Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you were BO'D....

• 22-03-2009 3:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭

... would you now hand over the Irish captaincy a happy man, having accomplished captaining, and leading by example, the greatest Irish tournament victory in modern times?

Honest question, obviously I wouldn't be pushing for him to stand down, it's up to himself and Deccie, he might have no notion of it, but I think if I were in his boots I would think job done and just enjoying playing the game from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

RtD wrote: »
    ... would you now hand over the Irish captaincy a happy man, having accomplished captaining, and leading by example, the greatest Irish tournament victory in modern times?

Honest question, obviously I wouldn't be pushing for him to stand down, it's up to himself and Deccie, he might have no notion of it, but I think if I were in his boots I would think job done and just enjoying playing the game from now on.

I think it'll be a while before he thinks about asking himself that question.

He can and should take the team all the way to the world cup as far as I am concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i imagine he would like to be captain for the next world cup to have a good world cup display as captain under his belt.

i dont think he needs it for his career or anything but he seems like a very driven person and i can imagine the poor performance at the world is a thorn in his side personally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

To give away the captaincy would show a serious lack of ambition from BOD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

:confused: Why on earth would you want him to stand down as captain??

Why would he even consider it?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

He could always offer the captaincy to Paul O'Connell as a gesture of good will (as well as the fact that he's no less deserving of it). I don't think it shows a lack of ambition as much as it does a strong, united team ethic which Kidney seems to have instilled since he took over as coach. The fact that Kidney didn't strip BOD of his captaincy was the right thing to do - it would have sent out completely the wrong message for a start. Also, from hindsight, he was proven right - BOD is without doubt the player of the tournament this year. At the end of the day though, the position of captain isnt *that* important. It's teamwork and attitude that counts. BOD and POC are both worthy captains and, regardless of official titles, they're both leaders of the Irish team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

My theory - you're O'Driscoll, you've just stepped up and proved yourself one of the world's pre-eminent players.

He's the Grand Slam captain - why would he give up? Right now Ireland have a platform to build on, surely he would want to be the man to lead them on towards the next World Cup as the captain.
    NickNolte wrote: »
    He could always offer the captaincy to Paul O'Connell as a gesture of good will (as well as the fact that he's no less deserving of it). I don't think it shows a lack of ambition as much as it does a strong, united team ethic which Kidney seems to have instilled since he took over as coach. The fact that Kidney didn't strip BOD of his captaincy was the right thing to do - it would have sent out completely the wrong message for a start. Also, from hindsight, he was proven right - BOD is without doubt the player of the tournament this year. At the end of the day though, the position of captain isnt *that* important. It's teamwork and attitude that counts. BOD and POC are both worthy captains and, regardless of official titles, they're both leaders of the Irish team.

I'd have said giving the captaincy away would be terrible. O'Driscoll and O'Connell both have crucial leadership roles in the team - why change a winning formula?

I'd hesistantly-ish suggest that the next captain will not be O'Connell, I think it will continue as O'Driscoll with O'Connell as basically a co-captain, and then maybe the 2010 Novemeber internationals or 2011 6 Nations we'll see a new captain, probably Best, Ferris or Heaslip or someone of that generation, given that a rake of the lads will be quite old before the World Cup, and won't be playingevery minute of the games...