Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Single mothers allowance and council house

• 21-03-2009 5:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭

Allo'

Question Im wondering about.

Girl has a child and father left soon after. She now has a council house awarded to her for financial hardship.

She is now living with her new boyfriend over 2 years or so which to be fair disqualifies her for the benefit in the first place but.......

She is now pregnant by the new boyfriend so would not be considered a single mother at all unless of course like many couples they will just claim he does not live there and is not going to stay with her.

What is the situation here? Will the council simply remove her from the house and give to somebody who actually is entitled to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

When she was given the house she met the criteria required to get a council house so they cant really take it back. Think of it this way, if you bought a ticket in a draw and won first prize you would present the ticket to claim the prize. Once the prize is handed over you no longer need the ticket and can throw it away, the prize is still yours.
    As for her claiming single mothers allowance, thats a different story. If she is living with a man she is married by common law and has to tell social welfare. They then assess them both and decide if they are entitled to social welfare.
    It surprises me to see so many people asking questions about other peoples entitlements. Do they think that by getting people knocked of the dole their own circumstances will improve?
    I once heard it said that theres two types of people in Ireland, type one will look at a big house on a hill and say 'someday Im going to have a house like that', type two will say 'look at that big house on the hill, lets burn the bas***ds out'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

Offy
    Are you for real? Of course reporting people falsely claiming SW will improve the situation for the majority! The same feckless losers who commit fraud and those who support them are the first to whinge when the schools are overcrowded, hospitals are crammed and taxes rise!
    For some unknown reason I cant ask for tips on burglary but this site accommodates those who advise fraud. I have questioned those a few times here but the mods never respond.

report report report!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭chasm

Do you know for sure that they havent informed the council that her partner is now resident in the house? Many single parents are allocated houses and then meet a new partner, who moves in-They are fully entitled to do this but they are supposed to inform the council (as are all tenants) of any changes in circumstances-which perhaps they have done.

If she is claiming one parent family payment, whilst living with the father then as axel rose said that is fraud, which will probably be looked on more seriously than the council house side of things to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I KNOW that she has not informed the council of the new tenant/partner but Im not asking about advice on how and when to report her.

Im asking about her situation. If the new live in partner, who is the father of the 2nd child, is clearly living there(when the child is born) then when they tell the council will the council tell them to pack their bags?

Berty wrote: »
    I KNOW that she has not informed the council of the new tenant/partner but Im not asking about advice on how and when to report her.

Im asking about her situation. If the new live in partner, who is the father of the 2nd child, is clearly living there(when the child is born) then when they tell the council will the council tell them to pack their bags?

No they wont. They might alter her rent but they cannot evict her for moving a boyfriend in.
    axel rose yes I am for real, you fail to see the bigger picture axel rose. What unmarried mothers claim from the government whether or not the claim is legitimate is a small fraction of social welfare. Most women who do claim unmarried mothers allowance do not do it to try and commit fraud, they do it to ensure their children are feed as the father of said child/children are twats that ran out on their kids. Most women that do claim when they shouldnt, dont drive BMW's, they struggle to put food in their childrens bellies. I pay taxes now, from 2005-2007 I didnt pay one cent in tax and I worked all that time. Does that make me guilty of fraud? What do you think axel rose? During that period I was a company director and as such I could claim back taxes for just about anything. I was involved with Enterprise Ireland so you can be sure my books were well audited and I was well coached by the government on how to NOT PAY TAX and all in a legal way. What money is handed out by the government to single mothers that make fasle claims is nothing in comparison to what the government write off from company directors each year. I dont support fraud axel rose but I do support my fellow human where I can, every week I pay enough tax to cover at lease one mother and child and do you know what axel rose? Im happy to do it. I dont give out about the government raising taxes, I do give out about them cutting social welfare. Their my views and its my tax money so Im entitled to them.

