Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

insurance question

• 21-03-2009 2:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭

Hi everyone

I have a small problem to get my car insured... I was off the road for a year for drunk driving, now i have my licence back with endorsements.

i've asked in axa, and they want 7000 euro for 1.4 golf.

i am 23, male, provisional licence, no discounts.
    Is there any way to get normal insurance for me???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭rocknchef

should charge you 100k if you ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Quaver

majnus wrote: »
    Hi everyone

I have a small problem to get my car insured... I was off the road for a year for drunk driving, now i have my licence back with endorsements.

Try getting your full licence, a smaller car, and shopping around. Although i doubt you'll get anything under 5k. No offence, but you're probably an insurer's worst nightmare.

Alternatively, buy a bicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

ok you made your mistake and learned your lesson .... now you still face the reprocussions.

not a whole lot you can do - maybe get a smaller engine car, restricted or fitted with a tachograph, and limited driving times - a year or two after the endorsement is lifted you should be back to normal insurance rates.

I'm unaware if your drunk driving conviction was a "morning after" or "during the night" conviction either way - you hopefully learned from it and wont do it again.

get a bicycle/50cc moped if you really need transport...or ask someone to pick you up/collect you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭majnus

i've learned my lesson, i got few hundred euros fine, plus i was off the road for a full year. I am not drinking at all since then. People makes mistakes, and i had my punishment, so rate of 230% for insurance is just not fair, and endorsements are there for 5 years i heard.

I need a car very bad... and i'm not gonna pay like 5k, no way.

What about bikes?? are higher insurance rates the same as for the cars??

Quaver wrote: »
    Try getting your full licence, a smaller car, and shopping around. Although i doubt you'll get anything under 5k. No offence, but you're probably an insurer's worst nightmare.

The worst thing is - before i've asked for insurance i bought bmw, which i can't actually drive now! that sucks

ill tell you what sucks.... My wifes father was killed by a drunk driver so thats 0% of him ever coming home and i,m sure there is alot more people out there with the same percentages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Hi everyone

The only way to get rid of the loadings is time. Get a quote for something like a 1.0 Polo, and start to build your NCB. Alternatively, you could just not drive for a couple of years. No offence, but buying a BMW without getting a quote was not the brightest - surely you knew that your insurance was going to be astronomical for the next few years?

rocknchef wrote: »
    ill tell you what sucks.... My wifes father was killed by a drunk driver so thats 0% of him ever coming home and i,m sure there is alot more people out there with the same percentages.

true.
    I just got into car, start it and move one meter and i got arrested. So i didn't drive, like drive.

Anan1 wrote: »
    The only way to get rid of the loadings is time. Get a quote for something like a 1.0 Polo, and start to build your NCB. Alternatively, you could just not drive for a couple of years. No offence, but buying a BMW without getting a quote was not the brightest - surely you knew that your insurance was going to be astronomical for the next few years?

I know, my bad... Want to sell bmw now and get something smaller, but it is not easy to sell it..

Well, as you said, i need time so..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

XSDirect would be your best bet. They have a EUR4000 excess on policies though.

Nico

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I reckon stay off the road until your endorsement clears (is there a limitation on them?) and then get your full license. Get a 1ltr Micra, Polo or similar and earn you way back onto the roads. Yes it's a step down from a Bimmer, but you made a massive mistake and you have to face up to that.

Until your endorsement clears (provided it can be removed by time), prepare to bend over irrespective on the CC of the car you consider buying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Chasing Cars

I doubt you are being totally honest when you say you only drove a meter. I assume that if that was true you were both planning to drive further and were off your head otherwise the Gard wouldn't have noticed you and you wouldn't have been caught (otherwise you are the unluckiest guy in the world)

I am all for the idea that everyone makes mistakes and should be forgiven but admit to yourself the true story and grow up, you are 23 and you are buying a BMW?

I doubt you are being totally honest when you say you only drove a meter. I assume that if that was true you were both planning to drive further and were off your head otherwise the Gard wouldn't have noticed you and you wouldn't have been caught (otherwise you are the unluckiest guy in the world)

Yes, just a meter. I went outside the pub, pretty drunk, and i got into the car while Garda were just next to my car - plus i knew that, i saw them looking at me. You can consider myself as seriously stupid, not unlucky.
    I am all for the idea that everyone makes mistakes and should be forgiven but admit to yourself the true story and grow up, you are 23 and you are buying a BMW?

What's wrong with '99 BMW for someone at my age? Nice to drive, i like it. And even though it is 1.8 BMW, believe me, there are lots of faster than that bimmer cars with the smaller engines. I don't know where the myth about BMW "superpowers" came from. It's just ordinary comfortable car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

What's wrong with '99 BMW for someone at my age? .

