Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Those F*@kin annoying pass this on emails

• 22-03-2009 2:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Right looking for a bit of advice here please.

You know those annoying email that if you send on to twenty people your wish will come true or email with some vaguely funny picture or story. Yeah that's it the one's which people you know send you not just some random company trying to sell me viagra.

Anyway, I'm careful about giving me email address out so I generally don't get these, anyhow a person I used to work with keeps sending me all shorts or sh!t. The funny thing is we didn't really get on when we worked together so why she feels the need to keep in touch by sending me random emails is beyond me.
    Now normally I'd send her a firm but polite email telling her to f*@k right off, she's had a hard time the last year, she quit her job to move away and was pregnant at the time, first the whole immigration thing went tit's up, then she lost the baby, both herself and her fella had a hard time trying to find a new job and from what I've heard he now spends a hell of a lot of time in the pub. (proof that sending chain emails to twenty plus people will bring you good luck). So as a result of having a pretty hard year I'd like to be nice about blocking her emails.

Any idea's on how to tactfully tell her to leave me alone.

set up a filter to auto-trash them?

edit: like trash everything from her except for when you're the only person it's being sent to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Thanks but I'm using a .mac account and there doesn't seem to be an option to do it.

Lookign for funny idea's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Everytime she sends you an email, reply with a shock image like goatse or tub-girl.
    Needless to say, looking at such images in work will get you in trouble, so don't do it from there, if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

delete them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Bounce those emails back to her and see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Text message one's are worse imo, seriously what f*cking eejit thinks of the crao they send.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Gillo wrote: »
    Right looking (....)e me alone.

You're probably just on her mailing list. Despite being male and straight I get naked men, firemen calendars and "forever friends" ****e on a too- regular basis on me work e-mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Text message one's are worse imo, seriously what f*cking eejit thinks of the crao they send.:rolleyes:

The phone companies. They make a packet from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭norwegianwood

what i want to know is, who the hell comes up with these things in the first place?and, whoever they are, why don't they contribute something to society other than scaring 12 year olds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

Start sending soccer updates/wrestling results/golf highlights - see how she feels getting (in her opinion, i'm sure) stupid sh1te in her inbox.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Burn her house down!!

Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

livvy wrote: »
    Start sending soccer updates/wrestling results/golf highlights - see how she feels getting (in her opinion, i'm sure) stupid sh1te in her inbox.:)

sexist :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Burn her house down!!

Problem solved.

Blame the fire on a rouge highlighter!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Ignore them:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I miss the old days of getting a chain letter in the post...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

galwayrush wrote: »
    Ignore them:rolleyes:

Where's the fun in that?

I remember there was an email I got ages ago which took the micky out of those kind of emails. I'd love to get it again and forward it to everyone who sends me emails like that, although i rarely get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Ponster wrote: »
    I miss the old days of getting a chain letter in the post...

I was just thinking the same thing.

You kids know nothing of the annoying pain of getting a chain letter in the post. It asks you to send it on the 20 people and you have to buy envelopes, paper, photocopier, printer and a stamp to send it on otherwise you may die and then pick 20 friends to p*ss off.

:mad:

I used to get chain letters in the post

I didn't send them
    rebel! :p
    got appalled looks for it though but seriously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

bluewolf wrote: »
    I used to get chain letters in the post

I didn't send them
    rebel! :p
    got appalled looks for it though but seriously...

I hope you counteracted that failure by saying "good morning mr magpie" everytime you see a magpie just in case the devil in on this earth in disguise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

To all those out there who are constantly forwarding me bull shlt chain letters!!!!!!!

