Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Score of the fight before KO?

• 22-03-2009 1:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

How did you people have the fight scored before Dunne won.

In all honesty, I had Dunne a little behind. I felt he was taking a lot more and was hanging in more. Cordoba was the busier and the more pressing and landing most of the shots.

Every time Bernard landed the crowd screamed and I think this may have
    influenced scoring. I am interested to see the official score after 10 rds

Well, how did yee have it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,445 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I had Dunne ahead but it was close. I had it at 94-92 for the ten rounds completed so far but I was honestly thinking it was still wide open with two rounds remaining and I was also thinking that a draw would not have been unfair if neither fighter won the last two convincingly. Of course I must add that there might have been a bit of bias in my marking as its very hard when you are roaring for a man to keep a level head about scoring.

Edit to add, I'll give a better scoring opinion when I watch the fight again in a couple of days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 newtlover

jimmy mcgee had dunne way ahead

enough said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 getthegarglein

I'm not very knowledgable of the scoring system of professional boxing, but i up till round ten my tally had it seven to dunne and three to cordoba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Bluefox21

bookies had Dunne 1-12 after the 9th so he must have been way ahead!

edit: Got him at 9/2 after the fifth though :)

I'm not very knowledgable of the scoring system of professional boxing, but i up till round ten my tally had it seven to dunne and three to cordoba
    Its called a ten point must scoring system. One fighter is given 10 points for each round. If a guy loses a round its 10 to one and 9 to the other. If a guy gets knocked down and loses the round its 10 to 8 and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

3 rounds ahead in my opinion.. Well done bernard..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I had the score up until and including round ten as being 95-92 for Bernard Dunne. That is 7-3 in rounds to Dunne with Cordoba getting one 10-7 and Dunne getting one 10-8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

I had Dunne four points ahead. Having said that I wasn't sure about the scoring system when Dunne was knocked down twice in the one round. I assumed it would still be 10-8 but if it was 10-7 then I only had Dunne three ahead.

Brilliant performance from Bernard... he had to hang on a couple of times and unlike the Martinez fight he managed to survive which was great to see.

It was great to be at the fight to see an Irish world champion crowned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Ì had him ahead by around 3 rounds, all I can say is fair play to him. I have never been his biggest fan due to the fact that I feel some overrate him but I like him as a person, he's a great character.
    He started the fight well, I felt he got slightly overconfident after that and wasn't as concerned as he should have been about his guard, he got the knockdown but was then put down himself which made him cop on a bit more.
    He bet a classy fighter tonight, Cordoba lost a bit when he tired but even in the early rounds where Dunne was being patient and picking shots well you could see just how unpredictable Cordoba was.
    Dunne deserved this, alot of it was heart and his chin is still very suspect but this has been a great day for irish sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Johnduddy

I thought he was 2 rounds up going into the eleventh and I was screaming at the tv for him to jab and move ! how wrong I was

I cant wait to watch it again - when your watchin live its very difficult to be unbiased.

Just watched the Doc on RTE - makes tonight even better - true belief and spirit from Dunne, Hawkins and Peters. Fair Play to them all and fair play to anyone who thought he could do it. I didnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

I didn't write down scores but my tally had Dunne maybe a round ahead but would not have been surprised to see cordoba a round ahead on a judges card. So many rounds we're real close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

I had him 1 to 2 rounds up, my brother had him up by 3.
    Sometimes its hard to score fights live though, the crowd / atmosphere can effect your perception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I had him two rounds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭ah,sure

Funny, I hear the judges (all 3) had Cordoba 4 up by the time of the KO.

Me, I hadn't a clue. Too much madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

ah,sure wrote: »
    Funny, I hear the judges (all 3) had Cordoba 4 up by the time of the KO.

Me, I hadn't a clue. Too much madness

where you hear that?
    cos I find that difficult to believe.

where you hear that?
    cos I find that difficult to believe.

As do i. maybe up by 1 but 4 come on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Stiv

http://www.thesweetscience.com/boxing-article/6656/george-kimball-returns-tss/

According to this he was down by 6 and 7 on two of the scorecards, which seems a little unfair to me even with Irish bias accounted for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭ah,sure

Sorry no link for me but Indo hack Thomas Myler asked Brian Peters, I was there, and he confirmed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭gd1987

I thought cordoba was ahead before the ko, however dunne was coming back into it. If it went to points it could have been a close call. What a fight though I really enjoyed it and fair play to dunne, nice cap on the day.

Someone mentioned jimmy mcgees comment on scores, I don't know what fight jimmy was watching, awfully biased. At least he can remeber every winner from the 1968 olympics :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

walshb wrote: »
    How did you people have the fight scored before Dunne won.

In all honesty, I had Dunne a little behind.

Seriously? I though he was convincingly ahead tbh, not by the widest of margins but by maybe 2 rounds, then the scores for the knockdowns. At the end of round 10 all Bernard had to do was not get knocked down or out.

