Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gilroy Out!

• 22-03-2009 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭

Right I've had enough. Today's display was just the last straw. Dublin need to get rid of Gilroy, he is clearly out his depth and bringing this team backwards. Some of the decision making on the pitch today was unbelievable, going for scores from totally unrealistic positions when a colleague was better placed. This league has been a disaster, relegation beckons, and we have a manager with NO experience at the helm. Time to dispense with this experiment and get someone with a proven track record who actually knows something about motivating a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Didn't you just achieve a very credible draw away from home, or am I mistaken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭kodmuffin

Zzippy wrote: »
    Some of the decision making on the pitch today was unbelievable, going for scores from totally unrealistic positions when a colleague was better placed.

Yeah your right...Gilroy shouldve made the decisions for them.......last time i checked he wasnt actually togging out.......give the man a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Daysha wrote: »
    Didn't you just achieve a very credible draw away from home, or am I mistaken?

probably one of the worse displays of footballing skills ever - from both teams!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,982 ✭✭✭Trampas

when have Dublin last play as a team?

That is and always be in my opinion a bunch of individuals who prefer to try and score from awkward positions than pass to the open player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Some of the decision making on the pitch today was unbelievable, going for scores from totally unrealistic positions when a colleague was better placed.
    Assuming you've watched Dublin under Pillar for the last few years, I'm baffled as to how you think this is anything new. While we have some very talented players, they don't necessarily have massive footballing intelligence.
    someone with a proven track record who actually knows something about motivating a team.
    Motivation only goes so far - especially if you're dealing with someone who's demotivated to begin with.

Anyway, give him time - we'd no reliable backline under Pillar (especially down the middle) so I'm not sure how you expect Gilroy to magic one up out of nowhere now. And playing conditions have been brutal so far in the league so I wouldn't judge any team just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Right I've had enough. Today's display was just the last straw. Dublin need to get rid of Gilroy, he is clearly out his depth and bringing this team backwards. Some of the decision making on the pitch today was unbelievable, going for scores from totally unrealistic positions when a colleague was better placed. This league has been a disaster, relegation beckons, and we have a manager with NO experience at the helm. Time to dispense with this experiment and get someone with a proven track record who actually knows something about motivating a team.

This is one of the most ridiculous things that I've heard in a while.

1. He needs time.

2. It's the bloody national league, a few years ago people wouldn't have batted an eyelid about it.

3. Wait til the Crokes lads come back.

4. And most importantly, Dublin don't have good enough players to seriously compete at the top level.

(A few weeks ago, there were similar calls from advocates for a certain foreign sport to sack Benitez, a few good results and that all stopped!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

its waaay too early for this kind of talk. This is the national league and he is doing a lot of messing about. wait till the AI is over before making a judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Let's look at the positives though, we're 3 points ahead of Westmeath with two games to go and only one team goes down so all we need is one more point to be safe. It'll be interesting to see how we do against Kerry next weekend as they haven't played well against either Mayo or Westmeath but they'll definitely life their game against us.

I'm hoping the Crokes boys make themeselves available for this weekend as we need some fresh blood out there and hopefully their good club form will carry through into the inter county side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Angelicus_22

It's a bit too early to call for his head, but his counterpart on Sunday, theres a man who should be sacked a.s.a.p, John O'Mahoney is doing nothing for Mayo football, so compare Gilroy to that and really consider who should be sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I don't like the way Dublin have been playing lately but as a lot of people have said it is way too early and it is the league where Gilroy will experiment.Look at the full back line of Hubbard and Bastic and you'll see what I mean.Come the championship,the experience they get now can be used if they are brought on as subs.

The Kilmacud Crokes lads have to come back and I'd like to see Cian O Sullivan as full back along with Griffin.I'd also like to see Rory O Carroll in there and Mark Davoran in the full forward line with Vaughan.We need a free taker from the ground.

Also lads,this team at the moment has some casualties.Shane Ryan is not fully fit neither is Alan Brogan,Mossy Quinn and Colin Moran.Dermot Connolly links up better with Quinn so when that partnership is realised again,our forwards will be much dangerous.Jayo is gone back to Plunketts until the xhampionship I believe so there is another missing in action.

