Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bernard Dunne Vs Paul O' Connell

• 25-03-2009 9:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

Here's a question that has been floating around at work.
    If Bernard Dunne and Paul O' Connell had a fight where all the normal boxing rules applied, who do you think would win?

Bernard Dunne Vs Paul O' Connell 440 votes

Bernard Dunne
    0% 0 votes
    Paul O' Connell
    19% 87 votes
    Don't care
    80% 353 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Are you serious - 8st against 18st...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Exneigh

The ambulance man getting on the telly would be the true winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

POC - Height, 6'49. Weight, 111 kg
    BD - Height, 5'7. Weight, 55 kg

POC hummers BD, then has him in a sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Just did a bit of googling to get the lads weights. Bernard Dunnes weightclass is super bantam (122lbs) & according to Paul O Connells profile, hes 240 or so lbs, double the weight. That would be some mismatch!

Id like to pick the pro boxer, but with that much weight difference you would have to pick the bigger guy. The smaller guy just wouldnt have enough power to do much damage, let alone knock the bigger man out. Presuming Paul could throw any sort of accurate punch he'd knock Bernard out eventually, he'd have to catch him first though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

U can be the best fighter in the world but if ur 8 stone and get hit by someone who is 18/19 stone lights out no question hence whyt boxing has weight divisions ... Dunne would never reach him anyway and would have be throwing punches up.... Kinda stupid thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

I think any professional boxer would destroy someone who wasn't skilled in some sort of fighting no matter how big they are. Dunne for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

sbEdge wrote: »
    If Bernard Dunne and Paul O' Connell had a fight where all the normal boxing rules applied, who do you think would win?
    No wonder we're in a bleeding recession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=8 for sports related threads.
    I'm not moving this over because it'll just be sent back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

re-opened due to the fact that some people want it.

Don't come back crying when I ban you because you can't take criticism of a sport you like and decide to call someone an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Bernard Dunne could get 10-20 boxes at POC but wouldn't hurt him, but if POC got one box at Bernard Dunne during that fight then he'd flatten him. As for the previous post about POC catching Bernard Dunne, I think you are understimating how fit rugby players actually are.

Paul O' Connel FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Well considering Superman wears Paul O' Connell pajamas..

Erroneous: Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Dunne, You guys are making to much of the weight difference, speed causes a ko, Dunne has been boxing years, a punch on the chin can drop anyone, Keep in mind ye said usual boxing rules

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Bernard Dunne could get 10-20 boxes at POC but wouldn't hurt him, but if POC got one box at Bernard Dunne during that fight then he'd flatten him. As for the previous post about POC catching Bernard Dunne, I think you are understimating how fit rugby players actually are.

Paul O' Connel FTW

In fairness given Dunne's chin if my 11 year old nephew landed one punch on Bernard Dunne he would most likely rock him.

To quote Fat Bastard: "I've found pieces of corn in my shite bigger than yeeeuw!"

Who's the next matchup? I vote superman vs spiderman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭Homer

a punch on the chin can drop anyone, Keep in mind ye said usual boxing rules

Yes usual boxing rules... Which means no step ladders in the ring :P

P O C would decimate him

Dunne, You guys are making to much of the weight difference, speed causes a ko, Dunne has been boxing years, a punch on the chin can drop anyone, Keep in mind ye said usual boxing rules

He only said "Where all the normal boxing rules applied" not "only normal boxing rules applied". This would mean other rules could theoretically apply and POC could tackle/ground n pound poor Bernie, a la UFC. So it is a mis-match (if you're bothered!).

Have any of you guys seen the Klischko brothers fight ? They use there size to dominate other HW's. Dunne wouldn't get passed the jab of O'Connell

your excluding the speed advantage, I doubt O connells jab would be lightning fast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Exneigh

T-K-O wrote: »
    Erroneous: Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's

Not since he found out that Chuck is actually a has been crazy fundie Christian who doesn't kick ass, but makes ads talking about how God should be back in Public schools... hence the POC PJ's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I know for a FACT that POC's jab isn't that fast!! :D

I've always wanted to say FACT on the internet.

