Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mens Mini Marathon

• 20-03-2009 1:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭

http://www.irishrugby.ie/10735_16532.php

FITZGERALD HELPS LAUNCH ARC HOUSE MINI MARATHON: Ireland winger Luke Fitzgerald took time out this week to lend his support for the inaugural ARC House Men's Mini Marathon, which will take place in Dublin on Bank Holiday Monday, May 4. The event aims to raise awareness for services provided for men by ARC Cancer Support Centre along with raising funds for the Centre. For further details and race registration, please visit http://www.arccancersupport.ie/ or http://www.arcchallenges.com/.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Just wondering how many people (men?!) you are expecting for this, and which route in the park you are going to use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

My question would be, why call it a mini-marathon?

If its a 10k, then call it a 10k.
    If its a half-marathon, then call it a half marathon.

Good cause though, but due to male machoism (is that even a word?), can't see it being as successful as the womens event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 realhairymary

Exactly, I don't understand this. Last November I did the NYC marathon which was my 5th marathon, and my aunt said to me that my cousin has done 10 marathons. :mad:
    She walks the mini marathon every year. I know it makes alot of money for charity and it promotes running and fiteness, but never understood why it had the word marathon in it.
    I agree, think it should be called a mens 10Km. In fact, it doesn't even have the distance posted anywhere???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Stop being such a hater. It IS a real marathon. The distance doesn't matter its the state of mind that counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Here we go again.... every damn time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

kinda weird cause they ran something like this few years ago.only ran for 2 years and avonmore sponsered it.is it the same one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

If its a 10k, then call it a 10k.
    If its a half-marathon, then call it a half marathon.

Good cause though, but due to male machoism (is that even a word?), can't see it being as successful as the womens event.

"Men's Quarter-marathon-less-500m".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Domer

According to www.dictionary.com

mar⋅a⋅thon    Pronunciation [mar-uh-thon, -thuhn]
    –noun 1. a foot race over a course measuring 26 mi. 385 yd. (42 km 195 m).
    2. any long-distance race.
    3. any contest, event, or the like, of great, or greater than normal, length or duration or requiring exceptional endurance: a dance marathon; a sales marathon.

I am in favour of definition 1. A marathon, in running terms is the 26 mile one. Even definition 2, is not appropriate here as 6.2 mile is hardly a long-distance race in the grand scheme of things.

Domer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

alot people on here worring about trivial things.Its called a mini marathon because to the avearge joe bloggs it feels like a mini marathon.
    I also notice loads people on here going on about if the course was short or long ect ect,hang on let me check my garmin.Just run the race and enjoy it for feck sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

The marathon / mini-marathon debate has been done to death TBH. You'll nver change the opinions of either side so why try?
    I also notice loads people on here going on about if the course was short or long ect ect,hang on let me check my garmin.Just run the race and enjoy it for feck sake.

This though I really don't agree with. If I'm running a 10k race then I want to know that the time I run is for 10k, not 9.6k or whatever. Just run teh race and enjoy it might be fine for some but a lot of us train hard and track progress using race times. A lot of us use results at shorter races to predict pacing for longer races. A lot of us have compete among each other on here for times over the same distance but at different races.

All of this is out the window if teh course is inaccurate. Now the OCD folk complaining about a 10k course actually being 10,002m or whatever I agree with you about. But a 10k race that is 600m short is a disgrace and leaves the race organisers failing in thier most basic duties to teh competitors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

The marathon / mini-marathon debate has been done to death TBH. You'll nver change the opinions of either side so why try?

Now the OCD folk complaining about a 10k course actually being 10,002m or whatever I agree with you about. But a 10k race that is 600m short is a disgrace and leaves the race organisers failing in thier most basic duties to teh competitors.
    Nobody minds a few metres here or there but when errors in the hundreds occur it's a pain in the ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Stark wrote: »
    "Men's Quarter-marathon-less-500548.75m".

FYP (I think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Exactly, I don't understand this. Last November I did the NYC marathon which was my 5th marathon, and my aunt said to me that my cousin has done 10 marathons. :mad:

I heard my mother on the phone the other day tell a friend ".....he was running in a marathon there last Sunday (MSB 5K)".