More importantly any word on Cordoba? hope he's ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

linked article above calls kiko martinez kiko garcia??? was beginnin to think it was a well written one but even if garcia's his middle name there's a big ? mark over journo.

for the poster above it says that cordoba's breathin ok but stayed in b-mont overnight just in case. but it could be a load of b from this journo. how do u make a mistake like that?

fair play bernard dunne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I had Cordoba ahead by 2, he seemed to be much sharper and more accurate in the earlier part of the fight. I thought cordoba took the first 2 rounds, then dunne took the 3rd 10-8, shared 4th, cordoba 5th 10-7, cordoba 6th, shared 7th, dunne 8th, shared 9th, dunne 10th. Dunne 94, Cordoba 96. Had Cordoba survived the 11th then it'd have been even going into the last round. Brilliant fight from both men. Wh'd have thought Bernard was a knockout artist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

I had Cordoba ahead by 2 ,Was watching the fight without sound (work), In fact thought Dunne needed the last 2 to have a chance.Cordoba from the 5th was the sharper and landing the much cleaner shots .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

gd1987 wrote: »
    Someone mentioned jimmy mcgees comment on scores, I don't know what fight jimmy was watching, awfully biased. At least he can remeber every winner from the 1968 olympics :D

I dont think poor jimmy has a clue, some of the stuff he says is that stupid its funny.... "we thought andy lee was walking on thin ice, but it was thick ice''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I had Dunne up by 1 round. Fair play to him, I didnt think he could do it but im delighted he did. I think if Dunne didnt knock him out there and then he might not've had the legs for th next round and prob would've been out himself. Great fight by both of them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Stiv wrote: »

According to this he was down by 6 and 7 on two of the scorecards, which seems a little unfair to me even with Irish bias accounted for.

No way by that much, but he was down by a few. He was constanly on the back foot and remember, when watching and wanting so much from ONE
    fighter, it can cloud your judgement. I thought Cordoba was ahead by 2-3 points. All credit to Dunne for hanging in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

newtlover wrote: »
    jimmy mcgee had dunne way ahead

enough said

Magee had it level after 10

Listened to first 6 rounds on radio (driving home from Sligo). Carruth was making the point tht the 5th round could've been a 10-7 round. he also made the point tht in a tight round, the Champ usually gets the nod

Yeah it wasnt the widest of margins but I think Dunne was ahead by a point, then the 11th would have been a 10-7 for him, so all he would have had to do is stay on his feet for 3 mins in my eyes.

I thought Jimmy Magee was on top form lads!!! :D Even slagging McAuley about being the first man to notice the male round card guy. "and dave boy macauley the first man in the o2 to notice"... brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Only heard Magee for last couple of rounds but laughed out loud at his line at the end.

"A fabulous finish!!! Not for Cordoba mind you..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 newtlover

jimmy mcgee "it's a rough road with choppy waters" ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

Had Dunne up by 2, at times Cordoba was doing more of the pressing but I thought Dunne was catching him well on the counter and when Dunne was the agressor he seemed on top too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭GusGus

not sure if this has been asked already but does anyone know where I could watch the fight as i was working alst night ????? is it on line yet or are there any plans for it to be shown again ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Stiv wrote: »

An absolute and utter disgrace, these judges should never judge again.
    If it had of gone to points with Bernard winning the last 2 rounds and losing on points then I would have feared for the judges safety... even with me being admittedly completely biased and of the understanding that if the rounds are close then they tend to go to the champ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Daroxtar wrote: »
    I had Cordoba ahead by 2, he seemed to be much sharper and more accurate in the earlier part of the fight. I thought cordoba took the first 2 rounds, then dunne took the 3rd 10-8, shared 4th, cordoba 5th 10-7, cordoba 6th, shared 7th, dunne 8th, shared 9th, dunne 10th. Dunne 94, Cordoba 96. Had Cordoba survived the 11th then it'd have been even going into the last round. Brilliant fight from both men. Wh'd have thought Bernard was a knockout artist?

Admittedly I was at the fight and caught up in the emotion, but Cordoba winning round 2... :confused:

If memory serves me right that was one of Bernards best rounds... I thought he never got touched in that round :confused:

From recollection:

rd 1 and 2 I gave to Cordoba. So, 20-18.
    Dunne wins rd 3 10-8 and Cordoba could have
    won rd 4 and then rd 5 by 10-7.

So, after 5 I would imagine it's 48-44 for Cordoba.

Rds 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 were close but Cordoba did
    most of the pressing and threw most of the shots with
    both landing. If you gave 3 to Ricardo and 2 to Bernard, then
    Cordoba is 5 points clear. It's not unusual IMO!

Although a close fight, if you were shading it each rd to one man over
    the other, then the score could seem high for one man if you
    know what I mean.

