Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could she get pregnant?

• 19-03-2009 5:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Going unregistered for this one: to my great embarrassment, as I have always insisted on using condoms, my girlfriend convinced me that she can't get pregnant during her period. So last night, I did not use a *ahem* condom.

She's on the third day of her period, and her period usually lasts 7 days.

What are the chances of her getting pregnant? Should I insist she gets the morning after pill? If she got that tomorrow, it would still be well under 72 hours.

And I realise what I did was very, very stupid and not to be repeated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭gypsygirl

It is possible to get pregnant whilst having her period although highly unlikely, maybe you should ask her to take the morning after just to be on the safe side, as I said, its very unlikely but do you want to take the chance? :eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

If both of ye are that worried yeah get her down to the doctor and get the morning after pill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

I agree with the last poster... it is unlikely but stranger things have happened! You might want to suggest that you both go to get the morning after pill so that neither of u end up with a much bigger problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭kathy2

What there is no need for the MAP no need to worry not a chance of her being pregnant.

The MAP is not a smartie, ya feel sick as a dog after it so why wish it on some poor girl for no reason!! Jazus lads, :eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

kathy2 wrote: »
    What there is no need for the MAP no need to worry not a chance of her being pregnant.

The MAP is not a smartie, ya feel sick as a dog after it so why wish it on some poor girl for no reason!! Jazus lads, :eek:

of course there is a chance of her getting pregnant . send her off to get the map, just to be on the safe side

We had sex during my period, could I be pregnant?
    Yes. Even though this is the least likely time for you to get pregnant, it does happen. Women can ovulate at any time, even during their period. And menstrual blood can transmit HIV, so you should definitely practice safe sex during your period.

http://www.positive.org/JustSayYes/pregnancy.html

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

You a doctor?

Of course there is a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

I see where u r coming from but I'd rather a few days feeling like sh*t than to end up with an unplanned and possibly unwanted pregnancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭kathy2

The chances of falling pregnant while on your period are next to impossible because there isn't a egg in the correct position in which to be fertilised. Hence the period.:D

Why make the poor girl sick for nothing, but work away :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Hmm, a day of feeling bad OR nine months of pregnancy followed by hours of agony followed by 18 years of being entirely responsible for another human being....

Tough choice.

There's a chance she could beget pregnant, OP. There are a few days each month where a woman cannot get pregnant but it's a vague and risky business determining when those days are. Best go for the MAP just to be on the safe side.

Kathy2... 'next to impossible' = possible. Unlikely, but possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭puglover

Jazuz you, BAD ADVICE. The lenght of every womans cycle is different & while it is unlikely, there is a chance that she may become pregnant.

Regarding MAP, I've taken it twice and wasn't a bother, only reacts badly with the odd person.

Better safe than sorry no??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Yes there is a chance. A slim chance but a chance nonetheless.
    The MAP is not a smartie, ya feel sick as a dog after it so why wish it on some poor girl for no reason!! Jazus lads

The single dose morning after pill should not cause nausea or sickness. This has changed from a number of years ago where an anti nausea tablet was prescribed in cunjunction with the MAP. This is no longer required.

FYI OP, the MAP won't work if your GF does happen to be sick or have the runs for any reason.

Might be no harm for your GF to get herself better acquainted with the facts of life. Her insistence that she couldn't possibly get pregnant while menstruating is rather worrying. While not as likely as other times in her cycle, yes it is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭gypsygirl

The chances of falling pregnant while on your period are next to impossible because there isn't a egg in the correct position in which to be fertilised. Hence the period.:D

I googled it too and the correct answer is:
    "Yes, although chances are slim it is possible "

OP, Google "The chances of falling pregnant while on your period"
    The first site to come up is WikiAnswers, It'll give you the info you need. Then you can make a decision based on a little more facts.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

The egg is fertilised in the fallopian tube, it then travels along to the uterus where it implants in the uterine wall. It is entirely possible to become pregnant while you are getting your period, as the fertilised egg can take a couple of days to travel from the fallopian tube to the uterus, which could then be ready to implant by that stage. If for some reason she ovulated early then there could be an egg there ready to be fertilised.

My own GP told me that there is never a 'safe' time of the month to have unprotected sex. There is always a chance, however small. My advice would be to ask her to take the MAP. If she doesn't want you to use condoms in the future, then ye need to look at alternative forms of contraception, however for the moment make sure you suit up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

It IS possible to become pregnant while having your period, although the odds are much lower than during other parts of the menstrual cycle.

May I suggest that your girlfriend (and yourself) educates herself about her body and how it works? This comment is not meant in a smart-arsed way, but rather I am a little frightened at the lack of knowledge shown here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

While chances are slim, it is possible to become pregnant while on your period. Sperm can survive in the vagina for up to 72 hours (sometimes 5 days in the right conditions) so if your girlfriend was to ovulate during this time after you had sex she could become pregnant.

There is no 'safe period' to have sex. No pun intended.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Golden Rule Cover you're Tool ;)