Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

funny things you see in the gym

• 28-03-2009 11:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭

had to start this thread after today, was up in TF sandyford and i was changing for the pool when this guy comes in after finishing his workout, goes over to his bag, and pulls out a lunchbox with a steak and starts eating it!. i S##t u not!he didnt even have a knife or fork, just held it like a piece of bread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Just the way alot of the overly muscled gym heads walk around, like they think they're gary cooper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

had to start this thread after today, was up in TF sandyford and i was changing for the pool when this guy comes in after finishing his workout, goes over to his bag, and pulls out a lunchbox with a steak and starts eating it!. i S##t u not!he didnt even have a knife or fork, just held it like a piece of bread

Meh, I'd say fair play, I get funny looks from people when I start eating a pack of chicken in public but if it does the job, its worth it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Just the way alot of the overly muscled gym heads walk around, like they think they're gary cooper.

OMFG "gym heads" in the gym.... What ever next?? :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭dioltas

There was a empty naggin of jack daniels in the changing rooms in my gym once. Maybe some lad thought it would be good for his workout! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

dioltas wrote: »
    There was a empty naggin of jack daniels in the changing rooms in my gym once. Maybe some lad thought it would be good for his workout! :D

Ah ya see, he got mixed up. Arnold drank Jim Beam. There's not even any protein in JD!

125 kcals per 100ml, pffft!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

Anyone see women with lets say a generous bosom on the cardio machines, especially the treadmill,without any bra on??
    Only noticed it once myself but id say the poor girl left the place with two black eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Knives and forks aren't hardcore.... This man obviously has the right idea :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

i didnt have a problem with it, just found it funny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Cole

I don't get the Gary Cooper reference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

How do you define 'overly' muscled?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭telemachus

Anyone considerably more muscled than him :p

Cole wrote: »
    I don't get the Gary Cooper reference?

I assume it's a cowboy reference. The way guys carry themselves like they're about to draw guns.

Also known as carrying carpets/suitcases under your arms, or ILS (Imaginery Lat Syndrome - there's no known cure unfortunately).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

Hanley wrote: »
    I assume it's a cowboy reference. The way guys carry themselves like they're about to draw guns.

Also known as carrying carpets/suitcases under your arms, or ILS (Imaginery Lat Syndrome - there's no known cure unfortunately).

The cure is to build up their lats. Then they're not imaginary any more. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

a few months ago there was a guy in the gym. massively overweight on a treadmill running for all he was worth.

that was fine but he was wearing a pair of Jeans and shoes and a shirt.

The jeans were baggy and they kept almost falling down and he kept having to pull them back up.

Was quite funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

A guy dropped his towel on the treadmill and tried to pick it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

jeasus. i nearly fell off the treadmill two weeks ago.

was too busy staring at a fine toned arse on the step machine in front of me... so that thought me a lesson!

I'm sure those on the treadmills behind me had a good giggle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Cole

Hanley wrote: »

Ah yes...that makes some sense now.
    However John Wayne might have been a better reference because even though Gary Cooper was 6ft 3, he was something of a beanpole.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

.. was up in TF sandyford

I use TF Sandyford, mainly in the mornings before work. Before 7:30, most of the disabled parking spaces are taken. So, either there are a lot of gym bunnies with disabled parking decals, or there are a number of people who'll park in a disabled zone, because they don't want to have too far to walk to the gym door, where they'll spend X minutes exercising & burning calories.

I can never figure that one out.

PS, this behaviour isn't exclusive to TF Sandyford, I've seen in in TF Malahide Road, and other gyms, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

A guy in my gym dries his entire body with the hair dryer. A$$ balls, the lot!

Another guy always gets into the Jacuzzi with me and sit dangerously close.

And then today a guy was in there sitting on a bench with his legs up almost behind his head drying his private(not very imo) area! Some ppl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Gone Fishin

I'm in the Carlisle gym and there is one guy who is of a pretty big build, very well ripped - I mean serious muscle definition. He must have put a hell of a lot of work in, but he knows he looks good. He actually seems very big headed and brazen. If I am doing weights, it seems like he looks down his nose at the "small" weights I am using. Plus he stares at every girl in the gym as if to say "I could have you and you know it." Its very intimidating. Anyway, to cut to the point, he came out of the shower last week and he had a tiny knob, I mean smaller than cocktail sausage small. I know this might seem childish but I was delighted. I'm no Dirk Diggler but I skipped back out to get changed! God is fair in lots of ways, I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

YAG

as they say in shrek "do ya think he's compensating for something..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭mickoo

he came out of the shower last week and he had a tiny knob, I mean smaller than cocktail sausage small. I know this might seem childish but I was delighted. I'm no Dirk Diggler but I skipped back out to get changed! God is fair in lots of ways, I reckon.