I'd give it to Dunne, it's a ****ing boxing match and he's a boxer. The size, while being significantly in the favour of POC wouldn't mean much against a guy who is trained to move and generate KO power.

Might do well for people to watch a few earlier UFC's, you'll see a skinny guy kick a big guys teeth, quite literally, out of his head.

Speed wins fights folks. POC would have absolutely no head movement or footwork, no technique in his shots and would be WAY too reactive to set ups from an experienced boxer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

The OP defined it as normal boxing rules so the idea of O'Connell just being allowed to kick the sh1t out him wouldn't occur. Dunne would win on points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I've seen POC box, it's all wild swings and haymakers.

Dunne vrs Drico would be more interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

Id imagine one good running punch from POC would break Dunnes jaw, if not his neck. Or he could just pick dunne up and throw him against something. It would be like pitting a Gorilla against a chimp.

Dragan wrote: »
    I know for a FACT that POC's jab isn't that fast!! :D

I've always wanted to say FACT on the internet.

I'd give it to Dunne, it's a ****ing boxing match and he's a boxer. The size, while being significantly in the favour of POC wouldn't mean much against a guy who is trained to move and generate KO power.

Might do well for people to watch a few earlier UFC's, you'll see a skinny guy kick a big guys teeth, quite literally, out of his head.

Speed wins fights folks. POC would have absolutely no head movement or footwork, no technique in his shots and would be WAY too reactive to set ups from an experienced boxer.
    Ah sumo wrestlers eh!! can't take a kick to the face!
    Wetbench4 wrote: »
    Id imagine one good running punch from POC would break Dunnes jaw, if not his neck. Or he could just pick dunne up and throw him against something. It would be like pitting a Gorilla against a chimp.
    Boxing rules, not wwe. Do you seriously expect anyone to stand there while someone runs at them to throw a punch?

the jab does need to be fast with his size advantage.

http://assets.espn.go.com/photo/2008/1013/box_ap_speter1_412.jpg

Wetbench4 wrote: »

He looks more like Orangutan than a Gorilla.The Dunne/chimp comparison is apt however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Dunne doesnt exactly have KO power though. He's never been known as a KO artist against people his own size and punching up(especially up that much) wouldnt be doin him any favours.

And you should really be more accurate about that UFC.What you mean is youll see a trained kickboxer kick the teeth out a sumo wrestlers head while the sumo wrestler was on his hands and knees. Slight difference :P

And dunnes speed wouldnt help against dirty boxing in a clinch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Dunne doesnt exactly have KO power though. He's never been known as a KO artist against people his own size and punching up(especially up that much) wouldnt be doin him any favours.

And you should really be more accurate about that UFC.What you mean is youll see a trained kickboxer kick the teeth out a sumo wrestlers head while the sumo wrestler was on his hands and knees. Slight difference :P

And dunnes speed wouldnt help against dirty boxing in a clinch

He doesn't have KO power against people who are fast, well trained, great guard and good head and foot movements and the reactions of a boxer. Against someone like POC who's every instinct would drive him in the wrong direction....he'd KO him.

Have trained a bit in both boxing and rugby, POC would lose. I think his instincts would drive him to make the required mistakes to get put away.

And my UFC reference was an example of speed winning a fight you cheeky beggar!:D Also, i would be hugely unlikely POC would be able to generate enough effective offence in a clinch before the ref broke it up.

I am hinging all my arguments on the boxing rules here....if we change the ruleset i will happily change who i think will win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Lol at this thread, an absolute non contest. Dunne weighs under 9 stone. POC would have 12 rounds to land one punch and when he does he would take the head off Dunne. A few kilos makes a huge difference in boxing never mind double the guys weight
    Have trained a bit in both boxed and played Rugby, POC would lose.

