Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipperary Town *worded in a much better way*

• 27-03-2009 7:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭

For the members of the Garda Siochana or any other emergency service on this board, what do you think of the Garda reaction to the St Patricks day violence in Tipperary?

A lot of believe that the Gardai acted very lazily that day, and arrested the perps DAYS late.

I've just finished listening to the three Joe Duffy shows about the Tipperary situation, and I'm sure you know that I'm not the only one who feels angry. I know there are a few Gardai here so I'd just like to here their opinion on it.

And if you have the time, listen to Joe Duffys shows about the incident (20th, 23rd and 24th of march):

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcast/podcast_liveline.xml

By the way, two of the scumbags were charged under Public Order Offences? PUBLIC ORDER? An american tourists eye was hanging out after he was attacked... public order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Overblood

So can anybody comment on the Gardai's failure to protect the people of Tipperary on that day?

On a sidenote, I see the Gardai allowed scumbags to fire 15 shots into the air during the recent Collopy funeral in Limerick.

What the hell is going on?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Overblood wrote: »
    So can anybody comment on the Gardai's failure to protect the people of Tipperary on that day?

On a sidenote, I see the Gardai allowed scumbags to fire 15 shots into the air during the recent Collopy funeral in Limerick.

Know nothing about the tipperary incident to be honest. But i presume lack of resources was a contributing factor. Maybe 1 sergeant and 8 gardai on duty, so maybe 2 patrol cars (max), 2 in the station and 2 on the beat.

As for Gardai allowing shots to be fired at the funeral. There are also numerous reports that no shots were fired.

And i doubt the gardai allowed the person to fire the shots, its very easy to fire 15 shots into the air from a glock while a funeral is in the area, its also very easy to disappear afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

The vast majority of Gardai are unarmed, therefore making it difficult for them to prevent someone from firing shots into the air without endangering themselves or the public. How could Gardai stop this, at that moment, could you suggest a way?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

He was probably referring to the Regional Support unit (armed uniformed gardai), Emergency Responce Unit (both plain clothes and uniformed armed unit) local armed detectives (in plain clothes) and no doubt armed members of NBCI (also in plain clothes) who were present at the funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I would suspect that there are ongoing investigations about assaults in this matter so some caution might be advised here?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

OP's question answered.

Thanks Chief.

Thread closed.
    Chief--- wrote: »
    Know nothing about the tipperary incident to be honest. But i presume lack of resources was a contributing factor. Maybe 1 sergeant and 8 gardai on duty, so maybe 2 patrol cars (max), 2 in the station and 2 on the beat.

As for Gardai allowing shots to be fired at the funeral. There are also numerous reports that no shots were fired.

And i doubt the gardai allowed the person to fire the shots, its very easy to fire 15 shots into the air from a glock while a funeral is in the area, its also very easy to disappear afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Thread opened cos I spent 20 minutes (got distracted) typing out this post. Sorry PSNI, promise I will close it again.
    For the members of the Garda Siochana or any other emergency service on this board, what do you think of the Garda reaction to the St Patricks day violence in Tipperary?

A lot of believe that the Gardai acted very lazily that day, and arrested the perps DAYS late.

I've just finished listening to the three Joe Duffy shows about the Tipperary situation, and I'm sure you know that I'm not the only one who feels angry. I know there are a few Gardai here so I'd just like to here their opinion on it.

And if you have the time, listen to Joe Duffys shows about the incident (20th, 23rd and 24th of march):

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcast/podcast_liveline.xml

By the way, two of the scumbags were charged under Public Order Offences? PUBLIC ORDER? An american tourists eye was hanging out after he was attacked... public order.

In my opinion if you want absolute truth without prejudice and hysterics then dont listen to the show Joe Duffy. Instead read the newspapers for some insight into an incident.

Ok Im not having a go at you so bear with me on this. You think, like I did before I joined AGS, that Paddy's Day is the best day of the year. We all celebrate the day by having a few beers and some laughs, a chipper on the way home and we go to bed. Not so for everyone.

My first time working Paddy's Day last year was an eye opener for me. I saw fights with bottles, drunk drivers, domestics (I removed kids from their home cos the parents were so drunk and unable to mind them), kids causing criminal damage, boy racers and people so high in drugs one needed hospital treatment.

Now I dont work in a city station, I work in a small country town of about 7,000 people but granted my district is quite large in itself and would take us 30-35 minutes to drive from one side to the other side of the district but still I hope you get what Im saying. That day last year we had 5 cars in the district with 10 guards in them, twice within our 8 hr shift 2 of those cars required urgent assistance with one guard being assaulted (minor enough injury).

So for Paddy's Day I have a love/hate relationship with it now. I love the parades and people having fun with their families but I also hate it for the violence and the horrific things people do to each other. My view is held Im sure by Gardai all over the country as Im sure any of the Ambo lads will tell you the same.

Paddy's Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Eve and Day, Halloween are all the same. Good times had by most people, the worst time had and done by others.

As for the Public Order charges, they did commit a public order offences and so should be brought to court for them. I would imagine they were initially arrested for the public order to get them off the streets so no one else could be hurt by them. Also if they were charged they would have to be charged to a court date within 30 days of Paddy's Day.

Any other complaints such as assault it would be investigated (statements taken), direction received and brought to court for assault if need be. Keep in mind now the American tourist would have to have made a statement of complaint and would need to attend court date himself. Its up to him if wants to do that. If he didnt want to do that, there is nothing Gardai can do about the assault. Such is the way of Irish Criminal law.

Same as above, totally flat out going to calls all day. No let up at all.

Which leads me to my question: Why are people solely blaming the Gardai? Should it not be those that caused the problems in the first place?

I realise our job is to protect people as much as possible but if you are looking for total protection where no crime is committed then Im sorry but thats only a fantasy, a fantasy not achieveable by any nation or Police Service.

Consider the options here:

1. A very large presence of people actually attending the funeral

2. Probably a large presence of people just watching the funeral go by and hoping or waiting for trouble so they can see it - maybe surprising to you but people do this

3. Did you see the picture in The Star on Wednesday (I think) of the little boy of about 3yrs? He was on top of someone's shoulders with his middle finger up. A good indication if you didnt know it already that these people have absolute no respect for you, me and any uniform.

So shots were fired in the air (I dont actually know if there were) and 100 Gardai are sent in the find the gunman. Right so what could and probably would have happened, is a mini riot with some innocent people caught in the middle, some would probably get hurt, one might be shot by the gunman in his attempt to get away.

So my question for you is: Would you like to see innocent people getting hurt just to catch a fella who fired shots into the air? Bear in mind these shots didnt hit anyone although an offence has occured.

In my mind I would prefer for this so called man to leave the crowded area with the gun so long as no one gets hurt. My thinking is this creature of a so called will be caught up with later, maybe not for this shooting but for something else.