HEY MODS
    I want to break the law! I was thinking of robbing my neighbours car but apparantly I cant ask how to do that here so I will do what my 'lovely' matey here does and rip off his fellow citizen. Sooooooo
    • I dont want to pay tax anymore-how do I achieve this?
    • I want a medical card even though Im not eligible
    • Ah sure why not FIS and LPA when we are at it.
    By the way I just want to take the opportunity to bitch about how the government are a bunch of lying thieving losers. :rolleyes:

Word to the wise Offy some people in this country contribute, some people need support and others are lying thieving wasters. Single parents who are not eligible for LPA may be eligible for FIS. There is no need for them to be on the breadline, if they cancel Sky,give up the smokes, sell the new car and stop going out. Straving children my arse! FYI I work in this field and see it regularly enough-no money for food but puffs away on fag.
    (by the way paragraphs arent taxed! :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

axel rose wrote: »
    (by the way paragraphs arent taxed! :))

:D LOLZ

HEY MODS
    I want to break the law! I was thinking of robbing my neighbours car but apparantly I cant ask how to do that here so I will do what my 'lovely' matey here does and rip off his fellow citizen.
    Thats just to childish to comment on.

• I dont want to pay tax anymore-how do I achieve this?
    • I want a medical card even though Im not eligible
    • Ah sure why not FIS and LPA when we are at it.

Set up your own company and employ people instead of depending on people to employ you. Cant help with the medical card one, sorry. If you set up your own company and are unemployed before hand you can claim social welfare, not sure if its back to work or FIS or what but if your entitled to it then claim it, unless your worried about some people being bitter at the claims office because........well I dont know why your bitter so you can better answer that.
    There is no need for them to be on the breadline, if they cancel Sky,give up the smokes, sell the new car and stop going out. Straving children my arse!
    Are you trying to suggest all people claiming LPA are smokers that go out all the time, have new cars and sky tv? I disagree with your opinion.
    (by the way paragraphs arent taxed! smile.gif)
    Neither are manners, Id love to be a single mother claiming for the first time and asking your advice on filling out a form, Id say you are really helpful to citizens that are entitled to their claim. Why do you appear to hate single mothers axel rose?

Regardless of that we live in a country where help is available for single mothers (thank god) and if they get a council house they are entitled to they can move a boyfriend in if they like. If this causes you distress take it up with a politician. They passed the laws that made these services available and as a majority of Irish people dont begrudge single mothers getting council houses and getting on with their lives the laws that provide for them remain. Period.

Ah Offy!
    Either you didn't read my posts or completely missed my point.
    I have no problem with people getting and using what they are entitled to. I do however have a huge problem with scumbags/thieves/wasters claiming for entitlements that they are not eligible for. I also have an issue with the fact that the mods on this site accommodate and promote this practice. The mods on this site routinely turn a blind eye to posters who advise others to lie and claim for aid they should not get.

Single parents, disabled and unemployed people who need aid should and do get aid. I am talking about wasters who are not eligible for LPA, who earn too much to qualify for FIS but decide that I should pay for their sky movies, their kids runners and their fags. I hate and abhor (yes abhor :p) anyone who claims any benefits they are not entitled to.

To think that anyone who is not entitled to any benefits is forced to commit fraud to stop themselves from starving is naive at best. I honestly don't have a problem with single parents, I was just referring to that particular benefit as it was on the OP.

Manners offy would include putting paragraphs in your posts so that they could be read easily. (BTW I have found someones sense of humour here, Is it yours?)

Ah Offy!
    Either you didn't read my posts or completely missed my point.
    I have no problem with people getting and using what they are entitled to. I do however have a huge problem with scumbags/thieves/wasters claiming for entitlements that they are not eligible for. I also have an issue with the fact that the mods on this site accommodate and promote this practice. The mods on this site routinely turn a blind eye to posters who advise others to lie and claim for aid they should not get.

Single parents, disabled and unemployed people who need aid should and do get aid. I am talking about wasters who are not eligible for LPA, who earn too much to qualify for FIS but decide that I should pay for their sky movies, their kids runners and their fags. I hate and abhor (yes abhor :p) anyone who claims any benefits they are not entitled to.