There are a lot of difference makers still to come back so Gilroy and Mickey Whelan have to be given more time and sure after the Down game,a lot of people were calling for Mickey Hartes head but they came back and won the All Ireland and then suddenly he is the greatest manager of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Points taken lads, I may have been hasty. However, I'm still extremely sceptical about his abilities as a manager, when most other counties are picking experienced managers, we go and pick someone with absolutely zero managerial experience. I have no faith in Whelan either after his last stint in charge of Dublin.
    I hope I'm proven wrong, but I think Dublin will go backwards this year. A pity, because I feel this team are at the stage the Irish rugby team were at a few months ago - loads of potential, been close a few times, if they don't do it soon they will never do it etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

dcr22B wrote: »
    Let's look at the positives though, we're 3 points ahead of Westmeath with two games to go and only one team goes down so all we need is one more point to be safe.

Two teams go down. One of those will be Westmeath and then it's tight for the second spot, could even come down to scoring difference. Any one of Dublin, Tyrone, Mayo or Donegal could still go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

In reality isn't Whelan the manager, thanks to Vincents winning the AI Club championship last year. Gilroy is only a figure head to appease those who hunted Whelan out the last time he was in charge of the Dubs.

In reality, I don't think there is an AI in this team. I hope I am proved wrong but they seem to be lacking that little bit extra to win the main prize.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Two teams go down. One of those will be Westmeath and then it's tight for the second spot, could even come down to scoring difference. Any one of Dublin, Tyrone, Mayo or Donegal could still go down.

Aidan,

Can you point in the direction of somewhere where it confirms that 2 will definitely go down as I have posted in another thread looking for confirmation of this?

A pity, because I feel this team are at the stage the Irish rugby team were at a few months ago - loads of potential, been close a few times, if they don't do it soon they will never do it etc.

There's a difference though, we all knew this Ireland rugby team were good enough to win a Grand Slam, it just needed Declan Kidney to take them that extra step. But are Dublin really good enough to win an All-Ireland? They have a midfield and a forward line that is probably good enough alright, but there are big problems in defence.

The big games Dublin have lost in recent years they've always (apart from last Aug) ran up decent scores but lost because they've shipped far too much damage at the back.

1-18 vs Tyrone 05
    1-16 vs Mayo 06
    1-15 vs Kerry 07
    3-13 vs Tyrone 08.
    A total of 80 pts or an average of 20 per game. Go figure.

The league games so far have only confirmed the problems that existed. 1-18 conceded against Tyrone, defence given the runaround by Galway who could easily have had 5 goals. I still think Dublin have enough ability in the current panel to be thereabouts in August/Sept, but they will not win an AI unless they shore up the defence, you simply can't win big championship games when you're conceding the amounts I've listed above, how Gilroy/Whelan go about fixing that I don't know.

But I think with Griffin and Henry in the corners that's not a bad start. If Cullen is going to play no.6 he needs to be alot tighter defensively, jury still out on Brennan and full back is a glaring problem still. A bit of management innovation and ingenuity might solve these problems, that's what sets the good managers apart, whether the combination of Gilroy and Whelan have what it takes, well I'd have my doubts personally but it's a bit soon to be writing them off yet.

dcr22B wrote: »
    Aidan,

Can you point in the direction of somewhere where it confirms that 2 will definitely go down as I have posted in another thread looking for confirmation of this?

It's always been 2 up and 2 down, and I heard nothing about that being changed. If the gaa.ie website was any good (it isn't) that type of info should be available there (it isn't). Anyway you can take it as 99% certain that it is 2 teams to go down. Pat Gilroy's comments after Sunday's game tend to confirm that, he said he is 'confident Dublin can still stay up'. Translation: he's worried they might go down. Westmeath are already doomed so if it was only 1 team to go down relegation would scarcely be an issue (it would still be mathematically possible but highly unlikley)

aidan24326 wrote: »
    It's always been 2 up and 2 down, and I heard nothing about that being changed. If the gaa.ie website was any good (it isn't) that type of info should be available there (it isn't). Anyway you can take it as 99% certain that it is 2 teams to go down. Pat Gilroy's comments after Sunday's game tend to confirm that, he said he is 'confident Dublin can still stay up'. Translation: he's worried they might go down. Westmeath are already doomed so if it was only 1 team to go down relegation would scarcely be an issue (it would still be mathematically possible but highly unlikley)

I know it's always been two up and two down, I'm just surprised that The Irish Times would have it as only one down unless they're mixing it up with the hurling which is certainly one up, one down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

I agree the team looks worse than last year. Certain players seem to have dis-improved and watching any match they are involved in is painful. But we have to give the manager time to work his plans. The games I’ve seen so far have produced maddening performances from the team. After the summer is over I’ll make my final judgment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

taidghbaby wrote: »
    probably one of the worse displays of footballing skills ever - from both teams!

True. Mayo were shocking for the first 20 mins and were only kept in it by Dublin diabolical point taking.
    Trampas wrote: »
    when have Dublin last play as a team?

