Woman (19) put in jail over dog leash fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Sure who among us hasn't spent some time in The Joy?

No big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭claiva

Maybe this case will send a message to all those citizens in this country that think it is acceptable to allow their dog to foul the footpaths and green spaces where children play. I have no problem with people walking their dogs in public areas as long as A) they are kept under control (doesn't have to be on a leash if the dog is not a pitbull) and B) the owner cleans up the excrement that the dog leaves behind.
    She was out of the country so she couldn't be at her hearing - where was she ???? On holiday I assume - her defence was she couldn't afford the fine ????? Give me a break.
    One of my children happens to be terrified of dogs and if I had a euro for each time a huge dog jumps up on him in parks and the owner smiles and says " don't mind him, he loves children" while my 4 year old goes into near cardiac arrest I'd be a very rich man.
    It doesn't matter if the dog loves children, my child doesn't love dogs, don't leave your dog jump up on him please !!!!

Dog poo is toxic and can cause blindness in children.
    Clean it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

DonJose wrote: »
    The Irish courts give out suspended sentences to child molesting priests, killers, drink drivers, drug dealers and every other scumbag yet they sentence a girl to 5 days in prison for not paying a fine for walking a dog without lease. WTF :eek:

case by case

should we let her away with everything because its not as bad as what some priest done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭fillmore jive

Wail till the Citizen hears about all this......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

claiva wrote: »
    Maybe this case will send a message to all those citizens in this country that think it is acceptable to allow their dog to foul the footpaths and green spaces where children play. I have no problem with people walking their dogs in public areas as long as A) they are kept under control (doesn't have to be on a leash if the dog is not a pitbull) and B) the owner cleans up the excrement that the dog leaves behind.
    She was out of the country so she couldn't be at her hearing - where was she ???? On holiday I assume - her defence was she couldn't afford the fine ????? Give me a break.
    One of my children happens to be terrified of dogs and if I had a euro for each time a huge dog jumps up on him in parks and the owner smiles and says " don't mind him, he loves children" while my 4 year old goes into near cardiac arrest I'd be a very rich man.
    It doesn't matter if the dog loves children, my child doesn't love dogs, don't leave your dog jump up on him please !!!!

Dog poo is toxic and can cause blindness in children.
    Clean it up.

How many of these did you report? I have no problem with making people leash their dogs and having to clean up after them, I have a problem with someone being put in prison for it! I dare say the time she spent in prison cost us a damn sight more than the €500 fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,349 ✭✭✭✭walshb

She was put in prison because she didn't pay a fine, not for the offence!

We moan when the law is not enforced and we moan
    when it is enforced:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭claiva

How many of these did you report? I have no problem with making people leash their dogs and having to clean up after them, I have a problem with someone being put in prison for it! I dare say the time she spent in prison cost us a damn sight more than the €500 fine!

Who could I report it to ? The Gardai ?
    Come on, I wouldn't waste their time. They have more important problems to deal with.
    I tackled someone recently and he threatened to call the Guards on me because I was being abusive !!!!
    I asked him to clean up after his dog that I had just seen fouling the pavement. The owner waved an empty plastic bag at me.....somehow believing that it admonished him from any wrong doing. When I pointed out to him that it was empty, he said I was being abusive and threatened to call the Guards and left.
    Some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Irlbo

I know of people caught with a dozen kilos of cocaine who are still waiting to be sentenced three years after being caught,walking around,going on holidays,most likely still selling,but if they had a doggie without his leech they'd be locked up within a week,says alot about this stupid states legal system doesnt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

Obviously, the dog was at fault.

Nice to see Sinn Féin jumping on the bandwagon, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Irlbo wrote: »
    I know of people caught with a dozen kilos of cocaine who are still waiting to be sentenced three years after being caught,walking around,going on holidays,most likely still selling,but if they had a doggie without his leech they'd be locked up within a week,says alot about this stupid states legal system doesnt it

Then your choices are we bring in a set fine or sentence for dealing drugs or we deal with each dog not on leash issue one by one in the courts. Strange as it is petty crimes tend to come with set punishments so she was already sentenced as such.

walshb wrote: »

My problem is not that the law was enforced! It was the way it was enforced, it smacks of picking a soft target tbh. I don't see why this woman was jailed for not paying a fine, when there are many more serious crimes being committed that are going unpunished or are being punished leniently. This is overkill pure and simple and shows the legal system in this country up for the ass it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Irlbo

Obviously, the dog was at fault.

Dont see any other political parties getting involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Cllr Dessie Ellis knows more than most about imprisonment. He's former IRA and he spent almost 10 locked up for posession of explosives in the 1980's.