He'll probably be on saying there was some puney guy going around the carlisle changing rooms looking at mens willys and smiling about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

I'm in the Carlisle gym and there is one guy who is of a pretty big build, very well ripped - I mean serious muscle definition. He must have put a hell of a lot of work in, but he knows he looks good. He actually seems very big headed and brazen. If I am doing weights, it seems like he looks down his nose at the "small" weights I am using. Plus he stares at every girl in the gym as if to say "I could have you and you know it." Its very intimidating. Anyway, to cut to the point, he came out of the shower last week and he had a tiny knob, I mean smaller than cocktail sausage small. I know this might seem childish but I was delighted. I'm no Dirk Diggler but I skipped back out to get changed! God is fair in lots of ways, I reckon.

this made me laugh :D thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭jayoo

Not so much funny

but all ladies should have good supportive sports bras, protect your assets:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

Something i read recently.....

#1 - You have to spend 5 minutes before your workout flipping through all the magazines in the gym to find one you haven’t read before.

#2 - You know the other cardio addicts on the machines beside you (that you talk to everyday) better than you know your own friends.

#3 - You know exactly how many calories you burn per minute on every machine in the gym. (And you use that information to justify every calorie you eat.)

#4 - You simply hate doing it and dread your workouts more than a trip to the dentist.

#5 - The only thing you are losing is precious time - and not belly fat.

#6 - You go to the gym to watch your favorite television shows while doing cardio.

#7 - You’re getting overuse injuries from repetitive motion because you keep doing the same activity over and over again everyday.

#8 - You do cardio with your cell phone.

#9 - You calves are bigger than your biceps. (My calves are bigger than my biceps!!! But i never use cardio machines!!!)

#10 - You can actually tell the difference between Gatorade and Powerade.

#11 - You asked for a water belt for Christmas.

#12 - You can recognize the members in your gym by the sounds of their breathing.

#13 - Your 8KG iPod is not large enough to store all your workout music.

#14 - You look the exact same as last month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

injured365 wrote: »

#14 - You look the exact same as last month.

Excellent.

But move #14 to #1!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Dub-girl88

My friend was at the gym the other day. He was in the changing room and this man was standing fully naked in front of the mirror shaving his entire body! How weird is that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Errrr..... what's wrong with that :o?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

There's a bloe in my gym who is a couple of sandwiches short of a picnic basket.
    He tends to shriek when he's doing his thing (barbell curls or dips)and its really most disconcerting.
    Whats really off putting is his tendency to scream along to whatever is on his ipod and play airguitar at intervals between sets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Degsy wrote: »
    There's a bloe in my gym who is a couple of sandwiches short of a picnic basket.
    He tends to shriek when he's doing his thing (barbell curls or dips)and its really most disconcerting.
    Whats really off putting is his tendency to scream along to whatever is on his ipod and play airguitar at intervals between sets.

Legend!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

We've a similar lad. He goes to the gym and just seems to dance around the weights area singin to himself. Proper dancing like.

I saw one absolute hero in there one day. He was wearing black combats, caterpillars had long grey hair and a pair of mad sunglasses. Came in and started throwing 1kg dumbbells into the air and catching them and generally faffing about like a madman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭p to the e

i once was doing squats and giving it a bloody good go when a loud fart rolled out. gladly nothing else did but i'm sure several people heard it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Degsy wrote: »

Lol. He also always wears the FULL kit of either a GAA county or an AFL club during his workouts, and yeah it's just curls and dips.

Never forget the day he dropped his barbell, hopped up from behind the preacher bench and shrieked:
    You bin........ You bin...................... THUNDERSTRUCK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

kevpants wrote: »
    Lol. He also always wears the FULL kit of either a GAA county or an AFL club during his workouts, and yeah it's just curls and dips.

Never forget the day he dropped his barbell, hopped up from behind the preacher bench and shrieked:

I know the lad, he clearly listens to a lot of metal music when he's training, hence the "thunderstruck" thing. Have spoke to him a few times, sound lad. I doubt he be the type to give a sh*t whether people think his shouting/singing is odd.

Some strange and funny stuff goes on in that gym i'll tell ya! One of the guys a couple of weeks ago left a heavy oly bar resting on 2 of those plastic stepper things - next thing, i just hear this huge crack as one of the plastic things smashes in half and the bar hits the ground! The guy took it all in good humour and cleared everything up afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

When I used to go to the Arena in UL there was a member of the travelling community (was that said politically correct!?) who used to come in and take off his top while doing his dumbell shoulder presses on the benches. He'd sit there with no top on, looking at himself in the mirror while covering the bench with sweat. He'd get up afterwards, walk away and leave the bench soaked with his sweat...pure rotten!