To think that anyone who is not entitled to any benefits is forced to commit fraud to stop themselves from starving is naive at best. I honestly don't have a problem with single parents, I was just referring to that particular benefit as it was on the OP.

Manners offy would include putting paragraphs in your posts so that they could be read easily. (BTW I have found someones sense of humour here, Is it yours?)

I dont have a sense of humour that Im aware of:D, manners axel rose also involves not blaming the Mods for the content of peoples posts. Perhaps I have misunderstood what you said, apologies if that be the case.

Grand so Mr Offy :)
    I agree that I cant blame the mods for the content of other peoples posts but I can blame them for their tolerance of their content. For arguements sake, lets say I called you a dickhead- Id be banned or at least red carded for the content of my post- and rightly so. (assuming you are not a dickhead ;)). However it appears to be acceptable to ask and advise others to lie to the HSE and SW in order to get benefits people are not entitled to. There has never been any input from the mods in this regard, I have asked about this a couple of times but I dont get replies :(.

(Now about my neighbours car-How do I hotwire the thing, I always wanted a 1997 Punto)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 jakey4000

They won't kick her out of the house. To be honest you have to do a lot to be thrown out of a council house. They'll just review her rent. The rent goes up for any adults you have living with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Has anybody got contact details for reporting social welfare fraud?

There are 2 numbers
    01-7043000 central control section

or dedicated office
    071-9672648

I just found a website central.control@welfare.ie

Just to point out that you dont need to leave a name if you dont want to, they are not intimidating and just ask as for as much information as you can give.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

The Quaker Isaac Pennington wrote in 1667:
    Our life is love, and peace, and tenderness; and bearing one with another, and forgiving one another, and not laying accusations one against another; but praying one for another, and helping one another up with a tender hand.

What in the name of good christ is that? :confused:
    Do you have the same attitude to the scumbags that would rob your house? Or is this hippy crap just for people who steal our taxes?

Live and let live. My fear about reporting a woman on lone parents/deserted wives/one parent family payment or whatever its called these days is that if the adult suffers so too will the child. Its not the childs fault if the parent is commiting fraud.
    I put myself through college on one parent family payment/back to education (only after 16 months when they finally sorted out the claim) and it wasnt easy. Try walking in someone else's shoes before you condemn them. Do you know her story for sure OP? Can you prove in court that she is commiting fraud? If your only proof is that her boyfriend has moved in with her then you have no proof.
    I spent five years in the AIT on one parent family payment/back to education, now I pay more tax every week than I got every week on social welfare, maybe it was worth the governments money to pay me social welfare for those five years? Theres two sides to every coin. I didnt have a new car, sky tv, go out all the time, etc. nor did any of the single parents in college when I was there.
    I also have a three bedroom council house, I pay €1000 per month in rent (means tested), a four bedroom private house in Athlone costs around €800 per month. I'd say it was worth the governments time to pay me one parent family payment for those few years.
    PS a single parent with three kids could expect about €550 (figures from 2005) a week from the government for going to college. They make more every week from me for that investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tomred1

Offy wrote: »
    Can you prove in court that she is commiting fraud? If your only proof is that her boyfriend has moved in with her then you have no proof.

That all the proof the case needs. What planet are you on?

If the the person tells the council her boyfriend has moved in, then the council will review the rent and i'm sure the social welfare will find out as the council will be looking for forms to be filled out be the social welfare.

tomred1 wrote: »
    That all the proof the case needs. What planet are you on?

If the the person tells the council her boyfriend has moved in, then the council will review the rent and i'm sure the social welfare will find out as the council will be looking for forms to be filled out be the social welfare.

That is slightly out of context! Offy did ask "Do you know her story for sure OP? Can you prove in court that she is commiting fraud? If your only proof is that her boyfriend has moved in with her then you have no proof."

In other words does the op know for 100% fact that they are commiting fraud.
    They may have told the social and the council- just because they havent told the OP does not mean it isnt so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Live and let live.

