Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lose an inch off your waist in two weeks (experiment)

• 26-03-2009 1:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭

So the last two and a half weeks I've been dieting down for my end of year show/ photo shoot. I've basically been dieting how I'd normally do it, high protein, moderate fats and low carbs bar post workout. But this time I've done something different I'd normally just really on green veg for my fibre intake, But this time I've been taking about 8-10gms of psylium husk a day added to my shakes.

My waist started at 32in this morn its just under 29.5in, I'm 85kg, 9.4% bf by m1t scales and quite dry at the moment for reference not the most accurate measure admittedly.

Some of the waist decrease can be attributed to less food volume but even when I dieted down to 6% bf two summers ago and was 79kg my waist was still only 30in.

The only thing it can be is the psylium husk clearing out the bowels fully imo so the experiment I propose is to add 10gms of psylium spaced over the day to your diet for two weeks and record the results here, You might be surprised. whos' in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

How's that working out in terms of flatulence if you don't mind me asking? I've 7 weeks of serious cramming for professional exams ahead of me and I always manage to neglect food come exam time. I'd eat reasonably clean but being away from the kitchen means the veg intake usually goes way down and the stomach acts up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Parping & pooping,what was the change like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I think I'm game. I'd like to hear about the pooping and parping bits too before commiting. Wouldn't start until 2 weeks from now either, but it sounds like an interesting idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Well everyday I was taking a healthy sized one as for the farting no more then usual. Generally in my opinion excess farting and foul smelling ones are generally a sign of bad digestion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Hmm, interesting. I'm game. Which brand are you using and where do you get it? Also how many times a day are you using it?

I use this one: http://www.myprotein.co.uk/bulk-powders/fibre/whole-psyllium-husks/

I was using a creatine scoop which measures out 2gms of psylium per scoop and adding 4gms to the two shakes I was having a day. Then I'd add a bit more if I was making zero carb muffins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭hooplah

hmm, interesting. But surely the inches would come back once you stop taking the stuff?

Also how's about the receipe for the muffins?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

+1 on the muffin recipe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

+3 on the recipe! I was thinking of getting a fibre supplement anyways but could also run this experiment, provided the only change to the diet is added fibre-I don't have the time or balls to want to cut fat right now. It could be done as a comparision perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I use this one: http://www.myprotein.co.uk/bulk-powders/fibre/whole-psyllium-husks/

I was using a creatine scoop which measures out 2gms of psylium per scoop and adding 4gms to the two shakes I was having a day. Then I'd add a bit more if I was making zero carb muffins.

And they've dropped their shipping charges for Ireland fron £11 to £7, win!!

I'll get the husks with my next order and see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Just checked with Holland and Barrett and they are selling 200 capsules of 500mgs or its also available in powder form.
    Might nip down tomorrow.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

So the thing is that it clears out your bowels totally, daily?

Is this really a good thing? U wud eat a small child daily food wise then would you not?

And they've dropped their shipping charges for Ireland fron £11 to £7, win!!

This must have only happened in the last few days. My shipment arrived yesterday and it cost me £11 shipping.

I was tempted to do this but I'm not now.
    Going to keep my focus on my bf% instead. :o
    Good luck to ye though, will be intereting to see how ye get on.

Khannie wrote: »
    This must have only happened in the last few days. My shipment arrived yesterday and it cost me £11 shipping.

Sadly, it is only in the last few days!

http://forum.myprotein.co.uk/myprotein-co-uk-announcements/22017-myprotein-international-shipping-costs-slashed-latest-news.html#post314597

But at least we're sorted from now on. On a different note, this isn't good news for Irish supp companies.

hooplah wrote: »
    hmm, interesting. But surely the inches would come back once you stop taking the stuff?

Well in my opinion if the size comes back it show's your not keeping your bowels properly clear. Toney freeman aka the x-man swears by psylium husk nightly and regular colonics and he's known for his tiny waist.

Does it make you more or less regular? Any bad side effects?

Well in my opinion if the size comes back it show's your not keeping your bowels properly clear.

fair point

Does it make you more or less regular? Any bad side effects?

Well I was going for one a day sometimes two and they were healthy sized ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

I'll do it for the craic. I'll try and get some tomorrow, diet will be good and pretty constant Sunday - Friday.

I went looking for this stuff in the supplement shop in Moore Street mall today but don't think they had it. Anyone seen it around town?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

man get with the program - i have been taking psyllium for years now!!!

