Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Planet X ++

• 26-03-2009 1:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭

I know that Planet X get a mixed rep around here (some folk have had loads of hassle, some have had a great experience), but I want to give them a shout out.

Ordered a frameset yesterday from them. All is hunky dory, very excited chappy here. I go online this morning, hit their website to find:
    Hello Darling! Quantitive Easing, Deflation and the Carbon Fibre Price Crash!

"Customers considering buying any carbon fibre framesets are advised to hold fire on any purchases and urged to sign up for the planet x “quantitative easing deflation carbon price crash” offer set to be launched next Wednesday (Join the “General Interest” mailing list and be first to hear of the offers)."

Bugger is not the word I used on finding this out, but as it's a family forum, I'll keep it fairly clean... so, I email Planet X asking nicely if I could cancel, or hold off on my order till next Wednesday, expecting some resistance, and a couple of hours later got an email saying no problem at all, we'll issue a refund, order away on Wed...

So now, I can save myself some money on a new bike, and maybe get that Rapha Sportwool jersey I've been eyeing up :)

Good on Planet X!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

That was decent of them. Always nice to save a few quid wherever possible! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

pgibbo wrote: »
    That was decent of them. Always nice to save a few quid wherever possible! :D

Absolutely -though the savings will get spent on something else rather than actually saving :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

Absolutely -though the savings will get spent on something else rather than actually saving :)

then that in turn saves you buying whatever it is later on, so you are saving:p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

So now, I can save myself some money on a new bike, and maybe get that Rapha Sportwool jersey I've been eyeing up :)

Go SRAM force instead ?????

RobFowl wrote: »
    Go SRAM force instead ?????

The price/weight diff ain't worth it regardless of budget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Good on Planet X!

Good man. I think that we should form a Rapha chapter for Boards spins. Lumen has a lovely one in blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

ROK ON wrote: »
    Good man. I think that we should form a Rapha chapter for Boards spins. Lumen has a lovely one in blue.

I have the long sleeve team jersey would that count? And it's a really nice jersey has to be said!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Andy Cam

Hey Tiny,

Hate to spoil your fun, but only just a little. If the payment went through on your card the refund will be less than what you paid over and sometimes can be up to 8cent difference in the euro. So hold off on the spending. I got caught out before and it ended up costing me nearly €500 but it was on a large amount of money in the first place. Any way you will save something in the end and as Tesco would say “every little helps”

Andy Cam wrote: »
    Hey Tiny,

Hate to spoil your fun, but only just a little. If the payment went through on your card the refund will be less than what you paid over and sometimes can be up to 8cent difference in the euro. So hold off on the spending. I got caught out before and it ended up costing me nearly €500 but it was on a large amount of money in the first place. Any way you will save something in the end and as Tesco would say “every little helps”

It may be a little in the difference, or I could make money depending on exchange rates! But yes, well thought of...

As for Rapha Chapter, I think any Rapha gear is allowed... I have socks and base layers (the two things they make that aren't horridly over priced) :)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Props to Planet X. But it does mean we have to wait one more week to see Tiny's new steed.

The Rapha chapter? Yet another boards splinter group. Did anyone see the two lads from Rapha on the Inner Tube show on cycling.tv the other day? They made me not want to buy Rapha gear, nice and all as it looks.

Speaking of chapters, now that the weather's getting good, isn't it time that Team Festina had a get together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

ROK ON wrote: »
    I think that we should form a Rapha chapter for Boards spins.

Perhaps a meeting for preliminary discussions over port and cigars is called for?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

rottenhat wrote: »
    Perhaps a meeting for preliminary discussions over port and cigars is called for?
    Maybe the Festina chapter could join you for a spot of Pot Belge ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

RobFowl wrote: »
    Maybe the Festina chapter could join you for a spot of Pot Belge ?

Just as long as they don't get any bloodstains on the linen tablecloths when they're shooting up.

el tonto wrote: »
    Speaking of chapters, now that the weather's getting good, isn't it time that Team Festina had a get together.

Team festina was out on Sunday in Bristol, but yes, it should be out in Ireland soon...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Team festina was out on Sunday in Bristol, but yes, it should be out in Ireland soon...

I think we've a fair few members now. Me, you, Raam, niceonetom.

Numbers are growing, though I think Tom's isn't the proper era, do we allow him to join in, and then ridicule the outsider?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Bags not being Virenque.

Raam wrote: »
    Bags not being Virenque.

Eh, skinny climber? I think that role is made for you.

Numbers are growing, though I think Tom's isn't the proper era, do we allow him to join in, and then ridicule the outsider?

He's got one of the light blue ones. Hmmm.