Would that also apply to someone who stolen your car ?

jhegarty wrote: »
    Would that also apply to someone who stolen your car ?
    I am anti-violence, anti-war and anti-gettingintoaflamewar so if I caught someone trying to steal my car I think I would call the guards rather than try to kill them.
    The point being the OP only knows her boyfriend moved in, the OP never said for a fact that social welfare were not informed and the OP never said they knew for a fact that the council was not informed. The question was will the council evict her because her boyfriend moved in. Based on my experience as a lone parent living in a council house the answer I give is no they will not evict her because of this. Anyone that wants to offer a different view is more than welcome to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Just_lil_ole_me

Hiya the girl can put her new boyfriends name on the rent book and a certain amount of his income will be taken for the rent i think it's 33% i wonder if the boyfiend is working or claiming the dole because he could claim the family dole for the girl and two children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

personally i dont think any woman who has a kid should be given a house , unless she's paying mortage and if her bf left then help her out

this whole " sure have a kid the social will give you a house " attitude needs to stop , i know countless women who did this and have live in boyfriends and never intend on buying " why when they get €900-€1000 s month towards what there doing "

yet you see countless couples buying homes and because the decline in economy you see them work 2 jobs and still lose homes while these freeloaders get to stay in homes

that has to stop , im gonna report alot of the women i know , and polish people whom i know dont work and aint looking and yet only worked here for 6 months and still 2 years later claim benefits

call me a RAT all you want , but if everybody did this , maybe we'd have money for the extra schools , hospitals etc

people cop on

Acoustic wrote: »
    personally i dont think any woman who has a kid should be given a house , unless she's paying mortage and if her bf left then help her out

this whole " sure have a kid the social will give you a house " attitude needs to stop , i know countless women who did this and have live in boyfriends and never intend on buying " why when they get €900-€1000 s month towards what there doing "

yet you see countless couples buying homes and because the decline in economy you see them work 2 jobs and still lose homes while these freeloaders get to stay in homes

that has to stop , im gonna report alot of the women i know , and polish people whom i know dont work and aint looking and yet only worked here for 6 months and still 2 years later claim benefits

call me a RAT all you want , but if everybody did this , maybe we'd have money for the extra schools , hospitals etc

people cop on

OMG are you for real ???

I fell pregnant on my 1st child and my partner left me and went to England leaving NO forwarding address. I had a great job and had been working for years and fully intended to go back to work, she was then born 7 weeks prem and just as my maternity leave ended she was 6 months old and taken ill with bacterial meningitis ????? She also relapsed and developed fluid on her brain so i could not go back to work as she was a full time job. How was i then supposed to get a morgage when all i was entitled to was loan parents which barley covered formula nappies transport to and from hospital don't mind anything else.

She is fine now and i have another child who was also sick as a baby so i would not lose one precious moment with my children.

I am in a council house and pay rent which has been done through a means test, so what's the problem??? My rent is paid the council are not losing out when my kids are old enough i fully intend to go back to work and buy the house i am in i was just lucky enough to get a first steo onto the ladder. I think everybody is entitled to that !

Some people are genuinely in need of housing and i think your attitude is appaling!!!!

OMG are you for real ???

I fell pregnant on my 1st child and my partner left me and went to England leaving NO forwarding address. I had a great job and had been working for years and fully intended to go back to work, she was then born 7 weeks prem and just as my maternity leave ended she was 6 months old and taken ill with bacterial meningitis ????? She also relapsed and developed fluid on her brain so i could not go back to work as she was a full time job. How was i then supposed to get a morgage when all i was entitled to was loan parents which barley covered formula nappies transport to and from hospital don't mind anything else.

She is fine now and i have another child who was also sick as a baby so i would not lose one precious moment with my children.

I am in a council house and pay rent which has been done through a means test, so what's the problem??? My rent is paid the council are not losing out when my kids are old enough i fully intend to go back to work and buy the house i am in i was just lucky enough to get a first steo onto the ladder. I think everybody is entitled to that !