>Hello, my name is Basmati Kasaar. I am suffering from rare and
    >deadly diseases, poor scores on final exams, extreme virginity,
    >fear of
    >being kidnapped and executed by anal electrocution, and guilt
    >for not
    >forwarding out 50 billion fukcing chain letters sent to me by
    >people who
    >actually believe that if you send them on, then that poor
    > 6 year
    >old girl in Arkansas with a breast on her forehead will be able
    >to raise
    >enough money to have it removed before her redneck parents sell
    >her off to the traveling freak show.
    >
    >Do you honestly believe that Bill Gates is going to
    >give you and everyone you send "his" email to $1000?
    >
    >How stupid are you?
    >
    >Ooooh, looky here! If I scroll down this page and make a wish,
    >I'll get
    >laid by every Playboy Bunny in the magazine!
    >
    >What a load of bull.
    >
    >So basically, this message is a big "F YOU" to all the people
    >out there who have nothing better to do than to send me stupid
    >chain mail
    >forwards.
    >Maybe the evil chain letter leprechauns will come into my
    >apartment and
    >sodomize me in my sleep for not continuing the chain which was
    >started by Jesus in 5 A.D. and was brought to this country by
    >midget
    >pilgrims on the Mayflower and if it makes it to the year 2000,
    >it'll be in
    >the
    >Guinness Book of World Records for longest continuous streak of
    >blatant
    >stupidity.
    >If you're going to forward something, at least send
    >me something
    >mildly amusing. I've seen all the "send this to 50 of
    >your closest
    >friends,
    >and this poor, wretched excuse for a human being will somehow
    >receive a
    >nickel from some omniscient being" forwards about 90 times. I
    >don't
    >care.
    >
    >Show a little intelligence and think about what you're actually
    >contributing to by
    >sending out forwards. Chances are it's your own unpopularity.
    >
    >THE FOUR BASIC TYPES OF CHAIN LETTERS:
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>Chain Letter Type 1:
    > >>>>>(scroll down)
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>Make a wish!!!
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>No, really, go on and make one!!!
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>Oh please, they'll never go out with you!!!
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>Wish something else!!!
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>Not that, you pervert!!
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>
    > >>>>>STOP!!!!
    >
    >
    >Wasn't that fun?
    >Hope you made a great wish
    >Now, to make you feel guilty, here's what I'll do. First of all,
    >if you don't send this to 5096 people in the next 5 seconds, you
    >will be raped by a mad rabbit and thrown off a high building
    >into a pile of steaming manure.
    >
    >It's true! Because, THIS letter isn't like those fake ones,
    >THIS one is TRUE!! Really!!! Here's how it goes:
    >
    >*Send this to 1 person: One person will be pissed off at you for
    >sending them a stupid chain letter.
    >
    >*Send this to 2-5 people: 2-5 people will be pissed off at you
    >for sending them a stupid chain letter.
    >
    >*Send this to 5-10 people: 5-10 people
    >will be pissed off at you
    >for sending them a stupid chain letter,
    >and may form a plot on
    >your life.
    >
    >*Send this to 10-20 people: 10-20 people will be pissed off at
    >you for sending them a stupid chain letter and will post chain
    >letters to your mother causing her to believe that she actually
    >needs
    >valium and a trip to the asylum.
    >
    >Thanks!!!! Good Luck!!!
    >
    >
    >
    >Chain Letter Type 2
    >
    >Hello, and thank you for reading this letter. You see, there is
    >a starving little boy in Baklaliviatatlaglooshen who has no
    >arms,
    >no legs, no parents, and no goats. This little boy's life could
    >be
    >saved, because for every time you pass this on, a dollar will be
    >donated to the Little Starving Legless Armless Goatless Boy from
    >Baklaliviatatlaglooshen Fund.
    >
    >Oh, and remember, we have absolutely no way of counting the
    >emails
    >sent and this is all a complete load of bullsht. So go on,
    >reach out.
    >
    >Send this to 5 people in the next 47 seconds.
    >
    >Oh, and a reminder - if you accidentally send this to 4 or 6
    >people,
    >you will die instantly.
    >
    >Thanks again!!
    >
    >
    >Chain Letter Type 3
    >
    >Hi there!! This chain letter has been in existence since 1897.
    >
    >This is absolutely incredible because there was no email then
    >and probably not as many sad pricks with nothing better to do.
    >
    >So this is how it works... Pass this on to 15,067 people in the
    >next 7 minutes or something horrible will happen to you like:
    >
    >Bizarre Horror Story #1
    >
    >Miranda Pinsley was walking home from school on Saturday. She
    >had recently received this letter and ignored it. She then
    >tripped
    >in a crack in the sidewalk, fell into the sewer, was gushed down
    >a drainpipe in a flood of poopie, and went flying out over a
    >waterfall.
    >
    >Not only did she smell nasty, she died. This Could Happen To
    >You!!!
    >
    >*Bizarre Horror Story #2
    >
    >Dexter Bip, a 13 year old boy, got a chain letter in his mail
    >and
    >ignored it. Later that day, he was hit by a car and so was his
    >boyfriend (hey, some people swing that way). They both died and
    >went to hell and were cursed to eat adorable kittens every day
    >for eternity.
    >
    >This Could Happen To You Too!!!
    >
    >Remember, you could end up just like Pinsley and Bip. Just send
    >this letter
    >to all of your loser friends, and everything will be okay.
    >
    >
    >Chain Letter Type 4
    >
    >As if you care, here is a poem that I wrote.
    >
    >Send it to all your friends.
    >
    >"FRIENDS"
    >
    >A friend is someone who is always at your side.
    >
    >A friend is someone who likes you even though you stink
    >of shlt, and your breath smells like you've been eating catfood.
    >
    >A friend is someone who likes you even though you're as ugly as
    >a hat full of assholes and you have a face like a dropped pie.
    >A friend is someone who cleans up for you after you've soiled
    yourself.
    >
    >A friend is someone who stays with you all night while you cry about
    your
    >sad,
    >sad life.
    >
    >A friend is someone who pretends they like you when they really
    >think you should be raped by mad goats, then thrown to vicious
    >dogs.
    >
    >A friend is someone who scrubs your toilet, vaccuums and
    >then gets the cheque and leaves and doesn't speak much English
    >... no, sorry that's the cleaning lady.
    >
    >A friend is not someone who sends you chain letters because
    >he wants his wish of being rich to come true.
    >
    >Now pass this on! If you don't, you'll never have sex ever again!
    >
    >
    >The point being?
    >If you get some chain letter that's threatening to leave you shagless
    or
    >luckless for the rest of your life, delete it. If It's funny, send it
    on.
    >
    >Don't plss people off by making them feel guilty about a leper in
    Botswana
    >with no teeth, who's been tied to a dead elephant for 27 years, whose
    only
    >saviour is the 3 cents per letter he'll receive if you forward this
    mail,
    >otherwise you'll end up like Miranda. Right?
    >
    >Now forward this to everyone that you know otherwise you'll find all
    your
    >knickers missing tomorrow morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Hit the delete button on your keyboard...