Nothing. Until you factor in an endorsement for drink driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

What's wrong with '99 BMW for someone at my age? Nice to drive, i like it. And even though it is 1.8 BMW, believe me, there are lots of faster than that bimmer cars with the smaller engines. I don't know where the myth about BMW "superpowers" came from. It's just ordinary comfortable car.

Yes an ordinary comfortable car which is back-wheel drive and flies off the road at the first sign of rain, mud, loose chips . . . etc :rolleyes: Does require a bit more than your average driving skill to keep one between the hedges, and as you've already said you haven't passed a driving test :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Yes, just a meter. I went outside the pub, pretty drunk, and i got into the car while Garda were just next to my car - plus i knew that, i saw them looking at me. You can consider myself as seriously stupid, not unlucky.

You must have been pretty hammered to do that. As has been said, just get a small car and use that until your endorsement is up. Heavy premium is punishment as well as being off the road for a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I got pulled for suspected drink driving a couple of years ago moving my car (in a private car park) from one space into my allocated space....

I hadn't been drinking by the way...just that the car park for my flat was next to a pub.

A mate of my dads got done for drink driving years ago. He locked himself out of his house so got into the car to have a kip...turned the ignition to heat the car ( so he said, no reason not to believe him) and the cops were on him like a shot.....

So it does happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 laneyk

Nice to drive, i like it.

Let me guess, you weren't insured to drive it when you found out how nice it was to drive? And you really think you've learned your lesson? 5K is not enough for you to have to pay. Good luck selling the car fairly stupid of you not to check how much the insurance was going to be first :rolleyes:

Yes an ordinary comfortable car which is back-wheel drive and flies off the road at the first sign of rain, mud, loose chips . . . etc :rolleyes: Does require a bit more than your average driving skill to keep one between the hedges, and as you've already said you haven't passed a driving test :p
    You've quite obviously never driven an E46 318i.

Anan1 wrote: »
    You've quite obviously never driven an E46 318i.

OP doesn't say what model! My current car is an E46 318SE, how does that compare?:rolleyes: My previous car was a DC2 integra, my personal opinion having driven both for longer than 6 months is that the type R was 10 times safer (with me behind the wheel anyway :rolleyes:!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Not related to OP but a bit of advice all the same,

I was told if you ever need to sleep in your car while over the limit, to put your keys in the boot. Otherwise you are deemed to be in control of the vehicle as its your car, and you have the keys on you in the car, even if your on the back seat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Nice to drive, i like it.
    laneyk wrote: »
    Let me guess, you weren't insured to drive it when you found out how nice it was to drive? And you really think you've learned your lesson? 5K is not enough for you to have to pay. Good luck selling the car fairly stupid of you not to check how much the insurance was going to be first :rolleyes:

Beat me to it

OP
    If you have driven your BMW on the road without insurance you would definitely be the biggest fool ever. I'd advise you not to do again (of course if you have already). If you do it again and are caught your conviction for drunk driving will be brought up and any Judge is going to hammer you with a large fine and a further and longer disqualification.

Not worth it buddy

Do you really think the type of license, says ANYTHING about driving skills? I know people paying €400 insurance for a year, holding a full license for past 25 years, and they can't even park the micra properly. I also know people who can drive better than all of us here having no license at all.

I used to drive bigger rear wheel drive cars, NEVER had any accident, not even scratch. By the way, i was learning how to drive 8 years ago on a RWD, 3.0l 7-series and Volvo 960 2.5l ("unfortunatelly" the only cars in family ;)), so believe me, i know how the RWD car acts on the slip roads.
    laneyk wrote: »
    Good luck selling the car fairly stupid of you not to check how much the insurance was going to be first :rolleyes:

i knew it will be expensive, but i was sure it won't exceed like 5k...but yea, that was stupid to buy the car first :(
    If i would know i will have such a problems with that car i would never buy bmw until im like 30.

Do you really think the type of license, says ANYTHING about driving skills? I know people paying €400 insurance for a year, holding a full license for past 25 years, and they can't even park the micra properly.

No not really, I know quite a few people myself who have a full licence and can't drive, most of them never passed a test either ;). Having a licence is not an indication of how capable, responsible etc. you are in your driving ability. NOT having a licence however is an indication though!
    I also know people who can drive better than all of us here having no license at all.

Why don't they have a licence? If they are such great drivers it should be no bother to them to pass their driving test. My insurance halved after I did mine, surely it would be stupid not to bother doing it:confused:
    I used to drive bigger rear wheel drive cars, NEVER had any accident, not even scratch. By the way, i was learning how to drive 8 years ago on a RWD, 3.0l 7-series and Volvo 960 2.5l ("unfortunatelly" the only cars in family ;)), so believe me, i know how the RWD car acts on the slip roads.