Some people are genuinely in need of housing and i think your attitude is appaling!!!!

And spending the money wisely too :rolleyes:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=59124900#post59124900

im sorry to hear about your kids

but if u have a kid , stay in ur mothers , theres alot of women ( not saying you ) have a kid so they get a house............. is that right ???

my attitude is of 80 % peoples feelings , there just to sensitive to say it here

im sorry to hear about your kids

but if u have a kid , stay in ur mothers , theres alot of women ( not saying you ) have a kid so they get a house............. is that right ???

my attitude is of 80 % peoples feelings , there just to sensitive to say it here

My mother isn't around !

Nah i think that circumstances should be monitored strictly and things like that take time, i think any girls out there that bring a precious life into the world just to get a house well there is something really wrong with them.

I pay my rent in my council house and i paid tax for years i just fell into unfortunate circumstances.

Single people on the dole also get rent allowance and your not picking on them ???? I just think that some people are genuinely in need of help with housing and i was one of them and greatly appreciate it.

My mother isn't around !

Nah i think that circumstances should be monitored strictly and things like that take time, i think any girls out there that bring a precious life into the world just to get a house well there is something really wrong with them.

I pay my rent in my council house and i paid tax for years i just fell into unfortunate circumstances.

Single people on the dole also get rent allowance and your not picking on them ???? I just think that some people are genuinely in need of help with housing and i was one of them and greatly appreciate it.

the difference is , there not getting €900-€1000 towards rent

€50 a month if there lucky , but they will come down hard on everybody

theres me , single bloke 28 mortgage and just put on a 3 day week ok

and just because i have a house i was told today i will get €42 , now im embarrassed to be on the dole for 2 days

is it fair you get that money and i dont ??? even though i could lose my home if i dont pay it ???

its like rewarding people for opening their legs , pay the consequences or live up to ur actions

is it fair you get that money and i dont ??? even though i could lose my home if i dont pay it ???

its like rewarding people for opening their legs , pay the consequences or live up to ur actions

Im sorry for your bad luck but directing anger at who you think is the problem will help no one. We set up the system we live in, we set up the housing policies the government offer to us. We voted for all of it.
    Just because you've had some bad luck doesnt give you reason to hate people that have it even harder than you. How many single mothers do you think sit at home every day minding their children because they cant get jobs?
    Hows your job going? If you lose it do you think it will be easy to get another one? Will sitting at home everyday doing nothing make you a scum-bag? It could be you sat at home reading this with no job and no sign of one and through no fault of your own.
    She got a house because she was entitled to one because we decided to vote for the politicians that made the rules about who gets council houses. The council cannot take it back because her boyfriend moved in with her. If she ever buys it off the council they will finance it and the rent she paid will (at least in part) be taken of the value of the house. Not a bad deal really just for spreading your legs is it? Makes more sense than taking out a mortgage from a bank and paying two or threes times as much for your home and running the risk of loosing it if you cant keep up the repayments. No point in hating single mothers in council houses because they use the system we all set up, thats what we set it up for.

Single people on the dole also get rent allowance and your not picking on them ????
    €50 a month if there lucky ,

I think you will find that single people on the dole get a lot more than E50 a month!

Single person Maximum supplement
    Dublin, Kildare and Wicklow €130 per week (Dublin and Wicklow) €120 per week (Kildare)
    Longford, Westmeath, Laois and Offaly €100 per week
    Clare, Limerick and Tipperary North €100 per week (Clare and Tipperary North) €110 per week (Limerick)
    Cavan, Monaghan, Louth and Meath €90 per week (Monaghan and Cavan) €115 per week (Louth and Meath)
    Donegal, Leitrim and Sligo €90 per week (Donegal and Leitrim) €100 per week (Sligo)
    Carlow, Kilkenny, Waterford, Wexford and Tipperary South €115 per week
    Galway, Mayo and Roscommon €115 per week
    Cork and Kerry €100 per week (Kerry) €115 per week (Cork)

€50 a month if there lucky , but they will come down hard on everybody

theres me , single bloke 28 mortgage and just put on a 3 day week ok

and just because i have a house i was told today i will get €42 , now im embarrassed to be on the dole for 2 days

Spreading my legs oh that is a lovely way of putting it !