Embarassing:o I made sure to give a bit of bollicking but I could tell it did not make a blind bit of difference.....mammy's:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Whatever you want to call it when it comes to participation this is one event us lads will never beat the ladies at!!! ;)

I vaguely remember doing this a few years ago. The only thing that stood out was those of us towards the end of the field nearly got ran over by a herd of deer when they decided to cross the road!

Best of luck to the organisers. It's a good cause and I hope that everyone on this forum supports it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭elekid

I was thinking of taking part in this for the charity aspect but I'm not remotely fit so I was wondering if it would be seen as strange to walk something like this? Is it a done thing? A 10k walk would still be quite a challenge for someone of my level but I'd hate to walk away from the starting line while everyone else dashes off and leaves me in their dust. Maybe this is the wrong forum to ask in considering most people who post here probably aim to be closer to the front of pack :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Wobbuffet

elekid wrote: »
    I was thinking of taking part in this for the charity aspect but I'm not remotely fit so I was wondering if it would be seen as strange to walk something like this? Is it a done thing? A 10k walk would still be quite a challenge for someone of my level but I'd hate to walk away from the starting line while everyone else dashes off and leaves me in their dust. Maybe this is the wrong forum to ask in considering most people who post here probably aim to be closer to the front of pack :P

If you're doing it for charity it doesn't matter how fast you do it, just how much money you collect. Lots of people walk mini marathons or do them dressed in costumes etc, for a good cause,

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'll be there...

...supporting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭wizwill

hi, does anyone know if the arc 10k will be a chipped race?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Anyone else see the big signs for this on the bus shelters fairly impressive actually.. maybe the mens mini marathon will take off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

its like ground hog day around here, between the repeat of the "use of the word mini marathon" debate, and newbies looking for medical advise:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

emerald007 wrote: »
    its like ground hog day around here, between the repeat of the "use of the word mini marathon" debate, and newbies looking for medical advise:rolleyes:
    It was more a comment on their add's actually look impressive when i spotted it today. plus a little dig at the name again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 williemakeit

elekid wrote: »

just to let you know myself and my work colleagues have entered this race to support one of our colleagues who is recovering from the BIG C. we are of various levels of fitness, but the majority are going to walk with him. the more that enter the better. maybe if some people who whinged in the previous posts about the title "mini marathon" came down to the real world and be grateful that they have their health!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭p to the e

I shall be there and i heard you can register on the day so that suits aswell. this is a beginner test for the Dublin Marathon which i'm going for. and BTW i stopped looking a lot of other sports forums on boards because of the egos that were produced there so please don't let it happen on an athletics forum. you may get angry when they start calling the "mini marathon" a marathon fullstop. come on the ARC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

wizwill wrote: »
    hi, does anyone know if the arc 10k will be a chipped race?

No it's not chipped. Got my number in the post yesterday. Bruised a few ribs last week so I'm hoping for a recovery in time. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

This is the same circuit as The aware 10k that took place just before christmas isnt it? Can anybody confirm that?
    If it is its a fast circuit. Anybody have any idea as to how many people are running the race?
    Dont know about this men only race thing though.........One of the joys of competing in these road races is women in lycra:). I mean I can understand the appeal of a womens only race as women are beautiful creatures and great to look at. Unfortunatley us blokes are just ugly, hairy sons of bitches. So there'll be nothing nice to look at on Monday:(. The only good thing though is that with nothing to distract us I reckon there'll be PBs all over the shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

tunguska wrote: »
    This is the same circuit as The aware 10k that took place just before christmas isnt it? Can anybody confirm that?
    If it is its a fast circuit.

I wouldnt've described the aware 10k as a fast course.

Its pretty hilly and the final k up the Khyber pass was a killer imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Bog Butter

I'm driving up from Navan tomorrow to run this race. It will only be my second race and 1st at that distance. Is there parking in the vicinity does anybody know?

malman wrote: »
    I'm driving up from Navan tomorrow to run this race. It will only be my second race and 1st at that distance. Is there parking in the vicinity does anybody know?