I never said you weren't capable of driving a RWD:confused: All I did was state fact which is how the Insurers would see it, it would also appear that you agree with me :rolleyes: And you learned to drive when you were 15???? Was this on a public road with no licence, insurance etc. ????
    i knew it will be expensive, but i was sure it won't exceed like 5k...but yea, that was stupid to buy the car first :(
    If i would know i will have such a problems with that car i would never buy bmw until im like 30.

I'd get a quote on the 1 litre micra as well before buying anything else, once you have that you can price a few cars you may find a bit more desirable and see how they compare to the 1 litre micra, you might be surprised at what you can get (eg the saloon version of something that is usually considered a 'hot-hatch' can be a lot cheaper)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

i've learned my lesson, i got few hundred euros fine, plus i was off the road for a full year. I am not drinking at all since then. People makes mistakes, and i had my punishment, so rate of 230% for insurance is just not fair, and endorsements are there for 5 years i heard.

I need a car very bad... and i'm not gonna pay like 5k, no way.

What about bikes?? are higher insurance rates the same as for the cars??

Jesus you got off very lightly.
    An uninsured foreign retard drove into the back of my car (that I'd bought 3 months prior) and I am off the road for 8 months now as a result of an incredibly negligent Garda on top of an international claim. And while my NCB was temporarily wiped, I was quoted 4.5k.

So consider yourself very, very lucky.

Anyways, I think everyones given the OP a hard enough time already and I'm sure he knows what a complete <insert expletive) he is for attempting to drive a car drunk, so maybe just add suggestions from here on in!

I'd say XS Direct is probably your best bet. But I'd ring up some of the brokers and see if they'll do you a deal.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Out of curiosity, why are you asking for quotes on a 1.4 Golf if you've already bought a 318?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Yes an ordinary comfortable car which is back-wheel drive and flies off the road at the first sign of rain, mud, loose chips . . . etc

Um, BMW's fly? Damn, the salesman never told me that. Where's this magical button and i'll try it in the morning.

In fairness, if your RWD car reacts like that (esp a 316/318) in those conditions it's your driving i'd be worried about, not the car.

(From an E46 BMW owner (Over 2 years) who puts up a decent amount of miles)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭DiarmaidGNR

My Aunty and cousin were killed in seperate road accidents by drunk drivers, people like you make me sick, more worried about a rise in insurance costs due to your stupidity than the damage you could have caused. You should have been shot insted of a slap on the wrist and a fine.

Having a licence is not an indication of how capable, responsible etc. you are in your driving ability. NOT having a licence however is an indication though!

True.
    And you learned to drive when you were 15???? Was this on a public road with no licence, insurance etc. ????

Of course not, nobody would let me drive such a cars on a public road with no experience at all.
    I'd get a quote on the 1 litre micra as well before buying anything else, once you have that you can price a few cars you may find a bit more desirable and see how they compare to the 1 litre micra, you might be surprised at what you can get (eg the saloon version of something that is usually considered a 'hot-hatch' can be a lot cheaper)

yea...im definitely getting 1l now, thats all i can do...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Lets see....

1. You got into and drove a car hammered while knowingly parked NEXT to some gards.
    2. You bought BMW without even getting a quote on insurance first.
    3. You've obviously driven said BMW without insurance.

Now, it's quite clear you're not the brightest star in the sky. So maybe stay off the road a few more years until you mature a little bit?

stevenmu wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, why are you asking for quotes on a 1.4 Golf if you've already bought a 318?

because that's one of the few cars with smaller engines i like, and if i'd get good for me quote that is what i'd get. But now i know even golf is too "cool" for me...
    Vertakill wrote: »
    I'd say XS Direct is probably your best bet. But I'd ring up some of the brokers and see if they'll do you a deal.

I rang them already, they said if the car is 10 years old, like my bimmer, its value has to be at least 10k euro (!). But if it would be like '05 or so, the value could be even 5k. Ridiculous.

I have rang up few brokers already, there is not a hope i'll drive bimmer at my age with provisional and endorsment. Need to sell the car quick so...
    My Aunty and cousin were killed in seperate road accidents by drunk drivers, people like you make me sick, more worried about a rise in insurance costs due to your stupidity than the damage you could have caused. You should have been shot insted of a slap on the wrist and a fine.

Mr perfect himself.
    Did i kill anyone? Did i crash into something? NO. And you can't judge people for what they didn't do, but for what they did. What i did, is I TRIED to drive, and i got caught, and now, there are consequences of what i DID and i need to face them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Mr perfect himself.
    Did i kill anyone? Did i crash into something? NO. And you can't judge people for what they didn't do, but for what they did. What i did, is I TRIED to drive, and i got caught, and now, there are consequences of what i DID and i need to face them.

