Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bay Hill by Palmer

• 27-03-2009 1:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know how hands-on arnie is regarding this equipment
    i bought what appeared to be a fairly expensive set of irons from these guys on the recommendation of a mate last year
    having borrowed a different set lately i'm beginning to question my investment - total different feel to the club when i strike the ball using other clubs
    my uncle swears by them but hes a little old-school if i'm honest
    let me know if any of ye use them

FYI the sales guy did throw in 200 free golf balls wheni coughed up so i suppose its not all bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

I can't be certain but I doubt Arnie himself is at all hands-on regarding the Bay Hill equipment. Certainly not in the way Ben Hogan was when he first started producing clubs. I would say Bay Hill are aimed at beginners more than anything.

I did play with a hire set of them on holiday a few years ago and found them fine. They wouldn't be my cup of tea(a bit bulky I thought) but they did a grand job and I had no complaints. Don't remember the model but they looked like a copy of one of the popular Taylormade cavity backs of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

i think they're a little heavy and tend to slow down my swing
    i'm losing power on the backswing
    smaller clubs such as the 8 iron upwards work fine and i can get some great loft and spin off these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

A friend of mine had a set - they were fine.
    They are one of the cheaper brands on the market though, I don't know what you consider expensive but a set of their irons should be around the €200-€250 mark.

paid 350 us dollars for a set of irons - 2 to 9, SW, PW, LW
    got 200 bay hill golf balls free
    gave me a golf bag for 40 bucks
    since then i've bought a TM quad driver and a cleveland putter

i was under the impression at the time that bay hill was a well respected brand - the guy at the flea market had a load of marketing/adverting stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

conno16 wrote: »
    paid 350 us dollars for a set of irons - 2 to 9, SW, PW, LW
    got 200 bay hill golf balls free
    gave me a golf bag for 40 bucks
    since then i've bought a TM quad driver and a cleveland putter

i was under the impression at the time that bay hill was a well respected brand - the guy at the flea market had a load of marketing/adverting stuff

you're clearly taking the p*ss. Right?

nope - loads of good stuff there
    it not like a car boot sale as we have here in ireland
    most of the traders are completely legit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭markie4

nope - loads of good stuff there
    it not like a car boot sale as we have here in ireland
    most of the traders are completely legit

Unfortunately it seems you went to one of the not completely legit ones then.
    Most Bay Hill irons go for about €100 a set new on ebay (UK). They'll do a job for you, it just won't be a particularly good job

i think they're proper bay hill clubs but maybe i should have bargained a little better
    200 golf balls and a cheap bag helps though
    he did say he'd do exchanges later if i wanted to upgrade as well
    never even checked on ebay before
    might try selling them to my uncle
    (€100 quid new - thats p*ssing me off a little)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

There selling starter sets in Smyths, You get a lovely plastic driver, some lookalike irons and a putter all held in a lovely little bag. I think theses might suit you better than the Bayhill ones:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

thegen wrote: »
    There selling starter sets in Smyths, You get a lovely plastic driver, some lookalike irons and a putter all held in a lovely little bag. I think theses might suit you better than the Bayhill ones:rolleyes:

Do Smyths do custom fitting? :p

no, but I think they will make an exception here;)

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

careful_now.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

keepcalmred.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

I'd put Bay Hill at the cheap end of the market and you can buy better if you shop around.......I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

I have a Bay Hill putter. Copy of the Odyssey 2-ball. It's a 1.5 ball! It does the job. Used it for a couple of years. I went from 18 to 12 in 12 months using it. Like most putters, there's not a lot to them, just have to get used to the feel of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

I have a set of bay hill irons for sale
    almost new
    perfect for beginners
    cost: €100 ono

Kagni, saw that earlier. Mus t not be getting enough backspin with that 8 iron anymore;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Sure that Paddy Harrington fella uses them, great clubs...