Needless to say, me nor the staff never said anything to him :(

Felt sorry for the people who came along afterwards and used the bench, oblivious to what the guy left behind.

I know the lad, he clearly listens to a lot of metal music when he's training, hence the "thunderstruck" thing. Have spoke to him a few times, sound lad. I doubt he be the type to give a sh*t whether people think his shouting/singing is odd.

Some strange and funny stuff goes on in that gym i'll tell ya! One of the guys a couple of weeks ago left a heavy oly bar resting on 2 of those plastic stepper things - next thing, i just hear this huge crack as one of the plastic things smashes in half and the bar hits the ground! The guy took it all in good humour and cleared everything up afterwards.

BAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHA that’s so my fault for giving him that idea. I know exactly who it was.

He'll be getting some stick when I see him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

Bill-e wrote: »
    A guy in my gym dries his entire body with the hair dryer. A$$ balls, the lot!

Don't knock it until you try it man :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Dub-girl88 wrote: »
    My friend was at the gym the other day. He was in the changing room and this man was standing fully naked in front of the mirror shaving his entire body! How weird is that!

There's loooooaads some valid sporting excuses for this in fairness!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I remember one time there was these two big eastern european lads there always in the gym and they think there great. Anyway there they were roaring while bench pressing 70kg (which in fairness is good as even though I can lift the same but nothing wrong with that). What was funny though was this guy he looked like he could not lift a egg walks up staright after them and starts lifting about 80kg without any effort and the faces on the two boys was pricless as if say "how the hell can that guy lift that"... quality..

Speaking of big eastern europeans. The "Step-Killer" was telling me that Latvian strongman dude was in TF on Saturday doing military press training. 190kg for reps.

SIIIIIIIIICK.

I've never actually seen this guy, everyone else has. I'm there all the time and have yet to witness him in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Speaking of big eastern europeans. The "Step-Killer" was telling me that Latvian strongman dude was in TF on Saturday doing military press training. 190kg for reps.

SIIIIIIIIICK.

I've never actually seen this guy, everyone else has. I'm there all the time and have yet to witness him in action.

haha, that's coz he's there in the mornings/early afternoon and you're only ever there at closing!!

Malteaser! wrote: »
    haha, that's coz he's there in the mornings/early afternoon and you're only ever there at closing!!

Who is he? Apparently he's on the Latvian team that won some championships last year?

g'em wrote: »

But in the gym changing room though?
    Hanley wrote:
    BAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHA that’s so my fault for giving him that idea. I know exactly who it was.

He'll be getting some stick when I see him!

The gym was pretty packed that day as well so there was quite the audience! Did you ever have similar accident, Hanley, when you did it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Who is he? Apparently he's on the Latvian team that won some championships last year?

and will he compete in some of the Irish comps...there is one on in portlaosie in the may bank holiday im gonna head up for a look at...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

what about instructers who are so fat ??????? wtf

or when ur on the bike going hell for leather and the staff room opens and there all scoffing take-away and its whafffting around the gym the smell of vineger ?

or some bloke doing a dumbell bicep curl , reaching over the bench doing it , 2.5kg weight ????? when u want to do some bench presses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Ham will tell ya who he is next time ya see him. I'm not even gonna attempt to spell his name!!

One I meant to mention earlier but forgot to: Last night a lad finished his set and accidentally dropped a dumbell perfectly onto a tube of chalk, which subsequently exploded! Needless to say, there was chalk everywhere. Was down there this evening and there is still a big white mark in the middle of the floor despite the cleaner's best efforts.

I may as well mention one of my own blunders; definately the funniest thing that's ever happened me in the gym. A few years ago, I was doing good mornings when the machine/bench for it used to be upstairs. This was the last thing I was doing in the gym that day so I was tired and full of sweat. Whatever I did, the combination of sweat and fatigue must have caused my legs to slip to the sides and i literally went flying in front of the machine/bench onto my back. Luckily I knew to tuck my chin in, having done wrestling training for a while, so I managed to avoid spiking myself. Escaped relatively unscathed with a few bruises. I know at least one guy saw it because he came over to check that I was alright but undoubtedly more people saw it as well!:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

One I meant to mention earlier but forgot to: Last night a lad finished his set and accidentally dropped a dumbell perfectly onto a tube of chalk, which subsequently exploded! Needless to say, there was chalk everywhere. Was down there this evening and there is still a big white mark in the middle of the floor despite the cleaner's best efforts.:D:D

That stain was still there this evening..actually there was a bit of a commotion.
    Apparantly the likeness of Tony Quin could be discerned in the chalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

But in the gym changing room though?
    True, in fact there's really no excuse to be doing it in public!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Dub-girl88

g'em wrote: »

Nobody wants to see that