That is and always be in my opinion a bunch of individuals who prefer to try and score from awkward positions than pass to the open player

Also true to an extent there hasn't been a togetherness in there since at least 3 years ago.
    In reality, I don't think there is an AI in this team. I hope I am proved wrong but they seem to be lacking that little bit extra to win the main prize.

Neither do I. They are on a level similar to Mayo, Cork, Galway and Armagh have been over the last few years. Better than most teams but not as good as Kerry and Tyrone. I don't see this changing this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

I dont think Dublin will reach the top with this team and btw I do hope I am wrong.
    Dublin seem to lack the spirit of Tyrone who have a team of 15 players who will put their bodies on the line for the team while Dublin look more 15 individuals.
    As for the call for Gilroy out. You are entitled to your oponion but I think this is just pathetic. We should get real here, Dublin dont have a right to be succesful every year, yes it would be nice ok. How can we blame Gilroy or anyone else for kicking the wides some of these lads kick? We cant and should be looking at stringing up a few players:p
    As pointed out by Aiden 24326 we concede scores easily and dont seem to have the craft up front to get them. Until we can produce better, more all rounded players we could be waiting for A.I to come back to Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Im not panicing yet. The fact that he has been playing three forwards (from their respective clubs), in the full back line, suggests that he is tinkering heavily.

Blackbelt makes a good point about O Carroll, and Griffin. They will be in or around the squad, and along with Henry and O Shaughnessy, they offer some very decent players (even if Shaughnessy has been warming the bench a bit. Equally, Kevin Nolan looked very good for Crokes this time out, and his return to Championship football may be on the cards. I would be of the impression that Bastick has been an ok fullback, and if he is refined, he may be capable fo doing the job. However, I wouldnt mind seeing Barry Cahill return to the full back slot as in 2006. We have the half backs available to us to mitigate that loss.

For Kerry

Cluxton

Henry
    Bastick
    Griffin

Nolan
    Cullen
    Brennan

Whelan
    McGee

Keaney
    A.Brogan
    B.Brogan

Sherlock
    Bonner
    Vaughan

I think an immediate return for the Crokes lads would be a good thin...but I doubt that will happen. I say give Cahill a rest, with a potential eye to sticking him as full back for Westmeath

More than likely the team will be

Savage

Andrews
    Bastick
    Hubbard

Cullen
    Brennan
    Cahill

Whelan
    McConnell

Lally
    Keaney

Kelly
    Bonner
    B.Brogan

I was thinking of the lineup that would be ideal for the game against Kerry and involving the Crokes players,I think the lineup should be as follows.

Michael Savage

Paul Griffin
    Cian O Sullivan
    Rory O Carroll

David Henry
    Barry Cahill
    Ger Brennan

Shane Ryan
    Ciaran Whelan

Dermot Connolly
    Jason Sherlock
    Mark Vaughan

Conal Keaney
    Bernard Brogan
    John O Brien

Subs

Mossy Quinn
    Alan Brogan
    Darren Magee
    Denis Bastic
    Bryan Cullen

I think Cian O Sullivan is our next number 3 and by God have we needed one since Paddie Christie.For the Kerry game though,I think O Sullivan and Cahill could possibly rotate should they put Donaghy in at no.14 but instead of bringing Cahill back to full back,he'd be better utilised around the 20 so that he could drive forward and possibly get a score or two as he has been doing in some games.

Griffin is also versatile but I'd leave him on the wing for this game as Kerry have a tendency to switch from straight high balls to long diagonal balls from the wing and I think Griffin could limit Colm Cooper should he be positioned there.Leave Henry back in the half back line where he is better utilised for Dublin.

I think the conventional midfield of Ryan and Whelan should start.Whelan has been immense out of a bunch of players who are underperforming and Ryan needs some game time to get fitness.He could be replaced by Magee to give Dublin the extra height in the second half when the two teams begin to tire.Only question is,will Kerry switch Moran with Donaghy?

Dermot Connolly to retain his place.I haven't been totally convinced about his league performances but he should be given a proper league run to prepare him for the championship.Jayo to put back in the half forward line.I do not know why Jayo has been put in the full forward line or has found himself there but he is ineffective there against the likes of Tyrone and Kerry.We need his agility in the half forwards to collect some medium-low ball and link up with the full forwards.

Mark Vaughan is needed back.His workrate has improved 2 fold since last season and his accuracy from placed balls is a necessity.We need muscle and good point taking ability in Keaney and Bernard Brogan is the most talented and gifted forward we have.

