Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bernard Dunne Champion of the World!!!!

• 22-03-2009 12:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭

What a fight!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

What a face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

spoiler, no?

Tesco never seen it coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Wonderful fight. I think malnourishment knocked your man out in the end though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Legendary fight, Dunne won about eight rounds. Hope Cordova recovers, looks like he's in a bad way. But...

Go on the Ireland!!!

Seriously the best day in Irish sport for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Hunky Dory*

*yes I am being paid by sponsors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Great day for Irish sport. Woop!

edit: although, technically, they weren't the same day right? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

I don't know too much about boxing, but I thought the ref should have ended the match sooner?
    Was the ref right in letting it continue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

Well Done Dunne! Fantastic fight.

Recession me hole lets just all take up sport and win all round us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

PK2008 wrote: »
    What a fight!!

I hope that nobody who hasn't seen the fight yet doesn't stumble across your thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭MrMojoRising

brilliant fight. Didn't think dunne was as good as that! Go on the irish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

abelard wrote: »
    Great day for Irish sport. Woop! :pac:

Best day in Irish sport since "Timofte against Bonner"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

respect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Not a bad day at the office for the irish...not a bad day at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Great day for Irish sport, but I don't like Dunne [don't hate me!]. He's like a wee cocky cock fighter. It's all bells and whistles when he wins but when he loses he looks like a twit. Andy Lee has a far better personality when it comes to competition. I would rather see him as Ireland's main boxing prospect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Dunne is the man, what a day...the way we all feel now, I reckon we could win the world cup of hurling!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

Who wouldn't want to be Irish right now? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

The way we all feel now, I reckon we could win the world cup of hurling!:D
    Ah now. Lets not get ahead of ourselves:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭suzieb

Well done to dunne but have to say he irritates me,he reminds me of robbie keane,happy as larry when he wins but always has an excuse or blames someone else when loses.
    Was hoping that he'd be shown up by cordoba tonight,think dunne having home crowd behind him was big advantage(as always is).

Andy Lee is much more gracious fighter and an all round good guy I really like him everytime i see him fight he puts on great show.
    Also good for limerick as most of stuff ya hear in news is bad so sure he'l inspire a lot of young lads to learn discipline of boxing.
    Katie Taylor has me wanting to sign up to local boxin club!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭Jesus1222

A lot of people talking crap about Bernard Dunne. I doubt you've even heard him talk. He's a gentleman, a family man and a fireman!

He's very humble and as it turns out a world level fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

I'll put up my hands and say that I wrote Dunne off but I'm so glad that he's proved me wrong.
    Andy Lee fought very well too.
    What a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

Well done Dunne, wonderful fight from start to finish. Yer man gave it absolute socks, hope he's alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Now all we need to do is win The World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭An Capall Dubh

i def reckon we'd win da WORLD SERIES OF HURLING AND FOOTBALL, go on Ireland!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Dunne is the man, what a day...the way we all feel now, I reckon we could win the world cup of hurling!:D

LOL who gives a flying fukk about hurling, quidditch FTW!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Some fcuking fight.!Up the Irish.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭rovers2001

Fantastic fight tonight and superb entertainment and yes some previous posts are spot on about Dunne been a cocky so and so but the bottom line is he put up a hell of a fight tonight against a very difficult opponent (hope he is ok) and is A Champion of the world!!!!!!.

DonJose wrote: »
    LOL who gives a flying fukk about hurling, quidditch FTW!!!

you're obviously from dublin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Fair play to the mad looking little hoor, deserved it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Dunne is a scab but a good boxer. Can we sticky this too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Remember that fella Patrick beat all the snakes out of Ireland aswell!!!?!!!

Seriously, what a week!!!!

Great day for Irish sport, but I don't like Dunne [don't hate me!]. He's like a wee cocky cock fighter. It's all bells and whistles when he wins but when he loses he looks like a twit. Andy Lee has a far better personality when it comes to competition. I would rather see him as Ireland's main boxing prospect.

