Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lads holiday but to avoid the knackers!

• 19-03-2009 9:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭

basically myself and my mates all aged 23-24 want to go on a lads pissup holiday this summer but ideally we want to avoid places full of 18yr olds wreckin the place i.e. hersonissos, ayia napa, playa del finglas.

anyone any suggestions, we've been told ios and kos could be what we're lookin for.anyone been to either?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

df1985 wrote: »
    basically myself and my mates all aged 23-24 want to go on a lads pissup holiday this summer but ideally we want to avoid places full of 18yr olds wreckin the place i.e. hersonissos, ayia napa, playa del finglas.

anyone any suggestions, we've been told ios and kos could be what we're lookin for.anyone been to either?

Kardemena in Kos would be good, so would Corfu.

I've only ever been to the quieter parts of Majorca, but friends tell me Sh(M)agaluf can be good, if you get a good hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Sunny Beach in Bulgaria might suit ye. Plenty of Night Clubs and cheap drink anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Famous45

Las Vegas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭TingTong

I'll second Las Vegas. The ultimate lads getaway. What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas.

When I was 22 I went Inter-railing with the lads and it was a great holiday for a piss up. Every few days you get to sample a whole different drinking culture. Win!

There's also Tenerife. The chicks aren't the best but it wasn't full of the usual Crete style knacks that I saw when I was there. It's a pretty friendly place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Puerto Rico, its about 30 minutes down the road from Playa Del Ingles but its a far friendlier easygoing resort.

And its only €20 by taxi if you decide you want to head up to PDI for a night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

key west ! great spot for a lads holiday without the knackers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bobbbb

Las Vegas for me too. The knackers cant afford to get there. And they would be arrested anyway if they start acting like knackers over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭keltoms

Puerto Rico, its about 30 minutes down the road from Playa Del Ingles but its a far friendlier easygoing resort.

And its only €20 by taxi if you decide you want to head up to PDI for a night.

ehhh more like 40 euro in a taxi, suppose not much between a few people though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Ios seems to be the big southside thing to do these days. A girl I know went there for 6 weeks a couple of years ago during college summer break and she knew practically everybody there at the time!

Anyway ... go to Vegas, you'll have a far better time there. Flights and hotels are very reasonable too these days.

I was in Vegas for six nights two years ago and if I could've stayed there a month, I would have. It's the best place on earth! Oh the shopping ...! It was such a fun holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭oppiuy

Kos town in Kos in great..Most irish and are scandanavian friends, no pikeys that i can remember anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 sin-blu

i've been ta both ios and kos. wasnt a big fan of ios thought it was full of south siders and knackers but loved kos-kardamena is very english but kos town is great craic an real cheap drink!!