Only joking - but i have been taking it daily for years along with flax seeds i put in when making my flapjacks (which i pretty much live off some days).

I would also get a colonic once a year and take detox herbs from a herbalist once a year also.

Helps to keep the bowels moving and optimal absorption of your food.

Reviving this again - I got me a tub of psyllium husks in Holland and Barrett today - the powder form.

Emmet, what do you recommend as regards frequency during the day - did you take it twice a day?

Are you still seeing good results from taking it? Even though my diet is good I can feel 'blocked-up' so to speak quite often, so will be interesting to see the effects of this experiment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭gnolan

celestial wrote: »
    Reviving this again - I got me a tub of psyllium husks in Holland and Barrett today - the powder form.

Emmet, what do you recommend as regards frequency during the day - did you take it twice a day?

Are you still seeing good results from taking it? Even though my diet is good I can feel 'blocked-up' so to speak quite often, so will be interesting to see the effects of this experiment...

What price and weight out of interest? Been meaning to get some myself, but don't really want to pay the postage from the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭DéiseGirl

hooplah wrote: »
    I went looking for this stuff in the supplement shop in Moore Street mall today but don't think they had it. Anyone seen it around town?

Eh while I wouldn't be taking psyllium husks for the same reasons as ye but I buy it in Down to Earth on George's Street. celestial mentioned getting it in H&B but I never saw it there, maybe it's under a different name though...don't like to spend too much time in the H&B nearest to me (the Ilac one, makes me very :mad::mad::mad:) though I do brave it now and again to buy their ground up flax seed, seems quite reasonable in price.

DéiseGirl wrote: »
    Eh while I wouldn't be taking psyllium husks for the same reasons as ye but I buy it in Down to Earth on George's Street. celestial mentioned getting it in H&B but I never saw it there, maybe it's under a different name though...don't like to spend too much time in the H&B nearest to me (the Ilac one, makes me very :mad::mad::mad:) though I do brave it now and again to buy their ground up flax seed, seems quite reasonable in price.

Yep I had to ask the guy behind the counter - it is named 'colon care' and is a 340g tub, to answer your question gnolan. It costs around 17 euro but because they have a 20% sale at min it happily only cost me 13 euro.

DéiseGirl, how long have you been taking it and how do you find psyllium?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

I plan to start taking more supplements over the summer so i'm interested in this, however wouldn't just getting the RDA of fibre from ordinary foods (ie. a good bowl of wheatabix in the morning) not do the same thing? (Forgive my ignorance)

I also bought these as I said I would. I've been taking 2.5g every day for 11 days now. I haven't checked for any updates yet but I was 86kg and 34 inch waist when I began. I've no calipers for skinfold reading but I can see abs. I'll say 12% to pull a figure out of the air.

Will update on Monday. What I can say though is that I like it. Definitely feel way less bloated, look flatter and am extremely ehhh...regular.

I've tried taking this a couple of times recently but after I drink it (just under a teaspoon in 500ml of water, I try and stir it and drink it within 30 secs) I feel a little constructed in my chest for some reason? I'm sure it's just being paranoid though :o:o, but I do have serious problems swallowing tablets sometimes.

Am I taking it the right way? Too much / little water? Can you mix it with food at all maybe? I'm not used to downing pints in one go so maybe thats the problem!

I've tried taking this a couple of times recently but after I drink it (just under a teaspoon in 500ml of water, I try and stir it and drink it within 30 secs) I feel a little constructed in my chest for some reason? I'm sure it's just being paranoid though :o:o, but I do have serious problems swallowing tablets sometimes.

Am I taking it the right way? Too much / little water? Can you mix it with food at all maybe? I'm not used to downing pints in one go so maybe thats the problem!

Yep it expands when it hits water which is why they say to drink lots of water when taking it so that it gets flushed through more easily - that's what the constricted feeling is.

Be interested to hear how others take it - maybe it works better as part of a shake/juice or something? I'd prob be looking to drink it with water myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I plan to start taking more supplements over the summer so i'm interested in this, however wouldn't just getting the RDA of fibre from ordinary foods (ie. a good bowl of wheatabix in the morning) not do the same thing? (Forgive my ignorance)

You can't always trust the RDA to be correct or right for your needs, a lot of people here are probably eating 3 or 4 times the rda for protein for instance. Plus ime it can be quite hard to get even the rda of fibre in a day just from food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭DéiseGirl

Yep I had to ask the guy behind the counter - it is named 'colon care' and is a 340g tub, to answer your question gnolan. It costs around 17 euro but because they have a 20% sale at min it happily only cost me 13 euro.