All rds were close apart from 3 and 5 and rd 1.
    So, if a judge was shading those close rds to
    one fighter, then a flattering score would result even
    though the action and bout was close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Dodge wrote: »

Listened to first 6 rounds on radio (driving home from Sligo). Carruth was making the point tht the 5th round could've been a 10-7 round. he also made the point tht in a tight round, the Champ usually gets the nod

The 5th round would of been 10-7 on all 3 cards and it's the reason I had Cordoba one up going into the 11th.

5 rounds a piece, with the extra knockdown putting Cordoba in front. Of course that's not how the judges saw it, but it's immaterial now.

Big Ears wrote: »
    The 5th round would of been 10-7 on all 3 cards and it's the reason I had Cordoba one up going into the 11th.

5 rounds a piece, with the extra knockdown putting Cordoba in front. Of course that's not how the judges saw it, but it's immaterial now.

And, some rds being close, could have went either way, that's why I think a 3-4 point advantage for Ricardo wouldn't have been all that surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

And, some rds being close, could have went either way, that's why I think a 3-4 point advantage for Ricardo wouldn't have been all that surprising.

I agree, tbh I wasn't that shocked when I heard he was 4 points up even though my scorecard was a bit different.
    A lot of those rounds were close and could of gone either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭c1979

Like the judges I had Cordoba ahead of Dunne, before the KO I did have a few pints on me though. I thought Dunne was taking too many shots

c1979 wrote: »
    Like the judges I had Cordoba ahead of Dunne, before the KO I did have a few pints on me though. I thought Dunne was taking too many shots

Indeed he was and fair play for surviving. Here's a thought; I didn't rate Cardoba's accuracy much and he missed so many shots and Dunne also showed some
    neat defensive rolls in there. Bernard can improve that defence even more with help.

Had Cardoba not been so wild and inaccurate, then Bernard may have not made it out
    of rd 5.

Big Ears wrote: »

I just watched the fight again and I'd agree with Big Ears on the score now. I would have had Cordoba one up going into the 11th.
    I do understand how he could have been four up too, it often happens that in tight rounds the fighter forcing the pace nicks the round and he was moving forward in most of the rounds I scored even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

I had it at 5 rds a peice after rd 10, but, I probably was being a little biased towards Dunne & rd 5 was a disaster.

the lad behind me (who sounded like he knew what he was talking about alot more than me) had Dunne 2 rds down.

Dunne needed to win the last 2 rds & he done it in one.

Great fight & a great night.

He was pressing and catching Dunne with accurate shots but Dunne was countering well and catching Cordoba too. Dunne also did well when he took the fight to Cordoba.
    After watching the fight again i thought it was even going into the final round of the fight. I wouldn't have been surprised if Cordoba was sligtly ahead as the fighter doing the pressing is usually favoured but i still don't agree with those two judges that Cordoba up by 4 rounds.

He was pressing and catching Dunne with accurate shots but Dunne was countering well and catching Cordoba too. Dunne also did well when he took the fight to Cordoba.
    After watching the fight again i thought it was even going into the final round of the fight. I wouldn't have been surprised if Cordoba was sligtly ahead as the fighter doing the pressing is usually favoured but i still don't agree with those two judges that Cordoba up by 4 rounds.
    Well, if the rds were close, why is it hard to fathom that the judges
    could have scored them for Ricardo?

Breakdown the fight:

RD 1 I feel was definite for Ricardo
    RD 2 I gave to Ricardo, but close
    RD 3 Dunne by two points, fight now even
    RD 4 Close, but again, Cordoba was the aggressor and scored more
    RD 5 3 point rd for Cordoba, now 48-44 for Cordoba
    RD 6,7,8,9,10 were close and could have went either way.
    So, it's a distinct possibility that the 4 points would have been the difference
    come rd 11

Well, if the rds were close, why is it hard to fathom that the judges
    could have scored them for Ricardo?

Breakdown the fight:

RD 1 I feel was definite for Ricardo
    RD 2 I gave to Ricardo, but close
    RD 3 Dunne by two points, fight now even
    RD 4 Close, but again, Cordoba was the aggressor and scored more
    RD 5 3 point rd for Cordoba, now 48-44 for Cordoba
    RD 6,7,8,9,10 were close and could have went either way.
    So, it's a distinct possibility that the 4 points would have been the difference
    come rd 11

well, that's the thing they obviously felt some rounds were closer than i did. You can't get good judges these days:P
    I thought Dunne Won Rounds 2 and 3 and 4

rounds 6,7,8,9,10, were close, but i gave rounds 6,7,9 and 10 to Dunne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

Dodge wrote: »

the 5th was definately a 10-7 round no doubt.

Champ getting the nod is a fallacy.

I had Cordoba up by one or two going into the 11th

anyone know the judges scorecards?

joepenguin wrote: »
    anyone know the judges scorecards?

dont know exaclt but supposedly all three had him between 4 and 6 rounds down :eek: