Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is right? This is a money situation.

• 20-03-2009 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Partner and i living together 4 years - together just over 5 years.
    My partners been in his job 2 and a half years and I lost my Job in November.
    I was means tested and because my partner brings home 290 a week i was entitled to 165 euro a week.

With the upcoming budget i have beeen freaking out, ive been hearing rumours that all social welfare payments are being gotten rid of and im losing it and for the last 4 weeks ive been putting all my money in to the credit union to have if the dole is gotten rid of.

What with rent and other bills and shopping we have about 20 euro left over at the end of the week.My partners giving out sting to me for putting all my money in to the credit union but im just terrified if the dole does get cut at least we will have money put away.We were never any good with money or saving. We have 1500 put away seperatly for emergencys but im still saving everything.

It was my birthday last week and i got 300e off all my family and friends and it all went straight in to the credit union.

So heres the situation

1. We are pretty much living on nothing after the bills are paid - and if the dole gets cut thats what we will be living on so we might as well get used to it
    2. Im just trying to ensure we do have something if the dole is gotten rid of
    3. I see where my partners coming from but we are in a recession and need to save as much as we can

Just want some opinions . Thanks

They're not getting rid of the dole.

It might drop a few euro but nothing drastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

no one can predict the budget, but its unlikely that they will alter the dole to any significant degree, if at all. if you are saving more than you can afford to then this will put you and your partner under unnecessary pressure. contact MABS for budgeting advice. Also you can try negotiate with your landlord to reduce the rent, the price of most other things have gone down, why not your rent? its worth a shot

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

stop listening to scare mongers - they are not getting rid dole. just concentrate on getting a new job

but i think it is very unfair that you are expecting your partner to pay for everything. you should still be contribution to the running of your family home

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

stop listening to scare mongers - they are not getting rid dole. just concentrate on getting a new job

but i think it is very unfair that you are expecting your partner to pay for everything. you should still be contribution to the running of your family home

+1 the dole may be reduced, but it won't be gotten rid of overnight as you are thinking.

And as pfb said, given that you are getting over 1/3 of the total household income via the dole, you really should be contributing to the running of the house and bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I don't know who you've been listening to but they've been telling you lies.

The dole won't be abolished but it's likely it will be cut. And for sure the last increase given in 2008 will be taken away. But after that, nobody can predict.

You'll have to start chipping into the household expenses.
    And ask your landlord for a rent reduction. In fact, if you have a good case, demand one! You might find a cheaper gaff elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

OP, calm down. They are not getting rid of the dole.

MABS is a good idea.

Have a look at www.askaboumoney.com, there's some excellent info there.

And ignore stupid scaremongers, god knows some people love to take pleasure in making other people unhappy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 MeowXyz

Getting rid of social welfare payments would be criminal. No government would sanction it. It's a ridiculous fear - get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭zxcvbnm1

The govenment will not be getting rid of the dole. That's absurd.

If they got rid of the dole then all law and order would break down as people would start looting everywhere to feed their families and themsleves.
    Crime would spiral.

Society would break down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭smileykey

Eh... unemployment is rising, if the government got rid of the dole then the numbers of people who would never vote for them ever again would also be rising. They may change the dole slightly but they're not stupid enough to get rid of it right now.

The rent thing is a good idea, I know of people who have gotten theirs reduced by €200/month by informing the landlord that similar houses nearby were much cheaper and demanding something be done about theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Unhelpful and off-topic posting will get you banned from this forum.
    Do take time to read the charter which contains the rules and abide by them.
    Have a nice day.
    Thaedydal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭estar

if he really is your partner.

he should be happy you arent spending it down the shops.

maybe save a little, little less. you are correct to save.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Bit off-topic but the dole should be cut off for people after about 6 months in my opinion. To many scroungers out there and the recession is going to get a few more to join them permantly. Also if you have a large chunk of savings then I think you shouldnt even be entitled to state handouts until one is financially exhausted. Some people out there after losing their job on a grand a week collecting the dole is a joke. IBEC recommend the dole be cut by 3% I think I read but sure the gov never listen to them anyway :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

It's terrible that the government and media are frightening people in this way. There is no way the dole will be abolished. It might be reduced by €10 a week or something but that is all that can happen. OP put slightly less in the credit union and contribute to household expenses a bit more. You'll be fine, take care.