DéiseGirl, how long have you been taking it and how do you find psyllium?

I've been taking it a couple of months now and I find it great. Probably way too much information but I've always felt I've needed more fibre in my diet to keep things er...ticking over nicely :o, and used to take fybogel on and off but never stuck to it because I'd always end up running out of sachets and it was kind of cringe going into the chemist and asking for it the whole time :D I mix it in the water with a Boots effervescent orange tablet so it actually tastes alright. It's gas if you leave it for a minute the way it sucks up all the water in the glass and turns into gel....well I'm easily amused anyway. The tub I get is from the Lepicol brand, think it's 300g and is €12.00 in Down to Earth but could be cheaper elsewhere.

Yeah I picked up a jar of capsules from Holland & Barrett for around €15.
    I haven't gotten around to taking them but it says take two three times a day which works out at 3 grams as opposed to the 10grams a day mentioned earlier in the thread.
    Will start on them over the weekend.

Zamboni wrote: »
    Yeah I picked up a jar of capsules from Holland & Barrett for around €15.
    I haven't gotten around to taking them but it says take two three times a day which works out at 3 grams as opposed to the 10grams a day mentioned earlier in the thread.
    Will start on them over the weekend.

Have to say I am a bit alarmed at the choking warning on the label!? Seems like it expands and swell but figure it's grand if you just take lots of fluid.....

Aye. Couple of pints of room temperature water should do the trick.

I find its best to mix in a shake and then chug before it can asborb water. For those interested psylium can absorb fifty times its volume of water hence why it makes a good fibre choice

you still seeing results with it emmet? if you didn't have protein powder what else would you recommend mixing it with to drink easily?

I found some in Down to Earth on Georges Street- 250g of not quite powdered stuff cost less than a fiver (can't remember exactly but I think it was €3.80). I've been putting it in with whey into my shaker and it mixes well if ya drink it straight away.

Thanks I might try it in a shake. Yeah Celestial, I found the choking warning made me a little paranoid. When I started feeling fullness in my throat I nearly started panicking :o:o

I have been taking half a teaspoon and am going to gradually increase it. ! pint of water to a level teaspoon should be ok i imagine??

I got mine from Myprotein.co.uk - it's much cheaper than the stuff I saw in H&B, especially if you're getting other stuff as well. I got the 500g for £7 and I think it might last me for the rest of my life lol. It seems like I'll never get through it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

If you were to put it into a shake after training or whatever, how long exactly do you have before it expands? Do you have to shake it like a madman (which involved jumping up and down on the benches in the changing rooms like a monkey for extra force) and chug it straight away?

I wouldn't add it to post workout shakes as the fibre would slow down absorbtion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭gnolan

tribulus wrote: »
    I also bought these as I said I would. I've been taking 2.5g every day for 11 days now. I haven't checked for any updates yet but I was 86kg and 34 inch waist when I began. I've no calipers for skinfold reading but I can see abs. I'll say 12% to pull a figure out of the air.

Will update on Monday. What I can say though is that I like it. Definitely feel way less bloated, look flatter and am extremely ehhh...regular.

Any update on your measurements?

Yep, waist now 33. Diet and exercise levels didn't change, same time of day, same tape etc.

Maybe as with your weight it can fluctuate and as I said this was purely for a bit of a laugh/anecdotal experiment but I'd consider taking it as a regular supplement as it's quite cheap and the only other supp I use is whey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Where did you buy yours btw Trib?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Lawstud

Any chance we could get the recipe for the muffins please??

Where did you buy yours btw Trib?

Hey man, I got it at some place on Grafton St. I can't remember the name but it wasn't a Holland and Barrett.

tribulus wrote: »
    Hey man, I got it at some place on Grafton St. I can't remember the name but it wasn't a Holland and Barrett.

Health Matters possibly? (the place near opposite BTs)

That's the one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭slemons

Thanks very much for the heads up on this Emmett.
    I think the whey i was taking had congealed somewhere inside me.
    This is great :)

Spotted some in my local supermarket so I grabbed it. Gonna give it a lash tomorrow morning. I already get a decent amount of fibre in my diet, but this can't do any harm.