What about what comes after the spreading my legs nappy changes bottles sickness and everything else that comes with kids??? Having a child and being with them 24/7 with no support is not easy i love my kids to bits and wouldn't change a minute of it but sweetheart it ain't easy.

Do you really think it's that easy for me,rearing 2 young kids on my own living on 250 a week paying remt buying nappies paying for a playschool, bills,food,clothes and everything else i live i get by i don't b*tch and moan. I don't go out have no social life because yes this is the life i choose it's the only way i can give my kids a good life. I know everyone has it hard but at least i can appreciate other peoples circumstances.

It's like me saying to you oh you're claiming welfare why can't you go and get a part time job ???? It's not that easy that's why. I paid my taxes just like you. I am not claiming anything i am not entitled to.

I have a partner who is not living with me i am doing nithing wrong.

Put yourself in my shoes what do you want me to do go and live on the streets with 2 young kids ???? Tell me a solution because if i could work pay childcare and have a morgage do you not think i would be doing it???

And are you saying that if you lose your job completly you will NOT take full dole and morgage relief ??????? Of course you will so what gives you the right and not me why because i have kids would you get a grip !!! It's not as if like you who is now claiming the dole i will be sitting doing nothing being a mum is a fulltime job.

I'm sorry for your circumstances and about your job but you are claiming what you are entitled to so why can't i ????

Well said just lil ole me.I hate it when everyone gets tarred with the same brush.
    When it comes down to it you pay the council rent for your house, If you were in private rented accommodation they would be paying most of your rent for you. Then, people would still be moaning.
    i think lone parents cannot win no matter what they do.
    Yes some women have kids just to get a house, but the majority do not.
    i knew of a few guys who claimed the dole and worked on building sites- it doesnt mean all labourers are dole cheats does it?

Its actually called One parent family payment- and is paid to the parent whether male or female.

Do you really think it's that easy for me,rearing 2 young kids on my own living on 250 a week paying remt buying nappies paying for a playschool, bills,food,clothes and everything else i live i get by i don't b*tch and moan. I don't go out have no social life because yes this is the life i choose it's the only way i can give my kids a good life. I know everyone has it hard but at least i can appreciate other peoples circumstances.

Doesn't bother me at all that you're claiming so lets get that out of the way first.. But don't come here as though you're insanely hard up and then post on other forums looking for psychics you can pay (I doubt they work for free) to come to your house for whatever reason. I mean come on...

From what I gather from your posts too is that you've since had another kid. Once again, claim all you like - you seem like a decent enough person compared to some of the crap I've heard. But do you honestly think it's fair to the child to be brought into such a desperate (as you're making it out to be) situation?

I think that people would be more inclined to be a bit more careful when choosing their partners/contraception etc if they didn't know full well that everything was going to be taken care of by the taxpayer.

As a poster above said though, this is our system that we mandated our politicians to make. And of course I think welfare is needed. But I'm not sure if *this much* welfare is needed.

I am taking the opportunity to publicly defend myself here. You sent me a PM accusing me of having a problem with one parent families who claim social welfare.
    I ask you to read my posts again, in particular post 10.

For those who don't want to I will repeat myself one last time........(sigh :rolleyes:) I fully agree with the social welfare system for people who need and qualify for it. However anyone (yes anyone) who is not eligible to claim any SW and lies to get it is a bit of a dirtbag who expects me to pick up the tab for their Sky, fags and car.

Anyone who is earning too much money to qualify for benefits which includes OPFA, FIS and UA needs to budget needs to budget better, not commit fraud. Now you are not in this situation so how is that offensive to people claiming OPFA?

As for not knowing the expense of rearing a child.........believe me I know all too much about it.

I posted this on this thread as I certainly didn't want anyone getting the same (incorrect) impression as you.