This leads me to the number 15 position.Mossy Quinn is only back training after an injury while Alan Brogan is being used as an impact sub these days after his bout of injury.I don't know where or what John O Brien is or has been doing with the Dublin panel or Round Towers Clondalkin but a fully fit O Brien would be in my starting 15.I think our forwards are just a bit too predictable and with the tightening of our backs with some hot prospects in O Sullivan and O Carroll,I think Dublin should start O Brien to introduce an element of unknowness.O Briens workrate and attitude really impressed me when I saw him play last year and against Offaly back in January.

Should O Brien not work out or get booked,he could be replaced by Alan Brogan so a sound plan B could be on the cards.Should all these players be available,I'd be hopeful of a vast improvement in performance.This is what I'd go with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

The team to play Kerry has been announced:

DUBLIN (SF v Kerry) - S Cluxton; D Henry, D Bastick, A Hubbard; B Cullen, P Griffin, G Brennan; D Magee, R McConnell; D Connolly, K Bonner, P Flynn; C Keaney, M Davoren, P Andrews.

I'm happy to see Henry back in the corner and Griffin come in but I can't see us beating Kerry with that forward line. I knew Whelan would be rested but I'm not sure what the story is with Bernard Brogan. Mark Davoren deserves his chance after his exploits with Crokes, as does Paddy Andrews, who's a far better forward than back. I'd like to have seen Vaughan get his chance in the corner with Keaney at centre-forward and Bonner dropping to the bench. No idea why Barry Cahill isn't playing either but I think I'd prefer Ger Brennan at wing back. That will give him a lot more licence to get forward without leaving gaping holes in the centre of our defence.

All in all, I can't see this team beating Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

An Citeog wrote: »
    The team to play Kerry has been announced:

DUBLIN (SF v Kerry) - S Cluxton; D Henry, D Bastick, A Hubbard; B Cullen, P Griffin, G Brennan; D Magee, R McConnell; D Connolly, K Bonner, P Flynn; C Keaney, M Davoren, P Andrews.

I'm happy to see Henry back in the corner and Griffin come in but I can't see us beating Kerry with that forward line. I knew Whelan would be rested but I'm not sure what the story is with Bernard Brogan. Mark Davoren deserves his chance after his exploits with Crokes, as does Paddy Andrews, who's a far better forward than back. I'd like to have seen Vaughan get his chance in the corner with Keaney at centre-forward and Bonner dropping to the bench. No idea why Barry Cahill isn't playing either but I think I'd prefer Ger Brennan at wing back. That will give him a lot more licence to get forward without leaving gaping holes in the centre of our defence.

All in all, I can't see this team beating Kerry.

Not likely. B

but its interesting to see Griffin, McGee, Davoren and Flynn back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

No word on a Kerry team yet but I'd imagine a strong line-up and they would have to be massive favourites for this game, even if it is at Parnell Park. Te weather forecast aint great for the weekend which might possibly be a factor, but as the man says but sides have to play in it.I really can't see any logic in resting Cahill, Whelan, Kelly and B Brogan for this game.Dublin might well be down in Division 2 if they aren't careful, which long term is a disaster for any team with serious AI aspirations.
    Football Team News: Davoren debuts for Dubs
    Pat Gilroy has made five changes to the Dublin starting line-up for the vital National League Division One clash with Kerry in Parnell Park on Sunday.

Mark Davoren, who starred for Kilmacud Crokes in their successful All-Ireland club campaign, is handed his league debut at full-forward.

Davoren’s club team-mates, Paul Griffin and Darren Magee, are also given their first starts of the season, with Griffin named at centre-back and Magee given the chance to impress alongside Ross McConnell in a new-look midfield partnership.

Paddy Andrews, used by Gilroy as a defender in the league to date, is repatriated to the full-forward line, a role he is familiar with from club football and his involvement with the Dublin under-21s. Meanwhile, Paul Flynn is back from injury and starts at wing-forward after missing the draw with Mayo due to injury.

Barry Cahill, Ciaran Whelan, Blaine Kelly and Bernard Brogan are all rested as the Dublin management continue their rotational policy.

Dublin [SF v Kerry]: S. Cluxton (c); D. Henry, D. Bastick, A. Hubbard; B. Cullen, P. Griffin, G. Brennan; D. Magee, R. McConnell; D. Connolly, K. Bonner, P. Flynn; C. Keaney, M. Davoren, P. Andrews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 sai_saltydog

Jaysus Kev,
    you were a bit quick pulling the pistol out there lol haven't logged on here in yonks some interesting threads to catch up on... might be fishing thurs if your about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

This thread is over two and a half years old, time for it to die