He can be Virenque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Been trying to get a Festina jersey ... but I can't find them in Small size ... so i might have to get me a ... Liberty seguros one ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

OMG .. i ve been 'ebay'ed off' ... can't believe this ... !!!!

A bit expensive now ...

... what year is that one?

And bagsie I get to be Christophe Moreau :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Fair play to PlanetX for cancelling Tiny's order...I'm beginning to wish my experience with them had been better cos every time I get on the bike I love....could've been the start of a blossoming relationship with them and good to see the general indication is their service is generally fine.

That said, that's some amount of talking up next week's offer they're doing....it'd want to be pretty attractive deals to justify the pitch, but they have had great value in the past so it'd be no surprise to see it again.

Eh Tiny, you do realise what date Wednesday is?

uh oh!

Yeah, copped it right away, but they do have great sales, and I'd imagine if it was a spoof they wouldn't have cancelled my order (I was clear that I was cancelling because of the sale). It's be dangerous to kiss goodbye to a sale for the sake of a prank

MMmmm interresting. Surely, they wouldn't announce a sale NOW for wednesday?

If I had to get a bike now ... I'd get a Planet X in XXS ... with 650 wheels ... imagine the weight of that!

We'd laugh at ya with those wheels though

Meh .. i still beat you up a slight incline

I'm still hurting over that one :(

dont worry that will never happen again ... sigh'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

MMmmm interresting. Surely, they wouldn't announce a sale NOW for wednesday?

It seems stupid alright but I guess its their way of saying we let you know about price rises and this is our way of giving back

has the price of carbon fibre actually gone down? Even if that was true, surely they'd need to shift the stock they purchased at higher price before they could afford to lower their retail price .. unless the price went down earlier this year and the stock they have now was indeed manufactured for much cheaper. In this case though, would they not want to still sell their bike for the same price for a little while so they can get more money?
    Where is Eddie Hobbs when you need him!?

I think they just have very good sales from time to time. According to the website, it's only for the framesets, which I reckon they don't sell in as high a volume due to the prices of their complete bikes being such good value. The reason they give a heads up to is encourage people like me to spread it on the internet I guess, leading to maybe a few more eyeballs hitting the website on Wednesday

When are you getting a pair of these?

pink-big.png

When are you getting a pair of these?

pink-big.png

While they are lovely Raamy dear, don't you think it's a bit gaudy? :p

I like my SIDI's thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,219 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Less toe overlap with 650s.

I suffered that with my 54cm frame (although probably due to oversteering/lack of talent), must be quite annoying on the smaller sizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

My festina jersey (1995) may be the "wrong" one to you lads, but there are bigger problems as far as I'm concerned. It's cursed. I have worn it 3 times - only once did i make it home unscathed. The first time I wore it I ended up in casualty. The third time I got away with it. The third time I ended up in a garda station having been knocked off by an errant romanian (don't ask). It's cursed I tell you. Cursed.

It is possible that the cursed clothing is actually my Gerolsteiner KOM hat though, which I always team with Festina to really underline the whole doper thing. Or it could be some voodoo-negative-energy-karmic-sinkhole interaction between the hat and the jersey. I dunno. Anyway - be careful out there in your ironic splendour - the gods of the road may decide to punish you for your impudence.

Besides I am clearly Laurent Brochard.

niceonetom wrote: »
    Besides I am clearly Laurent Brochard.

Brochard is known for his longevity, and for his hairdo. -so you're a goer with fab hair.... hmmmm, dunno about that :)

I think it is a cursed jersey, and you should give it to me -can be the carrot to try and fit into!

As Boards' Mr. Sram, you might be interested to hear that Saxo Bank switched to Sram today.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Well was it worth the wait?

Totally! Saved over 150 quid on the price :)

Now the only question is what colour I went for.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Totally! Saved over 150 quid on the price :)

Now the only question is what colour I went for.... :D

Nice work on the saving, worth the week wait!!

But surely the there is no question on the colour, after all this it has to be pink!! You will have one set of very disappointed people if it's not!

alfalad wrote: »
    Nice work on the saving, worth the week wait!!

But surely the there is no question on the colour, after all this it has to be pink!! You will have one set of very disappointed people if it's not!

I really have no problem with disappointing people.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Hey Tiny, how did you save on the price - all I saw was buy a Ti bike and get a Carbon frame & fork for free with it. Not a bad deal if you were planning on buying a Ti bike, but I have a mate who was hoping for a discount on the SL Carbon Pro and can't see any - am I missing something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭hynesie

I have a mate who was oping for a discount on the SL Carbon Pro and can't see any - am I missing something?
    So was I :)

There's a discount on the SL Carbon Pro frame on its own, not the complete bike: SL Pro Carbon Road - From £399

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

The XLs are gone :(