there would be outrage .
    This is what is happening to our taxi men no seems to realise what ever happened to people standing up for there fellow irish man and supporting the green white gold .
    Some of ye are just to soft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Martyr

nice sideburns, derry :D