Sweet Jesus have I made myself crystal clear on this?

mikemac wrote: »
    The thread is called single mothers allowance.

Does a similar scheme exist for single fathers and would they have the same entitlements?

Not looking for detailed info, but if the scheme exists then I've never heard of it.
    Or maybe the thread title is wrong?

Read the thread, Im a man and for years I got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,618 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

if you report someone to social welfare its completely annoymous.you will never end up in court giving evidence or anything like that.all you do is call or write a letter outlining the problems,give the persons name and address and social welfare will take it from there and investigate the tip off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭uoluol

It is astonishing the number of single mothers who don't understand that if they live with a boyfriend, even if he is not the father of their child(ren) - then that means that they are no longer eligible for One parent family allowance!! (The clue is in the name...)

Actually One Parent Family payment is one of the most generous schemes that exists. Get this. You can get this payment - and - work and earn up to €425 a week and still get some of this payment. And if you lose your job, you may be able to claim a lower rate JB payment. So unfair, other schemes are more tightly regulated.

Claiming a welfare payment that you are not eligible to claim is fraud. Pure and simple. No other term for it. Please report it, after all the welfare budget is running out and we are all going to suffer as a result.

And I can verify that ALL anonymous tip offs are fully investigated and taken very seriously.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Doesn't bother me at all that you're claiming so lets get that out of the way first.. But don't come here as though you're insanely hard up and then post on other forums looking for psychics you can pay (I doubt they work for free) to come to your house for whatever reason. I mean come on...

From what I gather from your posts too is that you've since had another kid. Once again, claim all you like - you seem like a decent enough person compared to some of the crap I've heard. But do you honestly think it's fair to the child to be brought into such a desperate (as you're making it out to be) situation?

I think that people would be more inclined to be a bit more careful when choosing their partners/contraception etc if they didn't know full well that everything was going to be taken care of by the taxpayer.

As a poster above said though, this is our system that we mandated our politicians to make. And of course I think welfare is needed. But I'm not sure if *this much* welfare is needed.

Seen as you are so intrested in my othe posts the phsychic was for my 26th birthday i am allowed have some treats, birthday money was to pay for this but it didn't happen as something else came up.

My partner is actualy in prison (bet you thinking hmmmm typical!) he was before living in his mothes and paying maintenance and when comes home his name will be going on the rent book he will be back in work and SW will be informed my circumstances have changed.

And if you must really know i was on the pill on my first child and on the 2nd i took the morning after pill obviously these contraceptives didn't agree with me as now i have 2 kids that i cherish.

Listen i am not b*tching and moaning i do with what i have and i go without for my kids, i haven't been out in 6 months but ain't that life and it's the life i choose. I haven't made out i am that hard up i have just said it is hard living on the money i have but i get by ! Couple of bills built up and have to econimise on my shopping but that seems to be the way for most people these days.

And my circumstances were not desparate on my 1st child i was in full time work on matenity leave and when my child at 6 months got bacterial meningitis had a relapse and ended up with fluid on her brain i decided not to go back to work.

We all have our sob story and have gone through the mill. My kids have everything they NEED, not everything they want but sure who has!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 gallaigirl

hi Just_lil_ole_me....you are so right!!!!! and i want to personally thank you for saying everything you said.....did you notice its usually men that have a bee in there bonnet about all this? and its usually them who get single mothers into certain situations!!! (id say a few here did too!!) thanx again ;0)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

Live and let live. My fear about reporting a woman on lone parents/deserted wives/one parent family payment or whatever its called these days is that if the adult suffers so too will the child.

That's what the greedy ***** relies on.

Then the child grows up with no sense of right or wrong, just an amazing sense of entitlement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

gallaigirl wrote: »
    hi Just_lil_ole_me....you are so right!!!!! and i want to personally thank you for saying everything you said.....did you notice its usually men that have a bee in there bonnet about all this? and its usually them who get single mothers into certain situations!!! (id say a few here did too!!) thanx again ;0)

I think women have a responsibility to use birth control or exercise restraint.

tenchi-fan--- quite obviously you are a man!!! dont u think men should take the same responsibily???????

