Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From A More Innocent Age...

• 29-03-2009 3:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭

what do you remember from the news when you were younger? Didn't it seem like a more innocent time?
    I remember all the Dublin papers and radio stations reporting on the 'removal' of the 7 foot tall cardboard cut out of Batman from the Carlton cinema in O'Connell st. in Dublin which was present to promote the new Batman film of the time...
    I remember being in the back of the car, my dad driving and hearing it on either the news or a radio daytime talkshow...Like it was a horrendous crime and it being embarrassing to Ireland as the movie company had loaned it to us and we'd lost it.

anyone got any other good ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

Innocent and naive, and also embarrassed by certain things, like being IRISH cause we though our neighbours across the water were so much more hip than us.:o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Innocent too. Back then it was "I can't!" Now? Ha!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,473 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

I remember the divorce referendum being such a big deal. Parents talking about it with their friends and me worried they'd get divorced for some reason. And all the shocking stuff that used to talked about on dublin talk radio at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

The Rose of Tralee was the epitome of the wholesome Irish cailin and there always a fair bit of gossip and news time devoted to the arrival of the girls in town. God forbid if one of the girls (invariably an Aussie sheila) was spotted wearing into some strapping local lad. It would literally set the news desk on fire!

People getting shot and bombed every second day in NI. Real innocent times indeed !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

rarnes1 wrote: »
    People getting shot and bombed every second day in NI. Real innocent times indeed !

Hope your parents explained it for you. When I asked what it was all about, I was told 'Because the English are bästards that wont give back our counties'.

It didnt wash with me, there were people dying over it. So the books came out.There was war in the house when I came out with a few of my own takes on it. 'let it go ffs. With attitudes like like yours, no wonder theres people dying'.

That one earned me a smack and a lecture every time I went near my grand-mothers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Thought that everything was Irish, like Kelloggs Cornflakes and that cars were made here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

+1 for constant news bulletins about endless bombs, knee-cappings, murders and bombscares. Everyday! So much so that I never really took in what was happening.

I grew up in suburbia Dublin late 70s/ 80s early 90s so I wasn't effected directly at all but I remember I had this sense that it was the norm to live in a country where terrorism was part of life. I guess I believed it was just part of being Irish!

I remember going to France when I was in 6th Year and people asking me was it dangerous where I lived? I was like wtf? Why would it be? Even when I did my J1 in America in 94, I laughed at people's reaction to my nationality. Wondering did I hate Protestants etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 P Davis

I remember my birthday party when i was 6 all the kid on the street where i lilved were there and green jelly and ice cream was the high light of the party happy day ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I remember all the Dublin papers and radio stations reporting on the 'removal' of the 7 foot tall cardboard cut out of Batman from the Carlton cinema in O'Connell st. in Dublin which was present to promote the new Batman film of the time...
    That was August 1966! :eek:
    What are you still doing up at 5:45am ?
    You should be resting, the staff in that home should be sued for negligence. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I remember believing because we lived in the west of Ireland, that it was the Wild West with Clint Eastwood etc.

The news was full of murders and shootings, but it was the lack of horses that had me stumped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

N. Ireland, Lebanon, Iran and also the cringe news when someone from Ireland was no. 1 on top of the pops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I remember various tribunals and the government screwing the public. We've come a long way baby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Abigayle wrote: »

Hope your parents explained it for you. When I asked what it was all about, I was told 'Because the English are bästards that wont give back our counties'.

I didn't need my parents to tell me that. I was lucky enough to have a particularily pompous History teacher to inform me of that fact.

Same history teacher even wrote a textbook. In one chapter he compared the history and the current social situation (this was early 1990's) of the USA vs USSR/Russia. According to the book all American families lived in big mansions with lovely cars and all the hi-tech gadety. All Russian families all lived in tiny darkly-lit apartments the size of a cell in mountjoy somewhere 25 stories up of some hi-rise block in a featureless urban wasteland.

IIRC there was another chapter full of anti-Cromwell propaganda that more or less concluded the guy liked to wake up in the morning, have his breakfast and then spend the rest of the day killing women & babies with a vice and a hot poker. Now, I'm not saying that *wasn't* true but.....

Good to see we have such people molding young minds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Hephaestus

what do you remember from the news when you were younger?

My memories from the early nineties:

*Troubles in the north
    *Gulf war
    *Kilkenny winning all ireland titles

I guess some things never change.

We had a decent football team though. Italia 90 - Ooh the memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Hephaestus wrote: »
    Italia 90 - Ooh the memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

When the Power Rangers secret hideaway was blown up.

