Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

facebook group..gone overnight!

• 20-03-2009 12:27pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭

I was proud to accept an invitation to the "gerry Ryan is a complete and utter wanker" group on facebook yesterday.
    It had over 10,000 memebers in less than a week and seemed to be(deservedly) doing very well.
    I went to check the comments this morning to find the entire group is gone,no traces at all of the bile of ten thousand people!
    Anybody know what occured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Degsy wrote: »
    I was proud to accept an invitation to the "gerry Ryan is a complete and utter wanker"
    Maybe he finished, did you try wiping the screen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I joined that group the other day, pity it is gone, he probably got his solicitors onto it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭road_2_damascus

Id say the authorities got it removed as it had too many negative conortations, defamation of character etc. The other thing is that he has a young family, one of them is bound to have spotted this and contacted the Facebook controllers (the CIA, that is :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Anybody know what occured?

The group was removed overnight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

The group was removed overnight.

Jaysus..there's no flies on you is there?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

That's a pity. How long does it take to set up a Facebook page? Someone should reinstate it. It's a basic human right that people should have their soapbox to complain about that fat piece of sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Don't worry lads, ill take care of it later.

To avoid solicotirs, it's be known as "Gerry Ryan is still a complete and utter wanker"

I think i'll set one up in the meantime "Gerry ryan is a complete and utter wanker RIP"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

How about "gerry Ryan is *still* a complete and utter wanker"

Hmmm, wonder when Arrr-Tee-Ee will release that it's still paying over the odds to a complete tossmonkey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

jealousy is a bitch

I'm real jealous that 12,000 people arent calling me a wanker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

That's 13cent a day per insulter. Not a bad return.

jealousy is a bitch

Indeed. I'm not a Ryan fan but there are enough people who are to justify his job. I don't get the bile here for Ryan - if you don't like the show, don't listen to it.

I doubt he gives a flying fúck that just 12,000 people think he is a wanker. ~300,000 people tune in each day to listen to him. There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about.

Indeed. I'm not a Ryan fan but there are enough people who are to justify his job. I don't get the bile here for Ryan - if you don't like the show, don't listen to it.

I doubt he gives a flying fúck that just 12,000 people think he is a wanker. ~300,000 people tune in each day to listen to him. There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about.

He cares very much if people call him a wanker in public,thats why he got his solicitors to have the group taken down.
    In effect he wants to censor the internet when it comes to crticising him.
    Anyway,here's anew group.
    http://www.facebook.com/s.php?q=gerry%20ryan&init=s%3Agroup&k=200000010&n=-1&sid=b3ea791408f4d5e71442043e547f8169#/group.php?sid=b3ea791408f4d5e71442043e547f8169&gid=58932434823

thats why he got his solicitors to have the group taken down.

Do you have any evidence that this actually happened? I mean in the real world, not in one of your Gerry Ryan dreams.

It would have been trivial for anybody to simple click on "Report Group" and have Facebook remove the group based on their policies.

Do you have any evidence that this actually happened? I mean in the real world, not in one of your Gerry Ryan dreams.

It would have been trivial for anybody to simple click on "Report Group" and have Facebook remove the group based on their policies.

Who cares how it happened..he brought this backlash on himself..the fat fool.

Who cares how it happened

Ummmm, you do, you just used the "fact" that Gerry Ryan's solicitors removed the FB group in your last post to support your assertion that he cares.

I doubt he cared about a group with 12,000 members. I guess he'll care less about a group with 13 members. No wait, 14 members. From small acorns ....

Ummmm, you do, you just used the "fact" that Gerry Ryan's solicitors removed the FB group in your last post to support your assertion that he cares.

I doubt he cared about a group with 12,000 members. I guess he'll care less about a group with 13 members. No wait, 14 members. From small acorns ....

Do you have any proof that he doesnt care about the group?
    He has a reputation for bullying people who speak ill of him.
    In his own (crappy) book he admits to telephoning various critics and asking them why they criticised him.
    A tool of the forst order.

Do you have any proof that he doesnt care about the group?

I don't need any. All my statements were qualified as my own opinion (i.e. "I guess", "I doubt"). Now if I had stated, without any qualification, that he didn't like the group and that he had his solicitors involved I'd want to be pretty sure. I'd want some real world corroboration.

Let me know if you're having trouble keeping up, I can type slower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I am told Gerry Ryans favorite subject (next to people talking about Gerry Ryan ) is Gerry Ryan .

I don't need any. All my statements were qualified as my own opinion (i.e. "I guess", "I doubt"). Now if I had stated, without any qualification, that he didn't like the group and that he had his solicitors involved I'd want to be pretty sure. I'd want some real world corroboration.

Let me know if you're having trouble keeping up, I can type slower.

Are you a friend of his or just lonely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Anyone who has listened to G. Ryan down the years knows he takes personal criticism very badly. If he had read the original facebook group he would have spontaneously combusted.

I have heard Gerry say that critical media pieces have sent he running to his solicitor. Unless the group contarvined facebook rules, it is highly likely he or someone connected to him had it closed down.

deadhead13 wrote: »
    Unless the group contarvined facebook rules

Which it did.
    upload, post, transmit, share, store or otherwise make available any content that we deem to be harmful, threatening, unlawful, defamatory, infringing, abusive, inflammatory, harassing, vulgar, obscene, fraudulent, invasive of privacy or publicity rights, hateful, or racially, ethnically or otherwise objectionable;

Anyone who has listened to G. Ryan down the years knows he takes personal criticism very badly. If he had read the original facebook group he would have spontaneously combusted.

I have heard Gerry say that critical media pieces have sent he running to his solicitor. Unless the group contarvined facebook rules, it is highly likely he or someone connected to him had it closed down.

They're quite wary of his litigationary ways here on boards...i got a slap on the wrist for pointing out something about him that was considered common knowledge.
    The expression the mod used was "trigger happy" in relation to him.
    A scumbag,he can give it but he cant take it.
    There's no doubt he had that facebook group taken down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Which it did.

Having read that, it seems strange that the group was allowed to amass 10,000 members before it was pulled.

In some ways yes. But I guess Facebook have better things to do than actively monitor these things. Especially for smaller groups (10,000 when you have 170,000,000 members is not relatively that big). And assuming somebody did just click on the "report abuse" link my guess is it goes to an overworked help desk who need to verify reports before they delist a group.

...or that tart with the red hat who hung around with his daughter reported the group and got it closed down.
    i dont see why it would happen so suddenly on the say-so of one member though,i've reported lots of racist groups and they didnt do anything.