He hadn't paid his fine either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

why was the dog not given the death penalty for this terrible crime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

walshb wrote: »

We moan when it's enforced badly, which is all the time unfortunately. Look at the shower of travellers on Paddy's Day in Tipperary getting handed only public order offences for beating the crap out of people, and this girl is sent to prison for not paying a fine for not having her dog on a leash. Sure she should have paid the fine, but it really highlights the inequality in the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

I'm going to assume for my own amusement that she was a tracksuited knackbag with hoopy earrings walking a pitbull unleashed beside a park where young children were playing. The fact that I saw Dessie Ellis involved makes me think that this is lilkely to be the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Wagon wrote: »
    We moan when it's enforced badly, which is all the time unfortunately. Look at the shower of travellers on Paddy's Day in Tipperary getting handed only public order offences for beating the crap out of people, and this girl is sent to prison for not paying a fine for not having her dog on a leash. Sure she should have paid the fine, but it really highlights the inequality in the law.

Your example highlights the equality of the law - if the lads in Tipperary had been college students and not 'a shower of travellers' do you think they'd have got the death penalty or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭axer

A fine is something easy to prosecute on - you have either paid it or not. Other types of cases are not so clear cut. That is why it was so easy to send this girl to jail for not paying.

I wonder has she paid the fine yet? If not, then it is back to prison again or does she not have to pay it now just because she staying in the Joy Inn for 2 days?

As many have pointed out already, the girl wasn't sent to prison
    for the offence, it was refusing to abide by the rule of the court and
    a jail sentence would apply in all cases involving this, form
    no payment of parking fines to tv licence, to contempt of court etc.

I have to say, for any Politician to be sticking their nose in, in defence
    or in support of the ruling is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Your example highlights the equality of the law
    I was interested to see where you went with this. Seemed like you had an interesting point to make but then i read...
    - if the lads in Tipperary had been college students and not 'a shower of travellers' do you think they'd have got the death penalty or something?
    What the hell does that mean? That I'm having a go cos they're travellers? If they lived in gaffs and got away with it I'd still feel just as angry about it. If they were students and got away with it I'd still feel the same way. The law should apply equally to everyone, not just a certain person.
    axer wrote: »
    A fine is something easy to prosecute on - you have either paid it or not. Other types of cases are not so clear cut. That is why it was so easy to send this girl to jail for not paying.
    Nah there was plenty of evidance. A lot of eye witnesses. Including the guards themselves.

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Cllr Dessie Ellis knows more than most about imprisonment. He's former IRA and he spent almost 10 locked up for posession of explosives in the 1980's.

He hadn't paid his fine either.

Regardless of his past, he is very well respected in the community and has a reputation for getting things done, don't get me wrong I have never voted for the shinners and probably won't any time soon, however he has done a lot of good work! The reason you see his name has probably something to do with the fact that Pat Carey couldn't give a toss about Finglas since he got moved up the party food chain!

it's still not clear cut.

I don't see why anyone is surprised here. She got a fine and refused
    to pay it. The last line was prison, it had to happen and happens
    in so many other cases. They couldn't simply let it go!
    It's not like she wasn't warned or given
    time to pay. The law was initially in her
    favor and she refused to abide by it.

She had to expect consequences!

There have been lesser examples where
    folks went to prison; sometimes, interrupting a judge
    can result in a person being sent to the slammer!

Nah there was plenty of evidance. A lot of eye witnesses. Including the guards themselves.
    That is still not as clear cut as failing to pay a fine. You have to make sure defendants are identified properly etc - none of that applies to a simple non-payment of fine. All the paper work is there clear as can possibly be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,650 ✭✭✭Riddle101

On 5 days, I'd have made her eat the dog instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

I think that the woman was on the Gerry Ryan show this morning. The radio was on in the background in work but I was only half listening to it as I wasnt aware of this story until a few minutes ago.

If it is the same woman she mentioned that she had planned to go to Australia at the end of the year but she cant go now as she has a criminal conviction.

gazzer wrote: »
    If it is the same woman she mentioned that she had planned to go to Australia at the end of the year but she cant go now as she has a criminal conviction.
    She can afford to go to australia but not a 500 euro fine?

Bet she will pay the next fine quickly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

axer wrote: »
    Bet she will pay the next fine quickly.

Or even better, get a leash for the dog :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I preferred the days when Australia was a good way of getting rid of our criminals. Pity they decided to get so picky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I thought that was the only way you could go there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    I'm guessing she wasn't the most desireable member of society to begin with.

Why do you say that? Because it says she's from Finglas? - If that's your basis for saying that then there is something seriously wrong with you.