You're talking out of your backside. That's rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

No I'm a muck monster wellie wearing culchie...

tech2 wrote: »
    Dunne is a scab but a good boxer. Can we sticky this too?

Why is he a scab?

Hurling's actually very popular in Dublin.

Jesus1222 wrote: »
    Why is he a scab?

Do you ever listen to him? Also has the look of one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭tipptipp

fair play!! great fight........... :pac:

i know hurling has progressed in dublin in the last few years, and fair play to ye too, pity the attitude of most of you're supporters hasn't...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 mairtinomarta

Fair play to Dunne, but the fight looked like a draw all the way. He will get his ass kicked again once he fights without the home support.

tech2 wrote: »
    Do you ever listen to him? Also has the look of one

What's a scab?

Delighted to see Dunne win, incredible fight. People dislike him on completely unreasonable grounds, even to the point of making stuff up about him or what they perceive him to be. I'd be willing to place a large bet that these ignorant begrudgers were born outside the Pale. It's classic Irish begrudgery but Bernard has proved everybody wrong and I'm delighted.

i know hurling has progressed in dublin in the last few years, and fair play to ye too, pity the attitude of most of you're supporters hasn't...

More absolute nonsense. I don't even know what you're referring to.

(It's your not you're btw)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭ninkynonk

ok bells and whistles when he wins?? and when he loses he looks like a twit? ... newsflash- he's lost once!!! and he recovered so well from that. i think dunne is a great fella. He comes across as a nice guy and he's represents the sport very well. Andy Lee is a similar type guy- good boxer and a decent skin. A load of people doubted me when i said Dunne was world class- but he proved it to all the doubters tonight!

DonJose wrote: »
    No I'm a muck monster wellie wearing culchie...

that's exactly what i'm referring to!!

Delighted to see Dunne win, incredible fight. People dislike him on completely unreasonable grounds, even to the point of making stuff up about him or what they perceive him to be. I'd be willing to place a large bet that these ignorant begrudgers were born outside the Pale. It's classic Irish begrudgery but Bernard has proved everybody wrong and I'm delighted.

I am actually delighted to see him win. Great boxer just dont like him very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Jack Bauer999

What's a scab?

well done to the hunky dorey kid, great result for him.

people perceive him to be a cocky arrogant twat becuase he acts
    that way, its not begrudgery, its the way he acts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭ninkynonk

A lot of people talking crap about Bernard Dunne. I doubt you've even heard him talk. He's a gentleman, a family man and a fireman!

He's very humble and as it turns out a world level fighter.

hadnt read this comment before i wrote my comment above- but exactly what i was thinking. Wonder if there is any other world champion firemen? the guys a legend

well done to the hunky dorey kid, great result for him.

people perceive him to be a cocky arrogant twat becuase he acts
    that way, its not begrudgery, its the way he acts!

Cocky compared to whom? Mother Theresa?

He's confident, he believes himself, what boxer doesn't...he's not smug, arrogant and he doesn't strut around the place.

Anyway, I'll sign out, I'm emotionally drained. Well done to Bernard and the Irish rugby team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Fair play, fair play, he showed he has real guts tonight, he deserves this win and i hope Cordoba is ok and recovers quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

In fairness cockiness comes with the territory in Boxing......think of Ali, Tyson, Naseem, Eubank, Mayweather- to name but a few

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

suzieb wrote: »
    Well done to dunne but have to say he irritates me,he reminds me of robbie keane,happy as larry when he wins but always has an excuse or blames someone else when loses.
    He lost once. He apologised and admitted he was caught cold and vowed to train harder and come back stronger. I was actually impressed with his humility after that fight.

I find that it tends to be people from outside of Dublin who mostly look down on him. In my experience anyway it's always my country mates looking for the "little Jackine" to slip up. Confidence is something you need as a boxer, some people see it as arrogance but it's all part and parcel of the game.

Robbie Keane is a moany git though.