Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So Excited - But some advice.

• 19-03-2009 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭

Ok after humming and hawing and spending weeks researching Edinburgh and Barcelona, tonight i BOOKED New York so that i cannot hum and haw and spend anymore time looking at hotels and flights and his brithday is tomorrow so i had to have something as a present so killing two birds with one stone.

Me 28, His Lordship 32
    Booked flighted with Continental from Shannon to Newark for Friday 24 April. (arrive at 11am approx) and leaving Monday Evening.

Booked The Grand Hyatt Hotel. (anyone been there?)

I've been in New York for a few weeks before as have a brother in queens but he's never been and i wanted him to see it. I've done all the touristy stuff but it was back in 2003 so long time back.

Few Questions.
    Continental: Checked baggage. It says you have to pay thats fine, its showing me prices in dollars though and not from Europe the price. Also i think i read right that its ONE hour before departure check-in. Is this correct cause with Aer Lingus when i flew to NY and Canada i checked in something like two hours before.

Grand Hyatt. I have done a search but havent found anyone here who has stayed there. Just wondering if anyone has and any feedback (i have read all reviews on hotels.com, expedia, etc)

Anything you would recommend pre-booking? What is the Top of the Rock thing?

First holiday together, actually first full weekend together as he self employed and works 7 days a week so won't get away again for another year i bet.

He loves the pub and the craic, can anyone recommend any bars. (when i there i only went to all the bars in woodside).

Places to eat.

How much money would be ok for the weekd. Would 1,000 euro cover me (i dont drink, wont be shopping crazy).

Never flew into Newark, JFK last time. How much is a taxi from Newark and how far of a ride is it?

Any anything else ye would like to tell me.

Thank you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Pretty much everything you need to know is covered in the New York megathread at the top of the forum.

In the first post, you'll find links to two older parts of the megathread which will give you even more information, hints and tips.