Wouldn't bother replying or sending any emails to her, she will probably think you want to keep receiving emails from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

dolliemix wrote: »
    sexist :rolleyes:

true, true - but honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I just make an account for spam and one for proper use :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

" with my workout program me you can eat 7 big macs in 7 weeks "

i just reply to the email with a revamped version of that sentence... or whatever sentence it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Surely email programs would by now have included a filter to block all mails with more than a specified number of consecutive ">>>>>"'s or the text string "Please pass this on to both of your friends"

Problem solved !

You know whats so annoying.. Couriers who say they attempted delivery when they didn't.

FCUK YOU INTERLINK IF YOU THINK I'M GOING OUT TO SWORDS TO COLLECT THAT PACKAGE FROM YOUR DEPOT!!

I'd rather send it back to the sender and do a chargeback on my credit card. That'll teach them for using ****ty couriers.

Also i need to start putting in my work address for deliveries. Try say my work address doesn't exisit DHL/UPS/Interlink :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bobbbb

I keep a folder with all of those emails. I have hundreds of them now.

Every time i get one now i forward the whole feckin folder full of them right back to the person who sent the latest one.

I never get another from that person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Glenn Quagmire

If someone sent me one of those emails I would personally hunt them down and rip off their penis and feed it to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

If someone sent me one of those emails I would personally hunt them down and rip off their penis and feed it to them.
    And what if they are female? I see a small flaw in your plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Bond-007 wrote: »
    And what if they are female? I see a small flaw in your plan.
    He'd rip off his own penis and feed it to them

That's just silly.

You don't rip of your penis and feed it to her. Instead you ignore the ripping part and force feed her the penis, while saying "OMG! take it deep"