Things were never the same for me after that, so many memories :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

When the Power Rangers secret hideaway was blown up.

Things were never the same for me after that, so many memories :(

Yep. No amount of attitude is going to help you get through that when you're a teenager...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I sent them many a letter pleading with them, asking why they would do such a thing, but with no reply!

Don't even start me on the green ranger, grr...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Does anyone else remember the 'SMOG Alerts' in the '80s in Dublin?

They made out like SMOG was some killer wave that was going to destroy us all.

I remeber int Tallagh, loads of mothers sending their young fellas out to play with
    crappy white breathing masks on to protect them from the SMOG.
    In a roundabout way SMOG really did cause them some serious injuries...

I also remember the man-hunt for Dessy O'Hare,
    the Gardaí came and checked if he was hiding in our attic.

Can't remember much else apart from not being allowed up to see Dallas...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I remember being handed a book called the golly wogs

I remember licking golly wogs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Charlie "tighten your belts" Haughey.

I think we were a bit too innocent for our own good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

jester77 wrote: »

really they where sweets weren't that enid blightin racist ???

Golly wog ice-creams. It was just plain vanilla ice-cream (the irony) on a stick!

Edit: they were actually called golly bars with a picture of a golly wog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭yellowcurl

God i remember those icecreams!! And freaky foots! Funny how they were only taken off the market (golly bars) relatively recently in terms anti-racism movements. I still remember them from 96/97 i think.

Bill and Ben the flowerpot men. I saw a part of an episode lately and only now really saw the strings holding them up.... there's a smidge of my childhood gone forever... :( Plus makes me wonder if i had really bad eyesight as a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Hephaestus

jester77 wrote: »

Sure whatever turns you on ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭illiop

yellowcurl wrote: »
    God i remember those icecreams!! And freaky foots! Funny how they were only taken off the market (golly bars) relatively recently in terms anti-racism movements. I still remember them from 96/97 i think.

They don't make Golly Bars any more...thats news to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I remember my first trip to a cinema, it was to the Adelphi in Middle Abbey St to see Who Framed Roger Rabbit? :D and watching the newsmen talk about Martin "The General" Cahill on the tv haha!:pac:

Oh how could i forget seeing the Transformers and Thundercats cartoons on every day, the first time The Simpsons was aired on a new channel 'Sky One' and Ulysses 51 i think it was, space based cartoon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I also remember the man-hunt for Dessy O'Hare,
    the Gardaí came and checked if he was hiding in our attic.

Can't remember much else apart from not being allowed up to see Dallas...

We had that too. Did they check everyones attic?

I was allowed to watch Dallas though. :D

and Ulysses 31 i think it was, space based cartoon...

U-leeeee-sEEEEEEEeeeeeEEEEEEeeeeEEEEs

i remember when they showed Glenroe and Star Trek: the next generation and Dallas on RTE as prime time viewing! Deadly!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

rarnes1 wrote: »

'Top o the mornin, would ye like to be stepping outside till I put one behind yer ear..?'

The quaint way the donkey and cart would dump yer carcass on a unapproved road in South Armagh...

Sally O'Brien, and the way she'd hold the candle under the spoon while you got your works out....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

i remember when they showed Glenroe and Star Trek: the next generation and Dallas on RTE as prime time viewing! Deadly!!

7 o clock of a Saturday. Phone calls used be answered with "notnowstartrek, downafter, Illgodevaneysgetaflagon, goodluck"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

The Vietnamese "Boat People".

Spike Island.

GUBU

Moving Statues - Ballinspittle.

Papal visit - being shocked that there were protestors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Sally O'Brien, aka Vicky Michelle, was English not Irish, bloody MI5. She later infiltrated the French Resistance in 'Allo 'Allo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Abigayle wrote: »

It didnt wash with me, there were people dying over it. So the books came out.There was war in the house when I came out with a few of my own takes on it. 'let it go ffs. With attitudes like like yours, no wonder theres people dying'.

That one earned me a smack and a lecture every time I went near my grand-mothers.

I was the opposite I got into trouble in primary school for saying the English were all bastards... I've toned my views down since then but Im still a republican.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Watching Dallas after the saturday night bath wrapped in the towel.

Seeing Back To The Future 3 in the cinema, my first trip.

Trying to dig up dinosaur bones in the back garden :D

I think my first trip to cinema, was with my dad and my best friend Richard. We saw Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, headed to shop afterwards for sweets while the aul man went for a pint, us two lads sitting happily eating our sweets!