Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí found Garda uniforms in car

• 19-03-2009 5:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭

From Breakingnews.ie:
    Detectives found garda uniforms, bulletproof vests and an extendable baton in a car they stopped in Dundalk just before Christmas 2007, the Special Criminal Court in Dublin heard today.

They also found two black bomber jackets with the logo "Republican Socialist Movement Dundalk" and an AK47 rifle and red star on the back.

The accused and the car’s driver were arrested and when gardaí searched the car boot they found garda uniforms, two bulletproof vests and the black bomber jackets. An extendable baton and gloves were found in the front of the car.

When Lee’s home was searched, an Irish Army issue bulletproof vest was found under the bed.

Now, this is slightly scary, my question is Where did he get all this gear?

(Apologies to mods, if this should be in the news thread please move! ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Wasnt there a break-in in Harcourt St. a couple of years ago. AFAIR there were uniforms taken at the time looks like they have (hopefully) resurfaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

would After hours be a better place for this?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Hogzy wrote: »
    would After hours be a better place for this?

No, here is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

angelfire9 wrote: »
    From Breakingnews.ie:
    Detectives found garda uniforms, bulletproof vests and an extendable baton in a car they stopped in Dundalk just before Christmas 2007, the Special Criminal Court in Dublin heard today.

They also found two black bomber jackets with the logo "Republican Socialist Movement Dundalk" and an AK47 rifle and red star on the back.

The accused and the car’s driver were arrested and when gardaí searched the car boot they found garda uniforms, two bulletproof vests and the black bomber jackets. An extendable baton and gloves were found in the front of the car.

When Lee’s home was searched, an Irish Army issue bulletproof vest was found under the bed.

Talk about stupid, imagine robbing a bank with Republican Socialist Movement Dundalk on your bomber jacket. Guards are able to identify the gang, then when the weapon is disposed of (and if its found)the guards find a red star on the stock! No csi forensics needed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

donvito99 wrote: »
    Talk about stupid, imagine robbing a bank with Republican Socialist Movement Dundalk on your bomber jacket. Guards are able to identify the gang, then when the weapon is disposed of (and if its found)the guards find a red star on the stock! No csi forensics needed!

A few years ago I remember a clown going around grafittiing (sic?) all over this area. He got caught when it transpired his tag was his house number. Clever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Oh, that thread title got my hopes up.
    Anyone seen my patrol jacket?
    I bet Eru took it out of my locker again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭mac_attack

Two garda uniforms and a Republican Socialist movement unifrom ehh? All they needed was some "actors" and "amateur footage" and they would have some great propoganda on their hands, me thinks. Very dodgy indeed.

mac_attack wrote: »
    Two garda uniforms and a Republican Socialist movement unifrom ehh? All they needed was some "actors" and "amateur footage" and they would have some great propoganda on their hands..
    ..or the next Donal McIntyre exposé!

deadwood wrote: »

God forbid...just goes to show you anyone can do journalism, especially with the the internet (i.e. youtube to the max there Donal) and all the internets anonymous sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

Would he turn up on his skates? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

Cmon fellas , you don't know how hard it is to look pensive and reflective at the same time while walking along a canal.. that **** is hard to do

kwalshe wrote: »
    Cmon fellas , you don't know how hard it is to look pensive and reflective at the same time while walking along a canal.. that **** is hard to do
    If it was frozen he could have skated along it looking hard and steely eyed in his sequined top.

Its very likely the ice mite break....I'm starting to like the sound of this more and more...someone should pitch this to RTE or TV3 make a few quid aswell.

Edit: Nevermind TV3, you would have to get ITV to make it first and then get them to buy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭daithip

Mmm:rolleyes:.. now where is that uniform I lent the lads for the Crossmaglen Halloween Party?:p:D