Of course they should. And most decent men will. The problem is when women choose to hook up with Jimbo the local dickhead/player/alcoholic/druggie/jailbird etc and are shocked when he runs off from his responsibilities.

and so... the one who stays is the very one to get the slagging?????:confused:
    the loser dad that leaves....just leaves, and nobody is commending the women bringing up these children on their own??? funny that! :eek:
    at the end of the day the state decide if people (men and women) are entitled to their benefit to help them survive, then who are u to be critical of it, yes people shouldnt be claiming when they are not entitled to but then again the state should check them out fully before granting payment and also find these dads that decided to run off from their responsibilties and make them pay too...... but they dont!! funny how the thread is named "single mothers and council houses" and not single parents hardly fair is it!

and so... the one who stays is the very one to get the slagging?????:confused:
    the loser dad that leaves....just leaves, and nobody is commending the women bringing up these children on their own??? funny that! :eek:
    at the end of the day the state decide if people (men and women) are entitled to their benefit to help them survive, then who are u to be critical of it, yes people shouldnt be claiming when they are not entitled to but then again the state should check them out fully before granting payment and also find these dads that decided to run off from their responsibilties and make them pay too...... but they dont!! funny how the thread is named "single mothers and council houses" and not single parents hardly fair is it!

My point was it's the mothers fault for getting herself into a situation where she might end up pregnant by one of these losers. She could always say "no". But like I said earlier:

you are wrong but i cant be bothered explaining it to you as you seem to far up yourself to comprehend and your more than likely one of those dads!

oh and id love to see all these "taxpayers" in a room up all night with a child who is teething or sick, coz when im up with my kid im the ONLY one in the room!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭analbeads

My point was it's the mothers fault for getting herself into a situation where she might end up pregnant by one of these losers. She could always say "no". But like I said earlier:

what about women that have being raped or taken advantage of and gotton pregnant?

a married couple with 3 kids and the father dies from an illness or is murdered...did she get herself into this situation of raising 3 kids alone?

condoms split without people realising it. ive heard 1st hand stories of men that have had sex and realised after that the condom split but didnt tell the woman so she could take the morning after pill

a woman can still get pregnant even if she is on the pill or takes the morning after pill.

what about the men that just disappear and never support their kids? maybe you should have a bitch fit about them instead...if these deadbeats were supporting their kids the taxpayer wouldnt have to!

what about when men have an affair and then leaves his wife and kids and refusing to suppot them?

what about the many women that leave their abusive partners each year?

still all the womans fault????
    men like you make me sick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭daltonm

Of course they should. And most decent men will. The problem is when women choose to hook up with Jimbo the local dickhead/player/alcoholic/druggie/jailbird etc and are shocked when he runs off from his responsibilities.

87,840 people were in receipt of the one-parent family payment in 2008. Just over 1,800 were men.

That's a hell of a lot of "local dickhead/player/alcoholic/druggie/jailbirds".

There's a huge difference in women "choosing" to go for a certain type of man, then having to raise children alone on state support, the reality is that they aren't surprised when he doesn't support his children. But the fundemental flaw in your posts is that it is not the women who expect the state to financially support their children it is the men who fail to do so, and leave the women with no other option.

The children are born - that's not the issue. It's who's responsibilty is it to financially support them, that's the issue and the figures speak for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

Me & my girlfriend have a 3month old &we are both on SW she is getting Maternity benefit & im on €196 welfare allowance, Now she wants to go on Single Mothers allowance because all her Girl friends are on the same thing, So basically she wants me out now :confused: mainly because i cant find a job & cant provide the lifestyle she craves.
    So can anyone tell me will i get the full €196 if i rent a room somewher else.
    Yes i am on the childs birth cert if that matters he has my Surname... i heard somewhere they cut you €50pw for child maintainance... Even though il be seeing him most days anyway