So what WOULD have happened had you not been caught? You would have successfully driven drunk and possibly mowed someone down? You must be grateful that you got pulled so.

Mr perfect himself.

run off little boy and grow up you have just showed everyone your through age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

While I agree with your viewpoint, I can also see that majnus does have a point. He has owned up to his mistake, and has paid the punishment, and continues to do so now. He is square with the house again, and unless (until) he is caught doing something again, such as driving uninsured, then we don't really have any right to persecute him further. He was very stupid to buy a BMW...what? 318? and expect the insurance to be cheap, with that kind of record, but I don't think insulting him is necessary. Majnus, you may not have killed anyone or hurt anyone, but you easily could have, especially seeing as how you were so drunk you failed to realise there was guards beside ya!

Why y'all saying "IF you, IF something"?
    So you're saying it is ok to judge people for what they wanted, but didn't do?

Shoot half of the community so, bc they're bad, as bad as me, or worse.
    I learned my lesson, i got punished, and i've just asked if there is any way for me to get back on the road, and most of ye are keep insulting me saying that i COULD kill someone. Yes i could, but i did not.
    qz wrote: »
    So what WOULD have happened had you not been caught? You would have successfully driven drunk and possibly mowed someone down? You must be grateful that you got pulled so.

Jesus, IF i wouldnt get caught, and do something worse, it would be different story and different consequences, and probably i would be in jail now.
    But i DIDN'T mowed anyone down. And yes, i am grateful i got caught because now i am sure i won't do such a thing ever again, plus i am now drinking at all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

I think the answer is yes:

Attempted murder, going equipped to steal, harm, injure are all crimes which are dealt with seriously by the guards and courts.

You were attempting to drink and drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Eh.... yeh. If some sicko paedophile wanted to have sex with a child they can be done for grooming a child for sex.

Very extreme example, but you get my point.

on topic,

OP, you just seem very childish and silly in your whole handling of this situation. (I don't mean that as an insult in particular, but just what I've gleaned from reading this thread)

The initial offence was absolutely thick, like ridiculously stupid. I've heard the saying, "don't sh*t on your own doorstep", I'm fairly sure it's a bad idea to sh*t on a garda's doorstep too.

Then to go and buy a BMW 318? You're young, Male and on a provisional license. It was always gonna cost ya a bundle let alone factoring in a conviction for drink driving.

And at the end of it all, your attitude to drink driving seems to have not changed at all. Have you learned your lesson? Would you ever do it again?

Presumably (from reading other posts, although I'm not sure) you also drove this BMW without insurance? You've shown a complete disregard for the road rules and licensing laws, and you continue to do so.

Grow up mate.

whippet wrote: »
    You were attempting to drink and drive.

And i did, and that's what i got caught for.
    Pedro K wrote: »
    Eh.... yeh. If some sicko paedophile wanted to have sex with a child they can be done for grooming a child for sex.

Very extreme example, but you get my point.

Yes, i do get your point, and what you said is correct, but i'm saying about something bit different that that. There was a guy before here ready to shoot me because i could kill someone. But i didn't get in to my car to kill someone, just to drive, so you can't charge me for attempting of killing someone, but for drunk driving. Am i right?
    And at the end of it all, your attitude to drink driving seems to have not changed at all. Have you learned your lesson? Would you ever do it again?

as i said before, i am happy i got caught bc i won't do it again, on the other hand, im sad, cuz now i'm gonna pay millions for that.
    I've learned my lesson anyway.
    Presumably (from reading other posts, although I'm not sure) you also drove this BMW without insurance? You've shown a complete disregard for the road rules and licensing laws, and you continue to do so.

When did i say i drove it? I bought it, never used it. I said it's comfortable and nice to drive, bc i drove one over a year ago, and that's y i bought it.

And believe me, i will not drive with no insurance, i won't go from one sh*t to another.

Jesus, lads. The guy made a mistake, he paid for it, he's continuing to pay for it, and he knows that what he did was wrong. What do you want here, blood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

But i didn't get in to my car to kill someone, just to drive, so you can't charge me for attempting of killing someone, but for drunk driving. Am i right?

The thing about that is drunk drivers don't get into the car to kill people but can end up doing so.

Also I think people here need to see that you have learned your lesson and that you regret what you do. It's not coming across with what your typing.

Also be thankful your not in Germany, I've friends from there and anyone with a drunk driving offence has to drive those smart cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

Orla K wrote: »

Also be thankful your not in Germany, I've friends from there and anyone with a drunk driving offence has to drive those smart cars.

Wonderful German irony

Orla K wrote: »
    Also I think people here need to see that you have learned your lesson and that you regret what you do. It's not coming across with what your typing.

well said.

I really hope you have learnt your lesson think we should all move on. OP should start at the begining again small car and work his way up to the BMW.