Box myslef and wouldn't give dunne a hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

sbEdge wrote: »

I think people are underestimating a boxers ability, and overestimating Paul O Connells ability as a technical fighter. I worked with a black guy called Michael Thompson, fought in the K2, beat the japanese title holder (this is a long time ago), and he once told me he would never get into the ring with a boxer, regardless of weight.

Has nobody seen snatch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

He doesn't have KO power against people who are fast, well trained, great guard and good head and foot movements and the reactions of a boxer. Against someone like POC who's every instinct would drive him in the wrong direction....he'd KO him.

Have trained a bit in both boxed and played Rugby, POC would lose.

And my UFC reference was an example of speed winning a fight you cheeky beggar!:D Also, i would be hugely unlikely POC would be able to generate enough effective offence in a clinch before the ref broke it up.

I am hinging all my arguments on the boxing rules here....if we change the ruleset i will happily change who i think will win.
    Yeah maybe.
    Damn MMA means I cant think in boxing rules any more:(
    Ah well. Im happy:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

Does anyone else think POC looks like Hellboys father??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

It remains to be seen how good POC is without John Hayes as hoist...:D

POC would just change the rules and then proceed to eat Dunne and the Ref in a crazed frenzy a la Hulk Hogan in Rocky III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

O'Connell would destroy the little hunky dory man!!

Check out this vid of O'Connell unleashing the beast...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQsermgwdfw

PCros wrote: »
    O'Connell would destroy the little hunky dory man!!

Check out this vid of O'Connell unleashing the beast...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQsermgwdfw
    ah yes, take downs....the most forgotton of all boxing rules:rolleyes:

Ok you do realise this match will never happen.....its a fantasy post. Relax my friend.

I don't know about you lot but I now suddenly want to see a fight between Peter Stringer and Nikolay Valuev.

Ok you do realise this match will never happen.....its a fantasy post. Relax my friend.
    Lol I know it'll never happen, but the OP stated that the fantasy match up would be under boxing rules, you clearly didn't stick to that, in that case Dunne can whip out a gun and knee cap O Connell :P

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    I don't know about you lot but I now suddenly want to see a fight between Peter Stringer and Nikolay Valuev.

He apparently eats 3kgs of meat a day!

WHAT? Oh, right. Explains this so:

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/search?tm_link=tm_header_search&q=O%27Connell+vs+Dunne&search.x=18&search.y=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 wellyhead

All of the tools that said Paul O'Connell would win are falling in to the trap of thinking that because he is more than twice Dunnes height, he would win. What they don't seem to understand that Dunne has spent most of his life perfecting his art. One punch off O'COnnell does not equate to the abuse done took off Cordoba. Anyway he wouldn't even land the punch. Dunne would be far too quick. Dunne would wear O'Connell down. over the fight. People just dont understand how honed boxers are. Any one that thibks O'Connell would win is definately a ******.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

wellyhead wrote: »
    he is more than twice Dunnes height,
    Wait? Paul O' Connell is 11' 2"??
    I would've said five stars myself, but thanks for the compliment ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

People dont be silly, Dunne, a world champion boxer, Would beat any Joseph Soap in a boxing match. POC can be any size he wants. He will still be just a man off the street in a boxing match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

All of the tools that said Paul O'Connell would win are falling in to the trap of thinking that because he is more than twice Dunnes height, he would win. What they don't seem to understand that Dunne has spent most of his life perfecting his art. One punch off O'COnnell does not equate to the abuse done took off Cordoba. Anyway he wouldn't even land the punch. Dunne would be far too quick. Dunne would wear O'Connell down. over the fight. People just dont understand how honed boxers are. Any one that thibks O'Connell would win is definately a ******.

Paul O'Connell can kill two stones with one bird
    so catching Dunne would be the least of his worries
    POC to win the fight by Murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Nice first post

weight. twice his weight damn it. Use your common sense to realise it was a typo.

Wait? Paul O' Connell is 11' 2"??

Yes, as can be seen here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/emulvey/3054060940/

This is also Roflz:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/vegaseddie/1472441241/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

POC without a doubt! :D

thanks, this thing is good