Yea there will be loads of parking around teh cross and on te roads around the start. Parking wont be a problem.

thats grand thanks

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Yep, plenty of parking along the main road through the park ( Chesterfield Avenue ? ) and in the Papal cross car park. Your unlikely to be able to park along the actual road where the start is though, but it's just a couple of minutes walk away from the car park.

What time does it kick off tomorrow? If the weather is dry then I'll be there with the camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭A P

10am. Looking forward to it.

I'm new to this so i'm just looking for some advice here. Is it advisable to go for a run the day before a race. I did about 20 laps of my local gaa pitch yesterday. Should I not do anything today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭A P

I'd be resting up today - leave the legs fresh for tomorrow. I don't think there's anything to be gained from training today, unless it's a gentle short jog to loosen out the legs. You'll be glad of the rest tomorrow. Don't do anything too strenuous anyway.

Grand. I'll keep the feet up and watch the snooker. Thanks.

10am? That's early on a bank holiday. If I can get out of bed I'll be there on my bike to watch yee all finish. Hope it's not too warm, best of luck to any doing this.

Just back from the park ran around 34:15 for the 9.3K

Someone had the bright idea to make the race a bit shorter:confused: and skip the lower glen. Was the race not AAI certified?

Gave up interest at the 5K and took it handy for the rest of the race. Bit dissapointing as I was running well.

It was raining, so I had a cup of tea and watched TV instead. Were there many running it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

gmurran wrote: »
    Someone had the bright idea to make the race a bit shorter:confused: and skip the lower glen. Was the race not AAI certified?

That's very disappointing - but queue the jibes from the Ladies!!!

200-300 running I think . It was well organised apart from the distance error. Although I expect with so few runners costs must nearly match the income.

But still a nice way to spend a bank holiday Monday even if the weather was poor.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I thought that people were coming round a bit quick and heard some people wondering where one of the km markers was at the end. Looked like they were handing out a pretty decent goody bag though.

The camera seemed to just about survive the rain on the lens so there will be some photos appearing online shortly, I may make myself a coffee first though.

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    ...but queue the jibes from the Ladies!!!

Well I didn't notice anyone walking arm in arm and eating their packed lunch on the way round though. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

gmurran wrote: »
    Just back from the park ran around 34:15 for the 9.3K

Gave up interest at the 5K and took it handy for the rest of the race. Bit dissapointing as I was running well.

Pity that happened. These runs are definitely more about the charity. The Calcutta run last year wasn't a 10k either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

stmochtas wrote: »
    Pity that happened. These runs are definitely more about the charity. The Calcutta run last year wasn't a 10k either.

They need to call this out clearly beforehand, quite a few would plug these races in as progress points or attempting a PB.

Some pictures are now starting to appear here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/spideog/sets/72157617591598517/

Thanks robinph you caught me at the start in the Sportsworld singlet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭milligank

I asked the organiser at the end about the distance....

The lead car or lead marshall missed the turn down the glen (leaving the race 700m short). This was a bit of human error..

It was not planned. But there you go....thats life.

We all had to run the same distance.

I liked my goodie bag too.

Av speed allthe way round...4.15per km. Today was a nice training run.

Roll on the duathlon in the park on wednesday ! I'll be saving my "eyeballs out" racing for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 johnnyfox24

It was very good race and great goody bags!

Pity the lead car missed the turn, but anywho - I just calculated on the map my run website as 570 meters under the 10k...so wont be able use todays times as new pb!

milligank wrote: »
    The lead car or lead marshall missed the turn down the glen (leaving the race 700m short).

Rubbish. That wouldn't happen in the Womens version. Shoddy organisation ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Rubbish. That wouldn't happen in the Womens version. Shoddy organisation ;)

Silly boys, just wanting to get to the pub sooner... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 drand

Hi All -

I'm a new poster (and new to running in general!) but I've been lurking on this board (and running about the place) for a few weeks now and just wanted to say thanks for all the good advice and discussion!

Did the ARC race today - my first ever race and finished in 45min 15 secs. Was a bit wet at windy at the start. The course did seem to be quite a bit short though - my garmin registered 9.33k. I passed the 5k marker at 4.3k and the 7k marker at 6k - so I dunno if they just left a bit out of the end...

Overall very enjoyable though and I'm looking forward to taking part in a few more races in the coming months.